QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 10 2012, 09:51 AM)
ok, i guess it applies to both domestic and international flight right?Travel Travelling Tips & airport/airline rules, Thing to bring & things to avoid
Travel Travelling Tips & airport/airline rules, Thing to bring & things to avoid
Jul 10 2012, 10:46 AM
801 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Jul 10 2012, 10:48 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,533 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jul 24 2012, 12:49 AM
15 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Aug 3 2012, 08:16 PM
Any tips on how to identify your luggages quickly at the carousel, apart from tying ribbon and pasting stickers?
Aug 6 2012, 12:00 PM
6,462 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: [Latitude-N3°9'25"] [Longitude-E101°42'45"] |
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 3 2012, 08:16 PM) Any tips on how to identify your luggages quickly at the carousel, apart from tying ribbon and pasting stickers? 1) Open eyes big big. Like this -> 2) Be more kiasu than Singapore people. Stand at the front-most of the conveyor belt. 3) Get weird colour luggage bag like pink, orange, fluorescent green, bright yellow. |
Aug 6 2012, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 6 2012, 12:00 PM) 1) Open eyes big big. Like this -> Haha yeah, i am always the kiasu one. always worry that if i dont get it pick up, someone will took it away. 2) Be more kiasu than Singapore people. Stand at the front-most of the conveyor belt. 3) Get weird colour luggage bag like pink, orange, fluorescent green, bright yellow. Sad to say all my bags are in black color |
Aug 6 2012, 02:49 PM
6,462 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: [Latitude-N3°9'25"] [Longitude-E101°42'45"] |
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Aug 6 2012, 02:26 PM) Haha yeah, i am always the kiasu one. always worry that if i dont get it pick up, someone will took it away. Not much choice, put mulitple colourful ribbon or sticker as you mentioned.Sad to say all my bags are in black color Or wrap with a multi-colour belt/strap, cost RM10-50 each, with some extra safety to secure the luggage and easily identifiable. |
Aug 10 2012, 10:55 AM
0 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(xavier.emir @ Jun 24 2007, 12:57 AM) During summer, especially during major heat wave peak season, always have bottles of water ready in your bag wherever you go. And if you need to buy bottles of water, it's wiser to get it straight from the supermarket itself. I went backpacking in Europe and halfway through, a friend bought two large bottles of mineral water at a nearby kiosk in Amsterdam, it cost us 3 Euros each. Later when we went to the supermarket, we discovered that that same bottle is only 99 cents. May i know the redeem tax is what???So yes, any food/beverages are best done in the supermarket to avoid scams. Bring some sunblock lotion as well. The heat does damage your skin during this time of the season. Actually it's cheaper to purchase your things through credit card rather than cash when converted to local currency. If you have allergies or for emergency purposes, bring necessary medications with you like vitamins (it is important to get as much vitamin c), aspirins etc. If you're going away for longer than 3 weeks or so, make time for check up a month before just to make sure that you're fit to travel. If you want to redeem your tax, you can fill in the form at the airport, but make sure you're early to avoid being in a rush. It won't be a problem to get anything liquid and keep it in your check in luggage. It's only a no-no when it comes to hand carry bags. |
Aug 10 2012, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(KennyRoger88 @ Aug 10 2012, 10:55 AM) Is GST/VAT . Go google for more info.What it means is, when you (as a tourist in foreign land) purchase some things at certain shops (not all) which charge GST (inclusive), you have to pay for it. However, since you are tourist, when you leave the country at the airport, you can claim back the GST paid. Sometimes these counters are after the immi & customs at departure hall. Do note that most will have minimum sum purchase, as there is a small admin/processing fee to claim the GST. |
Aug 10 2012, 01:33 PM
