Private Retirement Scheme Started?

simplesmile
post Oct 14 2013, 02:28 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 13 2013, 06:35 PM)
EPF, we know principal is secured, as well as return (just matter how much, low or high), but with UT, principal is not guaranteed, it can make a good profit as well as loss one.

What if, when retired time, UT register a huge loss?
I don't think you need to redeem 100% of the balance in the UT at the same time.
If when retire the UT register a huge loss, then :
i) don't redeem any. Wait for the UT to rebound, then only redeem. Or,
ii) redeem bit by bit while waiting for the UT to rebound. Hopefully the unredeemed balance will recover in value.
However, if you're investment savvy then you could redeem all and invest into assets with higher and faster potential to recover.
cherroy
post Oct 14 2013, 02:38 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Oct 14 2013, 02:28 PM)
I don't think you need to redeem 100% of the balance in the UT at the same time.
If when retire the UT register a huge loss, then :
i) don't redeem any. Wait for the UT to rebound, then only redeem. Or,
ii) redeem bit by bit while waiting for the UT to rebound. Hopefully the unredeemed balance will recover in value.
However, if you're investment savvy then you could redeem all and invest into assets with higher and faster potential to recover.
i) if no rebound, wait until die? biggrin.gif
ii) What is your feel, if you have contribute 20-30 years every month into a so called "retirement fund", then ended the money worth less than what you have put in?

simplesmile
post Oct 14 2013, 02:42 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Oct 13 2013, 05:55 PM)
hwang peform better
http://www.bloomberg.com/quote/HWPRSSF:MK
Hwang ytd = +16.36%
Amazing. Despite the 1.8% management fee, it can still beat all the other PRS funds.
simplesmile
post Oct 14 2013, 02:48 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 14 2013, 02:38 PM)
i) if no rebound, wait until die?  biggrin.gif
ii) What is your feel, if you have contribute 20-30 years every month into a so called "retirement fund", then ended the money worth less than what you have put in?
i) given enough time, then it is likely to rebound. Unless it's Bernie Maddoff fund.
ii) Not looking to contribute 20-30 years. I'm only going to contribute for 10 years. After that, not contribute anymore because no more tax relief. Investing in UT require a very long time Horizon. 15 years or more.
And between UT and ETF, I'd rather invest in ETF. It's just that Government only give tax relief for investing in PRS, and the PRS buy only UT.
cherroy
post Oct 14 2013, 03:02 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Oct 14 2013, 02:48 PM)
i) given enough time, then it is likely to rebound. Unless it's Bernie Maddoff fund.
ii) Not looking to contribute 20-30 years. I'm only going to contribute for 10 years. After that, not contribute anymore because no more tax relief. Investing in UT require a very long time Horizon. 15 years or more.
And between UT and ETF, I'd rather invest in ETF. It's just that Government only give tax relief for investing in PRS, and the PRS buy only UT.
i) Another 20 years? Many may not have this. Time doesn't guarantee a fund will rebound. Some funds may remain poor throughout.

ii) That's why I said, if buying UT can consider as "retirement fund", then many already have it. So now I own some equities, this is also my "retirement fund"?

PRS invest in UT.
UT invest in equities.

So invest in equities = retirement fund? tongue.gif

simplesmile
post Oct 14 2013, 03:25 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 14 2013, 03:02 PM)
i) Another 20 years? Many may not have this. Time doesn't guarantee a fund will rebound. Some funds may remain poor throughout.

ii) That's why I said, if buying UT can consider as "retirement fund", then many already have it. So now I own some equities, this is also my "retirement fund"?

PRS invest in UT.
UT invest in equities.

