5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Nvidia Fan Club V10, Vision, innovation and market leadership

devillightning1
post Sep 29 2012, 10:57 AM

246 posts

Nah this guy who owns a 680 WFx3 seems to hate on 670 users...
devillightning1
post Sep 29 2012, 12:42 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(mrkenn @ Sep 28 2012, 01:11 AM)
Guys. When OC-ing gpu, what do u guys usually OC. Gpu clock(Is this the same as core clock?), Boost clock(Why only certain models have boost clock?), memory clock?  Why some factory overclocked cards only oc gpu clock, certain models only oc boost clock. Confused  sweat.gif

Anyone can explain? tq
OCing usually with the higher performance boost is the Core clock (or the boost clock, which also increase for Nvidia GTX 660 and above series) Core clock (or GPU Clock) is something like how fast can an artist draws something, while the Memory clock is like how fast the information is passed. So vendors like MSI ASUS usually only OC the GPU Core cause in high end GPUs memory clocks barely increase FPS unless you are gaming in 1080 and above since the memory in those cards are so damn fast...hope this helped you smile.gif

This post has been edited by devillightning1: Sep 29 2012, 12:50 PM
devillightning1
post Sep 29 2012, 04:35 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(zerohunter @ Sep 29 2012, 01:17 PM)
I also oc to find the max oc and benchmark , not running the oc on 24/7 or even in gaming
I have 2 profiles in AB, one is the most stable OC (1350MHz) which the fan usually runs at about 60% at 72c, 2nd profile is which i consider the quiet profile that I usually use with OC at 1300MHz but the fans ran about 11-12% slower, but identical performance but near silent
devillightning1
post Oct 1 2012, 01:32 AM

246 posts

fan got 0% meh? 0%=not running at all=card blowing up
devillightning1
post Oct 1 2012, 01:18 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(Hari Seldon @ Oct 1 2012, 10:26 AM)
Hi, recently I noticed that my MSI 680 has been running a liltte hot, idling at 68c with its fan RPM at 1300-ish. Should I RMA it?
Very very high...that temp is my 680 running Heaven benchmark at max setting...your casing no airflow?
devillightning1
post Oct 2 2012, 06:00 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(hfi @ Oct 2 2012, 01:04 PM)
Wow so today i was going to update to the latest Afterburner and i notice it says "changes to the kepler voltage setting". On further reading, it seems to disable the core voltage completely - completely removing one the 670 pe selling point; Over-voltage.

So it's a good thing i came to check out this thread to see what others are saying about this new changes. And now reading that article I am a bit concerned. Are the changes supposed to be a safety measure or just Nvidia pushing manufacturers to adhere to certain performance standard in protecting their sales ? For what's it worth, I could not get a stable higher overclock when i bump up the Mv to 100 (with 2.2.3 AB). I can only run it at 50mV max, otherwise the card will be too unstable i.e. fluctuating boosts during the benchmark or gaming.

So the question now is do i stick to 2.2.3 AB and keep the 50mV setting or upgrade and nerf my PE ? It hasn't crashed at all for me and I've been running it 24/7. Temp doesn't exceed 70c but i'm worried about the long lasting effect it may have on the card. My old 460 was running at 1.100v btw and it still running strong on my other rig.

Appreciate your input guys.
Stick with 2.2.3...my Lightning got limited in the voltage department with max voltage only 1.215V on 2.2.4...

Added on October 2, 2012, 6:09 pmGuess MSI really nailed the high end Nvidia GCs with quiet coolers and high overclocking ability...I fell in love with twin frozr IV smile.gif seriously, highly OCed settings which I can easily reach barely increasing voltage while others struggling to reach with 47% max fan speed reached (siiiiiiiiiiiiiiilenceeee) at only 67c...While some will say I wasted RM1900 on the Lightning Edition when I could get as low as RM1700++ on a reference version I felt it was really worth it...

This post has been edited by devillightning1: Oct 2 2012, 06:09 PM
devillightning1
post Oct 2 2012, 08:23 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(zerohunter @ Oct 2 2012, 07:29 PM)
+1 , nvidia is just boh sorng with what MSI did to their power edition and lightning series , where user get so much extra juice with low prices tongue.gif
Nvidia scare later GT7xx series will flop because 680 speeds or 670s are too close to those...its all about money about the RMA/Warranty cost which could seriously make me switch over to AMD if the next generation NVIDIA keeps doing the same by locking down voltages...

Added on October 2, 2012, 8:54 pm
QUOTE(barry80 @ Oct 2 2012, 05:58 PM)
for certain ppl there is a issue just like Tom raise up yesterday but some ppl like u & rest of the PE satisfied user still find this card very decent, overclockable than the others & of cuz no such issue. this conclude that there must be some kind of hidden agenda behind this issue that involved nvidia?
Source
Now i kinda get what is the situation now...So MSI overvolted the PWMs by almost double the limit set by the manufacturers, if we end users get it working then its no problem but the problem here is MSI seems to kinda forgot to check if the card will work, and this ends up getting noticed from Nvidia since Nvidia kinda banned any kind of overvolting for their GPU, heck even EVGA's HIGH END Classified GPUs are missing the EVbot plug which allows overvolting...so someone please correct me if im wrong

This post has been edited by devillightning1: Oct 2 2012, 08:55 PM
devillightning1
post Oct 2 2012, 09:00 PM

246 posts

i bet this locked down overvolting thingy will make many enthusiast switch to the red team
devillightning1
post Oct 3 2012, 06:46 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(zerohunter @ Oct 2 2012, 03:44 PM)
i'm not sure about running oc clock on 24/7, but i did play games for few hours using the oc setting, no issue. like i said before, i oc to play play only, just to find out the max stable oc, benchmark, that's all. i run on stock 24/7.

