Singapore REITS, S-REITS

Ramjade
post Feb 15 2017, 11:26 AM

24,332 posts

Just curious the dividend will be paid into the trade account or our SA?
Also if we buy Manulife US REIT how to make sure that they credit the dividend in terms of USD and not SGD?

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Ramjade
post Feb 15 2017, 11:58 AM

24,332 posts

QUOTE(prince_mk @ Feb 15 2017, 11:43 AM)
so fast do the switching the Mappletree ? any particular reason ?

I have ard 4000 units of Keppel R. still keeping them.
Reason for wanting to switch to Keppel
1) It have AU portfolio so if SG market is bad there's AU to backup. Mapletree does not have AU offices.
2) Higher dividend
3) Almost 99.x% occupancy for all office (which is good)
4) Mapletree depends on Vivocity mainly for income. We all know malls got hit and suburban malls are stronger in bad economy. I do not know how Mapletree Business City will perform this year (the one they just acquired)

Reason for not switching
1) Apparently Keppel increase the FM fees and lower the dividend. This is bad.
2) Dispose off some building and use it to lower it's gearing which means it's income this year will be lower.
3) Mapletree is hybrid and so far from blogger it is mentioned that Vivocity is doing well.
4) Keppel put Bugis Junction Towers up for collateral

Anyway will moniter both of them this year and see. I am holding 2 of everything only (limited bullets). Looking at Singtel, Manulife US REITS and Hutchison port too. But the news that China cut a road straight to Pakistan is worrying for ports. India is also following by cutting roads through their country (bypassing ports).

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 15 2017, 12:03 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 15 2017, 12:56 PM

24,332 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 15 2017, 12:49 PM)
Maple business city rental is only half from kepple buildings and just a couple of mrt stops away. In times of not so good economy, mbc will have better demand for its office space. I am more favorable to business parks rather than teir 1 office building with super expensive rental.
Which means MCT won't be able to dish out the same level of dividends as Keppel. AM I right?

Thanks for the feedback.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 15 2017, 12:57 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 15 2017, 01:07 PM

24,332 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 15 2017, 01:03 PM)
Yes, but the price of the building is also bought at half psf so it is fair and square. Look at last few years, kepple keep dropping divvy and mapletree com keep raising divvy.
Fair enough. Any other office REITS with exposure to AU other than Keppel and Fraser? I am not going to go AU Reits straight away. Stick with S-REITS first.

What's your opinion between Acendas and AIMS? Both seem good but don't know which to choose. Right now have limited amounts in AIMS because partial filled last time.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 15 2017, 01:09 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 15 2017, 01:44 PM

24,332 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 15 2017, 01:40 PM)
I am vested in aims but not acendas, due to yield difference. If you want AU exposure, good one will be frasers LT&I

Sg properties suffering from over supply and is currently downtrend, while AU is on the uptrend.
Already have Mapletree Logictics. Don't think adding more logistic.
Ramjade
post Feb 15 2017, 03:10 PM

24,332 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 15 2017, 02:11 PM)
Sg reit sales might be coming soon. Yesteday yellen speech mention the time is right for us to raise rate. Trump also say there will be major tax announcement next week.

Time to save bullets. wink.gif
Haiz. No more bullets. sad.gif Hope dividend at the end of the month can give me some cash devil.gif
Ramjade
post Feb 15 2017, 05:02 PM

24,332 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 15 2017, 04:56 PM)
Of course you can sell on the same day it is called intraday trade. Your trading limit will be returned to you immediately.
Wow didn't know that. Thought need to wait for money to come back into account. Btw, if sell kena charge broker fees some more or broker fees is charged on buying only?
Ramjade
post Feb 15 2017, 05:08 PM

24,332 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 15 2017, 05:05 PM)
Of course you need to pay brokerage to buy and sell. The money for the buy and sell will contra off and the balance will be credited to you within 3 days, in this case the profit.
Ok. All this while thought broker fees applied only buying. Selling is free. sad.gif
Ramjade
post Feb 16 2017, 11:32 AM

24,332 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Feb 16 2017, 11:21 AM)
Ramjade.. Sell via DBSVICKERS is SGD25 min...
and if u are using DBS VICKERS cash upfront.. you have to notify DBS to give u a sell limit.
Thanks for the info. Can email them right?
Ramjade
post Feb 16 2017, 08:56 PM

24,332 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Feb 16 2017, 08:29 PM)
Tq bro fro the detailed analysis into each property,.... :thumbsup:

On that land lease matter, actually, even if the SG gov't does take back the land for other projects, the gov't will reimburse VIT fairly, right ? Has any SG REIT ever encountered land lease expiring today ? How do they go about this ?

