Oil & Gas Career v4, Technical Sharing & Career Opportunities

new in IT
post Dec 24 2012, 05:41 PM

378 posts

Hi all,

I am a fresh grad here with a degree in Water & Wastewater Technology.
CGPA 3.75.

If I wanna work offshore, what position is suitable?
Anyway, does oil rig need people to treat water or wastewater on board so that people working there can have safer water to use and wastewater get to be cleaned before recycle or dump away?
x0x
post Dec 24 2012, 05:49 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(new in IT @ Dec 24 2012, 05:41 PM)
Hi all,

CGPA 3.75.

Anyway, does oil rig need people to treat water or wastewater on board so that people working there can have safer water to use and wastewater get to be cleaned before recycle or dump away?
Potable water engineer
forrest
post Dec 24 2012, 06:14 PM

1,045 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Dec 23 2012, 01:05 PM)
fuuu very high waves and strong winds.but operation continued while was at angsi.
You on lowan golila or deedee3?
crapp0
post Dec 24 2012, 07:54 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(engrfeez @ Dec 24 2012, 12:30 PM)
No one bro, I was wondering why staff accept to do work at Iraq even the risk is very high.
Iraq oil fields should be relatively safe compared to a friend of mine who used to work in Afghanistan.

He was working in a civil construction company which was sub contracted by the US military base of kabul to do god knows what work. He told me eventhough his scope of work was within the US base itself, it was naturally a prime target for insurgents and every so often, the emergency siren would blare in the middle of the night when the insurgents attacked the bases and all of they staff had to don their flak jackets and retreat to the underground bunkers.

He only worked for 3 terms before his wife and family begged him to stop working there eventhough the money was good.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Dec 24 2012, 07:55 PM
meonkutu11
post Dec 25 2012, 01:34 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(new in IT @ Dec 24 2012, 05:41 PM)
Hi all,

CGPA 3.75.

On the rig, we have mechanic that will take the sample of portable water,drinking water etc and periodically send to onshore for the analysis.

Mechanic also will make sure the water makers are working and in good condition.
ldhong
post Dec 25 2012, 10:39 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(forrest @ Dec 24 2012, 06:14 PM)
You on lowan golila or deedee3?
Rowan Gorilla already pulled out from ANGsi kan??? Now is DD3 at ANDP-E....
mhyug
post Dec 25 2012, 01:36 PM

1,553 posts

heard another anchor cable snapped.wahh malaysian seas pun rough mcm their mat salleh counter parts.
new~b0y
post Dec 25 2012, 04:26 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Dec 25 2012, 01:36 PM)
heard another anchor cable snapped.wahh malaysian seas pun rough mcm their mat salleh counter parts.
I was told this has something to do with the relatively shallow waters of South China Sea. The sea is pretty calm in the West Africa deep-water regions.
forrest
post Dec 25 2012, 09:51 PM

1,045 posts

QUOTE(ldhong @ Dec 25 2012, 10:39 AM)
Rowan Gorilla already pulled out from ANGsi kan??? Now is DD3 at ANDP-E....
No la, gorila still staying at D for few months more.
echobrainproject
post Dec 26 2012, 09:36 AM

4,765 posts

Weather is quite bad now. I just got back from offshore after 43 days out. 3 meter waves
RazerDeathAdder
post Dec 26 2012, 10:03 AM

Auuuuuuuummmm~~~
821 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Dec 26 2012, 09:36 AM)
Weather is quite bad now. I just got back from offshore after 43 days out. 3 meter waves
Now is not a good time for those living near the sea and ocean?>?
mhyug
post Dec 26 2012, 12:27 PM

1,553 posts

QUOTE(RazerDeathAdder @ Dec 26 2012, 10:03 AM)
Now is not a good time for those living near the sea and ocean?>?
sea side ok, water rarely rises up but if youre futher in land tuh yg masalah.its worst if near a river without adequate draining....sure the water over flow.