So invest in equities = retirement fund?  tongue.gif
i) A fund does not need to rebound back to your original entry price for you to make a profit. When the fund falls 50%, then you buy more ... to lower your average purchase price. But do this only if you believe the underlying fundamental of the fund will recover.
ii) Very few people can consistently earn 20+ percent return. However, when a person invests in PRS, he gets a tax relief. And for people in the high tax bracket, this kind of "return" is considered high return. And the investor can get this high return for not only 1 year, but 10 years.
Your analogy of whether buying equities directly is considered "retirement fund" or not, I think it depends on the reason you buy the fund in the first place.
If you buy equities because you enjoy the thrill of speculation, then I consider it a "gambling or entertainment fund".
If you buy equities because you want to get the dividend to replace employment income, then I consider it a "retirement fund".
cherroy
post Oct 14 2013, 03:39 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Oct 14 2013, 03:25 PM)
i) A fund does not need to rebound back to your original entry price for you to make a profit. When the fund falls 50%, then you buy more ... to lower your average purchase price. But do this only if you believe the underlying fundamental of the fund will recover.
ii) Very few people can consistently earn 20+ percent return. However, when a person invests in PRS, he gets a tax relief. And for people in the high tax bracket, this kind of "return" is considered high return. And the investor can get this high return for not only 1 year, but 10 years.
Your analogy of whether buying equities directly is considered "retirement fund" or not, I think it depends on the reason you buy the fund in the first place.
If you buy equities because you enjoy the thrill of speculation, then I consider it a "gambling or entertainment fund".
If you buy equities because you want to get the dividend to replace employment income, then I consider it a "retirement fund".
i) if the fund doesn't recover, it just means "double down" the loss.
Not every fund must be making profit over the long term.
Typically example, those local funds that offers China related UT.
Many average down, and double average down, and now what happen?

Buy more when the fund fall 50%, isn't it like "play fire" with retirement money? sweat.gif

ii) the tax relief is not unlimited. In fact only Rm3000, even at highest tax bracket 26%, it is Rm780 only. 10 years Rm7800.

Like that (if invest in equities aims to get passive income), then many do have retirement fund already, that's why I do not see much attractiveness in PRS.

In fact, for me, EPF is better choice.
Guaranteed principal + return (may not as high as UT but it guaranteed the capital and return)

simplesmile
post Oct 14 2013, 04:23 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 14 2013, 03:39 PM)
i) if the fund doesn't recover, it just means "double down" the loss.
Not every fund must be making profit over the long term.
Typically example, those local funds that offers China related UT.
Many average down, and double average down, and now what happen?

Buy more when the fund fall 50%, isn't it like "play fire" with retirement money?  sweat.gif

ii) the tax relief is not unlimited. In fact only Rm3000, even at highest tax bracket 26%, it is Rm780 only. 10 years Rm7800.

Like that (if invest in equities aims to get passive income), then many do have retirement fund already, that's why I do not see much attractiveness in PRS.

In fact, for me, EPF is better choice.
Guaranteed principal + return (may not as high as UT but it guaranteed the capital and return)
Oh well, I guess we have different views. No right or wrong. Just different approaches. Cheers.
Kaka23
post Oct 14 2013, 04:36 PM

8,259 posts

QUOTE(nxtpg @ Oct 14 2013, 11:13 AM)
how long will the application take?

for ic, can we cross it" for prs application only"  before sending to them?
If all forms filled up correctly, it is fast. Can buy the funds within 1-2 days.

Just cross put for fsm only for ic if I am not mistaken
nxtpg
post Oct 14 2013, 05:22 PM

601 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Oct 14 2013, 04:36 PM)
If all forms filled up correctly, it is fast. Can buy the funds within 1-2 days.

Just cross put for fsm only for ic if I am not mistaken

later download then ask wifey fill up

so much of stuff to do

need review n upgrade all our insurance policies too...
xuzen
post Oct 19 2013, 10:41 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Oct 14 2013, 01:17 PM)
eh Xuzen, can withdraw early (before 55) from A/C A & A/C B meh?
Thought only A/C B (which holds 30% of whatever injected into PRS)?

