Cycling V3, General talks on Racing/road bikes

TSvin_ann
post Sep 13 2012, 10:04 AM

10,912 posts

Let me present MCipollini RB1000 with Di2.

the owner of bike got it from Edwin, Joo Ngan Son bike shop @ Uptown.

TSvin_ann
post Sep 13 2012, 11:35 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Sep 13 2012, 10:33 AM)
you implying something with that eye roll?

Added on September 13, 2012, 10:36 am

wah... didn't know they sold that... thought they sold the volt, trek and colnago bikes only...

i'd prefer the cervelo s5 personally... VWD if possible...

but aero bikes is not my cup of tea..
yes, they do sell MCippolini... how long u no visit there??

Trek they no more carrying new stock....

what is RM01?

SI fei lou ??? i see a lot triathlete love si fei lou....!
TSvin_ann
post Sep 13 2012, 11:44 AM

10,912 posts

so here we have:

BMC fan
S-works fan
Giant Doremon fan
Merinda fan

what else? add urself....

wait... here no 1 is riding LOOKbike? 
TSvin_ann
post Sep 13 2012, 05:30 PM

10,912 posts

dark load? me dark load? how dark i can be? the most only GIANT TCR SL3, aluiminium bike nia wo...

not yet cross 5k mark le....

cinya sad when i see Baikbike photos on Penang campagin for a lane... everywhere is Giant chick and Giant banner ! Why la blue Giant doremon no come KL....
TSvin_ann
post Sep 16 2012, 10:45 PM

10,912 posts

Guys... need some suggestions...

Friend asked me, RM3,000 can get everything in for entry bike plus all the accessories ?

he got stand pump and a helmet.... not cycle for serious for fun... no need clip pedal...

is Sora groupset more than enough? or the budget should start minus the accessories 1st, then only know what kind of roadbike to get?
TSvin_ann
post Sep 17 2012, 03:28 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Sep 17 2012, 12:14 PM)
if he really is that cincai... 3k is way more than enough... reputable entry level with those 2300 group sells within RM1800 range..

but, sora is the best starting point for a casual biker.. it has 9 speed, 1 more than 2300 but also 1 less than the new tiagra... but it works fine for most of the time... if he itches for a 10speed upgrade, might as well see if his budget fits in for a 10speed tiagra... even better that way... it's no 105, but it has 10 speeds at least....

usually full sora equpped bikes are within 2.5k range... leaves 500 bucks for the lights, helmets and cycle wear if he fancies...

since you say he has some stuff to start with... it is still best to count the budget inclusive of the accessories he needs.. unless he set aside money other than the 3k to buy those accessories..

it's his expectations at the end of the day and the major factor of the purchase... the aesthetics of the bike... maybe he wants a certain color or look but that is only available on a more expensive 105 model.. then he is kinda screwed...

yes. he is cincai. im just back from Samy Bike shop this afternoon...

asked him.... 3k budget entry bike include accessories... can do...

btw, in front of his shop, hang 1 Fuji Pink color second hand bike... 105 groupset half carbon frame....

selling RM2600.

venturing into entry bike.... mostly Giant... again... haha...

its seem there's no tiagra bike on Giant showing inside the catalog.... it should be breaking RM3,000 mark if any... out of consideration....

next: sora... there's below 3k bike....i thinks its 2k... Giant... SCR... with mix of non-standard parts... not a full Sora groupset.

TSvin_ann
post Sep 17 2012, 10:53 PM

10,912 posts

Have you seen the Superbike supplement in Cycling Plus yet?

If not - here's a look at one of the featured bikes - you can see the video here: http://www.bikeradar.com/road/gear/article...-premium-35275/
TSvin_ann
post Sep 20 2012, 01:43 PM

10,912 posts

anyone have comment / opinion on Aster brand bike??

just told the shop owner saying that my friend's budget on his budget below RM3,000 includes accessories....

he replied he will work something for my friend.

Anyone have visited Velocipede Works bike shop at Sunway?

"Full carbon Fork with 7005 extra light weight alloy frame"

anyone?
TSvin_ann
post Sep 20 2012, 02:27 PM

10,912 posts

hmm.gif hmm.gif

got a positive feedback on Aster brand bike.....

lucky i got my Giant TCR SL3... else i would settle for Aster brand...

soon will go visit the bike shop....
TSvin_ann
post Sep 20 2012, 03:17 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(sukhri @ Sep 20 2012, 02:29 PM)
Ive been there more than 10 times
joining the KOM Fraser???
TSvin_ann
post Sep 20 2012, 10:43 PM

10,912 posts

wanted to post this long time ago...

https://www.facebook.com/velocipedeworks

TSvin_ann
post Sep 21 2012, 10:02 AM

10,912 posts

other than the brands mentions above, Alloy frame Giant TCR SL series also come with FULL 105 groupset. A thing to take note whether they offer FULL 105 parts or not.

