5,938 posts

D600 in action!
cuteyuzikid
post Oct 23 2012, 11:46 AM

103 posts

I actually plan on buying a D5100, 18-55 this weekend, but there are some questions I'd like to clear out:

Should I just get the body only, and forego the 18-55? Coz from what i hear the kitlens are "a piece of plastic shit" etc etc bad news sad.gif

Or should I change the kit set to maybe an 18-200/18-105?

Someone even suggested to just get a fast prime 35/50 f1.8 and save up for the zoom lens.

I'll have to take into account my main priority which is to travel light as well. Do you guys have any opinions on this? Would sincerely like to hear more opinions coz i'm pretty unsure still.
Agito666
post Oct 23 2012, 11:51 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(cuteyuzikid @ Oct 23 2012, 11:46 AM)
I actually plan on buying a D5100, 18-55 this weekend, but there are some questions I'd like to clear out:

Should I just get the body only, and forego the 18-55? Coz from what i hear the kitlens are "a piece of plastic shit" etc etc bad news sad.gif

Someone even suggested to just get a fast prime 35/50 f1.8 and save up for the zoom lens.

I'll have to take into account my main priority which is to travel light as well. Do you guys have any opinions on this? Would sincerely like to hear more opinions coz i'm pretty unsure still.
stick with kitlens first, unless you know some photography already then you can decide what to buy/sell/change next.
cuteyuzikid
post Oct 23 2012, 12:01 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 23 2012, 11:51 AM)
stick with kitlens first, unless you know some photography already then you can decide what to buy/sell/change next.
Hahaha, I just realized after hearing so much input I almost forgot I'm just starting photography.
Between kitlenses then, I'm thinking of gettin the 18-200 instead of buying 18-55/55-200, for convenience sake.
Would the loss in detail affect much of my photo quality? Or owuld 18-105 be a perfect balance between the two instead?

vearn27
post Oct 23 2012, 12:19 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(cuteyuzikid @ Oct 23 2012, 12:01 PM)
Hahaha, I just realized after hearing so much input I almost forgot I'm just starting photography.
Between kitlenses then, I'm thinking of gettin the 18-200 instead of buying 18-55/55-200, for convenience sake.
Would the loss in detail affect much of my photo quality? Or owuld 18-105 be a perfect balance between the two instead?
If your budget allows, then you may opt to go for 18-200 straight away or if there's any shop that offer D5100 pairing with 18-105 as kit lens (I'm not sure if by default Nikon provides this package).

I would suggest you to know more about photography like the lens zoom and better still, the Exposure Triangle. You may not like what you achieved when you zoom into 200mm f/5.6 shooting in dim light and asking why the photo blurry etc. Yeah, it's indeed that you need a camera to start understanding the term, but perhaps you could seek your friend's guidance if they own DSLR themselves smile.gif

I had spoken with some friends and almost 80% of them changed their mind from getting DSLR into something more compact like M4/3 or high-end PnS after I shared with them about DSLR.

Both the kit lens 18-55 and 18-105 actually are very good and considerably sharp (unless you compare to pro lens), I once shoot weddings with 18-105 + flashgun only biggrin.gif
gerald7
post Oct 23 2012, 12:35 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 23 2012, 11:51 AM)
+1

kit les is SHARP ... we pay more for more BLUR (bokeh) hehe
vearn27
post Oct 23 2012, 12:57 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Oct 23 2012, 12:35 PM)
+1

kit les is SHARP ... we pay more for more BLUR (bokeh) hehe
Agito666 has 24-70 f/2.8G and I wonder what he do with it after knowing photography and bought that lens whistling.gif
MrAkay
post Oct 23 2012, 12:59 PM

440 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Oct 23 2012, 12:57 PM)
Agito666 has 24-70 f/2.8G and I wonder what he do with it after knowing photography and bought that lens whistling.gif
he save up for d600 drool.gif
Calvin Seak
post Oct 23 2012, 01:06 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,448 posts

QUOTE(MrAkay @ Oct 23 2012, 12:59 PM)
he save up for d600  drool.gif
Hohoho He has the D600 already??

Share share I want to play with it happy.gifv

QUOTE(cuteyuzikid @ Oct 23 2012, 11:46 AM)

Lol.. The kit lens is good enough for all..

If you want to compare sharpness overall the 18-105 is a better performer than the 3. A used 18-105 goes for RM6xx so its quite affordable too!

18-55
http://www.photozone.de/nikon--nikkor-aps-...53556vr?start=1

18-105
http://www.photozone.de/nikon--nikkor-aps-..._3556vr?start=1

18-200
http://www.photozone.de/nikon--nikkor-aps-...-report?start=1

Hohoho! Get your sensor cleaned!!

