English Clubs Liverpool FC- The Kop Talk 2012, Liverpool 1-2 ManU

dillonyong
post Sep 5 2012, 02:37 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Sep 5 2012, 02:25 PM)
Well, if this happen, this is not the first time in history, few clicks on google away from the answer.

here you go

most notably, Alec Herd played inside- right,and his son David played inside-left for Stockport County against Hartlepool on the 5th of May 1951,David scored in a 2-0 win.

and the Gudjohnsens pair.

in 1996, Eidur came on as a substitute for his father Arnor Gudjohnsen. well, this is a yes and no case, but the father and the son played in the same international match.
Interesting facts. But I was talking about Liverpool FC.
vreis
post Sep 5 2012, 02:49 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(dillonyong @ Sep 5 2012, 01:10 PM)
I snapped! I threw the pillow to the TV, bang the sofa and the table, shouted my lungs out, my neighbor thought i got robbed. Too many times hitting the woodwork. I could not believe my eyes. We were record breaker for the wrong reason.
ya, actually could not believe that a team can hit woodwork that much, seriously....its baffling, might be Guinnes books of records if there's such category doh.gif

QUOTE(murishige @ Sep 5 2012, 02:05 PM)
If only Downing shot against Sunderland last season had gone in, we wouldn't be treating him like this.

Many judge players on stats, yes he had no goals, yes he had no assists but that doesn't tell you the whole story. Sometimes my friends/relatives said "Downing?dah ade assist blum?" , when he scored against Gomel "eh Downing score?" , I feel like I want to smack them in the head.

here is a fact :
- Stewart Downing created the most chances for team mates without recording a single assist in the premier league at 55.

Added on September 5, 2012, 2:07 pmsome said a winger need to be able to beat his man, well did Beckham beat man after man?NO.

Added on September 5, 2012, 2:10 pmanother thing, people are quick to blame Downing because of his price tag. "Downing for 20m with no assist no goal?waste of money" . Its not his fault, same as Carroll.
Becks was & is still not a winger. He's a wide midfielder. Wingers hug touchline & race to byeline.

QUOTE(Petre @ Sep 5 2012, 02:33 PM)
so much about this thing called luck...
it keeps me wondering...

if a striker often hits wide, just wide, and lets say half of these shots went wide after hitting post...

do you see the striker unlucky, or just plain blunt?

did van persie had a lot of luck?

i wonder

Added on September 5, 2012, 2:34 pm

uh... no people, dun cross?  hmm.gif
RVP really have a lot of luck for the past year. before last year, how many did he hit? Take the winning goal against us last yr in Anfield, 9 out of 10 time the volley will end up wide with those small angle.
That is why we called Downing 1 trick pony, he only knew how to cross. sweat.gif
Expect him to dribble & fly past defenders are just too much to ask tongue.gif
Cloud0890
post Sep 5 2012, 02:49 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(murishige @ Sep 5 2012, 02:05 PM)
If only Downing shot against Sunderland last season had gone in, we wouldn't be treating him like this.

Many judge players on stats, yes he had no goals, yes he had no assists but that doesn't tell you the whole story. Sometimes my friends/relatives said "Downing?dah ade assist blum?" , when he scored against Gomel "eh Downing score?" , I feel like I want to smack them in the head.

here is a fact :
- Stewart Downing created the most chances for team mates without recording a single assist in the premier league at 55.

Added on September 5, 2012, 2:07 pmsome said a winger need to be able to beat his man, well did Beckham beat man after man?NO.

Added on September 5, 2012, 2:10 pmanother thing, people are quick to blame Downing because of his price tag. "Downing for 20m with no assist no goal?waste of money" . Its not his fault, same as Carroll.
It's not his fault he was overquoted for 20m and for us to actually think its a reasonable price and I personally would take him for 10m. Yes he might not be a world beater and he isn't that awful, its just his pricetag he is failing to live up to which is not his fault. Fans are just frustrated by the fact that we wasted so much on him, so the hate is directed at the person who negotiated the deal which probably is Comolli.

