122 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, Southampton 2 Man Utd 3, RVP Hattrick!!

zenix
post Aug 21 2012, 05:47 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Darren @ Aug 21 2012, 05:31 AM)
ryan giggs posted that on his facebook earlier, that troll! laugh.gif

QUOTE(ayonan @ Aug 21 2012, 05:39 AM)
Terus tukar siggy to our MOTM.biggrin.gif
de gea!
why no kagawa? hmm.gif

dlct87
post Aug 21 2012, 05:47 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(siksa @ Aug 21 2012, 05:45 AM)
no. 2 year he retired already. rvp worth more than welbeck so contract is not the reason to play him.
then y did SAF start Welbeck?
gr8fr8
post Aug 21 2012, 05:48 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Aug 21 2012, 05:41 AM)
I was really really really disappointed with the way the goal was conceded. The first thing I thought to myself was, "Why isn't anyone marking the near post?" Next thing I know, Fellaini won the header and it went in that through that hole. I really do not understand why nobody was marking that post. A team of Everton's calibre will surely take advantage of that kind of mistake. Anyone with any ideas why that happened?

Disappointing start to the season. I can only hope they pick themselves up after this and do something better next time.
You need to understand. Welbeck cutting in was SAF's intention in the first place. Nani and Welbeck and Kagawa playing behind Rooney. The full backs giving width by overlapping on the outside. This is a very very different style of play with last season. There was a lot of promising passing through the middle, and the team had the option to pass wide if they needed to as well, but sadly there is still no fluency in their passing right now. They are simply not passing fast enough and their movement off the ball is not effective enough. It will take time to build that fluency and playing against Everton at Goodison is a very, very difficult place to test themselves on a style of play that they are still not familiar with in the first place.
Dude. Chill man. This is only 1 game. It's a marathon. Not a sprint.
Watched the replay, and I thought the same. Miscommunication or no communication at all? Simple mistakes like that could cost us the league title. Then again, it is the first game. Everton is a hard team to beat, especially at home. Hopefully we will get the whole squad back soon, especially Rio. He is the former captain, and he is very vocal, and I am sure he would organized the defence during the set pieces.

Not an ideal start, but it wasn't that bad. Just that Everton played very well defensively.
mistabean
post Aug 21 2012, 05:48 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(gr8fr8 @ Aug 21 2012, 05:39 AM)
Having said that, even though Kagawa is there, they didn't play much through him, or at least through the middle. They tend to play crosses more rather than try to play the ball in the middle, which clearly didn't work because we don't have a targetman there.
They tried to play through the middle in the first half, but it was too disjointed, too congested. Which lead to my remark that we are lacking width to spread their defenses a bit in the first half. Doesn't help that most corners doesn't beat the first man/no one attacking the post.

Some of the intricate passes are just behind the intended player, some are a bit overhit, a few first touches are just a bit heavy that their defenders can press instantly. Seems like they are trying to feel each other out. Hence, it is still early on.
zenix
post Aug 21 2012, 05:49 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(dlct87 @ Aug 21 2012, 05:47 AM)
gip chance i guess? hmm.gif
SGSuser
post Aug 21 2012, 05:51 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

hopefully evans will be back nex weekend...at least a proper centreback pairing to start a game
siksa

T_T
1,016 posts

QUOTE(dlct87 @ Aug 21 2012, 05:46 AM)
just get either Evans or Rio fit and we will be ready to go...and also valencia should not be the RB (only when there's no other RB available)...

and to think that we will be playing Fulham who won 5-0 in their first game....without a proper defense....sigh
even if our defense blows,attack is also the best defense.attack should make up for the defense flaw.
+Newbie+

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

QUOTE(beck_ken @ Aug 21 2012, 05:33 AM)
That why wonder got any bigger size or tanker like DC in our reserve if compared to Carrick. Even inexperience and I also no expect can win Fellaini, but got size at least can hentam mar with Fellaini, no need lose like Carrick tongue.gif

Not Carrick haters here,just feel pity for him to play out of position and let others bash like no tomorrow. laugh.gif
I understand the frustration. But your suggestion is easier said than done.

