QUOTE(MrAkay @ Sep 20 2012, 07:17 PM)
f1.4 better then f2.8  drool.gif 
haha
+1
gerald7
post Sep 25 2012, 10:59 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

I also tried the d600 last weekend during a photowalk in my area. damn clean ISO performance! was thinking of getting a used d700 for RM 4000 with ori battery grip and 3 batts. Now Im undecided and confused, as the image quality is really up to par. *.*
gerald7
post Sep 25 2012, 11:01 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(MrAkay @ Sep 25 2012, 09:29 AM)
oops i meant manual focus point selection or camera pick where to focus? hehe
depends on situation. normally like 90% I will select it. Unless im shooting without looking at viewfinder i may try auto.
gerald7
post Sep 25 2012, 11:03 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Sep 25 2012, 11:00 AM)
i only got 5 AF there... then i more clueless if i change body liao lor rclxub.gif  tongue.gif
wont... the more the better lo... last time mine also 11 points (or was it 9)... then jump to 51 points wah .. rclxm9.gif so easier especially with 50 1.8
gerald7
post Sep 25 2012, 02:22 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 25 2012, 11:17 AM)
up to par with D700 ? I find better tongue.gif
duno better or not but seems to be as good. i have not receive the raw file from my friend. I only play with it for a while only. But only will know suitable for me if can test under my 'working' condition.
gerald7
post Sep 25 2012, 07:09 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

So I have not shot in jpg for a long while. and recently join a competition to shoot orchids and had to print out there and then. Never appreciated and shot flowers before. Even tho I dropped saturation, the photo still looks over saturated. Photo below, is strait from camera save for resize and website name which was added in post tongue.gif.

gerald7
post Sep 26 2012, 12:24 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Sep 25 2012, 11:51 PM)
what setting in picture control have u done? very bad coloring leh
I think this was under VIVID mode hahaha! the red really over over.. when I saw the print out shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif I ask the guy can i reprint but another photo ah... they say cannot =_=

Added on September 26, 2012, 12:25 am
QUOTE(amduser @ Sep 26 2012, 12:23 AM)
nikon sensor love red colour too much that it overproduce the red tongue.gif
yea, and the best part. the sun was so bright I couldt see my LCD properly... hahaha good experience 1st time shoot n print from camera

This post has been edited by gerald7: Sep 26 2012, 12:25 AM
gerald7
post Sep 26 2012, 09:34 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 26 2012, 09:27 AM)
Yes, the only thing I has yet to sell is my SB800 laugh.gif
I used to own

3 x 35/2D
3 x 85/1.8D
18-70 x 5
18-35 x 2
50/1.4D x 2
70-200/2.8 VR - x 1
11-16/2.8  x 2
24/1.4G x 1
35/1.4G x 1
85/1.8G x 1
50/1.8D x 1
50/1.4D x 2
50/1.4G x 1
10.5/2.8 x 1
135/2D x 1
105/2D x 1

and some I couldn't remember liao.
Buy sell buy sell. That's my hobby more than taking photos sweat.gif
nice hobby! which was your fav ?
gerald7
post Sep 26 2012, 02:49 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Sep 26 2012, 11:47 AM)
Shooting VIVID the color will over saturate, also depending on the exposure and lighting, etc.
Safer to use standard or portrait for human, and manually adjust vibrance/saturation/etc later. If you shoot with high saturation as default, not much room for recovery later as the file is already processed. It's like if you overcooked a meat, then you cannot undo later.
yea lo .. actually in vivid mode already custom less saturation and less contrast.. but not enuf.. never really relied on the LCD for saturation check as never had to print on site or view thru computer monitor. lesson learned xD never not going to shoot jpg and print on spot! smile.gif

the end result print was way horrible than the digital image hahaha oh well

This post has been edited by gerald7: Sep 26 2012, 02:50 PM
gerald7
post Sep 26 2012, 03:21 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Sep 26 2012, 03:05 PM)
it's not that difficult actually. Zeiss lenses have very good focusing ring. the 'damping' is good.
plus, it's f1.8 at 135mm leh. imagine that. close your eyes and imagine the bokeh and you will pee in your pants edi hahaa
blink.gif pee in pants when think of bokeh! blink.gif blink.gif
gerald7
post Sep 27 2012, 08:45 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

so this was also shot in jpg

In the same pic mode... only exposure diff and bunga diff.. oh and cropped in camera hahaha never tried that before as before no postprocess, only resize and tag .. i guess nikon really likes REDDDDDD

This post has been edited by gerald7: Sep 27 2012, 08:48 AM
gerald7
post Sep 27 2012, 09:03 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

i finally order my 1st MF lens few days ago.. gonna give it a try... but on a cheap russian glass. . .
gerald7
post Sep 27 2012, 06:35 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Sep 27 2012, 05:52 PM)
Yeap especially with split focusing screen on slr nod.gif
not on the dslr blink.gif thats why might have a hard time with MF.... the slit screen is awesome on my SX70 tho wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
gerald7
post Sep 28 2012, 11:26 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

I dont get the AF button, I tried to use it for 3 months I dont find it improves my shooting or degrade it (on my d300). Half press af is so fast tat I seldom need to pre focus- reframe. Just another step to do. So I basically ignore the button now. I know there are ppl who lives by the af button and tell me thats the way to go.

hmm... on d600 .. maybe need it cos the focus points are all annoyingly in the center (middle) of the viewfinder.

