English Clubs Liverpool FC- The Kop Talk 2012, Liverpool 1-2 ManU

vreis
post Sep 5 2012, 11:41 AM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

Looks like I'm not alone in seeing that we're unlucky last year. Sure we're never going to challenge for the crown, but in converting half of the strikes that hit post/bar/stanchion, I'm sure we'll be thereabout jostling for top 4. Actually I see good football in KD team, perhaps not every match but most, in fact most of the match I watch we mostly bossed the game just to let down by poor finishing. As a matter of fact would like to see how this season will shape for the team under KD. But at last most just seeing the result not justifying the spending, hence someone have to go.
Therefore I cant brain when ppl said KD tactical knowledge even worse than Rodgers....really ????doh.gif

P/S: I still think FFP is just a scaremongering tactic by Platini. Doubt he'll have the balls to exclude RM/Barca/Ski

This post has been edited by vreis: Sep 5 2012, 11:42 AM
vreis
post Sep 5 2012, 12:03 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(dillonyong @ Sep 5 2012, 11:57 AM)
I watched most of the matches last season, banging my sofa and table till it is almost broken. While I agree we played well on most occasions and were unlucky, I have to disagree with the Downing part. He was predictable and he keeps losing possession easily by trying too much. His crosses were nowhere near the targeted players most of the time and he scoffed his shots like rugby.

As what I said last season, Downing is drowning the team.
Actually tot Downing did his job, ie to send in crosses, but there's nobody attacking the crosses bar AC who we're mostly heavily marked most of the time. Downing is a 1 trick pony so its pointless expecting him to be a flying winger though he is a disappointment but he's not as useless as ppl put (based on last season). But he did put some decent crosses. Prob was & is there's no one attacking crosses unlike some other teams that have 3 or 4 players swarming to attack crosses.

vreis
post Sep 5 2012, 12:09 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(maranello55 @ Sep 5 2012, 12:05 PM)
and i died everytime we hit the woodwork...which if converted, we wouldve finish waaayy better on d table.
Immuned. Kinda get used to it for the past 4 seasons. The frustrated feeling I meant.
Which is why I kinda perplexed as to critics abt the team performance (not result, mind you).

vreis
post Sep 5 2012, 12:19 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(maranello55 @ Sep 5 2012, 12:17 PM)
the final 3rd especially.....i always sakit jantung there liao...very little style...up to there our fronts most of the time dunno wut to do...and end up wasted  vmad.gif
well, it's difficult to find a 25 goal a season forward. Think the prob is not lack a torres kind of striker but rather collectively, the midfield or rather the team don't contribute enuff goals.
vreis
post Sep 5 2012, 12:31 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(maranello55 @ Sep 5 2012, 12:25 PM)
gerrard pass ------> torres first touch goal is very much missed
get used to it, it's just distant memories now. Doubt we'll find another Gerrard/Torres combo anytime soon.
vreis
post Sep 5 2012, 02:49 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(dillonyong @ Sep 5 2012, 01:10 PM)
I snapped! I threw the pillow to the TV, bang the sofa and the table, shouted my lungs out, my neighbor thought i got robbed. Too many times hitting the woodwork. I could not believe my eyes. We were record breaker for the wrong reason.
ya, actually could not believe that a team can hit woodwork that much, seriously....its baffling, might be Guinnes books of records if there's such category doh.gif

QUOTE(murishige @ Sep 5 2012, 02:05 PM)
If only Downing shot against Sunderland last season had gone in, we wouldn't be treating him like this.

Many judge players on stats, yes he had no goals, yes he had no assists but that doesn't tell you the whole story. Sometimes my friends/relatives said "Downing?dah ade assist blum?" , when he scored against Gomel "eh Downing score?" , I feel like I want to smack them in the head.

here is a fact :
- Stewart Downing created the most chances for team mates without recording a single assist in the premier league at 55.

Added on September 5, 2012, 2:07 pmsome said a winger need to be able to beat his man, well did Beckham beat man after man?NO.

Added on September 5, 2012, 2:10 pmanother thing, people are quick to blame Downing because of his price tag. "Downing for 20m with no assist no goal?waste of money" . Its not his fault, same as Carroll.
Becks was & is still not a winger. He's a wide midfielder. Wingers hug touchline & race to byeline.

