[Official] Rig Suggestion Thread V1, Hardware Q&A RRG™

Cable707
post Aug 29 2012, 12:47 PM

I'm On My Journey
5,263 posts

I do think that GTX670 will be capable to withstand even 1-2 years more..even GTX470 can play most of recent games IINM.. smile.gif
FYI,not all games supports SLI.. wink.gif
Hilmax
post Aug 29 2012, 05:25 PM

4,042 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Aug 28 2012, 10:17 PM)
Thinking want to upgrade. Need some help. Current specs are as follow
Intel e8600
Hd4850
Biostar tpower i45
Coolermaster cm690 casing
Coolermaster 560W power supply
Wd 500gb hdd
Corsair perfomance ram ddr2 4gb

Want to upgrade. But budget around 2k. What thing should i keep and replace? I think i still wanna keep the hd4850 since it can handle alot of games though.
That PSU, is not extreme edition isn't?. You may need to buy new PSU. E8600 is comparable to i3 2100 if IINM.
HD 4850 limit your game render to Direct X 10 due GC hardware.

Suggested upgrade if you don't want to buy whole new: SSD, maybe GTX 670 and PSU.
Jaz
post Aug 29 2012, 07:39 PM

Hi, need help. I m not to well verse in putting together a pc, so most prolly i ll ask the shop to do it for me.

So, Whats the recommendation for a desktop for phot editing (mainly photoshop cs). My budget is Rm2.5k including monitor (looking at Dell IPS 23", or if you have any other recomendations? Also if you could recommend either using the intergrated GC or a dedicated ones. If i were to purchase the parts, where can i go to to buy n install.

SomeoneElse
post Aug 29 2012, 10:48 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(Jaz @ Aug 29 2012, 07:39 PM)
Hi, need help. I m not to well verse in putting together a pc, so most prolly i ll ask the shop to do it for me.

So, Whats the recommendation for a desktop for phot editing (mainly photoshop cs). My budget is Rm2.5k including monitor (looking at Dell IPS 23", or if you have any other recomendations? Also if you could recommend either using the intergrated GC or a dedicated ones. If i were to purchase the parts, where can i go to to buy n install.

Dell U2312HM
I7 3770
MSI/ASUS P8B75
2X 4GB Value RAM
1TB Carvia Blue
Casing of your choice-150
LiteOn/LG/Asus DVD Drive
FSP Hexa 500W

Around 2.5K depending on the parts you choose. You'll need to topup another 500+ to get a decent graphic card like the AMD 7770 or the Gtx 560 .

Shops are very subjective. It's up to you. Who do you feel comfortable with . note: sometimes smaller shops might offer better service and lower prices .

This post has been edited by SomeoneElse: Aug 29 2012, 10:49 PM
Alfsaw
post Aug 30 2012, 08:28 AM

1,132 posts

For GTX670, i think a 600w PSU would suffice for that system, since ur not OC-ing. Mobo can go for Asus P8H77-M LE. Casing can go for Corsair Carbide series, i.e 300R/400R/500R (which ever to suit ur needs)
post Aug 30 2012, 10:47 AM

69 posts

hi all
can suggest me which part to upgrade 1st

my rig

amd phenom x2 550
msi 785 p33
2x 2gb ddr3 rAM
hexa 500w
saphire 4850 512mb
18' samsung lcd

thanks in advanced
TSSARX
post Aug 30 2012, 10:56 AM

267 posts

budget?
I would recommend GC.. smile.gif
but wait till you state your budget first..
post Aug 30 2012, 11:10 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(SARX @ Aug 30 2012, 10:56 AM)
budget?
I would recommend GC.. smile.gif
but wait till you state your budget first..
as cheap as posibble ( just 1 item to be upgrade )tongue.gif coz im might get another thing to buy this semester brows.gif brows.gif

at 1st,i think want to change lcd to 20inch n above, but afraid my gc does not perform well...
boneyM
post Aug 30 2012, 11:14 AM

148 posts

Hi guys, this is gonna be my first time to build a rig. really need your help here. I'm thinking of going with this spec

Proc: i5 3470
Mobo: ???
gpu: leadtek gtx670
psu: ???
hdd: kingston 4g
dvd drive: lite on 24x
casing: ???

I've read in this forum regarding the MSI P8B75 mobo but most of the shops in my place doesnt stock msi mobo, only asus and gigabyte. My budget is around +-2500
zerohunter
post Aug 30 2012, 11:44 AM

M
6,996 posts

QUOTE(boneyM @ Aug 30 2012, 11:14 AM)
Hi guys, this is gonna be my first time to build a rig. really need your help here. I'm thinking of going with this spec

Proc: i5 3470
Mobo: ???
gpu: leadtek gtx670
psu: ???
hdd: kingston 4g
dvd drive: lite on 24x
casing: ???