I've never judged him based on stats alone, he just never impressed me. Yes not all wingers need to be able to beat their man but those are traditional wingers not as favoured in today's game. We need to have at least one of those flair wingers in my opinion. I also think that stats don't show everything, you can argue that he has created the most chances without a single assist but how many of those so called "chances" are good chances? It's subjective isn't it as to what is to be considered a "chance". How many of the 55 chances were clear cut goalscoring opportunities? Is putting in some random cross with virtually no one to aim for considered a chance?

You say don't let the 0 goal 0 assist fool us. I say don't let the 55 "chances" fool you.
8sg9ft
post Sep 5 2012, 02:56 PM

blablabla
1,765 posts

QUOTE(Cloud0890 @ Sep 5 2012, 02:49 PM)
It's not his fault he was overquoted for 20m and for us to actually think its a reasonable price and I personally would take him for 10m. Yes he might not be a world beater and he isn't that awful, its just his pricetag he is failing to live up to which is not his fault. Fans are just frustrated by the fact that we wasted so much on him, so the hate is directed at the person who negotiated the deal which probably is Comolli.

I've never judged him based on stats alone, he just never impressed me. Yes not all wingers need to be able to beat their man but those are traditional wingers not as favoured in today's game. We need to have at least one of those flair wingers in my opinion. I also think that stats don't show everything, you can argue that he has created the most chances without a single assist but how many of those so called "chances" are good chances? It's subjective isn't it as to what is to be considered a "chance". How many of the 55 chances were clear cut goalscoring opportunities? Is putting in some random cross with virtually no one to aim for considered a chance?

You say don't let the 0 goal 0 assist fool us. I say don't let the 55 "chances" fool you.
You made a very good point there. Indeed, not all chances are clear-cut chances. Can't just look at stats alone. And yes, he doesn't impress me either. Too damn predictable. Didn't see much running to pull defenders away from his teammates too.
Petre
post Sep 5 2012, 03:02 PM

Default Member Title
4,334 posts

good crosses are not just about where they land, but is also about whether its possible for anyone to attack it, the timing etc. how many of downing's crosses are actually good enough to benefit the team? if he crossed the best cross into the box but no team mate could have reached it, then too bad. its a good cross bad timing, still its called a useless cross... its akin to like the fastest smash in the world but gone wide. still useless...

This post has been edited by Petre: Sep 5 2012, 03:04 PM
vreis
post Sep 5 2012, 03:08 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Sep 5 2012, 03:02 PM)
good crosses are not just about where they land, but is also about whether its possible for anyone to attack it, the timing etc. how many of downing's crosses are actually good enough to benefit the team? if he crossed the best cross into the box but no team mate could have reached it, then too bad. its a good cross bad timing, still its called a useless cross... its akin to like the fastest smash in the world but gone wide. still useless...
from what I rmb, his crosses last season is quite good. Most of the time into danger zone, but our strikers/midfielder all too shy to attack, all stay in comfy zone doh.gif
No one cross to players head, they cross to a zone where its most danger to opposition. Surely its not his fault the players prefer not to attack his crosses?
His crosses is akin to smashes thats block by own double partner laugh.gif
Petre
post Sep 5 2012, 03:12 PM

Default Member Title
4,334 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Sep 5 2012, 03:08 PM)
from what I rmb, his crosses last season is quite good. Most of the time into danger zone, but our strikers/midfielder all too shy to attack, all stay in comfy zone doh.gif
No one cross to players head, they cross to a zone where its most danger to opposition. Surely its not his fault the players prefer not to attack his crosses?
the red part i know la doh.gif laugh.gif

but who can he expect to attack the crosses? carroll? suarez? kuyt...? as i remember we dont exactly have a physical frontline...

one trick pony just one trick pony... how is he doing as a LB? i worry. takmaulah defend also kenot, but at least i see him work hard.
dillonyong
post Sep 5 2012, 03:16 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Sep 5 2012, 03:08 PM)
His crosses are quite good if you at it artistically. The ball crossing at that length, it is a beautiful view. The only problem is, he either crosses when there's no player in the box or he overshoot it pass the players. If 6'4 Andy Caroll cant meet his crosses, I think only Michael Jordan or Magic Johnson can.

