Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V3, Read 1st post to find highest rate.

drueki
post Nov 1 2012, 10:24 PM

93 posts

Hi, all the sifu.
Whats the risk of foreign currency fixed deposit?
drueki
post Nov 1 2012, 11:16 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Nov 1 2012, 11:02 PM)
biggest risk is exchange rate loss. Just look at any bank on the foreign currency exchange rate on buying and selling. Buy now and sell immediately will cost you 2.7% tp 3%. Currently only Aus $ interest rate is slightly better than local interest rate. Earlier RM advised to go in when Ringgit to AUS$ was 3.15 but I didnt.
I see. so for example when i deposited at RM3.2/1AUD, I can only earn when it is above RM3.2/AUD?
And what about fixed deposit works?
If I deposit RM10000 for 3months at the rate of 3.0%, i get back RM10900 after 3months?
Thank you for your time blush.gif
drueki
post Nov 2 2012, 12:00 AM

93 posts

I see.
If I only deposit RM10k for 1month at rate of 3.0%, I'll get RM10300 at the end of the month?
Public Bank FD rate

0.0547sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:13 AM