PC Audio HiVi / SWAN - Active Speakers (Version 2015), Back and Active

arslow
post May 1 2013, 01:08 PM

3,544 posts

couldnt wait any longer already laugh.gif

For now, it sounds great, but not awesome yet, have been running for 4 hours only. But Cyntrixtech what about those settings behind the H4s? For HF anf MF I know adding a sub shouldnt affect those, but what about LF and the HP?

Since Im using a H10 now, does the LF part doesnt matter anymore since the low frequency is being handled by the sub?

the HP is at 72Hz now, meaning that the satellite will handle until 72Hz only right before passing on to the sub? the sub is at 80Hz now since "direct" will sort of turn off the sub. So wouldnt there be a conflict between the sub and H4 when playing sound between 72 and 80 Hz? hmm.gif

Im really blur now lol, so maybe all the sifus here can give some enlightenment notworthy.gif

maybe keyoke can also share his experience? smile.gif

This post has been edited by arslow: May 1 2013, 01:17 PM
arslow
post May 2 2013, 01:55 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(keyoke @ May 2 2013, 07:26 AM)
LF imo still plays a part. mine was left at -1 as it sounds too boomy and spoils the clarity.

HP can leave it at 72Hz as its nearer at 80Hz. Direct will turn off the sub completely. there will be conflict but not alot =) swans do not allow consumers to adjust the crossover other then direct and 80hz

im currently playing with my dad's 12 inch B&W sub

u are using lancool k62 case?
-1 eh? hmm.gif will try and see whether it helps in clarity or not. Yeah i thought this will have a nice crossover adjuster laugh.gif at least if wanna try out audio without sub is easy, just change to direct smile.gif

actually, I'm using K58, sharp eyes you have tongue.gif really nice case which haven't gave me any reason to change nod.gif

and man, that is HUGE!! does it play well with the H4? hmm.gif not bad, have a dad who is interested on this stuff also thumbup.gif
arslow
post May 2 2013, 02:10 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(mizumi @ May 2 2013, 11:00 AM)
Gratz on the hoot! smile.gif

Here's mine.

Pictures can be deceiving lol. I thought the H4 wont be that huge since its the smaller brother of H5, but man did it surprise me at first contact shocking.gif
I thought Heavyarm brought the wrong satellites lol sweat.gif

cant wait to go back and play with it again!! rclxm9.gif

have been moving the sub around, found a nice spot. System volume 50%, H4 volume both 50%, master volume behing the sub also 50%, sub volume is about 45%.

Even just after playing it for 8 hours yesterday, it sounds soooooo good now. Nice smooth bass on musics, crazy killer bass while playing battlefield 3 or watching movies drool.gif

super satisfied with this purchase thumbup.gif dont regret not auditioning it first tongue.gif

This post has been edited by arslow: May 2 2013, 02:13 PM
arslow
post May 2 2013, 02:32 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(mizumi @ May 2 2013, 02:28 PM)
Glad that you're happy with your purchase. Luckily you din get H5 like me. Else you will need to change your table. smile.gif
lol thats the thing, would have cause a big headache...might have to relocate the rig maybe then haha. All I hope now is that the speakers last for a long time, to really make the purchase worth it smile.gif
arslow
post May 2 2013, 03:22 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(keyoke @ May 2 2013, 02:46 PM)
yea, somehow the h4 sounds boomy hence i went to adjust it. i also thought this would have a nice crossover adjuster but well it doesnt.

yes it plays well with the H4. somehow the soundstage is wider if i hook the h4 on the b&w. bass is much more precise and less boomy when im on the B&w. but of cos, the B&w cost 1.2k per sub. so cant really compare with the swans. its huge, but i gonna swap back soon.

glad ur room have place for shifting of the sub, mine doesnt, maybe thats the reason why it sounds boomy in my case

haha, i have used K62 before, hence i know that its a lancool case.
Hopefully they have something internally to make the H series sub and speaker to blend well so that clash between 72hz and 80hz isn't too bad hmm.gif

Wow, bigger sound stage by changing subs? Maybe you might need some bass traps to make the H10 less boomy? Btw, what are your system, speaker and master volume on the sub like? I think I'm only at 12.5 % now after taking into account all three volumes lol, guess my room is very small for this speakers laugh.gif