0 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 10 2012, 12:12 PM) Is GST/VAT . Go google for more info. Great What it means is, when you (as a tourist in foreign land) purchase some things at certain shops (not all) which charge GST (inclusive), you have to pay for it. However, since you are tourist, when you leave the country at the airport, you can claim back the GST paid. Sometimes these counters are after the immi & customs at departure hall. Do note that most will have minimum sum purchase, as there is a small admin/processing fee to claim the GST. |
Aug 11 2012, 05:00 PM
1,332 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 10 2012, 12:12 PM) Is GST/VAT . Go google for more info. Hi if I purchase an item oversea but only carry it back after 1 year, can it be still claim back?What it means is, when you (as a tourist in foreign land) purchase some things at certain shops (not all) which charge GST (inclusive), you have to pay for it. However, since you are tourist, when you leave the country at the airport, you can claim back the GST paid. Sometimes these counters are after the immi & customs at departure hall. Do note that most will have minimum sum purchase, as there is a small admin/processing fee to claim the GST. I donno whether there are any time limit or not. |
Aug 13 2012, 02:05 PM
QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Aug 11 2012, 05:00 PM) Hi if I purchase an item oversea but only carry it back after 1 year, can it be still claim back? Normally there is a time limit, as a tourist should not be staying too long.I donno whether there are any time limit or not. Check the country you are in, different country will have different time limit, from 1 - 12 months. Bear in mind, some officers may want to see the goods you purchased. |
Aug 23 2012, 10:47 AM
1,438 posts Joined: Dec 2011 |
Hi there,
I am just 24, 1st time travel. Will be heading to Korea next year Feb. May i know what u guys meant by carry in and luagage? Wht things can put in? Those liquid shold put in where? the big luagage or my backpack? The weather.com shows feb 18 in korea will be hte ending of winter. So wht clothes is suitable in there n also the shoes? Please advise as i am really a NOOB~! |
Aug 23 2012, 11:18 AM
2,799 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: On the beach |
QUOTE(cute_miao @ Aug 23 2012, 10:47 AM) Hi there, Handcarry luggage = the backpack or another smaller luggage you carry with you on board the plane and to put in the compartment above your seat when you are in the plane (No liquid above 100ml and sharp items)I am just 24, 1st time travel. Will be heading to Korea next year Feb. May i know what u guys meant by carry in and luagage? Wht things can put in? Those liquid shold put in where? the big luagage or my backpack? The weather.com shows feb 18 in korea will be hte ending of winter. So wht clothes is suitable in there n also the shoes? Please advise as i am really a NOOB~! Check-in luggage = the big luggage bag that you'll check in and never to be seen again until you arrive your destination Liquid above 100ml are all to be packed into the check-in luggage. Also sharp items like knifes, nail clipper, scissors all go into check-in luggage. Check with your airline the weight limit for check-in luggage and handcarry luggage. Also take note of what is not included in the hand carry luggage weight, usual stuff like laptop, camera, books can be excluded from your handcarry luggage weight. For winter clothings and what to prepare, check the other thread dedicated to winter wear: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/972657/ |
Aug 23 2012, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Aug 23 2012, 11:18 AM) Handcarry luggage = the backpack or another smaller luggage you carry with you on board the plane and to put in the compartment above your seat when you are in the plane (No liquid above 100ml and sharp items) I get to know nothing should above 7kg. so the 7kg = handcarry+check-in luagage. The dslr can put in the handcarry n timbang together right?Check-in luggage = the big luggage bag that you'll check in and never to be seen again until you arrive your destination Liquid above 100ml are all to be packed into the check-in luggage. Also sharp items like knifes, nail clipper, scissors all go into check-in luggage. Check with your airline the weight limit for check-in luggage and handcarry luggage. Also take note of what is not included in the hand carry luggage weight, usual stuff like laptop, camera, books can be excluded from your handcarry luggage weight. For winter clothings and what to prepare, check the other thread dedicated to winter wear: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/972657/ |