QUOTE(Petre @ Sep 5 2012, 02:33 PM)
so much about this thing called luck...
it keeps me wondering...

if a striker often hits wide, just wide, and lets say half of these shots went wide after hitting post...

do you see the striker unlucky, or just plain blunt?

did van persie had a lot of luck?

i wonder

Added on September 5, 2012, 2:34 pm

uh... no people, dun cross?  hmm.gif
RVP really have a lot of luck for the past year. before last year, how many did he hit? Take the winning goal against us last yr in Anfield, 9 out of 10 time the volley will end up wide with those small angle.
That is why we called Downing 1 trick pony, he only knew how to cross. sweat.gif
Expect him to dribble & fly past defenders are just too much to ask tongue.gif
vreis
post Sep 5 2012, 03:08 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Sep 5 2012, 03:02 PM)
good crosses are not just about where they land, but is also about whether its possible for anyone to attack it, the timing etc. how many of downing's crosses are actually good enough to benefit the team? if he crossed the best cross into the box but no team mate could have reached it, then too bad. its a good cross bad timing, still its called a useless cross... its akin to like the fastest smash in the world but gone wide. still useless...
from what I rmb, his crosses last season is quite good. Most of the time into danger zone, but our strikers/midfielder all too shy to attack, all stay in comfy zone doh.gif
No one cross to players head, they cross to a zone where its most danger to opposition. Surely its not his fault the players prefer not to attack his crosses?
His crosses is akin to smashes thats block by own double partner laugh.gif
vreis
post Sep 5 2012, 03:23 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Sep 5 2012, 03:12 PM)
the red part i know la  doh.gif  laugh.gif

but who can he expect to attack the crosses? carroll? suarez? kuyt...? as i remember we dont exactly have a physical frontline...

one trick pony just one trick pony... how is he doing as a LB? i worry. takmaulah defend also kenot, but at least i see him work hard.
that is why I said shouldn't put all blame at him when no one dare attack crosses as well.
Chicarito not big, but he can attack crosses well.
We edi knew what we got when we went for him. Maddie & few old posters here edi highlighted his 1 trick pony-ness laugh.gif
Anyway, there's feww seasons before we can challenge for top 4 from what can be seen. Unless suddenly some oild baron come & pump endless moolah in.

Added on September 5, 2012, 3:24 pm
QUOTE(dillonyong @ Sep 5 2012, 03:16 PM)
His crosses are quite good if you at it artistically. The ball crossing at that length, it is a beautiful view. The only problem is, he either crosses when there's no player in the box or he overshoot it pass the players. If 6'4 Andy Caroll cant meet his crosses, I think only Michael Jordan or Magic Johnson can.

And he's so easy to defend against. He's always gonna carry the ball straight forward, no trickery, just plainly lightweight pace and predictable direction. He's one of those that I would say have physical gift as a footballer but doesnt possess a footballing brain.

Bottom line is, he's crap.

PS - Thank God, he's not bad looking, or else I will do some "Yo, Mama is fat" jokes on him. Kinda piss with this guy.
Well, if you notice since years ago we edi highlighted his 1 trick pony-ness...but even now his 1 trick is not up to mark...oh Lord doh.gif

QUOTE(Petre @ Sep 5 2012, 03:20 PM)
well just be fair, Downing could be good for someone else but so far, he's crap for us... not made for each other. perhaps next life...
yeah, notice, we never really depend on crosses for goals

This post has been edited by vreis: Sep 5 2012, 03:24 PM
vreis
post Sep 5 2012, 03:48 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Sep 5 2012, 03:37 PM)
then why exacrly did we buy him for?  hmm.gif
dude, i still wanna see us lifting league trophy, dun so fast talk about next life lah  laugh.gif
bought him for exactly that 1 trick only, no more no less.... biggrin.gif
vreis
post Sep 6 2012, 10:11 AM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(Cloud0890 @ Sep 6 2012, 09:55 AM)
So who did he discard and leave the position vacant? Andy Carroll was only discarded because he was promised a replacement would be brought in and John Henry has since admitted someone up there screwed up. I've never heard anything about selling Downing. As for Jordan Henderson, Stoke made an enquiry about him and was dismissed. He was then according to rumours used as a makeweight for Dempsey so its not exactly discarding and leaving the position vacant is it? Our midfield is packed with Gerrard, Allen, Sahin, Shelvey, and Lucas!
The main grouse here is a good manager make good use of whats available unlike Rodgers, esp we're poor big club biggrin.gif .
Truth to be told, I'm not convinced by rodgers either.