TCR SL3 i got it for RM4.9k. Now not sure where have this stock anymore. btw, it's 7.9kg, superlight as advertised in Giant.

Perhaps SL2 but i thinks price would be over RM5k.
TSvin_ann
post Sep 21 2012, 12:07 PM

10,912 posts

Btw, do Specialized have entry bike below RM3,000 ?

TSvin_ann
post Sep 21 2012, 09:28 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Sep 21 2012, 06:48 PM)

Anyone have any experience on choosing a touring bike? can they go fast?
Touring bike.

1st, try to understand, what's the purpose of doing days of tour on bike ranging from 2 days to few months depending on the distance.

Example: the in-famous Hianboy DNF on his planned 900km touring...

touring, as it sound, it's makan-makan angin speed with bags.

anyway, u any bike can go fast, as long u have the power to pedal.

My P2K group other than good on roadbikes, they also do touring annually. Last touring, they went to Thailand or Vietnam touring...

while during their training, their touring bike = mountain bike, they ride to bentong and overtake the roadbike... sweat.gif

u wont want get ur carbon bike to do touring, right.
TSvin_ann
post Sep 24 2012, 11:54 AM

10,912 posts

btw, last weekend, visited Velocipeda Works bike shop at 20, Jln PJS 9/2, bandar Sunway, where the previous KakiMotor were.

Velocipede Works sells Aster, with Alloy frame and full 105 groupset, it's offer around RM3.8k. it's cheap due to 1st batch deal that shop managed to get from the distributor.

another brand Neil Pryde full carbon with Ultegra groupset, if i remember correctly, sells around RM7.8k. wheel set i not sure, but i thinks shoudl be good one.
TSvin_ann
post Sep 24 2012, 01:24 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Sep 24 2012, 01:02 PM)
i also went there when i passed by...

their mini i-links only RM240 for shifting cables + housing, another RM190 for the brake sets... not too bad...

so i assume u got ur cheap cheap mini i-links and brake sets too???

TSvin_ann
post Sep 24 2012, 01:52 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Sep 24 2012, 01:42 PM)
not yet... talked to andrew for quite a bit about how the liner is ran compared to sram professional cables and told him my intentions of getting it later as i want to pair it with powercordz and using the i-link liner and housing only..he said it's an interesting thing to find out as he also took some time to trial and error to get the cables to run properly....

now, i am hunting some powercordz cables on ebay.. once i get my hands on that, i will head back there to buy the shift cables...

the brake cables i might not be able to  use because my rear cables run into the top tube for a short segment before exiting to the calipers... he is not sure if the liner is thin enough to slide into top tube itself until actually trying it out...

they might be considering getting some sensible brands and items that are not yet in KL as far as i chatted with them... might be an interesting shop in the future...

my only is because i assume it still drops a fair bit off the RRP price that i saw.. i didn't want to ask andrew yet how low it can go as my intention is not to buy it on that day i visit mar... and comparing that to my set of SRAM professional cables which is already RM180... it is not too far off in price...and the full shielding + how you can shape the housing bends is a very useful thing...

it's no jagwire roadracer by all means in price... but if it can outlast a jagwire 3 sets to 1 in any conditions... isn't it already worth it?
actually i know nothing about what u talking about. some wires running here and there... laugh.gif

anyway, that day, i'm learn something from Andrew too... he is open...

did u saw the Rudy Project sunglasses? he explains to me d features and ImpactX safety features.... feel love RudyProject even more....
TSvin_ann
post Sep 24 2012, 02:35 PM

10,912 posts

Lucky i got my Doremon Giant theme bike.

shield from everything that on the bike... but not those off the bike..

btw, last night, i found out USD140 lighting system from Petlz. =.='
TSvin_ann
post Sep 25 2012, 01:35 PM

10,912 posts

btw, where do Klang valley cyclust get their titanium frame?

BikePro?
TSvin_ann
post Sep 25 2012, 01:47 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Sep 25 2012, 01:38 PM)
or KSH TTDI for Lynskey..

why, you considering one???

go carbon la... carbon is the only way to go for performance... titanium is for old people only whose bone is rattly and on the verge of disintegrating into dust...
For knowlege ma.

so that next time i can direct newbie where's the poison are...

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0456sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:45 PM