Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.17

celciuz
post Oct 12 2012, 11:14 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 12 2012, 11:11 AM)
ohh killer hdd.
but 300-400 raw / 32gb card? even more killer tongue.gif
So far based on my experience shooting my travel pics at Aus, 300+ per 16G card. So maybe about 600+ per 32GB!

Will be adding a 2TB hdd soon sweat.gif
celciuz
post Oct 12 2012, 02:13 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Oct 12 2012, 11:17 AM)
Aaaa my sandisk 95mbs 32gb got connecting point problems!!

Malacca is such a nice place to stay, so much good food! Lucky cy!
You sure its the SD card and not the reader? hmm.gif Food is alright in Melaka la... but I think Penang has better food!

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Oct 12 2012, 12:25 PM)
Haha very true, pak putras naan was one of the best for me!

Added on October 12, 2012, 12:27 pm

Haha ouuu dont get me started with perak haha damn awesome too!!

i think we should have a photo/food roadtrips! At least can meet people from different states! Brother Gnome can show us around Ipoh! Haha
Haha! But I think in KL also have similar stuffs isn't it?
celciuz
post Oct 12 2012, 02:30 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Oct 12 2012, 02:21 PM)
cy : mana kangaroo and koala pics
Dekat Australia la... many there~ rclxms.gif
celciuz
post Oct 13 2012, 07:19 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Oct 13 2012, 07:06 AM)
Just bought the 24-70. The weight is really heavy. Any suggestion to reduce the stress on the hand?
Congratulations on your new purchase! As for the weight? Just get used to it, 24-70 weight is nothing.
celciuz
post Oct 13 2012, 09:54 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Masamune @ Oct 13 2012, 11:41 AM)
Some website recommend the SB 400 instead of SB 700. Being lighter, more compact and cheaper. What are the main differences between those 2?
I think the SB-400 is kinda limited compared to SB-700... the head direction and output power as well.

QUOTE(amduser @ Oct 13 2012, 12:54 PM)

So its another Black Rapid R-Strap replica? I tried the original R-Strap before, it is great only when you aren't using the vertical grip eg. for camera without grip.
celciuz
post Oct 15 2012, 05:29 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Oct 15 2012, 02:58 PM)
I did notice when viewing RAW and the color in JPEG seems different
That is because the NEF (raw meat) is cooked by different people (Nikon vs. Adobe). Adobe can't copy the recipe exactly from Nikon, it will be similar but not the same.
celciuz
post Oct 15 2012, 07:48 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Oct 15 2012, 05:38 PM)
Colours are less concerned when it comes to deal in RAW, because colour can be readjusted accordingly. What's more important in RAW is the details captured and different RAW converter yield different quality result.
Yeap, I'm aware of that smile.gif I use LR/ACR mainly because its my digital workflow everything is integrated no need to specially convert with another software then work on the converted file.

QUOTE(MrAkay @ Oct 15 2012, 06:01 PM)
Iv never tried processing raw using ACR since its too time consuming...
I use LR most of the time, but its the same engine as ACR and I think the speed is alright... seems faster than ViewNX.
celciuz
post Oct 17 2012, 08:40 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(ruxyn_tang @ Oct 17 2012, 08:37 PM)
Gonna attend a wedding soon. Any tips?
Sit back and enjoy the dinner?
celciuz
post Oct 17 2012, 08:46 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(ruxyn_tang @ Oct 17 2012, 08:44 PM)
Of course I will enjoy the dinner. But shooting for morning also :1
Are you shooting as the main photographer or helping out etc?
celciuz
post Oct 17 2012, 09:37 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Oct 17 2012, 09:26 PM)
i'm going to shoot my first wedding soon too :S not sure what can i do with just a 35mm and 85mm. i dont even own a flash lol
DX? Its going to be really leceh... and I think you will be sticking to 35mm all the time if you don't have anything wider.
celciuz
post Oct 17 2012, 09:56 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 17 2012, 09:46 PM)
Nikon seems to be targeting the entry FX market now
celciuz
post Oct 17 2012, 10:19 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 17 2012, 10:07 PM)
first the 'poor man' trinity.
now the 'poor man' 70-200...can team up with 24-85.
entry level or not...i dont doubt that it will have good optics.
Of course don't expect it to have same price as the DX lens such as 55-300 though LOL.
celciuz
post Oct 18 2012, 08:11 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Oct 18 2012, 12:35 AM)
I wonder what 'Next generation VR" is capable of! biggrin.gif

