The SSD Thread V3, The Speed You Need

Yagami5159
post Apr 23 2013, 11:04 AM

I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS SHIT
1,120 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 23 2013, 11:48 AM)
i'm very sorry it's not 'fastboot' but 'fast startup' in power settings in w8.
That's called Hibernate Boot/Shut-down...which some reported that it'll restart itself when the OS enter the log-in screen.

QUOTE(KHOdin @ Apr 23 2013, 11:44 AM)
my lenovo Yoga 13 can perform a 6~7sec cold boot, the first few boot (fresh without install anything) it goes below 5 sec. btw its has a samsung SSD in it .
Wow, that's some speed you got there...did you skipped POST check or smth? ohmy.gif
Yagami5159
post Apr 23 2013, 11:39 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(KHOdin @ Apr 23 2013, 12:17 PM)
fast boot and intel rapid start is enable in BIOS .does this skipped the post test ?
so isit kinda hard to get my desktop's boot time to be as fast as my laptop ? what is the general boot time you all have for desktop ?
I'm using ASUS P8Z68-V, i'm not quite sure that my motherboard have those two things that you've stated.
All I do know that when it comes to boot up, both PC and laptop are roughly the same (depends on the drivers and specs).

BIOS that used by ASUS Z68 have the issue of showing Double Splash Screens...and the blackout just Ugh... doh.gif
So my overall boot-time from pressing the start button till my log-in screen took about 25~30 seconds.

Any idea how to fix that damn BIOS?
Yagami5159
post Apr 23 2013, 11:41 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(joonwei23 @ Apr 23 2013, 12:37 PM)
Is it a must to install the firmware for the ssd from the website ?
using plextor m5s
Not really, some said it provides "extra speed" but I say let the AS SSD decide.
By the way, mine was already updated the lastest v1.03 when I bought it from the store, so no update was needed.
Yagami5159
post Apr 23 2013, 11:45 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(joonwei23 @ Apr 23 2013, 12:42 PM)
how do I check the firmware from my desktop ?  sweat.gif
Download this:
AS SSD
it'll show the firmware version...and you can run some test to discover how fast your SSD can withstand.

Edit:
Damn it, 1024kbps ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by Yagami5159: Apr 23 2013, 11:47 AM
Yagami5159
post Apr 23 2013, 12:27 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 23 2013, 01:12 PM)
i was hoping you guys who can do some simple benchmarks for us to refer to lol!

from my laptop, plextor m5m msata vs samsung 840 pro 2.5" ssd:

[attachmentid=3405932]

[attachmentid=3405933]

they should share the same everything except for the drives.
One does not simply compare a Marvel Controller SSD with MDX Controller SSD.

Just look at the Specs:

M5M:
Max Sequential Readup to 540 MB/s
Max Sequential Writeup to 430 MB/s

840 Pro:
Sustained Sequential Read540 MB/s
Sustained Sequential Write520 MB/s

doh.gif

Yagami5159
post Apr 23 2013, 02:32 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 23 2013, 01:59 PM)
yes! you're right! it's not fair right? actually all i am saying is that the current msata ssd is relatively slower than 2.5" ssd from plextor. i don't mean to say that msata is slower than all types of 2.5" ssd's.

(the solid proof that @storm88 is looking for, like you said, is already in the specs of each ssd from plextor biggrin.gif).

all it matters to me is that most recent ssd releases have reduced price/gb, with better performance.
You're comparing between Samsung and Plextor is like comparing between Lamborghini and Mitsubishi.
Even the price gap between those two are like USD50+ difference.

Newegg:
SAMSUNG 840 Pro Series MZ-7PD256BW 2.5" 256GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
Plextor M5M PX-256M5M mSATA 256GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

QUOTE(storm88 @ Apr 23 2013, 02:00 PM)
but you COMPARE one of the king in the SSD list, Samsung 840 Pro vs medium range mSATA M5M. it's not making sense at all.
+1

This post has been edited by Yagami5159: Apr 23 2013, 03:09 PM
Yagami5159
post Apr 24 2013, 08:10 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(Jaru @ Apr 24 2013, 01:57 AM)
slmt mlm all.. apa ssd yg mantap below rm500 skrg?
Most of the SSD with 128GB/120GB capacity are below RM500.

Yagami5159
post Apr 24 2013, 08:50 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(ralph_d @ Apr 24 2013, 09:31 AM)
ran as ssd benchmark last night, my ssd bottlenecked by my hardware: P35+ich9 mobo, got sata/300 only, and on ide mode

read: 230
write: 200

my ssd is plextor m5s 128gb

but still faster than my hdd smile.gif

wd green 1tb: read:90, write:70
portable hdd: read:28, write:20
Y U NO SATA III? hmm.gif
Your current mobo does not have any SATA III port?

This post has been edited by Yagami5159: Apr 24 2013, 08:52 AM
Yagami5159
post Apr 24 2013, 05:50 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(judesh @ Apr 24 2013, 06:31 PM)
Thanks for the Advice.
I would if there was something affordable (below 2.5k) with the same weight (1.3kg) and the same battery life (7 hrs)
Asus Ultrabook perhaps?

QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Apr 24 2013, 06:33 PM)
SSD is addictive
Using HDD as boot drive will make you go  vmad.gif
Tell me about it...that HDD Speed...it's vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif !

This post has been edited by Yagami5159: Apr 24 2013, 05:50 PM
Yagami5159
post Apr 25 2013, 08:56 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(euphoriaa @ Apr 25 2013, 03:26 AM)
hi guys, im currently using a 500gb+500gb hybrid hdd on a laptop.