I believe we all can adapt, of course if there is more budget everyone would like to go for the top tier bodies.
gerald7
post Sep 28 2012, 12:45 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

Orchid spam ... no more jpg but raw mode... with post xD I like it better than previous out of camera shots hahaha I guess im stuck at raw dy =_=

gerald7
post Sep 28 2012, 06:22 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 28 2012, 03:07 PM)
1. why compare it to 5D2? that's a problem that shouldn't be there on a camera 4 years after 5D2.

2. ISO button on top is a lot of convenient for my work where camera is on tripod. smile.gif still not as good as Canon's button placement. Come to think of it ISO button on left hand side no matter how also not nice la. tongue.gif

3. you haven't tried?

4. like what I say, having 1/8000 is a plus point. smile.gif in my photography, shutter rarely goes above 1/250 to begin with. tongue.gif
I've not been using half-press AF (on shutter button) ever since I discovered I can disable half-press AF on shutter button and have the AF option else where (eg on AF-ON).

This is very crucial for me for both shooting events and / or products / studio. my shutter button is strictly for shutter.

When continuous focusing is enabled, you can press the AF-ON to keep tracking the subject while index finger just click shutter for capture. If your focusing is still on shutter button, every time you press shutter the focusing is stopped, and you have to resume.

Even for still subjects, my camera will always have a lens that support FTM. I don't have to set the switch on the lens to M, it just remains as A because when it works with AF-On.

So when I shoot still subjects (eg products or interior), I can use AF-On to shortcut the focus to where I want, and them manually tune the focus, and when I press the shutter button the lens doesn't change the focus. It's essentially an MF setup with AF override using AF-On when I need to.

To say AF-On no point? Well that's because you haven't found it useful in what you're shooting.
I have friends who really preach about the af button hehe thats why I tried for 3 months using tat only. I still like my dual duty shutter button smile.gif its matter of preference... It does not increase or decrease usable shots for me.. for the 1st month a lot of missed shots then it got better after 2 more months. As for continuous focusing, Im always keeping my shutter button half pressed, once capture it will still track after full press back to half press. Its a matter of preference. Id imagine its more useful if it was available on the d600 where the af points are all clustered in middle of the frame.

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 28 2012, 04:16 PM)
u should go to KLPF next week.
eng tong company will be having a talk on color management, if u got a laptop that u work on, can also bring it there for free calibration.
the fri talk is around 2pm, other days dunno if got or not.
hehehe not based in KL smile.gif when is KLPF
gerald7
post Sep 29 2012, 12:48 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 28 2012, 07:40 PM)
The best part of AF-on button to me is that the camera doesn't AF when I press shutter button.

My line of work, having AF on shutter is utmost annoyance. Setting lens to M is not an option as I still need to use A to speed up the process.
hehee u can put your mind at ease brows.gif I jst tested D600 went diggin into the menu and found tat the AE lock button can double as AF-ON button. And it functions as you described in your previous posts. so now your down to 1 reason to go d800 xD which was the location of ISO button .. right ?n whistling.gif save a few k wor... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gerald7: Sep 29 2012, 12:51 AM
gerald7
post Sep 29 2012, 12:53 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 29 2012, 12:52 AM)
someone mentioned it earlier that i can be done. smile.gif I also replied that someone saying the AE button is a bit further than what I like.

now is a matter of whther I wish to put extra RM 4k to get the better camera.

I see Nikon has WU-1a for D3200 and WU-1b for D600. got any for D800? if don't have then no choice liao, D600. smile.gif I want the wireless capability.
agreed its a bit further, than i would like it, but remember the size of d600 is also smaller so its not really that much of a stretch for the button. smile.gif
gerald7
post Sep 29 2012, 09:36 AM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 29 2012, 02:10 AM)
in the end I'll still have to hold the D600 for myself. if it works then it'll save me RM 4k. tongue.gif RM 4k can buy 80-200 f2.8 already.
yea.. actually before I held and play with the D600, I already decided that d600 was no good. After a few interactions with it. MMm... I changed my mind. The D600 is actually pretty decent
gerald7
post Sep 29 2012, 04:24 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,452 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 29 2012, 02:34 PM)
actually D600 and D800 not much difference in terms of wideness...u notice more in the height.
its still a stretch compared to where they place it on D800.
tho i still rather wait for D3s prices to drop tongue.gif
heehe Im not talking about the height or the total wideness. I was referring to the grip. Not sure about d800 cos didnt have it handy for comparison against the d600. But from memory my d300 grip is better than d600 grip. d600 one feels closer to the lens, so for me, the AE button is not too far off. Still ok la. need to get use to it.

Looks like my group also getting a d600 icon_rolleyes.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0549sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:00 AM