There is another risk with VIT. The gearing is around 38%, if my memory serves me well,... Are their interest rates fixed ? How many percent fixed, because if not, when interest rate rises, interest expense will eat into the gross rental collected, hence, reducing distributable income to be paid out.

VIT likes to 'ask more money from unitholders too'. In the last few years since listing back in 2013, there has been three exercises. What do you think of this ?
That's is why I avoid exotic s-reit. Stick with known ones. Less headache.

That's why I am limiting myself to just 2 reit per category. Except manulife us reit + maybe mapletree greater china.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 16 2017, 08:57 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 16 2017, 10:22 PM

24,332 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 16 2017, 09:56 PM)
If you want higher divvy, you got to take some risk, but take a calculated risk by doing your homework.
Ya lo. That's why planning to stick with safe one for now. smile.gif
Ramjade
post Feb 17 2017, 11:04 AM

24,332 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 17 2017, 10:39 AM)
yellen had previously said, "3 hikes in 2017".

the market has priced in high probability for rates hikes in june and dec, with a small prob one in march.

so, unless inflation runs out of steam in USA, chances are us bond prices will soften a bit more by year end.

so will sgreit prices.
well, on the other hand, SGD is approaching RM3.15!
gark, Hansel Just wondering since USD is more or less stagnant (being "pegged"), wouldn't it be cheaper to get SGD by going the following route RM > USD > SGD instead of straight RM > SGD?

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 17 2017, 11:05 AM
Ramjade
post Feb 17 2017, 11:33 AM

24,332 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 17 2017, 11:19 AM)
More dangerous is the valuation effect..

Once a property have loss it master lease (in this case 21 years outstanding), the building valuation will come down drastically. Once the valuation comes down, the gearing ratio will be bumped up as asset price fall. If the gearing ratio hits a fund internal limits, they will have no choice but to do rights issue to raise funds.

Thus begin the death spiral (like sabana) ...
Thanks for the info about the exchange rate. What happen if a REIT have rights issue? As in investor, if we don't do don't participate in the right issue/don't pump in more money/don't sell (just do nothing), what will happen to our stocks? Will we lose some of it? I am not exactly sure about this right stuff. Read about it but need more explanation.

Hansel I know this only works if USD is say 1USD = RM5 and malaysia is "pegging it" to RM4.45.
Ramjade
post Feb 17 2017, 11:48 AM

24,332 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 17 2017, 11:43 AM)
There are many opinions on rights issue, some people avoid it at all cost, some are ok with it and some chase after rights issue. It depends on how the person approach investing.

Negative view : Some people are really anti-rights issue, and will dump the stock immediately after announcement. These people view that the reit is trying to be greedy and take back all the dividend given previously. They approach reit investing in a short term profits.

Neutral view : Some are ok with rights issue, provided the rights issue is done with a net increase in DPS, they will subscribe for the rights issue as a chance to increase their holding at lower prices. They approach reit investing at a medium-long term profits.

Positive view: Some really like rights issue, as an arbitrage opportunity to grab low cost REIT shares either to keep for long term. They will typically subscibe for excess shares and also buy tradeable rights on the market to convert. The more rights you buy in relative to your holdings in theory will lower your average cost but you need to foot up a lot of money.

For me I approach it neutral, but I know some successful REIT investor goes with the positive view. If you do not subscribe to rights, when issued, you get diluted and can actually lose overall DPS.

All in all, in depends on the rights price, discount and the use of the money (relative to DPS). Rights management is very important to REITs investing.
How to do you go about the bolded part? They send you some forms to fill up saying you agreed to pump xxx amount into the stock?

Also, what if you do anything? Don't sell, dont subscibe for excess shares? What happen?

I understand that when a REIT issue rights, the price will tank. My way of thinking, don't do anything (don't get involve with the right issue) buy say buy more as it the price have dropped. Is this scenario possible?

Need to prepare in case any of my REITS declare right issue. If they declare, and I don't know what will happen then bad. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 17 2017, 11:53 AM
Ramjade
post Feb 17 2017, 12:17 PM

24,332 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 17 2017, 11:53 AM)
If you decide to subscribe for the rights, you can fill up the amount of excess rights you wish to subscribe in the form. However payment for all rights (and excess) have to be done first, and excess money will be returned later. Later the company will allocate the excess rights to any investor who request it, not necessary you will get your full request but usually will get some depending on how many unsubscribe rights available.

If you don't sell, don't subscribe .. you get diluted... each of your share will become less value and get less DPS.

Buy more during rights is also possible.. depending on the price vs the rights price vs theoretical ex-right price. All these info you can get from the prospectus.
If you sell your right, does this mean you are selling some of your shares?
Ramjade
post Feb 17 2017, 03:20 PM

24,332 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 17 2017, 12:43 PM)
No, but you are selling your 'option' to subscribe more shares at lower price.

