Cycling V3, General talks on Racing/road bikes

mrjgx
post Nov 9 2012, 09:07 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Nov 9 2012, 08:38 AM)
life is too short to regret over wrong purchase. just give them ur money n ride away
Indeed. The cento 1 sr frame weight is over 1kg maa..but still looks sexy enough. Tomorrow gonna go Godzilla cycles and take a look around tongue.gif
mrjgx
post Nov 9 2012, 06:59 PM

59 posts

Guys, need your input and opinion as a fellow cyclist:

I'm planning to convert my current Merida to suit the new terrain (fast flat route) in the Middle East
(30-40km avg speed on group ride 80km-120km)

Full 2013 SRAM Red grouppos
Zipp 404 Firecrest CC
New handlebar perhaps with the tri-bar

Thrash it good for 3 years there and buy the whatever latest specialized has to offer when I'm back in Msia.

How's that sound? Is it a good choice?

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Nov 9 2012, 07:00 PM
mrjgx
post Nov 9 2012, 09:31 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 9 2012, 08:01 PM)
I lost you... what does SRAM Red have to do with flat terrain? Just throw out your 11-32T for a 11-25T or 11-23 or even 11-21 if you are.

You won't need new bars... clip ons will do if you need em... but dangerous to hunker down in a fast group ride... if someone emergency stops, you're dead.. or the fella in front...

but i agree... trash it...
Make sense a bit lor. Lighter weight and psychological effect does matter. All that may contribute to -/+ 1 or 2kmh increase of avg speed tongue.gif

Cos when everything top notch already next thing to upgrade will only be the frameset..perhaps a cycle of 3 years or 5 years for frame upgrade.

Clip on dangerous ah? Cos got no brakes right?

mrjgx
post Nov 9 2012, 10:17 PM

59 posts

Can we buy insurance for our bike? Is it possible in Malaysia? Imagine if you buy rm30k worth of bike and you crashed it or someone stole it..at least we could claim it if it is insured.

Else 30k gone like dat..cry also no use
mrjgx
post Nov 9 2012, 11:12 PM

59 posts

Surveyed around..willier cento 1 SR frame alone costs around 12k plus...2013 tarmac SL4 costs only 10k..I chose the latter anytime. Not at this near future anyway though smile.gif

mrjgx
post Nov 11 2012, 04:39 PM

59 posts

Get the specialized prevail helmet bro..hehe
mrjgx
post Nov 12 2012, 12:08 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Nov 12 2012, 09:53 AM)
Guess you are lonely ranger cyclist all this while right...

From my experience with my P2K group ride:

30-40km avg speed on peloton ride for 80km-120km

it's not about ur bikes spec, but also your ability to tag along with peloton and drafting behind...
also, riding in peloton talks about "working" be the train head by turns....

there's 2 by 2 formation... single fold formation....

for 2 by 2 formation, the 1st row of rider lead the peloton... then both decided to give way, both riders ride out left and right side, let the 2nd row riders move forward from contre. while the 1st row riders find their ways to draft back to peloton at the back....

for single fold formation, when the 1st rider get tired, he keep to right and slowdown, let the 2nd rider continue to lead with the peloton. the 1st rider then draft behind the peloton....

My Giant TCR SL3 are doing well in peloton... it's all about ur trust to ur buddies front n back... Importantly, DO NOT SWING ur bike left right right left... which could affect others in peloton.

oh yeah... Tri-bar, my P2K members hates tri-bikes cyclist to ride with them in peloton, as Tri-bike handle position are not stable as normal roadbike....

ok, that's all from me on the softskills perspective...

it's bloody awesome feel able to draft behind on 40km/hr++++ speed with minimum effort !  thumbup.gif

die die dont drop from peloton, else suffer like me which always happens to me after 40KM++ mark where my P2K train head go even faster... Foreveralone ride is terrible....  rclxub.gif
Yeah I kinda like with a ride buddy 1 or 2 riders only for hill ride. I seldom ride on a flat with a peloton. Tried once but no proper pace line though. So I guess while drafting we can easily achieved 40kmh tongue.gif

Question lingers in my mind, will my FR0 be sufficient enough or do I need aero wheels? Like the 404 FC. Hurm I don't if if its just a marketing BS but I read somewhere that it will holds your speed better once you are in the 30kmh and above..

Weight wise it's like my FR0, so I guess the weight inertia must be the same.

Hurmmm
mrjgx
post Nov 14 2012, 01:26 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 12 2012, 01:03 PM)
data will show the 404s thumping your fulcrums anyday anytime... be it in straight, wind cross winds or when the fella in front let rip an epic fart....it just cuts through wind where there is wind...

whether you feel the effects? that is up for debate...

the wheel inertia is all about the weight on the rims as those weight affects your spin up rate... anything outmost of the wheel effects inertia in fact. so, lowering hub weight is really the last part of lightening a wheelset up...