what is the conclusion for the issue then?
Why run stock 24/7? Your card is basically begging to be OCed, your card will still be cool anyway
devillightning1
post Oct 6 2012, 12:41 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Oct 5 2012, 05:13 PM)
glad still to hear the bad 670 stories again..... remind me of my precious 680 huhu
Not again...grumble.gif
devillightning1
post Oct 6 2012, 02:48 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(primaroti @ Oct 6 2012, 09:36 AM)
heheheh...still not satisfied with gtx 670..wat's wrong that guy ha???...maybe most people like GTX 670 than 680???
GTX 680 unless you get the Lightning edition (like me) all others are basically not worth it...(if got Lightning with locked voltage control, just go overclock.net lightning forum and download BIOS lol tongue.gif)

This post has been edited by devillightning1: Oct 6 2012, 02:48 PM
devillightning1
post Oct 8 2012, 01:06 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(riderz135 @ Oct 7 2012, 12:33 AM)
hey yaw evryone and all the nvidia taikoz ,, specialist ...users... nid sum advise here on GTX 680 ...... i was a red camper since last time and js last week chged to green team ! .... feel like the 6 series interesting nw ...better features.....efficient power consumption ... .... wana try see hw diz beast performs ....i gt d Asus GTX680 TOP ..... ma question is ... Compare to MSI GTX680 Lightning and GTX680 Top ... which is more better ? ..... wat is d max core clock dat i can push more on top ? ...... is da apative vsync issue been settled ? .... ideal temp at 40...iss diz ok ?? ..... any tips tricks are most welcome ! ....... biggrin.gif
As a Lightning user i would recommend Lightning as it is smaller and better overclocking esspecially using LN2 bios and its triple voltage capability. If yours come with the voltage locked bios, just go to overclock.net and find the official lightning owner forum, there in the first page download the unlocked bios and enjoy overclocking this card...and also use afterburner 2.2.3
devillightning1
post Oct 29 2012, 05:11 AM

246 posts

Soooo....after 5 days what did I missed?
QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Oct 29 2012, 12:22 AM)
Hey guys, I considering to get MSI GTX670 Power Edition next month. It this a good choice ? Thinking to get cheap mouse/keyboard and cheaper CPU to fund a GTX680 instead.  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Yes...should keep you in check for 2-3 years:), or if you wanna brag to your friends saying "I got nvidia's fastest single GPU card", then the 680 would do...
devillightning1
post Oct 30 2012, 04:32 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Oct 29 2012, 09:38 PM)
Im actually surprised at how many people are buying Windows 8 tongue.gif .
Any difference for gaming in Wins 8 against wins 7 other than DX11.1?
devillightning1
post Oct 30 2012, 04:43 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Oct 30 2012, 04:37 PM)
There are some games that Windows 8 outperforms 7 and in other games the situation is reversed. The benchmark battle can  be seen here. Benchmark Results Windows 8 vs 7
So go Jack Sparrow Windows 8 better la...tongue.gif
devillightning1
post Oct 31 2012, 04:31 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(THE ZUL @ Oct 31 2012, 12:50 AM)
sad can't max GTX 670 in NFS MW 2012 sad.gif
medium setting smooth 50-60 fps
It's another poor console port...dont even have AA settings and still using only around 50% GPU usage and yet the FPS still drops to 40
devillightning1
post Oct 31 2012, 04:57 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(Freedom1104 @ Oct 31 2012, 04:46 PM)
i hate blackrock studio. they made need for speed become a burnout-like game. damn disgusting. Since hot pursuit , every NFS doesnt attract me at all already. waiting for GRID 2 btw wink.gif
I loved the first GRID smile.gif still remember driving the 24 hours le mans or something
devillightning1
post Oct 31 2012, 06:21 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(Ulysses @ Oct 31 2012, 05:47 PM)
i thought the new nfsmw has good reception.  tongue.gif
I dunno whats wrong with those critics....but I didnt have any fun at all in this game. The cars felt like trying to move a 100kg stone with hand, the police are WTF fast even though they are only police crown victoria, and I dunno if its just me, but I hated the fact that you are able to access all cars in the beginning if you find them, it just felt like your newly jacked car sucks compared to your old car which you have just unlocked new parts, and you have to unlock the parts AGAIN. And dont forget the sudden frame rate drop entering a tunnel

OK rant over tongue.gif

This post has been edited by devillightning1: Oct 31 2012, 06:26 PM
devillightning1
post Oct 31 2012, 08:38 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Oct 31 2012, 08:02 PM)
hey fellas...i m planning 2 swoop 2560*1600 monitor next year...will GTX670 run all games above 60fps in that resolution or i need 2 pay more 4 the GTX680???i no plan 2 setup SLI here
ya I think so if you reduce the graphical settings, you can test out the performance now by creating a custom resolution of 2560x1600 in the Nvidia control panel

This post has been edited by devillightning1: Oct 31 2012, 08:39 PM
devillightning1
post Nov 1 2012, 07:38 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Oct 31 2012, 10:04 PM)
LOL...i 4got 2 mention that i want all the details in HIGH ever but the AA or AF or whatever extra graphical goodies disabled

how about 27" monitor 2560*1440 then???also quite equally stressful the GPU with the same settings above???i must mention that i still cannot accept anything lower than HIGH yet since far cry game in 2004 laugh.gif call me a graphics wh*re if u wish 2 blush.gif
A single GTX 680 OCed running at 2560x1440 is similar to performance of GTX 570 or GTX 580 at 1920x1080...well, thats my opinion in my testing tongue.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0425sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:15 PM