Cycling V3, General talks on Racing/road bikes

TSvin_ann
post Sep 25 2012, 09:59 PM

10,912 posts

while u c-o-c-k-ing... i upgrade my leg power lagi better....

best solution!
TSvin_ann
post Sep 26 2012, 03:22 PM

10,912 posts

Rudy Project Rydon with Impact RX lense selling around RM1,000 in Malaysia.
TSvin_ann
post Sep 27 2012, 10:09 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Sep 26 2012, 08:33 PM)
expensive shades can completely hide your eyes while providing excellent clarity sight. very handy when u want to look at chix assets without getting caught while cycling
er.. USD3.00 shades also can do the job perfectly.

QUOTE(minizian @ Sep 27 2012, 01:41 AM)
Hey are u sure price for Impact RX lense around Rm1000? Same shit in aussie cost approx AUD800++. I once asked a dealer in KL about impact RX lense and she told me its around RM3.2K to do it. Just curious which shop quote you that price? rclxub.gif Since the rydon rx clip bundle is around that price too so i skeptical about it, I would go for impact RX if the price were true. rclxub.gif

I got mine around RM1000 to RM1100 for Rydon in Impact X photocromic lens and RX clip bundle. Got also yellow, clear, racing red lenses for free. Included in the price is spare laser black lens and rudy project stinger helmet at very discounted price/promo item. I think its considered a good deal considering what i got for the amount of $ i paid. Did the RX clip lens in KL for another RM150 smile.gif

That price of Oakley is AUD160 for each lens, one glasses need 2 lens for its around AUD320 depending on the shop. For me i just need one as i only cant see well in one eye. That price is for the basic Iridium black/fire, if u wanna get polarised the price going to creep upwards. Not to mention those shop wanted you to do "compulsory" eye test for for approx another AUD60++  which is unnecessary for me even-though i had the relvelent prescription in my hand doh.gif
the price i mentions RM1,000 is just Rydon shades with Impact X lense, like the 1 below. no spare lenses.

u mentions Impact RX Vs Impact X - are two different thing?

counting the items that u got... it's dam bloody a lot!
TSvin_ann
post Sep 27 2012, 02:18 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Sep 22 2012, 05:26 PM)
carbon fork would come as a standard on most bikes (i mean the sensible ones) nowadays...

let me put it this way and it will give a more accurate picture, for sub 8k and depending on the brand...you would most likely get a 105 equipped carbon frame bike.. depending on the brand, some you might still get 105, but maybe not a complete 105 group... the cranks and calipers or even the front derailleur might be of a slightly lower grade shimano or a mixture of FSA cranks and tektro calipers...

not to say it's not good.. but that's what you get for paying 7 grand+...

to give a wider picture based on the bikes in the same shop, prices based on my memory...

Merida Road Race 904 (alloy, 105 mix) - RM3.9k
BMC Street Racer (alloy, 105) - RM5k+
Merida Scultura Evo 904 (carbon, 105) discontinued currently if i am not wrong - RM7.8k
BMC Road Racer (carbon, tiagra) - RM7k+
BMC Road Racer (carbon, ultegra) - RM10k

there is also a 105 road racer if i am not wrong... price would be in between the tiagra and ultegra ones

so, based on the above.. if you were to get a street racer @ RM5k... you would be about 2.5k away from getting a carbon merida... not a fair direct comparison due to different brands... but, would you put your bet on the alloy BMC being better than the Carbon Merida is the 100$ question?

our advise is, if you are already considering alloy bikes well into the 5k range... you better analyze your thoughts and see if it will be worth waiting and saving another 2k+ to get a carbon one instead... my logic is that since you are targeting something that high up in the alloy range... you are not one that will be settled with 2nd rate stuff...

the only slight hurdle is that if you are going to be a total klutz on the bike... having a carbon frame is kind of a small worry if you crash it hard enough... although very seldom this happens.. but, a worry it is never the less...

give it a deep thought and then see what you want to do.. check out the shops as well to see your options...
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 24 2012, 11:54 AM)
btw, last weekend, visited Velocipeda Works bike shop at 20, Jln PJS 9/2, bandar Sunway, where the previous KakiMotor were.

