Singapore REITS, S-REITS

Ramjade
post Dec 29 2021, 11:30 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Dec 29 2021, 10:54 AM)
If all the financials remain the same as before, the yield is increasing. What's not to like?
In fact, the last quarter at 0.166 is an improvement on the 2 previous quarters of 0.153 .
So at this rate of dividend, we are looking at around 8.5% yield.
I think 8.5% not true cause China got 10% tax. Is the 8.5% nett 10% tax or before deduction?
Ramjade
post Mar 1 2022, 07:41 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Mar 1 2022, 06:42 AM)
Sorry, I don’t understand. Why buying Singapore reits can ended up earning sterling pounds?
Elite commercial REIT is a REIT which have all its properties in England. The tenant is the UK govt.

And I think they pay 6% in GBP. Hence tax free GBP as sg reits are tax free.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 1 2022, 07:42 AM
Ramjade
post Mar 1 2022, 08:29 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Mar 1 2022, 07:49 AM)
You can buy SREiTs which are denominated in foreign currencies such as GBP, EURO and USD apart from the SGD.
You are out of touch.  biggrin.gif
Elite is paying 9% yield at its present price.
I thought price increase. Hence dividend lowered. Never see..Thanks for the info.

9% is attractive.

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Mar 1 2022, 08:12 AM)
Oh I see. Didn’t know there is a Singapore reit with all the properties in UK. Seems like a good buy .
Then normally people here buy in which denomination.

Sorry, I am very new to this, so I not sure where to start 🥲
I used to buy the one in the native currency it's trading in.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 1 2022, 08:31 AM
Ramjade
post Mar 1 2022, 08:55 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Mar 1 2022, 08:52 AM)
I see. Thank you so much for the explanation.

Read up on the SREITs in this context means reading those specific links that our fellow members have posted in this thread?
You are the master of Singapore trading i think. I saw a lot of good tips shared by you. notworthy.gif
I left sg market long time ago and never look back I am only holding my 15%p.a dividend counter plus few 6%p.a counter.
Ramjade
post Mar 1 2022, 09:00 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Mar 1 2022, 08:58 AM)
Oh, i am not aware of that. Seems like you have move on to a better prospect market, may I know which market it is?
Thank you.

Yea, passive income from the nice dividends is what i am looking for
Us market. I focus on quality companies and sell options for income. Don't follow. High risk.

It open up access to quality companies that don't pay dividends.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 1 2022, 09:01 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 1 2022, 09:06 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Apr 1 2022, 05:13 PM)
Amazed to see SG Reits going up (much more than Malaysia REITs). I came in during CNY period this year now up by this much already.

I’m late 30s should I put more in SG Reits as low risk investing and stable income portfolio?
I tried bonds etf but they didn’t work out so well. Malaysia Reits give high dividend but growth sometimes negative or slow. Thinking of having at least 10% of my portfolio in REITs and commodities. SG Reits seems to be a good choice.

Below are my SG Reits performance since CNY this year.

Eyeing other Reits such as First REIT and Ascott.
Avoid first REIT.
For ascott better off with booking.com or Airbnb and selling covers calls on them.
You get better quality stocks than putting your money into ascott and you get to create your own "dividends" which is more than what ascott can give. Airbnb isn't cheap too be honest at current price.

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Apr 1 2022, 07:00 PM)
Thanks for the info on First REIT. Will take note and monitor.

Yea 90% of my investments now will still be in aggressive ETFs like VUAA or VWRA + other US stocks. Reits is just for that lower risk investment of 10%. Later night increase to 20% or more as I grow older.

Will look into other countries REITs as well.. now not sure where to go into yet need more research.
Buying and holding ETFs are not aggressive biggrin.gif
If you are holdig reits, be prepare to cough up money every now and then aka they are asking for more money Vs amount they give you.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 1 2022, 09:08 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 2 2022, 12:45 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Apr 1 2022, 11:16 PM)
They never use a gun point against your head ask you give monies mah. You can don't give just your shareholding get diluted and share price maybe below your average buy in price only no harm just continue get dividend (lesser maybe)
Indirectly it's a gun. You don't cough up cash you get diluted. Means lesser payout overtime.
Ramjade
post Apr 2 2022, 08:52 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Apr 2 2022, 08:31 AM)
If the investments are accretive, there is no issue. Means more dividends.
I actually hate private placements more than rights issues. The former means you do not even have a choice! And it is normally given placed at large discounts.
True. But I don't like companies keep asking me for money. I rather they give me money. laugh.gif

Private placement basically rights for HNWI/UHMWI

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 2 2022, 08:54 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 2 2022, 09:31 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(dadpro97 @ Apr 2 2022, 09:27 AM)
Guys does s-reits have taxation on foreigner like us stock (30%) for dividend payout?
No. But it needs to be on sgx. If you buy us reits from us market yes there's a 30% tax.