This post has been edited by mhyug: Dec 26 2012, 05:00 PM
RazerDeathAdder
post Dec 26 2012, 01:57 PM

Auuuuuuuummmm~~~
821 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Dec 26 2012, 12:27 PM)
seas side ok, water rarely rises up but if youre futher in land tuh yg masalah.its worst if near a river without adequate draining....sure the water over flow.
At Bukit Raja, Klang also easy to get flood if heavy rain.. cry.gif So sad our drainage
odin88
post Dec 26 2012, 02:01 PM

475 posts

do u guys know what is technical writer job scope ?
SUSkockroach
post Dec 26 2012, 04:30 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

Dear all otai can advise how much to request for a 5 years experience project engineer position in Shell, processing plant, not upstream. It is a contract position.

Thank you.
kripton888
post Dec 26 2012, 10:41 PM

239 posts

how is the market now for a graduate petroleum engineer in malaysia?

any sifu or ong hr here who knows?

do appreciate the info tongue.gif

also would to ask opinions on career path as a ong engineer

service company (slb,baker,halli etc) vs oil company (client/operator eg petronas shell exxon etc)

i know there are differences in their nature of job, worklife balance, rewards, skills and knowledge area . would like to know them better

really appreciate and welcome ur opinions thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by kripton888: Dec 27 2012, 12:59 AM
Miss 1
post Dec 27 2012, 04:55 PM

37 posts

Salam n hi all,

I have this prob..I am thinking of changing my job next year. Currently im working for civil n building contractor somewhere near KL .

I seriously want to jump back to oily & gassy field. Whats is the chances / what r the possible positions available for me as an environmental tech graduate? Please otai n seniors help me, tell me n guide how to make it happen, icon_question.gif ...i seriusly need to fullfil my desire to work in oil n gas company. wub.gif

this year, been thru few interviews, but only one company is an oil&gas... the rest r all developer & civil contractors.. but still didnt make it for O&G.
dpt developer ja... smile.gif

if someone otai can help me with my CV review..i would appreciate it, biggrin.gif

This time n year i wanna make it real, hard core effort, rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Miss 1: Dec 27 2012, 05:37 PM
edi3003
post Dec 27 2012, 06:43 PM

QUOTE(Miss 1 @ Dec 27 2012, 04:55 PM)
Salam n hi all,

I have this prob..I am thinking of changing my job next year. Currently im working for civil n building contractor somewhere near KL . 

I seriously want to jump back to oily & gassy field. Whats is the chances / what r the possible positions available  for me as an environmental tech graduate? Please otai n seniors help me, tell me n guide how to make it happen,  icon_question.gif ...i seriusly need to fullfil my desire to work in oil n gas company.  wub.gif
this year, been thru few interviews, but only one company is an oil&gas... the rest r all developer & civil contractors.. but still didnt make it for O&G.

if someone otai can help me with my CV review..i would appreciate it,  biggrin.gif

This time n year i wanna make it real, hard core effort,  rclxm9.gif
same here. boringlah construction

overruled23
post Dec 27 2012, 10:18 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(Miss 1 @ Dec 27 2012, 04:55 PM)
Salam n hi all,

I seriously want to jump back to oily & gassy field. Whats is the chances / what r the possible positions available  for me as an environmental tech graduate? Please otai n seniors help me, tell me n guide how to make it happen,  icon_question.gif ...i seriusly need to fullfil my desire to work in oil n gas company.  wub.gif

if someone otai can help me with my CV review..i would appreciate it,  biggrin.gif

This time n year i wanna make it real, hard core effort,  rclxm9.gif
u can go and apply for safety/environment executive under the hse department
Miss 1
post Dec 28 2012, 11:54 AM

37 posts

QUOTE(overruled23 @ Dec 27 2012, 11:18 PM)
u can go and apply for safety/environment executive under the hse department
i did n still do, a lot of times...its just so hard to get at least the interviews. sweat.gif

dont know whats wrong..CV i mayb..mayb bkn rezeki i lg.

135 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0342sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:29 AM