If both also can take out with a hit of 8%.. hm.. nice.. (especially for 26% taxed).
<rub hands in glee>
Oops. sorry... yeah you are right, can only withdraw from a/c B which is 30% of your total sum invested.

Xuzen
wongmunkeong
post Oct 19 2013, 11:33 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 19 2013, 10:41 AM)
Oops. sorry... yeah you are right, can only withdraw from a/c B which is 30% of your total sum invested.

Xuzen
argh... thought can abuse loophole like certain EPF "loopholes". cry.gif
gilabola
post Nov 5 2013, 10:51 PM

669 posts

Looks like Affin is acquiring Hwang

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...nd-assetma.aspx

Would Hwang PRS funds do better under Affin?
xuzen
post Nov 6 2013, 09:15 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(gilabola @ Nov 5 2013, 10:51 PM)
Looks like Affin is acquiring Hwang

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...nd-assetma.aspx

Would Hwang PRS funds do better under Affin?
Gilabola,

When the news of this acquisition broke out three months ago, I too asked the same question? I got hold of their relationship manager and asked him that.

The answer I got was this: "fund management is very much the fund manager and it's team. As long as the team is there intact, no matter who is the owner of the company, it should not change". My take is that Affin would be wise to let status quo reign since the current fund management team is doing well.

Xuzen
GloryKnight
post Nov 18 2013, 12:53 AM

1,770 posts

I would like to ask for an opinion here, why not go for insurance companies retirement plans?

For example, GE's Great Retirement Plan? It is a guaranteed return fund and would also get the tax relief of rm3k?
felixmask
post Nov 18 2013, 09:29 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Nov 18 2013, 12:53 AM)
I would like to ask for an opinion here, why not go for insurance companies retirement plans?

For example, GE's Great Retirement Plan? It is a guaranteed return fund and would also get the tax relief of rm3k?
GE not part of PRS provider.

Not mistaken only AIA & MANUFLIFE from Insurance.

This post has been edited by felixmask: Nov 18 2013, 09:35 AM
SUSDavid83
post Nov 18 2013, 09:33 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Nov 18 2013, 09:29 AM)

Not mistaken only AIA & MANUFLIFE
All PRS providers:

http://www.ppa.my/providers/providers-schemes/
felixmask
post Nov 18 2013, 09:36 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 18 2013, 09:33 AM)
thanks include the link...
xuzen
post Nov 18 2013, 10:37 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Nov 18 2013, 12:53 AM)

My reasons:

I) Suckish IRR compare to PRS
II) Too many complicated charges here and there i.e., not straight-forward.
III) It is an annuity plan, macam pension... every month take the same amount until mati. No fun, no syiok. Boring aje. Inflation potong stim somemore.
IV) I want to see money, lots of it... many zeros. I want to go Batam, Golok & Haadyai every month after I retire.

The above are my reasons. Others may have different views.
GloryKnight
post Nov 18 2013, 05:31 PM

1,770 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Nov 18 2013, 09:29 AM)

Not mistaken only AIA & MANUFLIFE from Insurance.
Yeah, that's right. Just thought that the 3k income tax relief would make GE's plan worthwhile too. But it's a 10-15 years guaranteed returned plan though?

QUOTE(xuzen @ Nov 18 2013, 10:37 AM)
My reasons:

I) Suckish IRR compare to PRS
II) Too many complicated charges here and there i.e., not straight-forward.
III) It is an annuity plan, macam pension... every month take the same amount until mati. No fun, no syiok. Boring aje. Inflation potong stim somemore.
IV) I want to see money, lots of it... many zeros. I want to go Batam, Golok & Haadyai every month after I retire.

The above are my reasons. Others may have different views.
Oh thanks for the your opinion! Much appreciate it. How bout going for those savings plan - for those who dont have a tendency to save money nor investing in stock market, UT, etc but just for the sake of allocating money every month. PRS would have more pros?

17 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0330sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:11 AM