Added on October 18, 2012, 12:36 am

Try to capture moments that maybe the main photographer would miss since most of their attention would be at the couple!
Ie. friends laughing out loud, parents crying, ji muis n hengtais have a good time ;D
Initially 3 stop, v2 is 4 stop... v3 is 5 stop? tongue.gif
celciuz
post Oct 22 2012, 09:17 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(pieceofcakeusa @ Oct 19 2012, 03:51 PM)
Only way to Christening a new camera to let it loose at the circuit...  rclxm9.gif

D600, 70-300mm (shot at 195mm), crop done on lightroom, f10, 1/125s

Getting my FX DSLR drenched is probably my style instead... D700 kena, D800 also kena from yesterday's MotoGP session ._.
celciuz
post Oct 23 2012, 01:36 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Oct 23 2012, 01:06 PM)
Hohoho He has the D600 already??

Share share I want to play with it happy.gifv
Lol.. The kit lens is good enough for all..

If you want to compare sharpness overall the 18-105 is a better performer than the 3. A used 18-105 goes for RM6xx so its quite affordable too!

18-55
http://www.photozone.de/nikon--nikkor-aps-...53556vr?start=1

18-105
http://www.photozone.de/nikon--nikkor-aps-..._3556vr?start=1

18-200
http://www.photozone.de/nikon--nikkor-aps-...-report?start=1

Hohoho! Get your sensor cleaned!!

I'm thinking to get my sensors cleaned here... biggrin.gif... my D800 have dust already so fast dry.gif... damn it? LOL.
celciuz
post Oct 23 2012, 08:24 PM

14,037 posts

Ahh, those people who thinks D800 can't do motorsport is clearly wrong... I'm starting to like it more than my D700 despite only 6fps xD

#4 Andrea Dovizioso, MotoGP Race by CY Pixels, on Flickr
Camera Nikon D800
Exposure 0.005 sec (1/200)
Aperture f/9.0
Focal Length 350 mm
ISO Speed 2000
celciuz
post Oct 23 2012, 09:06 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Oct 23 2012, 08:50 PM)
Hoho very nice n sharp! You used the 2x tele converter?
Yeah! Without TC the motorbike is so small, I'm shooting in crop mode too. Which makes it about 350mm x 1.5 equivalent.
celciuz
post Oct 23 2012, 11:49 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 23 2012, 11:34 PM)
i always wondered about those ppl.
wonder what happens if u ask them before D3 how ppl shot sports...
30yrs ago...40yrs ago...those systems were turtle compared to whats available now...yet they could still do it...

its like how some ppl say D90 cannot use...but clearly got ppl out there who also manage to get decent sport shots.
Haha... I find it funny when people start bashing the D800 just because it has a 36MP and doesn't do 8fps like the D700. laugh.gif To be frank, as both a D700 and D800 user I'm very much impressed with the D800 sensor, especially ISO.
celciuz
post Oct 24 2012, 12:16 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 24 2012, 12:10 AM)
8fps also nothing special...now pro bodies all 11, 12, 20fps also got tongue.gif
Think again, D700 is still the fastest FF DSLR body at 8fps among non single digit body. (D3,D3s,D4,1D4,1DX excluded).

Wait... how fast is the A99? But that one SLT aish...
celciuz
post Oct 24 2012, 12:38 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Pmc @ Oct 24 2012, 12:24 AM)
guyss.. need help regarding pricing of dslr. wanted to post at the pinned topic, but so far like nobody reply.. so try my luck here.
Rm4348 for Nikon D7000+ 18-105 kitlens, n include 50mm 1.8d, tripod, nikon bag, sd card, strap/towel. how is that? the shop is at KLCC, its nikon official shop.
I don't know the market price, but based on experience Nikon official shop price isn't cheap. You're better off looking at shops such as Foto Selangor.

QUOTE(gnome @ Oct 24 2012, 12:36 AM)
a99 has such a nice grip but the shutter sound i dont like sweat.gif

and still prefer traditional viewfinder then EVF but if you can live with those then its a great camera. Especially for movie recording imo biggrin.gif
Nice grip? My current fav grip is design is the new generation Nikon FX bodies... D800, D600. D4 I can't recall how is the grip, held it once only.

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0558sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:51 AM