QUOTE(bitebug @ Sep 6 2012, 09:57 AM)
There'll always be loopholes to be exploited by lawmakers/accountants etc. Even if there arent any, do Platini have to balls to really exclude those clubs where blue chip players ply their trade?
won't he running scare those clubs form a breakaway league as threatened before? If there's 10 clubs with big names breaking away, I imagine that it'll be impossible for Platini to convinced other clubs with blue chip players staying put. Esp when the income generated are control by the clubs themselves unlike UCL. Players will be swayed by unlimited riches on offer.
vreis
post Sep 6 2012, 10:32 AM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Sep 6 2012, 10:14 AM)
So out of the expensive pieces you have listed, who was actually sold?

NONE.

BR has stated had he knew he wouldn't get the 1-2 signings he was expecting, he wouldn't have let AC out on loan. It wasn't his fault that somebody above him botched this up. Get your facts right before you criticise.
To be honest, BR WILL sell those if only there's takers. Main point is good mgr adapt & make do with what he has, not just clear stock & bring new players.
vreis
post Sep 7 2012, 09:45 AM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(dillonyong @ Sep 7 2012, 09:34 AM)
All that is left for Yesil to do is to say "Steady" and he is in the 1st team. Say "steady" Yesil! Say "Steady"
He ain't English so dunno steady...
so the conversation will be like this instead.
BR : mad.gif vmad.gif
Yesil : Stetig...stetig
BR : blink.gif hmm.gif rclxub.gif
vreis
post Sep 7 2012, 11:30 AM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(dillonyong @ Sep 7 2012, 09:56 AM)
You should complete the whole conversation, buddy. biggrin.gif

BR :  :You need to change your attitude!!  vmad.gif
Yesil : Stetig...stetig
BR :  hmm.gif Whatdick? You said "whatdick" one more time, you'll be on the first plane back to Berlin!
Yesil:  blink.gif
BR: Yesil! You said "whatdick, Yesil. You said it.
Yesil:  doh.gif

QUOTE(Petre @ Sep 7 2012, 10:55 AM)
shit i cant hold myself from giving opinions.. although they are no more than just 2 cents lol

if wanna implement FFP, all clubs should start equal. if not what fair in financial fair play? i still think just let economics work themselves. if any club wanna risk being history, its their own doing. i think thats fair enough
The clubs that let themselves in the red, sorry to say, its their own doing. clubs had been warned for years to keep their house in order. Why'd you think RM sold their training base to the local government back in early 2000s?
Though I'd agree to a certain extend on your view, but clubs that threw $$$ ard is akin to doping in financial sense. That is why UEFA so against it. Clubs like MU/Bayern are successful is due to their own prowess in keeping up with market & get their house in order, not getting $$$ from sugar daddy. It's their own hardworks that they get the headstart. No one prevent others from following their footsteps. So its unfair in your call to start equally, as its akin to ask Usain Bolt to run slower so other can catch up.... though its impossible to that anyway.