We're talking about playing a young, inexperienced centerback against a well drilled and organized team like Everton. They'll just get raped. That just doesn't make sense no matter how you look at it. Carrick has experience and will always be the better choice. I agree with SAF completely here.

QUOTE(dlct87 @ Aug 21 2012, 05:36 AM)
Vidic was marking Jelavic
Everton are simply fearsome in set pieces even without Tim Cahill. sweat.gif

QUOTE(gr8fr8 @ Aug 21 2012, 05:39 AM)
It is not nice to be defeated, but, having weakened defence does contribute to the goal. Having said that, even though Kagawa is there, they didn't play much through him, or at least through the middle. They tend to play crosses more rather than try to play the ball in the middle, which clearly didn't work because we don't have a targetman there.

Kagawa looked neat and always moved into positions. I was wondering whether was it the tactics employed by SAF, or players haven't had confidence in Kagawa yet? Hopefully, in the next home game, they will redeem themselves and most of our defence back. Play that Buttner lad maybe, as Evra clearly needs a wakeup call. He looks complacent at times.
Actually I thought the team did try to play through the middle. Unfortunately Everton were simply too good in defence and did a damn good job crowding out the middle, forcing United to push the ball out wide. where United were simply ineffective with their crosses.
mistabean
post Aug 21 2012, 05:52 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Aug 21 2012, 05:49 AM)
gip chance i guess?  hmm.gif
RVP too new to the team, Welbeck has a "bit" of form, and he's a bit biased to a locally-raised striker. (Welbeck is United born-and-bred).

I am thinking he is intending for Chicha to be the OGS in his comparision of the '99 strikeforce.

This post has been edited by mistabean: Aug 21 2012, 05:53 AM
king_eric
post Aug 21 2012, 05:53 AM

147 posts

-liked Kagawa's game today, noticed scholesy doesnt like passing to him tongue.gif
-scholesy, cleverly, kagawa quite similar styles
- Rooney is struggling as target man. he should be shadow striker
- Evra needs wake up call
- we are starting to take De Gea for granted tongue.gif
- Nani still lack decision making skill
- Vidic looked alot thinner!
siksa
post Aug 21 2012, 05:53 AM

T_T
1,016 posts

QUOTE(dlct87 @ Aug 21 2012, 05:47 AM)
dunno i hope its not stated in the contract that hemust start.lol.
king_eric
post Aug 21 2012, 05:55 AM

147 posts

RVP was only signed few days back right? expecting him to start straightaway???
dlct87
post Aug 21 2012, 05:55 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(siksa @ Aug 21 2012, 05:51 AM)
even if our defense blows,attack is also the best defense.attack should make up for the defense flaw.
lets face it, in this so called modern era of football, defense is the priority, arguably only the current Barcelona can get away with the attacking style, even Real Madrid rely on defense first to win titles
99killer
post Aug 21 2012, 05:56 AM

56 posts

SAF should buy a new centre back
Rio cannot play in every game because of injury
and jones and smalling r always injured
it's not fun if we don't play our best eleven
dlct87
post Aug 21 2012, 05:57 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(siksa @ Aug 21 2012, 05:53 AM)
dunno i hope its not stated in the contract that hemust start.lol.
well i was replying to another poster who called welbeck a sissy, so if he's indeed a sissy and lousy as claimed by said poster, why SAF keeps on trusting him?
SGSuser
post Aug 21 2012, 06:00 AM

In your way
2,449 posts

it's quite obvious some fans underestimated everton laugh.gif

anyway full credit to them, deserving win...not gonna pull out some shit like ref was crap/bias like the fans of the other merseyside team tongue.gif

This post has been edited by SGSuser: Aug 21 2012, 06:01 AM
zenix
post Aug 21 2012, 06:01 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(mistabean @ Aug 21 2012, 05:52 AM)
RVP too new to the team, Welbeck has a "bit" of form, and he's a bit biased to a locally-raised striker. (Welbeck is United born-and-bred).
I am thinking he is intending for Chicha to be the OGS in his comparision of the '99 strikeforce.
not to mention trained by RVN...well kinda....in that video lah laugh.gif