I've read in this forum regarding the MSI P8B75 mobo but most of the shops in my place doesnt stock msi mobo, only asus and gigabyte. My budget is around +-2500
can look for

mobo
asus p8b75-m le
asus p8h77-m le
gigabyte b750m-d3v
gigabyte h77m-d3h

psu
fsp hexa 500w
silverstone strider 80+ 500w
corsair cx500w
xigmatek bronze 500w
NEVER TAKE COOLERMASTER ESPECIALLY EXTREME SERIES AND GX SERIES

casing
xigmatek asgard pro
cm elite 311 plus
aerocool strike-x one advanced

This post has been edited by zerohunter: Aug 30 2012, 11:47 AM
boneyM
post Aug 30 2012, 12:02 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(zerohunter @ Aug 30 2012, 11:44 AM)
can look for

mobo
asus p8b75-m le
asus p8h77-m le
gigabyte b750m-d3v
gigabyte h77m-d3h

psu
fsp hexa 500w
silverstone strider 80+ 500w
corsair cx500w
xigmatek bronze 500w
NEVER TAKE COOLERMASTER ESPECIALLY EXTREME SERIES AND GX SERIES

casing
xigmatek asgard pro
cm elite 311 plus
aerocool strike-x one advanced
Asus p8b75-m le and asus p8b75-m lx what is the difference?
And between asus and gigabyte which is better bcause i heard some bad things about gigabyte.
between fsp hexa 500w and silverstone strider 50+ is there any huge difference in quality because the price difference is kinda big like rm40.
Any other recommended casing since the ones you've recommended is not available in my place, they got cm Elite 311 which doesnt have usb 3.0. How about the cm elite 430 or thermaltake commander ms-i?
Cable707
post Aug 30 2012, 01:08 PM

I'm On My Journey
5,263 posts

QUOTE(boneyM @ Aug 30 2012, 12:02 PM)
And between asus and gigabyte which is better bcause i heard some bad things about gigabyte.
between fsp hexa 500w and silverstone strider 50+ is there any huge difference in quality because the price difference is kinda big like rm40.
Any other recommended casing since the ones you've recommended is not available in my place, they got cm Elite 311 which doesnt have usb 3.0. How about the cm elite 430 or thermaltake commander ms-i?
Take Gigabyte.cheap n as far as I know,there's no bad reviews on that mobo ATM.you can save a couple buck with it.regarding psu,FSP can do.i've built a rig using that psu before and until now,there's no problem with it..and for the case,u can proceed on choosing Thermaltake MS-I..it has front USB3.0,rite?go ahead.. wink.gif
zerohunter
post Aug 30 2012, 02:25 PM

M
6,996 posts

QUOTE(boneyM @ Aug 30 2012, 12:02 PM)
if u want peace of mind and better warranty service, get asus. i'm not guarantee that the asus one doesn't have problem but the chances is lower and service is better. p8b75-m le has LucidLogix® Virtu MVP , the other one doesn't. this feature will slightly boost ur gpu performance.

fsp hexa is much cheaper compare to other same watt psu doesn't mean it's bad quality. it just that it priced lower than others. u can look at the gpu side like the leadtek brand and others, leadtek has up to rm100 or more in difference compare to others.

the thermaltake commander ms-i is a good alternative if it's the usb 3.0 version. smile.gif
boneyM
post Aug 30 2012, 02:52 PM

148 posts

Thanks zero and cable. one more quetion, between fsp hexa 500w and ENERMAX NAXN(Tomahawk II) 500W which one is better? both have the same price (lingloong) but the enermax has 3 years warranty while the fsp only 2 years. Really appreciate your help
zerohunter
post Aug 30 2012, 02:57 PM

M
6,996 posts

i actually do survey for most of the hardware parts from time to time and i did come across to this new tomahawk 500w. what i can see is that model isn't a 80+ rated, maybe that's why nobody is recommending that. it's good for some rigs that gpu doesn't need power plug but with a psu that can long run coz they wanna avoid cap ayam psu tongue.gif for ur case, with a gtx 670 gpu, a minimum 80+ rated true power psu is recommended.

get enermax naxn 550w rm215 instead if u can top up smile.gif

This post has been edited by zerohunter: Aug 30 2012, 03:01 PM
boneyM
post Aug 30 2012, 03:02 PM

148 posts

thanks a lot zero, so i've decided to buy the fsp and use the extra money to buy cheap keyboard and mouse nod.gif
zerohunter
post Aug 30 2012, 03:09 PM

M
6,996 posts

QUOTE(boneyM @ Aug 30 2012, 03:02 PM)
thanks a lot zero, so i've decided to buy the fsp and use the extra money to buy cheap keyboard and mouse nod.gif
iinm, most reseller in forum have no stock for that model, u can try go viewnet lowyat plaza, i saw a few left on the rack when i went there on monday smile.gif
Cable707
post Aug 30 2012, 03:33 PM

I'm On My Journey
5,263 posts

QUOTE(4141 @ Aug 30 2012, 11:10 AM)
as cheap as posibble ( just 1 item to be upgrade )tongue.gif  coz im might get another thing to buy this semester  brows.gif  brows.gif

at 1st,i think want to change lcd to 20inch n above, but afraid my gc does not perform well...
Can consider :

Sapphire HD6770 1GB RM309
AOC E2050S 20" monitor RM289
SUStarbana90
post Aug 30 2012, 10:29 PM

54 posts

Hi sifus.. Can the msi B75ma p45 board fit into cm 343 usb 3.0 case?
Alfsaw
post Aug 30 2012, 10:55 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(tarbana90 @ Aug 30 2012, 10:29 PM)
Hi sifus.. Can the msi B75ma p45 board fit into cm 343 usb 3.0 case?
yes. its a m-atx board and case.

128 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:29 AM