Shell Recruitment Day (SRD), What's all about ... and Shell Lounge

dinozilla
post Aug 14 2007, 10:16 AM

1,680 posts

Job Group....
Wat i heard of is that there is some new defined engineer job group....
which is classified higher than existing engineer JG...
e.g. normal JG7, the new defined 1 JG6....etc...
but of coz all this is P&C, u won knw who is regular engineer in JG6 la...
unless they personally leak it out 1.....
so he himself who make P&C not P&C....lol....
dinozilla
post Aug 29 2007, 12:17 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Aug 27 2007, 10:24 AM)
I dont understand what you are trying to say.....
wat he mean is...
this is the real world.....
as Thomas Friedman said....a flat world.....
world is full of competition....u hav to get expose more to build up urself....
not sitting there, doing a same lame job forever til ur butt full of spidey web....
y shell outsource its IT?? not good performing???
no....Shell is competing its own IT infra wit top 25% of the IT companies....they fight to be better...if not the good one....
but still outsource....why? competition....
to hav their IT infra to keep up with pace....they probably think that this is not their core, hence it is much difficult for them to keep pace...
rather, handing over to an IT company which is capable, it can focus more on its core business, and let the IT co take care of the IT stuffs....
is it not secure after outsource??? of coz....if u r a lame lazy pig....
which company want to keep a staff who jz know how to sit for years, doing same old thing, no improvement in efficiency, skills, etc
not jz Shell, every MNC is transforming the way they play the game.....outsourcing, retrenchment, its happening everywhere.....
u don feel it much....not bcoz they r not around....is bcoz u r in a country that still talk a lot about protective policies....

in terms of learning chance and exposure, Shell does has its advantage
i m not sure yet too who is the vendor would be, but I believe Shell don hand over staff to a place where learning is not encouraged....
the only fact that never change is the world is changing everyday.....
if u wanna learn like our government, not changing the mindset, then u ll b weak like a sitting duck then...
no job is secure forever, so better stop dreaming...and push urself up for challenge....
dinozilla
post Aug 29 2007, 03:53 PM

1,680 posts

dats y.....we r still not certain lo...until we knw who is the vendor...hahaha
dinozilla
post Aug 30 2007, 10:40 AM

1,680 posts

no idea man....but....
aren't we all having the same 2yr probation at the vendor side??? wink.gif
dinozilla
post Sep 6 2007, 10:42 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(kayanbutter @ Sep 6 2007, 06:35 AM)
Vendor...? Oh yeah it's gonna be a vendor allright...Outsourcing Vendor might be EYE BEE M as I have heard it from many of my colleaques.
hahah.....this looks obvious man.....
anyway....all still rumour la....afterall nothing is finalised yet....so who knows.....thing could change last minute.... tongue.gif

i oso heard some say Horse Power.. drool.gif
dinozilla
post Sep 13 2007, 05:53 PM

1,680 posts

ya lo......
if u ask me.....
i would even say....
may b shell think there is too many "bug" sitting inside its "PC"
so it decide to let the pro handle it....help it clean it up to perform better....
hehehe...
so sure keep good part....and throw lousy part la...right
dinozilla
post Sep 15 2007, 09:55 PM

1,680 posts

alright pal....not sure this info is available out there...
but the whole infra is actually break into module and dif module go to dif vendor.....
to date, all module jz down select to last two vendors.....
so u cant tell yet if HP got it all.....
but of coz substantial of the infra staff will be go out there....
so if u go interview....and the interviewer tell u dat u won get outsourced...
think of wat position u getting 1st....then think whether u should trust him/her then....

i had recently heard from my fren who her fren jz interviewed....hmm....a support job....
and he was told he will not outsourced.....hehe....well...how true is that....insider knows all....
dinozilla
post Sep 16 2007, 11:08 AM

1,680 posts

there is always many versions until everything get settled....
by end of year u ll know....hehehe.....
but for desktop...we r quite certain where probably we will be dy.....sigh...
dinozilla
post Dec 21 2007, 05:49 PM