Here is a link to learn more rights issue context in SG

https://www.martinlee.sg/understanding-rights-issues/

https://www.martinlee.sg/rights-and-their-q...e-implications/

No one says direct stock investing is easy..  tongue.gif
So if they send you letter, the only way to subscribe is
(i) using ATM
(ii) another one use bank draft (from Malaysia I guess?)

QUOTE(elea88 @ Feb 17 2017, 02:41 PM)
i think u using STD CHART nominee can...

I using DBS direct ac.. cannot subscribe.
Really why? So we cannot sell our rights also?

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 17 2017, 03:21 PM
Ramjade
post Feb 17 2017, 04:31 PM

24,332 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 17 2017, 04:21 PM)
Yes, as long as you can fill in the form, mail it and transfer money (cashier's order) to the registra account.

Better to use nominee account.

If you cannot subscribe the rights, there is a way to more or less manually subscribe the rights but you pay a bit extra (in terms of arbitrage and trading cost).

1. Get your rights share
2. Sell your rights share near to the (theoretical ex right price -  rights price)
3. Use money to buy new shares from market

Example, $1 share, 1:1 rights issue at $0.8, you have 1000 shares. Theoretical ex right will be $0.90

You get 1000 units of rights shares, sell it at $0.1, and then buy 1000 units at market at $0.9. Your cost will be ($0.9-$0.1=$0.8, same as  right price)

More or less the same as subscribing to the rights, in theory at least.  tongue.gif
How to fill up the form if DBS auto sell my rights?
Ramjade
post Feb 17 2017, 04:50 PM

24,332 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 17 2017, 04:32 PM)
If sold cannot fill in the form.. this one maybe you need to check with DBS.

IMHO it is better to use a nominee account.
Will do. Email them and see their answer. :biggrin.gif
Btw, what broker do you use?
Ramjade
post Feb 19 2017, 11:09 AM

24,332 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Feb 19 2017, 10:50 AM)
Sorry for asking silly questions.

I understand that before buying SGX shares or S-REITs, I need to have a trading account, such as a DBS Vickers trading account.

For that, I want to apply for a DBS Vickers online trading account.

What I have now is a POSB saving account (with access to DBS iBanking website), and CDP account.

1. I realize that inside DBS iBanking website, I can apply for DBS Vickers online trading account. In the online application page, one question is asked, namely: "Is Singapore your sole country of tax residence?". I should press "No", right? Then, I shall upload a scanned image of my Malaysian Identification Card, crossed with the words of "for opening only DBS Vickers online trading account".

2. There are 2 types of Cash Upfront Accounts from DBS Vickers. Which one should I choose?
Cash Upfront Account (http://www.dbs.com.sg/vickers/en/accounts/types-of-account/cash-upfront-account)
Cash Account (Online) (http://www.dbs.com.sg/vickers/en/accounts/types-of-account/cash-account) 

Thank you for your information.  notworthy.gif
1. Yeah you can apply online or you can apply in person.
2. Up to you. Cash upfront (CU) have lower brokerage fees (now it's SGD10/0.12% whichever is higher w SGD5 rebate/transaction. Normall it's SGD18/0.18% whichever is higher). CU is practically a basic account. You don't have fancy feature like all or none, limited for the day. If you are using CU, you need to put money inside before you can buy.
Cash account (CA) is cost is SGD25/0.25% per trade. I think right now, CA also have SGD5 rebate/transaction. With CA, you can buy first and pay later/plenty of features.

Both account will deposit your purchase with CDP.

For me I am only using CU and will not use CA at all. Why?
1) Cheaper brokerage fees
2) Same only (both deposit your shares into CDP)
3) I rather buy something with the money I have then buy first pay later.

However, I am planning to move to Maybank KE as their brokerage fees for CU is only SGD10/0.18% whichever is higher vs DBS V at SGD18. My trades all does not exceed the min SGD18 so Maybank would be the better choice for me in the long run. However keep in mind that Maybank KE does not deposit your share into CDP (you can request and pay a fee)
See the differences here http://fifthperson.com/nominee-vs-personal...hich-is-better/
Ramjade
post Feb 19 2017, 12:52 PM

24,332 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Feb 19 2017, 12:47 PM)
FYI, I open my MKE at westgate mall  very fast and open on weekends. My assigned broker is leslie toh, very responsive, he also got account at lowyat. wink.gif
Just want to asked, if you contact your broker for advise, need to pay money? Cause I think DBS did assign me one broker but I never contact that fellow at all (scared kena charged)

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Feb 19 2017, 12:53 PM

70 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:55 AM