But seriously, the placement of the sub makes a HUGE difference in my case. Just a little distance difference meant getting either super boomy bass which makes you nauseated, or really nice, smooth, and actually sounds different while playing difference songs shocking.gif

It's pretty amazing really how sound travels across the room and how a little bit of placement tweaking can make a whole lot of difference. Oh yes, may I ask what is that below the H4s that you are using to bring the speakers to ear level? biggrin.gif
arslow
post May 2 2013, 03:57 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(keyoke @ May 2 2013, 03:43 PM)
its a self diy wooden block.

my speaker is at 50% vol, master vol at 50%, sub vol at 50%. system sound is at 50% most of the time

yea it does make alot of difference. my room doesnt have much space to play around with subwoofer placement. so i jus place it at one corner.

bigger sound stage cos i tink the crossover used in the h10 and the b&w is different. mine sounds boomy. might be due to placement haha. glad that ur room got space to let u shift around.
Need to find something to raise the speakers doh.gif

Lol, exactly the same volume settings, just maybe my sub volume is slightly lower.

At that position in the pic before, standing right in front of the sub gave me boomy bass, standing while facing o the right side of the sub makes it completely boomy. Sitting on my chair gave zero bass,as if I don't have a sub lol and after moving the sub to the opposite direction about 1m,and bam! Everything works just like it should. rclxub.gif

Need to try some songs with lots of cymbals and other high frequency to see whether the HF level is good or not.
arslow
post May 2 2013, 10:31 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(keyoke @ May 2 2013, 04:20 PM)
lol, u might wanna show where is ur sub placed at now? i have exactly the same problem lol!

but my room has limited space in shifting lol!

have you tried putting the sub under your table? on your right? but my table is not all the way to the back, touching the wall, maybe thats why my bass isn't really boomy now? hmm.gif but this is a sealed sub, so isn't corner not suppose to make any difference?

I might need to find a way to reduce that "extra bass" sound from going to other rooms though doh.gif

sometimes when the speaker is playing loud, if I go downstairs, the bass note is pretty annoying lol.

This post has been edited by arslow: May 2 2013, 10:31 PM
arslow
post May 2 2013, 11:47 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(CyntrixTech @ May 2 2013, 11:05 PM)
Sealed sub or not, you still need to play with position due to reflection from within the room.
Yup, moving it just a meter to my left made the bass completely disappear at the place I sit. But where it is now it's just awesome thumbup.gif

QUOTE(dennisyeoh @ May 2 2013, 11:10 PM)
get bass trap and Acoustic Foam if you don want any bass travel to the next room or any bass reflecting around or else is impossible to avoid that since your room is full of hard surface
Will need to read up more on this two stuff. Will really need it to reduce complaints from others in my house tongue.gif

QUOTE(keyoke @ May 2 2013, 11:17 PM)
Nt sure if its placebo or wad. I swapped by the h10,and adjust the phase switch to 0, it sounds alot better then when its at 180. Of cos at 180 the bass is louder but lost alot of details and sound very boomy

Mine nw is still at corner as thats e only place i can put. I tried under the table, the bass is absorbed by my wood table, hence cant hear much bass but my table is shaking as it absorbs the vibration

Some says the phase switch is only used when u run more then one sub, is that correct?
Didn't play much with the phase switch as it didn't feel like it was making any difference hmm.gif will need to try again as I only played with it when the sub was at the non optimum position.

This post has been edited by arslow: May 2 2013, 11:51 PM
arslow
post May 3 2013, 08:50 AM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(keyoke @ May 3 2013, 07:24 AM)
same lor lols! but not sure why only yest i hear differences between the phase switching lol! but glad that it sounds better now!
Maybe they only start making a significant difference after burn in? Anyway, glad its not boomy for you anymore thumbup.gif

Yesterday i left the system turned on with nothing playing and no fan/AC. when i came back, the sub felt like it can be used for BBQ ready tongue.gif

But i think should be ok la, coz for example those tube amplifiers some ppl use for their stereo system, only once its heated up it sounds good, according to them, so even if these are not using the same thing, the heat should be fine, just ppl like us who are used to completely cool speaker sustem need to get used to this kind of systems haha.