What are the SSD option I have? And issit possible to clone everything i have (including boot file) into the new ssd ? what does the hybrid mean? and which one of the hdd would be the 'hybrid' one?

thank u notworthy.gif
You've stated you're currently using hybrid HDD and you're asking the meaning of Hybrid? :/

If you're asking what's the meaning of Hybrid drive:
Wikepedia

Else:

Yes, it's possible to clone your OS and or everything (depends on your SSD capacity). These utility are included only for various brand/capacity which I couldn't remember. Cheers nod.gif

This post has been edited by Yagami5159: Apr 25 2013, 08:59 AM
Yagami5159
post Apr 26 2013, 08:30 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(ErgoProxi @ Apr 26 2013, 04:13 AM)
a Question:
does Intel® HM65 Express Chipset bottleneck kingston v300 ssd?
Unless you connect the drive on a SATA II port, otherwise there's no bottleneck by using the mobo you've stated...well not that I can think of.
Yagami5159
post Apr 26 2013, 11:44 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(ErgoProxi @ Apr 26 2013, 10:49 AM)
I just replace HDD with SSD. so is it bottlednecked?
A43SV asus Notebook.
Unfortunately, yes...

you're currently ran as Serial ATA...which means, it's SATA II

320GB, 500GB, 640GB 750 GB Serial ATA, at 5400rpm or 7200rpm

*correct me if im wrong* nod.gif
Yagami5159
post Apr 26 2013, 10:57 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 26 2013, 07:42 PM)
Try Radioshack @Borders. IIRC They're selling the Sandisk Extreme 120GB SSD at RM43X.

Minimum RM30 has to be spent on books, the rest can spend at Radioshack tongue.gif

Plus, you get freebies like 6 Krispy Kreme doughnuts, 1 complimentary Chatime drink, Borders vouchers and many more tongue.gif
Which BORDER bookstore? yawn.gif
The BR1M voucher are still left in my drawer untouched...hope to get another SSD from PC fair or somewhere else.
Anyway...can a Plextor M5S raid 0 with other brand (like crucial) SSD with the same controller?

QUOTE(storm88 @ Apr 26 2013, 04:45 PM)
why ask SATA 2 bottleneck thingy and does it really affect alot?

YES maybe a SATA 2 can't fully utilize the SSD's high speed operation. But does your system always run max on the said speed? NO!

SSD at SATA2 STILL perform pretty much faster than any SATA3 rated harddisk
doh.gif

edit: like what tingkat atas shown. good material
Well bottleneck do occurs on file transfer...not much...but still do.

This post has been edited by Yagami5159: Apr 26 2013, 10:58 PM
Yagami5159
post Apr 26 2013, 11:21 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 27 2013, 12:15 AM)
Borders with Radioshack inside: Gardens Mall, The Curve, Tropicana City Mall. Not sure about other cities/states.

The one I saw with the Sandisk SSD is in Gardens Mall. Not sure about other places...
I went to Borders @ Radio Shack in Queenbays mall, Penang. All the things they sold are rojak mix items :| No SSD...
Yagami5159
post Apr 27 2013, 04:23 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(storm88 @ Apr 27 2013, 05:07 PM)
normal peoples don't do large file transfer day by day.

so SATA2 bottleneck thingy is a NOT NECESSARY TO CONCERN point for me under home user environment cool2.gif
Meh...some do...somewhere...out there... *_*
Yagami5159
post Apr 27 2013, 04:36 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 27 2013, 05:30 PM)
Overpriced Rojak items biggrin.gif
Gardens/Mid Valley is a bad place to hunt for niche items like SSD lol
Benchmark freaks  whistling.gif
ScanDisk Extreme are not even that great...

Hope that PC Fair got the goods I want...*finger crossed*
Yagami5159
post May 1 2013, 10:35 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ May 1 2013, 10:45 AM)
which store carry it o.o? If price is similar to online store/forum sellers then it will be nice  smile.gif . If price expensive like RM30 or more I might just grab from forum seller for saving some money  cool2.gif .
buy it from hikari85, she's sells M5S 128GB for about RM295...not sure is still negotiable. nod.gif
Yagami5159
post May 1 2013, 11:34 AM

1,120 posts

Better hurry, Newegg already increase the price for the M5S 128GB from $99 USD to $109.99 USD.

I'm predict that the Malaysia distributor going to do the same, sooner or later.

Plextor M5S 128GB

This post has been edited by Yagami5159: May 1 2013, 11:35 AM
Yagami5159
post May 3 2013, 12:27 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(ltcbomd @ May 3 2013, 11:40 AM)
Plan to buy Plextor SSD for my desktop PC... 1st time SSD user... i need a mounting bracket for the 2.5" SSD in order to install in my CPU right? can i find it in PC accessories store? how much it cost?
Less than RM50 i suppose, depends on which brand of SSD bracket you're looking for.
Yagami5159
post May 3 2013, 12:32 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(Holyjolly @ May 3 2013, 02:35 AM)
Hi, My rig have a SSD installed with windows.They said it is better to reduce amount of writing to the SSD in order to prolong the SSD life. If I want install some rendering software such as Adobe photoshop, lightroom, Premier Pro, Sony Vegas pro etc, it will significantly increase its speeds right? (in terms of launching speed? or rendering speed?)

if I install these software to SSD, will they do some writing to the SSD?

Anyone knows how to move the user's desktop from C: drive to other drive?
I'm not sure but I too install my rendering software and my IDE software like visual studio. Was trying to find a answer for whether that the constant read will decrease the life span of my SSD...

Edit: Damn it, sorry for double post.

This post has been edited by Yagami5159: May 3 2013, 12:35 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0476sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:28 AM