QUOTE(king_eric @ Aug 21 2012, 05:53 AM)
-liked Kagawa's game today, noticed scholesy doesnt like passing to him tongue.gif
-scholesy, cleverly, kagawa quite similar styles
- Rooney is struggling as target man. he should be shadow striker
- Evra needs wake up call
- we are starting to take De Gea for granted tongue.gif
- Nani still lack decision making skill
- Vidic looked alot thinner!
means he is level up already!

dlct87
post Aug 21 2012, 06:03 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Aug 21 2012, 06:01 AM)
not to mention trained by RVN...well kinda....in that video lah  laugh.gif
means he is level up already!
to be honest nowadays whenever an opponent shoots on target i am just expecting him to somehow palm it away, not really bothered by him anymore lol
+Newbie+
post Aug 21 2012, 06:05 AM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

QUOTE(gr8fr8 @ Aug 21 2012, 05:48 AM)
Watched the replay, and I thought the same. Miscommunication or no communication at all? Simple mistakes like that could cost us the league title. Then again, it is the first game. Everton is a hard team to beat, especially at home. Hopefully we will get the whole squad back soon, especially Rio. He is the former captain, and he is very vocal, and I am sure he would organized the defence during the set pieces.

Not an ideal start, but it wasn't that bad. Just that Everton played very well defensively.
I've been thinking about this for some time and unless someone can come up with a better explanation, I can only come to the conclusion that this was a mistake made by one of the players, normally the full back. There can simply be no excuse to not guard your posts during a corner against a team of Everton's calibre.

QUOTE(mistabean @ Aug 21 2012, 05:48 AM)
They tried to play through the middle in the first half, but it was too disjointed, too congested. Which lead to my remark that we are lacking width to spread their defenses a bit in the first half. Doesn't help that most corners doesn't beat the first man/no one attacking the post.

Some of the intricate passes are just behind the intended player, some are a bit overhit, a few first touches are just a bit heavy that their defenders can press instantly. Seems like they are trying to feel each other out. Hence, it is still early on.
That's what I think as well. They tried playing through the middle but Everton defended very well and did a good job congesting the middle. There was simply not enough fluency (maybe because the team wasn't used to playing like this) to break Everton's rock solid defence.

Actually United did have width in the form of Evra and Valencia. The problem was like what you said, the crossing was too poor and often couldn't beat the first man. And you highlighted another good point. No one attacked the posts. I think this was because the team was simply too disorganized and unfamiliar with the new playing style which is a mix of pass through middle and crossing from sides.

QUOTE(siksa @ Aug 21 2012, 05:51 AM)
That's easier said than done.

QUOTE(mistabean @ Aug 21 2012, 05:52 AM)

I agree. RVP was simply too new to the team. I cannot understand why people are questioning this decision. He only joined days ago. How the hell is he supposed to suddenly bed into the team who are themselves playing an unfamiliar style of football against a rock solid team like Everton?

SAF went with the safe choice and I agree with that decision. It would've been a draw if not for that silly goal that the team conceded from not guarding their near post in a corner.

This post has been edited by +Newbie+: Aug 21 2012, 06:09 AM
dlct87
post Aug 21 2012, 06:09 AM

474 posts

QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Aug 21 2012, 06:05 AM)

I agree. RVP was simply too new to the team. I cannot understand why people are questioning this decision. He only joined days ago. How the hell is he supposed to suddenly bed into the team who are themselves playing an unfamiliar style of football against a rock solid team like Everton?

SAF went with the safe choice and I agree with that decision. It would've been a draw if not for that silly goal that the team conceded from not guarding their near post in a corner.
because for fans: world class player+big transfer fees+huge wages=must perform immediately even though you'd barely had any pre season

122 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0185sec    1.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:05 AM