And he's so easy to defend against. He's always gonna carry the ball straight forward, no trickery, just plainly lightweight pace and predictable direction. He's one of those that I would say have physical gift as a footballer but doesnt possess a footballing brain.

Bottom line is, he's crap.

PS - Thank God, he's not bad looking, or else I will do some "Yo, Mama is fat" jokes on him. Kinda piss with this guy.
Petre
post Sep 5 2012, 03:20 PM

Default Member Title
4,334 posts

well just be fair, Downing could be good for someone else but so far, he's crap for us... not made for each other. perhaps next life...
vreis
post Sep 5 2012, 03:23 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Sep 5 2012, 03:12 PM)
the red part i know la  doh.gif  laugh.gif

but who can he expect to attack the crosses? carroll? suarez? kuyt...? as i remember we dont exactly have a physical frontline...

one trick pony just one trick pony... how is he doing as a LB? i worry. takmaulah defend also kenot, but at least i see him work hard.
that is why I said shouldn't put all blame at him when no one dare attack crosses as well.
Chicarito not big, but he can attack crosses well.
We edi knew what we got when we went for him. Maddie & few old posters here edi highlighted his 1 trick pony-ness laugh.gif
Anyway, there's feww seasons before we can challenge for top 4 from what can be seen. Unless suddenly some oild baron come & pump endless moolah in.

Added on September 5, 2012, 3:24 pm
QUOTE(dillonyong @ Sep 5 2012, 03:16 PM)
His crosses are quite good if you at it artistically. The ball crossing at that length, it is a beautiful view. The only problem is, he either crosses when there's no player in the box or he overshoot it pass the players. If 6'4 Andy Caroll cant meet his crosses, I think only Michael Jordan or Magic Johnson can.

And he's so easy to defend against. He's always gonna carry the ball straight forward, no trickery, just plainly lightweight pace and predictable direction. He's one of those that I would say have physical gift as a footballer but doesnt possess a footballing brain.

Bottom line is, he's crap.

PS - Thank God, he's not bad looking, or else I will do some "Yo, Mama is fat" jokes on him. Kinda piss with this guy.
Well, if you notice since years ago we edi highlighted his 1 trick pony-ness...but even now his 1 trick is not up to mark...oh Lord doh.gif

QUOTE(Petre @ Sep 5 2012, 03:20 PM)
well just be fair, Downing could be good for someone else but so far, he's crap for us... not made for each other. perhaps next life...
yeah, notice, we never really depend on crosses for goals

This post has been edited by vreis: Sep 5 2012, 03:24 PM
dillonyong
post Sep 5 2012, 03:27 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Sep 5 2012, 03:20 PM)
Next life? When he plays for us, I was thinking Liverpool is in trouble, when he plays for England I shake my head and says England is in trouble.

If he plays for us next life, even our next life is in trouble. biggrin.gif
Petre
post Sep 5 2012, 03:37 PM

Default Member Title
4,334 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Sep 5 2012, 03:23 PM)

Well, if you notice since years ago we edi highlighted his 1 trick pony-ness...but even now his 1 trick is not up to mark...oh Lord doh.gif
yeah, notice, we never really depend on crosses for goals
then why exacrly did we buy him for? hmm.gif

QUOTE(dillonyong @ Sep 5 2012, 03:27 PM)
Next life? When he plays for us, I was thinking Liverpool is in trouble, when he plays for England I shake my head and says England is in trouble.