1,680 posts

finally.....ISP vendor is announced...hahaha...
dinozilla
post Dec 21 2007, 09:33 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(kevler @ Dec 21 2007, 06:01 PM)
who won the outsourcing ?
do u think it is ok to uncover here?
dinozilla
post Dec 29 2007, 09:25 AM

1,680 posts

End User Computing : EDS
Hosting & Storage : T-Systems
Managed Network Service : AT&T
dinozilla
post Dec 30 2007, 07:49 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(kevler @ Dec 30 2007, 04:03 AM)
thanks bro . much appreciated.

i think desktop support still managed by HP , is it ?

anyway , Guten T-Systems .

p/s Applicatin hosting team will learn Germany after this ? ..hehehhe
Desktop is under EUC, so is going EDS too...

but we jz think that they might hand all those HW over to EDS to manage, guess so.....
so many HW out there....u cant jz let them switch all HW as they like.....although we heard that EDS is using Dell service currently...its a huge burdern to do so...
dinozilla
post Jan 3 2008, 09:09 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(DarReNz @ Jan 3 2008, 05:48 PM)
i am wondering for those who are going for the outsource positions, you go direct to shell or the outsource companies ?
my guess....
like the hongkong's quote... continue dance, continue ride, continue buy stock....
until transists to the vendor....all thing still same....
i guess onli during the full run transition period...new staff will directly go to vendor la.....
otherwise...u ll first in as shell staff...then move over...
but they might freeze the position oso...until all process completed....unless there is an urgency la....

until they announce....not really sure how it will work on 1 la....
they themselves might not clear oso....as such a complicated process is rarely happen....
if u compare outsource IMG to Wipro....its 1 to 1.....
now its split to 3, and giv to 3.....we r oso doubting how 3 collaborate with the rest and shell yet....wonder how they gonna work out on this....
dinozilla
post Jan 30 2008, 10:54 AM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Jan 29 2008, 05:28 PM)
The major problem i don't like is:
1) Not much single young girl/FRESH girl. When intro all married sweat.gif
Seems i will need to go DELL walk around, there a lot call center lenglui? drool.gif
2) 90% communication is through email, office is very quiet (compare to DELL), rarely heard people shouting/cursing/debating in office phone
all work leisurely seems no stress also
- so no chance for me to learn the art of shouting/cursing/debating
u wont know if u still hav those when u move to EDS lo....
dinozilla
post Jan 30 2008, 02:11 PM

1,680 posts

pray ah....nono....
i want promotion there....wohohooho.....
jz act fun....
dinozilla
post Jan 30 2008, 05:37 PM

1,680 posts

if u can....work well then.....
dinozilla
post Jan 30 2008, 10:15 PM

1,680 posts

hygiene???
unless shell putting more effort to venture in bio-energy....hardly imagine they hire bio graduate for....shed some light pls....
dinozilla
post May 3 2008, 07:29 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(NicholasG5 @ May 2 2008, 09:38 PM)
Hi, when is the next Shell Recruitment Day and where will it be? Is it open to everyone? I'm in IT. Can I go?
i don think they taking IT ppl now dy....
except Business IT rep/focal
which most likely need knowledge and exp on both IT and the related business unit
IT is on its way to complete outsource transition in 2 months time....
which 1 u wanna join??? EDS? AT&T? T-System? biggrin.gif
dinozilla
post Sep 25 2008, 07:41 PM

1,680 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Sep 22 2008, 02:40 PM)
Vista on an old laptop is painful my friend. Stability is not an issue, it's performance that's lacking. Heck even people with dual core laptops and 2GB memory sometimes have issues that I can't decipher. I don't see why you're looking forward to using it biggrin.gif I wish they'd just stuck with XP sometimes. Oh ETA sometime in 2009.
u cant blame totally on Windows itself....
those guys whom plan for the image content play their major part too...
this image is getting more and more overloaded...
i only see the standard desktop(with P4) runs smooth when add to 3GB RAM...
still....jz ok...

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0547sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:27 PM