Oh yes, that audio/video setting behind the sub also im not sure of the difference. Will need to test out more.

This post has been edited by arslow: May 3 2013, 08:51 AM
arslow
post May 3 2013, 09:15 AM

3,544 posts

keyoke
That much difference with just the flick of a switch hmm.gif
Will test extensively today, but i think i might need to wait till it burns in to feel the difference, will see how it goes, pretty interesting stuff haha.

Yup my previous was class D. Couldn't make it warm even after playing loud for a whole day. But then again this set which has hardly burned in, is eating a 2 year old sp2500 like nobodies business laugh.gif

So can just close one eye about the heat issue tongue.gif

This post has been edited by arslow: May 3 2013, 09:17 AM
arslow
post May 5 2013, 12:26 PM

3,544 posts

ok, have been testing the 0 and 180 phase a lot for music game and videos and it seems to be 180 has a more pronounced bass level compared to 0, but not to the extent of being boomy, so I'll leave it at 180 nod.gif

btw, guys try listening to Illegal Bass by Bass Outlaws....might wanna reduce the volume before starting to play it, confirm your walls, furniture and everything will shake laugh.gif

don't dare to play this with my default volume lol sweat.gif
arslow
post May 6 2013, 06:35 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ May 6 2013, 06:12 PM)
means the m50w cant handle that certain part.....damn...
can try uploading it to dropbox or something? maybe its the song itself? hmm.gif
arslow
post May 7 2013, 04:18 PM

3,544 posts

Will try also, but maybe you can give us one title example where the crackling is very obvious?
arslow
post May 13 2013, 01:03 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(keyoke @ May 9 2013, 05:16 PM)
mine is opposite form urs... 180 sounds boomy, 0 sounds more detailed and not boomy. 180 sounds boomy and 1 note
Hmm, maybe because of the room? I don't know, but its kinda better at 180 for me. On another note, the speakers are really getting better and better. Have been hearing back my collection slowly, and also through Spotify(with high quality streaming which is supposedly 320kbps) and almost all of them sound "new" lol. As if I've never heard it before.
arslow
post May 13 2013, 07:11 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ May 13 2013, 06:55 PM)
Now after seeing the video H4 seems to have better expansion option,
M200Mk3 seems like a stand alone.
2.0,2.1,5.1...choose your poison brows.gif
arslow
post May 15 2013, 05:14 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ May 15 2013, 05:11 PM)
Basically,

i tried David Guetta, Pitbull, (Those Bassy song, cause i really love powerful bass)
Kenny G, ( Intrumental, Saxophone only)
Audiophile song, Solo, Acoustic.

So basically know the limit of the speaker de.

Just if i get the speaker dont know what DAC to get for future expanasion looloplool
Get the one that cyntrix use la tongue.gif
arslow
post May 15 2013, 07:08 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ May 15 2013, 05:18 PM)
He said soundstream DAC discon lo
Soundstream DAC-1? thats seems to be a really old but really good even by today's standard DAC thumbup.gif
For me Im just happy with my xonar DX, seems to be good enuf for my H4 and H10 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by arslow: May 16 2013, 01:21 AM
arslow
post May 16 2013, 01:12 AM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(mizumi @ May 16 2013, 01:00 AM)
Eh? U changed to H5 liao?
zzz typo, H4 still sweat.gif doh.gif
arslow
post May 17 2013, 11:42 AM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(vivakarna @ May 17 2013, 09:09 AM)
where is my package?? dem pos laju!!
Replacing your aktimate? brows.gif
Or izzit the birthday present? thumbup.gif
arslow
post May 17 2013, 06:32 PM

3,544 posts

QUOTE(vivakarna @ May 17 2013, 04:39 PM)
no la just bought a532 for wedding gift biggrin.gif
very stylish looking speakers smile.gif

QUOTE(munak991 @ May 17 2013, 04:54 PM)
Just scare Sound card not good DAC enough hahaha.
NExt week getting my X4 !!
Should be good enough. At least there's something you can look forward to upgrading down the road nod.gif

This post has been edited by arslow: May 17 2013, 06:33 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0478sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:08 PM