Remember to submit your wben8 to your broker.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 2 2022, 09:31 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 2 2022, 10:49 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Apr 2 2022, 10:14 AM)
Unlike Msia CLOB saga that prevent Sporean from selling you not happy can sell off so no need feel the gun against your head. Those oldbie kena Msia CLOB saga how? Want to sell must go under table from rumours leh. Be glad you born much later and SGX treat local and foreign investors more equally.
I am just saying I don't like reits as if they take more money than they give it's bad long term. If they give you more money than take, no issue.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 2 2022, 10:57 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 5 2022, 12:57 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Apr 4 2022, 02:16 PM)
How much money those REITs you're saying asking for? Can give a real example?

I have bought some SG REITs but due to i'm new so have not experience it yet. Want to be prepared when shit happens. How much of extra % do we have to fork out usually to prevent a dilution? unsure.gif

Reason why I buy REITs is to have at least 10-30% as I grow older into "stable" stocks that fluctuate less.. thinking of bond etf but these days they aren't performing that well anymore after Fed announce rising interest rates.
Yes this is why I like SG REITs too. They give 4-5% dividend (tax free) and grow every year (usually, depends which REIT you buy). If there are other type of similar dividend stocks / REITs that seldom decrease in value, give good dividends, and keep growing do let me know.. I want to diversify to other countries as well. notworthy.gif

SGD currency has been going up in value too. Malaysia has some good dividend stocks and REITs but it is the devaluing of MYR in the long run that I'm worry about. MYR keep decrease after 1MDB incident.. recently got improve a bit but still fluctuating sideways.
Depends. Like last time got one time basically every REIT is doing rights
Nowadays I only very small amount of reits so I don't really bother. My reits that I am holding are some giving me 12%p.a and 7%p.a biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Toku @ Apr 4 2022, 06:11 PM)
In view of interest rate hike, what is the outlook in REITs? Is there any correlation? Appreciate any insight from sifus.
Most reits have majority of their loan in fixed rate for 3-4 years. Hence won't be affected for few years. But say after 3-4 years definitely affected if cannot increase rental fast enough.
Ramjade
post Apr 5 2022, 02:57 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(Toku @ Apr 5 2022, 11:16 AM)
Looking at the yield curve inversion, can't rule out the stagflation case.

What about the difference between REITs and Asset management firms equity? Do you see the same risk under different scenario aka recession, inflation, stagflation etc.? Sifus' insight is appreciated.
REIT earn money from you every year through management fees.
Asset management firm earns money from investor regardless of market. So do you want to be REIT shareholder or asset management firm?
I prefer to be asset management investor like BlackRock or Brookfield collecting money form investor regardless of what's happening in the market. biggrin.gif
Ramjade
post Apr 5 2022, 07:43 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Apr 5 2022, 07:24 PM)
Actually it is the same analogy for stock exchanges. They earn from every single buy sell transaction. The more there is the more monies earned. SGX the company is listed in SGX haha. So stocks, ETF etc whatever get listed in SGX got buy sell activity they earn. So you prefer to be stock exchanges or investor who buy sell in their stock exchanges?
Both. Depends on the stock. Don't think it did didn't cross my mind. tongue.gif That's why I am looking to buy NYSE and Nasdaq but they are not cheap for me. It's on my watchlist.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 5 2022, 07:51 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 8 2022, 07:46 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Apr 8 2022, 03:02 PM)
Let's ask sifu dwRK and Ramjade laugh.gif

Well, the damage is done. If you run away now, you will bear the 10% lost today. Or, you can pray hard that the loans will be refinanced...

According to SGX announcement documents, EC World will provide further updates on the refinancing. So keep a close eye on EC World's accouncement later.

I hope this is just time mismanagement. All REITs basicially survive on loan refinancing, just that this time probably the financial treasurer/controller fail to get the loans refinanced on time. If it's not due to the REIT's fundamental issues then you can wait for value to recover, otherwise, something more serious could be brewing.
Eh I am not expert. I am no longer active in reits leh. I just left reits which I bought last time at 6-8% + the ones I bought in March 2020 which is giving me like 15%p.a.

All my reits now autopilot. No monitoring. Just collect dividend and plow it into us market. Don't bother about rights or placement anymore.

I have divested my entire stake in EC world when news came out about it being acquired.