Aug 23 2012, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(cute_miao @ Aug 23 2012, 11:57 AM) I get to know nothing should above 7kg. so the 7kg = handcarry+check-in luagage. The dslr can put in the handcarry n timbang together right? No no, check-in luggage is usually 15kg-20kg. Handcarry and check-in luggage is two different thing. Are you flying Airasia? If Airasia then check-in luggage will depend on how much baggage weight you bought. Handcarry is fixed at 7kg for Airasia. If 7kg for both definitely not enough. DSLR can put into hand carry luggage, if your hand carry luggage is over 7kg with the DSLR, you can remove the DSLR and timbang again cause camera usually no count. |
Aug 23 2012, 12:25 PM
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Aug 23 2012, 12:04 PM) No no, check-in luggage is usually 15kg-20kg. Handcarry and check-in luggage is two different thing. im flying with airasia D7. means if 1 ppl goin, i need to buy the 15kg for the luagage? if i got 2 luagage-check-in, then i need to pay 2x 15kg or 1 time, combine both?Are you flying Airasia? If Airasia then check-in luggage will depend on how much baggage weight you bought. Handcarry is fixed at 7kg for Airasia. If 7kg for both definitely not enough. DSLR can put into hand carry luggage, if your hand carry luggage is over 7kg with the DSLR, you can remove the DSLR and timbang again cause camera usually no count. any recomendation how much need to buy when i go, and back that time? |
Aug 23 2012, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(cute_miao @ Aug 23 2012, 12:25 PM) im flying with airasia D7. means if 1 ppl goin, i need to buy the 15kg for the luagage? if i got 2 luagage-check-in, then i need to pay 2x 15kg or 1 time, combine both? Since you first time travel, just to clarify further:any recomendation how much need to buy when i go, and back that time? - 100ml bottles, which means you can't put >100ml liquid in it. You cannot argue you have a 500ml bottle with just 10% left (50ml). - hand-carry is by hand you bring into plane, such as handbag, laptop computer, camera or any other valuables. 7kg for this. Limit is 1 backpack/slingbag + handbag. - check-in is go into storage during the flight. You can't access it until you reach destination. This is depends how much you purchase. - If 2 person, is up to you. You can buy 2x 15kg, or 2x 20kg, or 1x 30kg, etc. But BOTH must check-in together. - For Korea during end-Winter, it is still cold for most M'sians. Therefore, you'll be bringing a lot of sweaters, jackets, cardigans, scarfs, why do they have so many different types ????, etc. which will take up space and weight. My suggestion is minimum 20kg each, with some allowance for souvenirs, etc. You can either use 1x luggage or 2x or even 3x to check-in. It depends how many luggages you can lug around only. |
Aug 24 2012, 08:06 AM
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 23 2012, 04:39 PM) Since you first time travel, just to clarify further: boboi..thank you so much. Just to clarify, means that when i going to S.Korea, even i am going there with my friend, i can buy one pack of 15kg n the 15kg must be 1 luaggage or combination of both luagage also can?- 100ml bottles, which means you can't put >100ml liquid in it. You cannot argue you have a 500ml bottle with just 10% left (50ml). - hand-carry is by hand you bring into plane, such as handbag, laptop computer, camera or any other valuables. 7kg for this. Limit is 1 backpack/slingbag + handbag. - check-in is go into storage during the flight. You can't access it until you reach destination. This is depends how much you purchase. - If 2 person, is up to you. You can buy 2x 15kg, or 2x 20kg, or 1x 30kg, etc. But BOTH must check-in together. - For Korea during end-Winter, it is still cold for most M'sians. Therefore, you'll be bringing a lot of sweaters, jackets, cardigans, scarfs, why do they have so many different types ????, etc. which will take up space and weight. My suggestion is minimum 20kg each, with some allowance for souvenirs, etc. You can either use 1x luggage or 2x or even 3x to check-in. It depends how many luggages you can lug around only. |
Aug 24 2012, 11:07 AM
QUOTE(cute_miao @ Aug 24 2012, 08:06 AM) boboi..thank you so much. Just to clarify, means that when i going to S.Korea, even i am going there with my friend, i can buy one pack of 15kg n the 15kg must be 1 luaggage or combination of both luagage also can? If you have 2 person flying, you can buy 15kg for each or 15kg for 1 person. You can have a few luggage as long as it does not exceed the total combined weight. |
| Change to: | 0.0248sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:31 AM |