This post has been edited by Calvin Seak: Oct 23 2012, 01:20 PM
gerald7
post Oct 23 2012, 01:35 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

went to the border last weekend

celciuz
post Oct 23 2012, 01:36 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Oct 23 2012, 01:06 PM)
Hohoho He has the D600 already??

Share share I want to play with it happy.gifv
Lol.. The kit lens is good enough for all..

If you want to compare sharpness overall the 18-105 is a better performer than the 3. A used 18-105 goes for RM6xx so its quite affordable too!

18-55
http://www.photozone.de/nikon--nikkor-aps-...53556vr?start=1

18-105
http://www.photozone.de/nikon--nikkor-aps-..._3556vr?start=1

18-200
http://www.photozone.de/nikon--nikkor-aps-...-report?start=1

Hohoho! Get your sensor cleaned!!

I'm thinking to get my sensors cleaned here... biggrin.gif... my D800 have dust already so fast dry.gif... damn it? LOL.
vearn27
post Oct 23 2012, 01:38 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 23 2012, 01:36 PM)
I'm thinking to get my sensors cleaned here... biggrin.gif... my D800 have dust already so fast dry.gif... damn it? LOL.
celciuz can join NPS already since you have 2 full-frame bodies, izzit that's the requirement? unsure.gif
gerald7
post Oct 23 2012, 01:58 PM

r a n d o m l y
2,453 posts

i tot NPS mst have pro lens also ?

vearn27
post Oct 23 2012, 02:04 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Oct 23 2012, 01:58 PM)
i tot NPS mst have pro lens also ?
He at least got 3 that I know.
Calvin Seak
post Oct 23 2012, 02:07 PM

Hiring, TTDI, KL only
2,448 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 23 2012, 01:36 PM)
Hahaha Good good! See you soon man =p Hows your throat? LOL!
Spoodo
post Oct 23 2012, 02:14 PM

130 posts

Hey guys, I love my D600 and I recently tried shooting landscape shots. I noticed spots in my pictures and omg....dust/oil spots ALL over!!! Prior to this, I've mainly been shooting indoors, events and some weddings. It's my first month since owning the D600. Here are the pics..

I've messaged Nikon Malaysia and still awaiting their reply.

Vignetting was caused by 35 1.8G DX (used to test only, closest lens to me)

This post has been edited by Spoodo: Oct 23 2012, 02:16 PM
Agito666
post Oct 23 2012, 02:14 PM

11,861 posts

everyday buy 3 biji oranges and stab it with 3 incense and put on table, everymorning go pray pray on lens kena toto so i can get D600 sooner. unsure.gif

(nah originally want to improve from low light without flash, summore it is worth to keep for long long period so i just boost to max lor tongue.gif )

but still lowlight is a main problem unless i change body. (now still cant folk out =3= , many shits happen)

Added on

http://nikonrumors.com/2012/10/23/nikon-d6...e-shutter.aspx/

Nikon D600 sensor’s dust spots caused by a gap around the shutter?

Pattern of dust spots from twenty different D600 cameras (20 images layered into one)

This post has been edited by Agito666: Oct 23 2012, 02:44 PM
vearn27
post Oct 23 2012, 02:45 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 23 2012, 02:14 PM)
everyday buy 3 biji oranges and stab it with 3 incense and put on table, everymorning go pray pray on lens kena toto so i can get D600 sooner. unsure.gif

(nah originally want to improve from low light without flash, summore it is worth to keep for long long period so i just boost to max lor tongue.gif )

but still lowlight is a main problem unless i change body. (now still cant folk out =3= , many shits happen)
If low light you should get prime instead of the 24-70 previously unsure.gif
Andy214
post Oct 23 2012, 02:53 PM

3,308 posts

As Bryan Mills from Taken says "What I do best"

So, for Agito, it'll be what he do best tongue.gif

Do you know his hobby last time he put in his siggy? tongue.gif brows.gif

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Oct 23 2012, 01:38 PM)
celciuz can join NPS already since you have 2 full-frame bodies, izzit that's the requirement? unsure.gif
I think need to be a Full Time Photographer too.

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Oct 23 2012, 02:45 PM)
Or get a crop sensor body (e.g. D7000) and a 17-50mm f/2.8 Tammy. Still got spare change from his 24-70 fund, can get a prime also or a Flash Gun.

This post has been edited by Andy214: Oct 23 2012, 02:54 PM
Agito666
post Oct 23 2012, 02:55 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Oct 23 2012, 02:45 PM)
f/1.8 ya, but then i not occasionally facing it lol... only kena when i kena bomb from colleague wedding sweat.gif

nah recent low light shot:

spoiler because that is my colleague family :s

128 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0297sec    1.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:30 AM