For me. all I can say is after investing long time, just buy and hold quality companies For China stuff, I will buy those reputable companies like tencent or family owned like CLP or government link like Shenzhen expressway and yuxiu transport.

That's why nowadays I sleep better at night holding on to us quality companies like Microsoft, Google, Shopify. Adobe. Home depot, and, Nvidia, Tesla, etc.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 8 2022, 07:49 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 8 2022, 10:26 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 8 2022, 09:58 PM)
all growth no defensive...  sweat.gif
Microsoft, Google, visa, home depot, Canadian national railway and Adobe are my defensive stocks actually.

I have yet to get hold on Microsoft. Just been selling covered puts on them. Damn difficult to get hold of them. Google only bought 1 before price went back up.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 8 2022, 10:29 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 8 2022, 11:07 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 8 2022, 10:51 PM)
i think those are just your idea of defensive stocks... wink.gif  well... except for visa which i agree is... laugh.gif

defensive stocks don't rise as much during bull market... and don't tank as much during bear market, may even rise... so this strikes out microsoft, google, adobe...
Actually take a look at Google, Microsoft in this recent sell off and you will know why laugh.gif

It barely drop much. I was so frustrated it didn't drop much.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 8 2022, 11:07 PM
Ramjade
post Apr 9 2022, 12:06 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 8 2022, 11:53 PM)
for the ukraine event... start to lowest... sp500 dropped 14%.... nasdaq and msft dropped 21%... goog 18%... visa 20%... adobe 40%...

walmart on the other hand dropped only 8%... and now bounced stronger went up making ath... <<< defensive stock... while your list are still languishing... so in the event of a recession... your stocks probably gg... i.e., not defensive... wink.gif

anyways... you can buy itm puts for protection... so all is fine... smile.gif
Bro, defensive not only you look at see which drop the least. You see who can still make good amount of money when cost of doing business is high. Look at Microsoft, Google, Adobe net margin.
Ramjade
post Apr 9 2022, 10:05 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 9 2022, 09:28 AM)
as I say... this is your version/interpretation of defensive stocks...

generally the rest of the world means this... https://www.investopedia.com/terms/d/defensivestock.asp smile.gif
Look at how companies handle rising cost and inflation and supply chain disruption.
Do you think google, Microsoft, Adobe, Visa affected by no inventory, late Inventory, and customer refusing to fork out money because of rising cost?

I think unlikely. That's the true mark of defensive company where they can charge what they want and people will pay up.

It's ok if my view don't match the world or others.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 9 2022, 10:06 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 9 2022, 12:42 PM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Apr 9 2022, 12:25 PM)
every 2-3 yrs i buy new pc/laptop because i like new stuff... but recession maybe i won't buy at all unless absolutely necessary... all the big companies refresh their pcs every few years, definitely during recession they will hold from upgrading...

for sure these google...microsoft...visa... will be affected big time

they are strong company for sure and your thinking is correct they will survive a recession... but when market tanks 40%, these companies will also tank 40%... actually these are the super big cap companies... they are the ones tanking first and leading the market... lol

anyways... we buy what we like... no right no wrong here...  biggrin.gif
Actually it's small company which tank first follow by big caps. If you take out the big caps during the recent drop, the index should drop more. The big caps are the one holding the market up.
Recession or not, Microsoft Azure, office, Google ads still jalan.
Ramjade
post Apr 19 2022, 01:57 AM

24,334 posts

QUOTE(skyvisionz @ Apr 19 2022, 12:50 AM)
Any recommended sg reit stock? Thinking to migrate from mreit to sreit
Short cut
My recommendation
Buy the FACKMEPU reits. Never disappoint.
Fraser's centre point - shopping malls
Fraser's logistics - office + warehouse
Ascendas REIT - industrial site + warehouse
Ascendas India reit - industrial + office in india
Capitaland commercial - shopping + office
Keppel KBS reit -us office
Keppel data center - data center
Mapletree logistics -warehouse
Mapletree commercial -shopping mall + office
Mapletree student -coming soon
Elite reit - the tenant is 100% UK govt office
Prime REIT - us office
Parkway - hospital + nursing home
United hamisphere - grocery + self storage in US

Bonus
HongKond land - they are not REIT but have REIT like dividend and does not pay 90% of their earnings out. They pay like 20% only.

Long cut
Start reading.
https://www.amazon.com/Building-Wealth-Thro...S/dp/9814516589
http://singaporeanstocksinvestor.blogspot.com/?m=1

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 19 2022, 02:00 AM

70 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Top

0.0357sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:04 AM