Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.17

celciuz
post Sep 19 2012, 07:33 PM

14,037 posts

Erm, question. Does anybody here knows how can I watermark different sizes, but the watermark remains the same size? meaning the watermark actually scaling to the actual image size?
celciuz
post Sep 19 2012, 08:36 PM

14,037 posts

Mmm... bokeh bokeh biggrin.gif

Cherrie, The Star Motor Carnival 2012 by CY Pixels, on Flickr
celciuz
post Sep 20 2012, 07:52 AM

14,037 posts

A D600 vs D800 ISO performance review by fstoppers.com,

http://fstoppers.com/the-first-real-world-...n-d600-iso-test

Seems like the D600 is similar to the D800!
celciuz
post Sep 20 2012, 10:23 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Sep 20 2012, 08:26 AM)
too bokeh
my eyes  rclxub.gif
Your eyes have natural bokeh la... hmm.gif Btw, Seoul next year ha?

Not used to 100% VF yet... I'm still trained to compose with the non 100% VF of the D700 sweat.gif
celciuz
post Sep 20 2012, 11:13 AM

14,037 posts

I'm wondering if the D600 grip style is similar to D7000, or uses the newer design like the D800?

Side note, MB-D12 what's the market price like ah? I kept hearing 'expensive'... I checked SSK.com, RM1288 >_< so what's the street price like?
celciuz
post Sep 20 2012, 07:57 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(onscreen @ Sep 20 2012, 12:13 PM)
D600 uses the new D800 style. Priced at RM900+/-

Added on September 20, 2012, 12:19 pm

It boils down to application. If you shoot tele more (like me) a DX body are more worth it for the 1.5x crop. If on FX body, you did better off with a 1.4x TC on the 70-200. Some people doesnt mind to use DX lenses on FX body since the FX body are like having 2 bodies in one. I used my 18-70mm on D4 for its light weight compared to the 28-70

Getting FX lenses ain't expensive if you know which older lens to compensate which new ones. That is how I switch to FF, by getting old lenses smile.gif
Which shop for RM900+? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 20 2012, 01:05 PM)
Thanks!

My usual big head at its 36MP size tongue.gif

Elaine, The Star Motor Carnival 2012 by CY Pixels, on Flickr

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8030/8005910...740160575_o.jpg
celciuz
post Sep 21 2012, 06:39 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Sep 21 2012, 12:51 AM)
Nikon 16-35 indeed abit expensive compared to canon 17-40L F4 which can get under 2k for used one sad.gif
QUOTE(0168257061 @ Sep 21 2012, 01:58 AM)
Aiya for Nikon one you pay extra for VR loh laugh.gif
Also extra 1mm wider which "a lot" people claimed that has big difference laugh.gif
Putting those 2 aside, my friend whose from the Canon camp is actually impressed with the 16-35 f/4 VR's image quality, according to him better than the 17-40 f/4L which he has.
celciuz
post Sep 21 2012, 09:33 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 21 2012, 07:57 AM)
16-35 heard the distortion is pretty ugly, isn't it ?
That's why celciuz get 14-24 ? brows.gif
Nope... the bulkiness of the 14-24 and price of course put me off. I'm still using a 16-35 laugh.gif

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Sep 21 2012, 08:15 AM)
17-40L is canon cheapest L what do u expect
Closest thing to the expensive 16-35 f/4 VR haha!
celciuz
post Sep 21 2012, 09:59 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 21 2012, 09:45 AM)
16-35 filter 82mm right ?
16-35 f/4 VR is 77mm filter. The Canon 16-35 f/2.8L is 82mm... and their new 24-70 as well.

82mm is big and rare o_O, I prefer 77mm since all my other lens uses 77mm so able to share the 77mm CPL.
celciuz
post Sep 21 2012, 11:48 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 21 2012, 10:45 AM)
One question. How to enable our rear control wheel, when browsing photo, can use the wheel to scroll to next photo ah ???
If not mistaken its in custom settings under controls. Need to enable it for navigation.
celciuz
post Sep 21 2012, 07:20 PM

14,037 posts

Anyone knows if there is an online PDF version of camera manual? I'm currently on the way to LCCT and left my D800 manual =.= wanna read on the new features.
celciuz
post Sep 21 2012, 08:40 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Sep 21 2012, 07:35 PM)
Check nikonrumors.com
I remember them posting it up few months ago
Managed to google it. Wah seh my flight delayed from 12AM to 5AM! Time to download it then read it while waiting for the flight =(
celciuz
post Sep 21 2012, 10:32 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 21 2012, 08:56 PM)
fly to where ? laugh.gif
Going to meet koala and kangaroo! =P let's see how the d800 performs!
celciuz
post Sep 30 2012, 06:14 AM

14,037 posts

Haven't held a D600 yet, but the D800 grip is better than the D700 in my opinion.
celciuz
post Sep 30 2012, 10:10 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Sep 30 2012, 10:05 PM)
cute~ but why do you have to use 1600 ? wat lens are u using ?  maybe 1/200 at ISO 800 ? arnt u glad u play camera now instead of 4 years ago when usable ISO1600  is a wet dream ? The max I went for my d80 which I think was acceptable for me was ISO800 never went above it.

I try to maintain ISO200 as best as I can. Normally on my tele I go +2 stop ISO to try get at least 1/125s
I'm kinda used with ISO200 for base ISO even on my D800 with ISO100 as base ISO laugh.gif automatically I set to ISO200 when I can set to ISO100 and still get sufficient shutter speed doh.gif

This post has been edited by celciuz: Sep 30 2012, 10:18 PM
celciuz
post Oct 1 2012, 09:53 PM

14,037 posts

ZzZz... I saw like there is 'water' in between GGS and LCD for my top LCD... and I decided to peel the protector to check it out and now I screwed up the top LCD cover T_T. Need to spend money buy another set now sad.gif. Oh well I guess I can keep the main LCD since that one gets damaged pretty easily (knocking against my belt) from my experience on D700... and I didn't keep the extra top LCD from D700 set.. who knows maybe it might fit ._.
celciuz
post Oct 4 2012, 08:53 AM

14,037 posts

D800 affected by the oil leak issue as per D7000?
celciuz
post Oct 5 2012, 05:27 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Oct 5 2012, 02:36 PM)
Problem is any insurance company in M'sia have that ?
Maybe can try asking around those insurance agents and see how it goes? tongue.gif As far as I know Fotokem has this 'insurance' thingy, they described as if the camera was stolen and you report police the insurance will replace a new unit *this is what I recall from years before and I know they still have this*
celciuz
post Oct 6 2012, 08:31 AM

14,037 posts

I'm going to miss KLPF this round... but then again I went last year and it was boring ._. LOL! No free sensor cleaning sad.gif
celciuz
post Oct 7 2012, 03:27 PM

14,037 posts

Ahh just got home after a long holiday... my seller sent me this MAS screen protector but macam no top LCD part sad.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0571sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:19 PM