QUOTE(dillonyong @ Sep 7 2012, 11:16 AM)
It will come to a point when there is a need to control player's wages. It's getting ridiculous - player's wages and transfer fee. Inflation may soon destroy football.
This is the root cos of the probs...wages is spiralling outta control when u see someone can earn 250k/week.....whatever the currency is.
vreis
post Sep 10 2012, 02:04 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(dillonyong @ Sep 10 2012, 11:59 AM)
I'm not saying you, buddy. I was reading comments from people in Liverpool news site saying sell Pepe and get another keeper. It's ridiculous.
we'll take years to find a reliable numero uno based on past experience. After Grobbelaar, we went thru James, Westerweld, Dudek, Kirkland, Carson & finally got Reina. Thats like after 15 years only we got a great keeper. In each case we thought we got the real deal only to have suspect keeper around.
same thing we're going thru with Torres replacement now. shakehead.gif
vreis
post Sep 11 2012, 12:41 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(keith.hmc @ Sep 11 2012, 12:22 PM)
I know that many still side Benitez but as a die hard Liverpool fan, I think Benitez gets too much credit than he deserves. Yes, he won us the Champs League and FA Cup and came a close second but it is also more often than not that Stevie G carried us through alone. Most of his "signings" failed to live up to the expectations and didn't really add anything to the team. Granted those handful of his "signings" performed, even then we still relied heavily on Gerrard and his tactics sometimes were too negative. I feel he spent way too much money on way too many players that ultimately led to this whole incident referred to by him. I know of fans who seem to forget that he spent a lot on players that ultimately we don't even remember (i.e. Josemi, Nunez, Morientes, Sissoko, Gonzalez and the list goes on). He spent a total of 226m and 76 players. Of all 76, it is safe to say that only 10 really helped the team play better. Not saying he's shit but he has to take as much of the blame as G&H.
Funny how you'd neglect the recoup part. rolleyes.gif He spent a LOT, that's depend on perspective. BUT he DID recoup a LOT as well. So it's not like his spending outstrip the recoup by miles.
Why don't you dwelled on why he spent on a Nunez instead of a Dani Alves, on Ngog instead of Jovetic. When you'd realised that, you'll know why he'd spend so MUCH for so many players that he later shipped out in your context yawn.gif
vreis
post Sep 11 2012, 02:05 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(keith.hmc @ Sep 11 2012, 01:45 PM)
Again, not my point. I'm just saying that he shouldn't keep blaming the ex-owners and also fans should stop defending him like he has never done anything wrong at Anfield. Like I said, I don't think he is a bad manager and I don't dislike him either. I'm just sick of hearing him saying that he didn't get enough money and whatnot. I think he should just move on and focus on his current position and we as fans should also stop focusing on the past.

Don't get me wrong, the team definitely contributed altogether but again, maybe we would be much better if the money spent was spent on better players instead of bringing a host of below-average players. I'm merely suggesting that we look at both sides and remain a neutral on this matter as we don't know the full story and just move on from this.

Constantly debating about who's right or wrong is pointless. Just like a break-up, both parties are always at fault no matter how small the fault so I'm just saying he had some fault for his departure as well and it's not entirely the fault of the ex-owners and directors. So maybe fans should stop blaming it all on the ex-owners.
Apparently you did not dwelled on why RB settled on budget target instead of world class talents. Hence the slagging on him buying so much below avg players. If given a choice, you'd think he won't buying in Harrods instead???
Let me keep it simple, the squad is full of gaps & holes, how not to buy below avg players to plug gaps with limited budget?? rolleyes.gif
vreis
post Sep 11 2012, 04:08 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

you pretty much have to have former players that breath Reds to have passion like KD, Thommo, Sammy Lee or Evans. Problem is those former players with credentials are few & far between.
As for Rodgers, I'd still have my reservations. Just hope that BR proves me wrong with time..

Sunderland eh, dun have a good feeling considering our record in North East ain't good. Finger crossed wink.gif
vreis
post Sep 12 2012, 02:41 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

Am actually expecting the worst but hoping for the best for them.
Afterall, that Cameron said that the campaign for justice was 'like a blind man, in a dark room, looking for a black cat that isn't there' - a quote from HJC.

Let's hope for the best. Veritas Oriundus Aequitas - JFT 96

Here's a video by Joey Barton on Hillsborough.
http://www.joeybarton.com/hillsborough-jus...truth/#comments

He had his flaws but he's as passionate as can be on the tragedy.
vreis
post Sep 13 2012, 10:15 AM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

The certain Dr. Stefan Popper enforced the 3.15pm cut-off which indirectly sentenced the 41 to death. He also defied standard protocol in examining the victims. How can he enforced a cut off date when there's clearly evidence of lives after that, I think we all knew why now.
Wonder how can he sleeps soundly when he indirectly kills 41 lives

Added : I must commend Cameron for his full hearted apology though, if its any other "country" PM.........

This post has been edited by vreis: Sep 13 2012, 10:17 AM
vreis
post Sep 14 2012, 12:10 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(dillonyong @ Sep 14 2012, 11:42 AM)
Yup. 1987, the year I discovered my love for Liverpool due to my dad's influence.
And then ever since 1990, I have been suffering heartbreak after heartbreak and still waiting for our 19th.
a bit later than urs. Circa 89/90, jeez...im old wink.gif

This post has been edited by vreis: Sep 14 2012, 12:11 PM

0.0351sec    1.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:33 AM