If he plays for us next life, even our next life is in trouble. biggrin.gif
dude, i still wanna see us lifting league trophy, dun so fast talk about next life lah laugh.gif

vreis
post Sep 5 2012, 03:48 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Sep 5 2012, 03:37 PM)
then why exacrly did we buy him for?  hmm.gif
dude, i still wanna see us lifting league trophy, dun so fast talk about next life lah  laugh.gif
bought him for exactly that 1 trick only, no more no less.... biggrin.gif
Cloud0890
post Sep 5 2012, 03:49 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Sep 5 2012, 03:37 PM)
then why exacrly did we buy him for?  hmm.gif
dude, i still wanna see us lifting league trophy, dun so fast talk about next life lah  laugh.gif
Haha maybe when England win WC we got chance lah. They need a miracle as much as we do.
rickk
post Sep 5 2012, 03:59 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(Cloud0890 @ Sep 5 2012, 03:49 PM)
Haha maybe when England win WC we got chance lah. They need a miracle as much as we do.
Sry no offense, but england win WC just like Malaysia qualifying for WC brows.gif
Cloud0890
post Sep 5 2012, 04:13 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(rickk @ Sep 5 2012, 03:59 PM)
Sry no offense, but england win WC just like Malaysia qualifying for WC  brows.gif
Exactly because I think its equally difficult for us to win the league.
Petre
post Sep 5 2012, 04:17 PM

Default Member Title
4,334 posts

QUOTE(rickk @ Sep 5 2012, 03:59 PM)
Sry no offense, but england win WC just like Malaysia qualifying for WC  brows.gif
QUOTE(Cloud0890 @ Sep 5 2012, 04:13 PM)
club teams can buy success but not national teams. different thing ma. see how mancity suddenly win league?
Cloud0890
post Sep 5 2012, 04:25 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Sep 5 2012, 04:17 PM)
club teams can buy success but not national teams. different thing ma. see how mancity suddenly win league?
In the past yes but with FFP its unlikely we will see anymore of those tongue.gif
dillonyong
post Sep 5 2012, 04:27 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(Cloud0890 @ Sep 5 2012, 04:13 PM)
For us to win the league, it requires many elements to come into place:

1) John Henry and Tom Werner suddenly decided to invest in getting Falcao, Neymar and Thomas Muller
2) Man Utd decided to sign sell Rooney and Vidic replace them with Emile Heskey and Titus Bramble
3) Chelsea plays Fernando Torres as left back, Juan Mata as right back, Eden Hazard as Goalkeeper and John Terry as striker
4) Man City went bankrupt and Kun, Zabaleta and Tevez return to Argentina preparing for lawsuits against them
5) Arsenal's main 8 players all got cruciate ligament including Podolski, Cazorla and Diaby
6) Tottenham not crushing us
7) And finally Howard Webb and Phil Dowd getting sacked as referee

So there you go. Now you think Angels flying out of our asses are more possible than the above right? biggrin.gif
Petre
post Sep 5 2012, 04:31 PM

Default Member Title
4,334 posts

QUOTE(dillonyong @ Sep 5 2012, 04:27 PM)
For us to win the league, it requires many elements to come into place:

1) John Henry and Tom Werner suddenly decided to invest in getting Falcao, Neymar and Thomas Muller
2) Man Utd decided to sign sell Rooney and Vidic replace them with Emile Heskey and Titus Bramble
3) Chelsea plays Fernando Torres as left back, Juan Mata as right back, Eden Hazard as Goalkeeper and John Terry as striker
4) Man City went bankrupt and Kun, Zabaleta and Tevez return to Argentina preparing for lawsuits against them
5) Arsenal's main 8 players all got cruciate ligament including Podolski, Cazorla and Diaby
6) Tottenham not crushing us
7) And finally Howard Webb and Phil Dowd getting sacked as referee

So there you go. Now you think Angels flying out of our asses are more possible than the above right? biggrin.gif
u on power root issit? biggrin.gif

119 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0274sec    1.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:53 PM