QUOTE(raysaw @ Aug 6 2012, 06:54 PM)
s3 playing temple run brave seem a bit laggy
background sync?
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 6 2012, 07:01 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(raysaw @ Aug 6 2012, 06:57 PM)
what is custom rom/kernel? seem i am new user for smartphone and s3 is my 1st smartphone. =)
rom is like a firmware ... the one i recommend is Wanamlite, google it.

As for kernel, it's another part of software that tweaks the features of the phone like scripts to do with cpu and battery consumption tweaks and other stuff. My recommendation for a custom thirdparty kernel is Siyah, google that as well.

In order to use a custom rom and kernel however, you must first root your phone. There are many youtube guides online explaining how, google it.

Why bother rooting and adding these third party software ? To give you more options and features than the stock offers of course brows.gif If still not convinced, just google for that as well.
ezmeer94
post Aug 6 2012, 07:05 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Aug 6 2012, 07:01 PM)

As for kernel, it's another part of software that tweaks the features of the phone like scripts to do with cpu and battery consumption tweaks and other stuff. My recommendation for a custom thirdparty kernel is Siyah, google that as well.

In order to use a custom rom and kernel however, you must first root your phone. There are many youtube guides online explaining how, google it.

Why bother rooting and adding these third party software ? To give you more options and features than the stock offers of course  brows.gif If still not convinced, just google for that as well.
my advice is not to custom rom cause u are new because there are tendency to brick the phone
wanamlite is indeed a nice firmware but im now on jellybean dun wanna turn back hehe tongue.gif tongue.gif
tiongkeat
post Aug 6 2012, 07:06 PM

802 posts

new owner here 16gb sad.gif
i bought it for price 799 (blue color) last saturday with 24 months contract
monthly subcribtion is 50+48 (1gb) from maxis
nice to meet u all here

This post has been edited by tiongkeat: Aug 6 2012, 07:10 PM
ezmeer94
post Aug 6 2012, 07:16 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(tiongkeat @ Aug 6 2012, 07:06 PM)
new owner here 16gb sad.gif
i bought it for price 799 (blue color) last saturday with 24 months contract
monthly subcribtion is 50+48 (1gb) from maxis
nice to meet u all here
Dark_Angel85
post Aug 6 2012, 07:19 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

hmmm.. tried backing up again... seems to be able to backup in the internal memory..

but backing up with the extSD seems to get stuck in backing up androidsecure and it says it can't back it up.. .error encountered
raysaw
post Aug 6 2012, 07:20 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(Zhao @ Aug 6 2012, 06:59 PM)
custom rom is like a customised operating system.

since you  r new , i dont think this is the problem.
did you turn on power saving?
hehe.yes, i try turn off and play.

Added on August 6, 2012, 7:21 pm
QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Aug 6 2012, 07:01 PM)

Why bother rooting and adding these third party software ? To give you more options and features than the stock offers of course  brows.gif If still not convinced, just google for that as well.
thx for the explanation. anything just google it.haha.

This post has been edited by raysaw: Aug 6 2012, 07:21 PM
ezmeer94
post Aug 6 2012, 07:21 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(raysaw @ Aug 6 2012, 07:20 PM)
hehe.yes, i try turn off and play.
power saving prevents your phone to use the full power of the processor biggrin.gif
maybe thats why icon_idea.gif
benny888
post Aug 6 2012, 07:23 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Aug 6 2012, 07:19 PM)
hmmm.. tried backing up again... seems to be able to backup in the internal memory..

but backing up with the extSD seems to get stuck in backing up androidsecure and it says it can't back it up.. .error encountered
Probably is your ext sdcard issue. It is more practical to backup on external sdcard in case your phone crashed n fail to access internal sd n it is saving space
Zhao
post Aug 6 2012, 07:25 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(ezmeer94 @ Aug 6 2012, 07:21 PM)
power saving prevents your phone to use the full power of the processor biggrin.gif
maybe thats why icon_idea.gif
CPU can be excluded in power saving setting thou. wink.gif
Dark_Angel85
post Aug 6 2012, 07:26 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 6 2012, 07:23 PM)
Probably is your ext sdcard issue. It is more practical to backup on external sdcard in case your phone crashed n fail to access internal sd n it is saving space
I've guessed as much.. was wondering more of like what's wrong with the extcard instead.. cause it's a brand new Sandisk Mobile Ultra 64GB class 10. Anyone using it? backed up without hitches?

BTW, if I backup with internal storage, then transfer it to ext SDCard, will it restore?

This post has been edited by Dark_Angel85: Aug 6 2012, 07:34 PM
jcksn81
post Aug 6 2012, 07:28 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(ezmeer94 @ Aug 6 2012, 06:23 PM)
try to delete using file manager biggrin.gif
I face same problem also...
I can't find those picture & folder in Root Explorer...
benny888
post Aug 6 2012, 07:41 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Aug 6 2012, 07:26 PM)
I've guessed as much.. was wondering more of like what's wrong with the extcard instead.. cause it's a brand new Sandisk Mobile Ultra 64GB class 10. Anyone using it? backed up without hitches?

BTW, if I backup with internal storage, then transfer it to ext SDCard, will it restore?
I am using class 10 64 GB Sandisk ( but in fat32 format)
What kernels are you on ; some custom kernels do not support exfat format
I have zero issues backing up and restoring

Yes you can restore it rom ext sdcard - just copy the whole clockworkmod folder over

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 6 2012, 07:42 PM
youloke
post Aug 6 2012, 07:42 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Aug 6 2012, 05:33 PM)
how much u bought?
Rm150..11400 one the size too big la..
Dark_Angel85
post Aug 6 2012, 07:45 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 6 2012, 07:41 PM)
I am using class 10 64 GB Sandisk ( but in fat32 format)
What kernels are you on ; some custom kernels do not support exfat format
I have zero issues backing up and restoring

Yes you can restore it rom ext sdcard - just copy the whole clockworkmod folder over
I'm on Siyah 1.4

OK. At the moment, I'll do that first... tried downloading some fat32 format programs. any you recommend?
benny888
post Aug 6 2012, 08:05 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Dark_Angel85 @ Aug 6 2012, 07:45 PM)
I'm on Siyah 1.4

OK. At the moment, I'll do that first... tried downloading some fat32 format programs. any you recommend?
I just format it in my MAC - just select MSDOS- FAT during format . Even windows I dont think you need any special programs to do it ??
arju
post Aug 6 2012, 08:11 PM

239 posts

waht is the current best rom for vanilla google rom/cm10/
Dark_Angel85
post Aug 6 2012, 08:15 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 6 2012, 08:05 PM)
I just format it in my MAC - just select MSDOS- FAT during format . Even windows I dont think you need any special programs to do it ??
Oh? I thought so as well, but when I tried to format via right-click and format (like how we would on any pendrive), it only has the options of exFAT and NTFS...

Hmm... trying multiple ways to format it to fat32 now... I'm kinda bummed though that it'll have to revert to fat32 due to the 'small' limitations...

but... let's see whether or not it'll work out

This post has been edited by Dark_Angel85: Aug 6 2012, 08:24 PM
Noobi3
post Aug 6 2012, 08:44 PM

4,984 posts

QUOTE(arju @ Aug 6 2012, 08:11 PM)
waht is the current best rom for vanilla google rom/cm10/
So do u want a vanilla google rom / AOKP or CM10 ?
arju
post Aug 6 2012, 08:49 PM

239 posts

as long as is JB hehe
SuperNexus or Paranoidandroid or other?

This post has been edited by arju: Aug 6 2012, 08:49 PM

127 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled