23 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Hi-Fi An USB ESS sabre DAC, Simply a performer.

zy_xcup
post Sep 5 2012, 10:33 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Sep 5 2012, 10:08 PM)
change windows sound device to USB audio.
does it change the sound signature? of the DAC?
ClieOS
post Sep 5 2012, 10:55 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

QUOTE(zy_xcup @ Sep 5 2012, 10:33 PM)
does it change the sound signature? of the DAC?
Not at all.
zy_xcup
post Sep 5 2012, 11:00 PM

199 posts

nice. tq sifu!
vivakarna
post Sep 6 2012, 01:03 AM

1,360 posts

recieved mine this morning, what i can conclude abt this gem;

ud100>hrt music streamer ii nod.gif
hahariz
post Sep 6 2012, 01:39 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(vivakarna @ Sep 6 2012, 01:03 AM)

Are you sure about this? I am about to purchase HRT Music Streamer II. How is it better?

Comparison review please.
GenericMav
post Sep 6 2012, 04:57 AM

just call me GM
1,175 posts

QUOTE(vivakarna @ Sep 6 2012, 01:03 AM)

thats shocking, since i put my highest bet on HRT MS2 performance
oh well, listening is believing, i guess
penmarker
post Sep 6 2012, 05:16 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(hahariz @ Sep 6 2012, 01:39 AM)
Are you sure about this? I am about to purchase HRT Music Streamer II. How is it better?

i got the DAC, next time i can hand it over to you for testing if you want.

hahariz
post Sep 6 2012, 08:15 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(penmarker @ Sep 6 2012, 05:16 AM)
i got the DAC, next time i can hand it over to you for testing if you want.
That'd be cool. thumbup.gif
vivakarna
post Sep 6 2012, 08:18 PM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(hahariz @ Sep 6 2012, 01:39 AM)

ok i'll put up this way, headfonia said that ms2 sound quality are similar to ms2+ which is 80%-90% of similarity.

While ms2+ and dacport lx are comparable to each other, its all about your preferences, if you fancy analogue sound, you take ms2+, if you fancy neutral and transparency sound, you take dacport lx.

Futhermore, Clieos said that he can't decide which is better between the ud100 and odac. He also said that, ud100 may slightly better than the odac.

Meanwhile, many audiophiles said that dacport lx is slightly better than odac. Fyi, Odac and dacport lx share the same sound characteristic.

For that we can conclude;

1.Dacport lx or hrt ms2+
2.Odac or ud100
3.hrt ms2

hahariz
post Sep 6 2012, 08:26 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(vivakarna @ Sep 6 2012, 08:18 PM)
ok i'll put up this way, headfonia said that ms2 sound quality are similar to ms2+ which is 80%-90% of similarity.

While ms2+ and dacport lx are comparable to each other, its all about your preferences, if you fancy analogue sound, you take ms2+, if you fancy neutral and transparency sound, you take dacport lx.

Futhermore, Clieos said that he can't decide which is better between the ud100 and odac. He also said that, ud100 may slightly better than the odac.

Meanwhile, many audiophiles said that dacport lx is slightly better than odac. Fyi, Odac and dacport lx share the same sound characteristic.

For that we can conclude;

1.Dacport lx or hrt ms2+
2.Odac or ud100
3.hrt ms2
I see, thanks. What about the sound signature? More towards HRT MS2 or LX?

Anyways, already ordered one unit for myself. biggrin.gif
TSchchyong89
post Sep 8 2012, 09:39 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

More photos from oversea buyer :

penmarker
post Sep 9 2012, 03:14 AM

2,017 posts

probably couldn't see because of the darkness and image quality (lol plebian cameraphone)
the DAC is in the top right corner.

yep, that's a JVC HA-S500 biggrin.gif
cyloh
post Sep 9 2012, 04:00 AM

894 posts

QUOTE(penmarker @ Sep 9 2012, 03:14 AM)
probably couldn't see because of the darkness and image quality (lol plebian cameraphone)
the DAC is in the top right corner.

yep, that's a JVC HA-S500 biggrin.gif
Advice to you, change to Audio Technica ESW9 velour pads or Senn HD25 velour pads for upgraded sound quality and comfort brows.gif

My own S500 driver is now transplanted in to a full sized headphone body. Soundstage to the moon..... whistling.gif

Ok now back to topic... the DAC drool.gif
penmarker
post Sep 9 2012, 04:26 AM

2,017 posts

You've read my mind brother. Just now I was talking with my friend about the soundstage for these cans. I wondered why it was feeling like its 'oppressed' or something. Turns out its normal for closed cups (these are my first for good quality headphones).

I should listen to yours some time. And velour pads are hard to find if not imported, and would take some more $$
:|

Haha. But paired with the DAC it sounds phenomenal even without amping. In fact, I think no amping is needed, right now I'm even playing on 1/3rd or 2/5th of volume. 50% volume is max for my ears.

Kudos for chchyong89 for developing this.
TSchchyong89
post Sep 9 2012, 09:04 AM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(penmarker @ Sep 9 2012, 04:26 AM)

Haha. But paired with the DAC it sounds phenomenal even without amping. In fact, I think no amping is needed, right now I'm even playing on 1/3rd or 2/5th of volume. 50% volume is max for my ears.

Glad that you love it laugh.gif But loudness is another thing, once you get an proper amp you will shocking.gif

Moaaarrr photos:

From the bottom, FA1242A×4, TDA1543×4, DX100, UD100.

Camera connection Kit → Ballanced FET Headphone Amp → Balanced PRO900

By Kosei Igarashi
ClieOS
post Sep 9 2012, 02:30 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

My review of UD100:
http://www.inearmatters.net/2012/09/tiny-d...-of-stoner.html
http://www.head-fi.org/t/626632/tiny-dac-b...s-ud100-vs-odac
Pewufod
post Sep 9 2012, 02:42 PM

1,537 posts

so in conclusion it is better than the PCM2704 usb dac that is also naked ?
penmarker
post Sep 9 2012, 04:12 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(chchyong89 @ Sep 9 2012, 09:04 AM)
Glad that you love it  laugh.gif  But loudness is another thing, once you get an proper amp you will  shocking.gif
Moaaarrr photos:

Camera connection Kit → Ballanced FET Headphone Amp → Balanced PRO900

By Kosei Igarashi

No please stop poisoning my wallet. sad.gif Apologize to my wallet nao!

Lol.
ClieOS
post Sep 9 2012, 05:00 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,101 posts

QUOTE(Pewufod @ Sep 9 2012, 02:42 PM)
so in conclusion it is better than the PCM2704 usb dac that is also naked ?
Never listened to that particular USB DAC and thus can't conclude anything from it.
TSchchyong89
post Sep 9 2012, 05:37 PM

shittie mittie
1,293 posts

QUOTE(ClieOS @ Sep 9 2012, 02:30 PM)
Many thanks to ClieOS for his kind words

QUOTE(penmarker @ Sep 9 2012, 04:12 PM)
No please stop poisoning my wallet. sad.gif Apologize to my wallet nao!

Lol.
Sorry boss sweat.gif

23 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0302sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:25 AM