122 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V3, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

bearbear
post Nov 1 2012, 11:35 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

So my MC stops at OCBC 3 months promo

Min 10k in FD and require 20% of FD amount in Saving Account. - Not exactly 80/20 which i was thinking (Didn't read properly)

4% P.A. for FD

2.5% P.A. For SA if deposit less than 49.99/month
2.85% P.A. for SA if deposit less than 999.99/month
3.0% P.A. for SA if deposit more than 1000/month

Any withdrawal from SA - 0.50% P.A. for SA.
gsc
post Nov 1 2012, 12:42 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 1 2012, 11:32 AM)

As for Premier Priority Privilege Banking Account, most banks require us to sign up for it - i.e. OCBC, RHB, HLB, SCB and UOB. Even if you deposit RM1M, you are not automatically granted PB status but you need to apply for it.

Welcome back. I was trying to find what are the best 3 products sign up in your prioprity banking blog. But couldnt find it. May be I went into wrong site?

Was told by RM, ocbc Klang still give gift if you recommend friend to be their premier account holder. She told me last week but now already Nov, not sure is it still going on.
TSGen-X
post Nov 1 2012, 04:02 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Nov 1 2012, 12:42 PM)
Welcome back. I was trying to find what are the best 3 products sign up in your prioprity banking blog. But couldnt find it. May be I went into wrong site?
I guess you are referring to OCBC Premier Banking new sign up for the 5%. It was previously posted at my Fixed Deposit Page at my main blog but I have moved it to my new blog called Fixed Deposit Malaysia : www.fixeddepositmalaysia.blogspot.com where I can expand on my thoughts and share details of FD Promos. And the info you are looking for is in my article OCBC Booster Deals
gsc
post Nov 1 2012, 05:39 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 1 2012, 04:02 PM)
I guess you are referring to OCBC Premier Banking new sign up for the 5%. It was previously posted at my Fixed Deposit Page at my main blog but I have moved it to my new blog called Fixed Deposit Malaysia : www.fixeddepositmalaysia.blogspot.com where I can expand on my thoughts and share details of FD Promos. And the info you are looking for is in my article OCBC Booster Deals
thanks. saving combo plus saving account. in your step two, should be 25k deposit into smart saver not 12.5k
melvincoke
post Nov 1 2012, 06:25 PM

H, Every Sifu & Senior teacher,

hehe, i am new here, can I know is it any different between PMA-I & PMA? My existing current account is PMA (based on i view in maybank website when I want to see my balance)

My existing amount of PMA account is 50K above...so is it I can get the 4.5% - 5% return?

the additional 2% only will return after DEC 12?

Thank you very much if any Sifu/teacher can give me answer..
TSGen-X
post Nov 1 2012, 07:10 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Nov 1 2012, 05:39 PM)
thanks. saving combo plus saving account. in your step two, should be 25k deposit into smart saver not 12.5k
your are welcome and you are right, my mental calculator must be screwed up, hahaha. Thanks

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 1 2012, 07:14 PM
drueki
post Nov 1 2012, 10:24 PM

93 posts

Hi, all the sifu.
Whats the risk of foreign currency fixed deposit?
gsc
post Nov 1 2012, 11:02 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(drueki @ Nov 1 2012, 10:24 PM)
Hi, all the sifu.
Whats the risk of foreign currency fixed deposit?
biggest risk is exchange rate loss. Just look at any bank on the foreign currency exchange rate on buying and selling. Buy now and sell immediately will cost you 2.7% tp 3%. Currently only Aus $ interest rate is slightly better than local interest rate. Earlier RM advised to go in when Ringgit to AUS$ was 3.15 but I didnt.

drueki
post Nov 1 2012, 11:16 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Nov 1 2012, 11:02 PM)
biggest risk is exchange rate loss. Just look at any bank on the foreign currency exchange rate on buying and selling. Buy now and sell immediately will cost you 2.7% tp 3%. Currently only Aus $ interest rate is slightly better than local interest rate. Earlier RM advised to go in when Ringgit to AUS$ was 3.15 but I didnt.
I see. so for example when i deposited at RM3.2/1AUD, I can only earn when it is above RM3.2/AUD?
And what about fixed deposit works?
If I deposit RM10000 for 3months at the rate of 3.0%, i get back RM10900 after 3months?
Thank you for your time blush.gif
bearbear
post Nov 1 2012, 11:52 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(drueki @ Nov 1 2012, 11:16 PM)
I see. so for example when i deposited at RM3.2/1AUD, I can only earn when it is above RM3.2/AUD?
And what about fixed deposit works?
If I deposit RM10000 for 3months at the rate of 3.0%, i get back RM10900 after 3months?
Thank you for your time  blush.gif
There are 2 rates, when you change to AUD at RM3.2 and if you wish to change back to RM at that instance, it will be 3.17 or so which is lesser. There is a risk there as Aussie do fluctuate now and then (I deal with forex in my work and there has been time it go below 3.1 and come up and go down)

the rate is per annum (12 months)

you will get 10000 + (10000 x (3/100) x (3/12)) = 10075

For 12 months at 3% only get you 300.
drueki
post Nov 2 2012, 12:00 AM

93 posts

I see.
If I only deposit RM10k for 1month at rate of 3.0%, I'll get RM10300 at the end of the month?
Public Bank FD rate
gsc
post Nov 2 2012, 12:02 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Nov 1 2012, 11:52 PM)
There are 2 rates, when you change to AUD at RM3.2 and if you wish to change back to RM at that instance, it will be 3.17 or so which is lesser. There is a risk there as Aussie do fluctuate now and then (I deal with forex in my work and there has been time it go below 3.1 and come up and go down)

the rate is per annum (12 months)

you will get 10000 + (10000 x (3/100) x (3/12)) = 10075

For 12 months at 3% only get you 300.
below 3.1? happen this year?