Velocipede Works sells Aster, with Alloy frame and full 105 groupset, it's offer around RM3.8k. it's cheap due to 1st batch deal that shop managed to get from the distributor.

another brand Neil Pryde full carbon with Ultegra groupset, if i remember correctly, sells around RM7.8k. wheel set i not sure, but i thinks shoudl be good one.
QUOTE(leanman @ Sep 27 2012, 02:05 PM)
Budget RM 4.5-5K
Carbon frame. Any recommendation? Asking for a lady friend whom are new to cycling and so I myself. Thanks
You can see the above.

If warranty thingy not a concern to you, you can try Samy bike shop for Giant TCR range (alloy), with full 105 groupset which suite ur mentions budget...

TSvin_ann
post Sep 27 2012, 03:00 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Sep 27 2012, 02:34 PM)
no exposure to cycling yet that far back...internet and megatv havent bloom yet in 93
he want carbon la bang...

people poison...u un-poison pulak
bcoz base on ur post, 5k impossible to get carbon.....
TSvin_ann
post Sep 27 2012, 03:21 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Sep 27 2012, 03:09 PM)
haiyah...meaning up budget lar..u ask ppl downgrade.... how to be top salesman li tat??? boss boh happy nanti...how all the carbon bikes gonna go out the shop?

Added on September 27, 2012, 3:11 pm

i thought u are anti polygon???
im not getting any commission if promoting carbon....

tell me y should i promote carbon....

if some1 with huge budget, i want promote titanium... skip carbon...
TSvin_ann
post Sep 27 2012, 04:25 PM

10,912 posts

啊....

wont be upgrading bike anytime soon within next 12 months.

i will go back running, and doing cross training with roadbike on 1 of the Sunday...

that's the plan for now...

btw, mileages clocked to-date about 4,600KM... since Nov'11

will ride until Oct, make it to 4900KM... where every 1 KM ride worth RM1.00.
TSvin_ann
post Sep 27 2012, 11:42 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(hianboy @ Sep 27 2012, 06:20 PM)
hey~ atleast my polygon dabao-ed some BMC...S-Works...bla bla at sempah last week lo...

Le Butthead you're Merinda also...
QUOTE(butthead @ Sep 27 2012, 06:45 PM)
to tell you the truth... i took a ride up that day... explains why i reach top earlier than you... hahaha..

kena conned...
GO RIDE GENTING SEMPAH BO JIO !!!
TSvin_ann
post Sep 28 2012, 09:56 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Sep 28 2012, 12:47 AM)
it's among one of the considerations for many cyclists... i'd say it's a worthy investment to own a pair of good handbuilts especially like the ones from wheelbuilder.com
Sempah Bo Jio? new route?
wa kong Hokkien la...

u BO JIO when go Sempah ride....
TSvin_ann
post Sep 28 2012, 10:53 AM

10,912 posts

BO JIO = tak panggil (in hokkien / teow chew)
TSvin_ann
post Sep 28 2012, 11:14 PM

10,912 posts

How come i never see her in PCC ride 1?

i sense tipu pipu one le...

she no wear clip shoe, she not a cyclist....

"tau sikit sikit want to be represent cyclist pulak" doh.gif

WTF... the bike is having orgasm.... rclxub.gif

oh... rupa-nya advertisement for bicycle line cloths... rclxub.gif

Le Butthead... time to register urself a f***book account. u can see so many nice photos in FB le...

TSvin_ann
post Sep 29 2012, 10:31 PM

10,912 posts

anyone is going to KOM Fraser hill ?????

spot my Gold Giant doremon bike with LIVESTRONG jersey!

haha....

Added on September 29, 2012, 11:12 pmJeng Jeng Jeng Wheel Wheel Wheel

I believe this going to be the most beautiful bike concept store!