404s is 1400 grammish? take off 188+88 grams for the hubs and another 150++grams for spokes,nipple and nipple spacer and you are left with 900odd grams for front and rear rims? not exactly light but its a high profile rim... how much fulcum weighs is the question now comparing spin up rates of both wheel... but even if the zipp loses in that criteria.. it's understandable as the FR is veering towards a climbing set while the Zipp is purely an aero wheel..

the old aluminum clincher is 557grams...he new carbon clincher is gonna be lighter...but i don't think it drops below 400..
http://www.zipp.com/wheels/detail.php?ID=46#

wheelbuilder states 525grams for the 404FC rims...
http://www.wheelbuilder.com/zipp-404-firec...m-Zipp-x58.html

on rolling resistance...factor in zipp swiss steel bearings efficiency vs fulcrum cult bearings and it gets more complicated in the spin up and rolling resistance test...worst if you have zipp ceramic bearings

so, 404 is definitely advantageous in heavy winds...acceleration is anyone's guess
Hurm interesting. But then I also have the same feeling. Aero wheels is definitely for aero kinda ride. Slicing through the wind? Maybe. Perhaps I might feel it when I already buy the 404. As for now I could only imagine how it feels like and to trust my trusty FR0 tongue.gif

Bike stuff here in Dubai are pretty expensive. GH specialized bikes are selling almost rm5k cheaper for the 2012 venge sworks model. Got a plenty of top end bikes shop scattered around the town, and the cycling community here is pretty active.

So my plan of bringing my bike over here seems like a good choice. A wheel upgrade and groupset is all that needed and I can have my dream bike once I'm back in Malaysia laugh.gif

Any idea wether HED wheels is superior to zipp or the latter is the definite choice of the pros peloton nowadays?

Added on November 14, 2012, 1:31 am
QUOTE(minizian @ Nov 13 2012, 08:12 PM)
Sucks that the giant dealer at my place does not have any those speicial priced (2999 aud instead of 3999 aud) fit for my size cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Do you or any of your friends ride Zipp, lightweight etc full carbon wheel daily???
Anymore upgrade essential for better bike performance on my current bike? Since got new wheels edi and my groupset is more or less more than enough. Other upgrade no justifiable for small amount of gains? icon_question.gif

Thinking getting GP4000s 25mm tires for my bike and leave the Attack/Force for race day purpose only. Gueesed that the best way to make my bike comfy due to the fact its ride harsher than carbones one icon_question.gif
If I buy a good pair of wheels, I'll use it everyday. 3-4 years just go buy new one. Life is too short to buy expensive wheels and not riding it (keep in store room) hmm.gif

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Nov 14 2012, 01:31 AM
mrjgx
post Nov 14 2012, 03:05 PM

59 posts

Ialready have ceramic bearing ler..USB and carbon hub for the FR0 tongue.gif
mrjgx
post Nov 14 2012, 04:41 PM

59 posts

Ultra smooth bearing lerr..so smooth don't ever want to stop rolling tongue.gif
mrjgx
post Nov 15 2012, 03:23 PM

59 posts

1st time experiencing sidewind so heavy that I'm swaying every time I pedal my bike..even on a low prof weel like FR0...gusty wind riding in the desert..

Tailwind oth was a good help. Cruising on a flat route at 50-51kmh easily without breaking a sweat. And that was without drafting anyone..cooool.

Willier cento 1 sr came to my mind again tongue.gif
Any other good aero bikes recommendation?. Haha
mrjgx
post Nov 16 2012, 12:33 AM

59 posts

Hoi the shiv is way out of question lah. Haha. Went around for window shopping..confirms prices here are a bit on the higher side compare to Malaysia.

Btw is this one considers a bargain to get? Scott foil 30 equipped with Rival. Rim as in the pix below. Around rm10k plus only...it's a tad of a bit more cash from the new DA 9000...

Another aero question...should I get 404 for front and rear, or 303 in front and 404 at the rear or 404 front and 808 rear? I heard that having deeper section wheels on the rear will act like a sail, planted our bike while the front is when it get thrown around by the wind. Hence the less deep in front is suggested. hmm.gif

I wonder how will the zipp behaves as even the normal rims like my FR0 already affected by the sidewind so much..

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Nov 16 2012, 12:36 AM
mrjgx
post Nov 16 2012, 10:52 PM

59 posts

Haha. Ok lah better get the 404 terus..the deeper the more effect I'll get plus there's not much of a hilly ride here. Elevation gain for this 85km ride I've done this morning is only 357m tongue.gif

I'm ON it soon..the black on black 2013 decal! If only my bike is in red color......
mrjgx
post Nov 18 2012, 01:57 PM

59 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Nov 17 2012, 09:18 AM)
there used to be zedtech division in zipp where you can customize your zip... like a different color lock ring, ceramic bearings, carbon hubs like those used by htc highroad...

the rare triplet laced ala fulcrum 2:1 version of the zedtech rear wheel

another more normal one.. can customize the stickers and anodization of some parts.. no performance difference most of the customization...
Interesting..but black on black is the in thing right now. Hehe. I just need my bike to be in draping red tongue.gif

9 Pages « < 7 8 9Top

0.0475sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:37 PM