The interest calculated is based on days. 10000 x (3/100) x (30+31+30)/365..... assuming Nov (30), Dec (31)....
bearbear
post Nov 2 2012, 12:27 AM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Nov 2 2012, 12:02 AM)
below 3.1? happen this year?

The interest calculated is based on days. 10000 x (3/100) x (30+31+30)/365..... assuming Nov (30), Dec (31)....
yup few months back - my rates are filtered by the accounts / finance side so i don't really know the accuracy but there were a deep dip biggrin.gif

Added on November 2, 2012, 12:28 am
QUOTE(drueki @ Nov 2 2012, 12:00 AM)
I see.
If I only deposit RM10k for 1month at rate of 3.0%, I'll get RM10300 at the end of the month?
Public Bank FD rate
no...3% is per annum i.e. per year

per month is 3%/12 months = 0.25% per month

One year you get 300

One month you get only 25

This post has been edited by bearbear: Nov 2 2012, 12:28 AM
tbheng
post Nov 2 2012, 07:35 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(melvincoke @ Nov 1 2012, 06:25 PM)
H, Every Sifu & Senior teacher,

hehe, i am new here, can I know is it any different between PMA-I & PMA? My existing current account is PMA (based on i view in maybank website when I want to see my balance)

My existing amount of PMA account is 50K above...so is it I can get the 4.5% - 5% return?

the additional 2% only will return after DEC 12?

Thank you very much if any Sifu/teacher can give me answer..
Hi, I am neither a sifu nor a teacher...but just to share my finding and understanding...
I had open the PMA acct 2 days ago.
According to the MBB teller, both PMA and PMA-i are the same acct and will get the 2% special dividend (if you meet all the tnc).
Refer more details HERE and HERE
When did you open your acct?
It is showing as PMA in my maybank2u.
Special dividend only payable by 14 Jan 2013.
I had verify the above with MBB.
You should also call MBB call center to clear your doubts, and share with us your findings. smile.gif

This post has been edited by tbheng: Nov 2 2012, 07:55 AM
melvincoke
post Nov 2 2012, 12:13 PM

QUOTE(tbheng @ Nov 2 2012, 07:35 AM)
Hi, I am neither a sifu nor a teacher...but just to share my finding and understanding...
I had open the PMA acct 2 days ago.
According to the MBB teller, both PMA and PMA-i are the same acct and will get the 2% special dividend (if you meet all the tnc).
Refer more details HERE and HERE
When did you open your acct?
It is showing as PMA in my maybank2u.
Special dividend only payable by 14 Jan 2013.
I had verify the above with MBB.
You should also call MBB call center to clear your doubts, and share with us your findings.  smile.gif
Hi Tbheng, Thanks for sharing your info. Now I more understand. I open this account last 2 years but totally dont know got this kind of return. After view this forum, only know my current account got this kind of return.. I am so blur..

Thanks again and have a nice day all sifu here.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
tbheng
post Nov 2 2012, 01:21 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(melvincoke @ Nov 2 2012, 12:13 PM)
Hi Tbheng, Thanks for sharing your info. Now I more understand. I open this account last 2 years but totally dont know got this kind of return. After view this forum, only know my current account got this kind of return.. I am so blur..

Thanks again and have a nice day all sifu here..  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
You are welcome...we are all here sharing info.

As in my earlier post 2 day ago, do check with your branch as I was told by the teller that if you top up RM3k and above, you get a free passport holder, valid till end of Dec 2012. nod.gif
I should had open my acct on 1st Nov rather than 31st Oct.
Was also a bit confuse about their full month interest calculation.

melvincoke
post Nov 2 2012, 02:22 PM

QUOTE(tbheng @ Nov 2 2012, 01:21 PM)
You are welcome...we are all here sharing info.

As in my earlier post 2 day ago, do check with your branch as I was told by the teller that if you top up RM3k and above, you get a free passport holder, valid till end of Dec 2012.  nod.gif
I should had open my acct on 1st Nov rather than 31st Oct.
Was also a bit confuse about their full month interest calculation.
Thanks for info. I also not really know how to calculate the interest rate ...hehehe hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
trinityz
post Nov 2 2012, 06:04 PM

477 posts

just a question, let's say i put X amount as FD for 1 month and before that 1 month, i got emergency and need to withdraw money is there any penalty?
TSGen-X
post Nov 2 2012, 06:23 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(trinityz @ Nov 2 2012, 06:04 PM)
just a question, let's say i put X amount as FD for 1 month and before that 1 month, i got emergency and need to withdraw money is there any penalty?
100% got penalty - you will get your capital but no interest.

What you should do is split the amount you have to several FD certs to minimize any damage. Example, you have RM10K, you can split it to 2 FD cert RM5K each.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 2 2012, 06:23 PM
trinityz
post Nov 2 2012, 06:28 PM

477 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 2 2012, 06:23 PM)
100% got penalty - you will get your capital but no interest.

What you should do is split the amount you have to several FD certs to minimize any damage. Example, you have RM10K, you can split it to 2 FD cert RM5K each.
means only lose the interest only right? no other penalty?

splitting into 2 cert is a good idea!

122 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:11 AM