This post has been edited by vin_ann: Sep 29 2012, 11:12 PM
TSvin_ann
post Oct 1 2012, 09:24 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Sep 30 2012, 03:42 PM)
where is this?

by the way, how often do you guys wash your bike? once a week? after every ride? once a month? fortnightly?
for me, it's depend on how i oils my chains....

previously, as inexperience newbie to lubricant the chains, i put too much... after 1 ride of 100KM or 80km, it's become wet and oily. if i cant tahan the wet-ness, i wash my chain....

now after so many times of trying and error, i become smarter and more kedekut on lubricant oil when lubricant the chains....

like yesterday ride up Fraser hills n down, 70KM, not much wet-ness spotted even i uses dry type...

btw btw....

1hr 25mins riding up Fraser Hills from KKB town... consider fast or medium fast or slow or just slow???

any comment Le Butthead?
TSvin_ann
post Oct 1 2012, 10:13 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 1 2012, 09:26 AM)
err... i dunno... never done the full ride before...also didn't track the time i spend riding up to gap entrance the last time...

i think it's quite fast kua... it's over 30K right..
the Fraser KOM finishing line is at Gap entrance there... it's 32km... my average speed is 21km/hr...

Thank god i have my teammate to pull / follow / motivate in the last 15KM uphills with average 20km/hr speed all the way up!

dont know where come my power... perhaps it's a race, all out !

TSvin_ann
post Oct 1 2012, 01:46 PM

10,912 posts

i uses Continential GP4000s tyre and RM10.00 tube.

end of story.
TSvin_ann
post Oct 2 2012, 10:51 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Oct 1 2012, 11:16 PM)
a fren was on alu frame + tiagra + standard wheels. got dropped many times. then he changed to carbon + 105 + racing 1. straightaway can follow the group. smile.gif

he said difference like night n day. racun......

wah seh.... like this also can ar....

im on alu frame + 105 + xero wheel - always get dropped with my P2K ride....

so to perform the magic follow with my P2K group ride....

i should go for : Carbon + Ultega + racing zero ???

cun or not Le Butthead.... sound ok? or any better recommendation?
TSvin_ann
post Oct 2 2012, 11:50 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 2 2012, 10:51 AM)
1 million dollars....

MUUUAAAAAAHAAAAHAAAAHHAAAAA!!! MUUUAAAAAAHAAAAHAAAAHAAA

Added on October 2, 2012, 10:56 am

u must go through the different levels.. then will let you learn to appreciate the differences and learn to maximize what you have effectively...

much like working... you have to be the small fly before you become big boss... no one becomes the big boss in their first day of work...

better recommendation??? u want to bankrupt is it?

telling you this as a friend only.. you dun wan my or miaopurr's recommendation...

we don't have concept of poison needles... we just dunk you entirely into our massive pool of poison concentrated juice to soak you deeply in poison... and you won't ever get to turn back once you've been poisoned as there is no known cure...
just playing around with miaomiao concept... see what gears need to be power upgrade....

TSvin_ann
post Oct 2 2012, 12:22 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 2 2012, 12:13 PM)
miaomiao's concept is deadly... 一去不回头...
放下虏刀, 回头是岸。。。。

AMITOUFO...
TSvin_ann
post Oct 2 2012, 03:40 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Oct 2 2012, 12:37 PM)
that means you're quitting cycling
sort of.

returning back to running... but cycling will be my cross training....

and also depends on the cycling event... next year PCC inter-state will be held during Merdeka time... i cant go..

now is waiting charity ride event in Nov or Dec... to Melaka i heard...

next is Malakoff Penang inter-state ride... year end, cross over to New year... dont know whether able to join or not... wtf... i thought i want quit but events banyak... doh.gif
TSvin_ann
post Oct 3 2012, 10:36 AM

10,912 posts

Thank god, office blocked the youtube. i can have peace of mind...

why la! when im wan go back running, my P2K group have new chic from Ipoh joining...

another fast n furious rider in addition to Kakak....

just not my time...

12 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0409sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:29 PM