Jul 25 2012, 10:25 PM
1 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: Penang |
QUOTE(eqmal197 @ Jul 25 2012, 08:01 PM) this fuelly really weird. just now fill petrol rm40. then key in on fuelly, i get 10.6l/100km. i do manual calculation and its same answer. huhuhu If you're using Fuelly you must fill your tank full to the brim for the consumption to be accurate. Here's how it works. You fill up full, note the odo (I prefer this method to resetting the trip meter) and then drive till your next fill up. Since you started with the full tank, the amount of petrol consumed divided by the distance gives you your consumption. If you fill up a fixed amount, RM 40 and drive on, the calculation is inaccurate because you didn't start off with a full tank so there's no way to know how much fuel you used on that trip. |
Jul 25 2012, 10:53 PM
Nice story, Unker Dave. As usual I got mentioned
Didn't drive my Gaga today, instead I took my mum's car, a 2004 Hyundai Elantra 1.8 which I drove for five years before the Gaga. Just like old times. Took my friend to Teluk Bahang via Teluk Kumbar and Balik Pulau. That means we drove round the whole island on the side which nobody goes to. With my friend around I didn't wanna scare him attacking corners, but I wasn't exactly slowpoke either. The Huyndai goes around corners well, it's nice and stable because it's lower, wider and heavier than the Gaga. The absorbers were replaced at the end of last year so they're fairly new. The mileage is low for its age, 85k km. On the other hand the steering is too light and feedbackless, plus the 4AT is rubbish for windy and twisty roads. There's no engine braking, something which I miss very much in my manual Gaga. All in all I find a manual tranny still the best for driving on the roads I covered today, nothing beats the precise throttle control coupled with freedom of selecting gears and engine breaking. I missed my Gaga today. Will drive it on the same route again after my friend leaves. Tomorrow morning I'm going to EON to have a new clutch pedal assembly fitted for free, under warranty. The old one squeaks and squeals sometimes depending to the weather. Oh and I asked my friend which car was more comfortable, since I must have covered about 80-90 km today in the Elantra and about twice as much mileage in the Gaga. He answered, the Gaga This post has been edited by lhwj: Jul 25 2012, 10:57 PM |
Jul 25 2012, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Jul 25 2012, 10:54 PM) The consumption when I was driving it last time was pretty bad. I know I just explained the importance of filling up till the brim, but in those days when I didn't know better I used to drive till the warning light came on, then fill 40 litres. I'd get about 360 km for the 40 litres. My Gaga, can easily do the same distance on 30 litres or less. But it's not fair to compare, after all it's 1.8 vs 1.3, 4AT cs 5MT.Today I filled up at a Petronas along the way to Balik Pulau, the fuel gauge was almost pointing to empty but the warning light wasn't turned on. Managed to get about 50 litres in My father was considering selling off the Elantra due to its age and consumption but having spent quite a bit repairing it last year (alternator broke down, replaced with new one and as mentioned, new absorbers and tyres, XM2) and as my mum only uses it to go to the market, we'll prolly keep it for some time more. This post has been edited by lhwj: Jul 25 2012, 11:10 PM |
Jul 25 2012, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(dares @ Jul 25 2012, 11:08 PM) Unker obsessed with your car dy since that nite. Don't be alarmed when you're driving in Penang and see a white Gaga or Iswara quietly following you Hehe I shall look out behind for a white Gaga/Iswaga now Anyways, if not for the gross intrusion of bootspace, the UR rear strut bar would be the better choice since it ties directly to the rear towers. But, 3max's RSB compromises between practicality and effectiveness, so I have no complains either, it really is up to the individual. I confirm cannot use the UR RSB since bootspace is important to me. Just wondering, is it so difficult to design a RSB that ties to the rear seat area like the 3max one, then at each end extends out 90 degress and tie to the strut tower? Yes boot space is important to me too (which is the whole point of getting a Gaga) so I definitely will not have an ikan masin hanger in my boot. I think I'll get the RSB when I'm back in KL. Now where's Mahihi? Added on July 25, 2012, 11:25 pm QUOTE(banoriginal @ Jul 25 2012, 11:22 PM) Velcome This post has been edited by lhwj: Jul 25 2012, 11:25 PM |
Jul 25 2012, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(gogoman86 @ Jul 25 2012, 05:14 PM) That's better than mine |
Jul 25 2012, 11:44 PM
QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jul 25 2012, 11:33 PM) The GaGa twins is Penang kia, dunno whether you guys will bump into each other Please lah, Penang drivers are more like roadhogs and boh chap (don't care) than aggressive. In KL, always kena cucuk.Here, always get stuck behind slowpoke QUOTE Err... I think 3MAX purposely reduce the stiffness of the rear part to accommodate the crazy front maneuverability. What do you mean? The 3max RSB could be stiffer? This post has been edited by lhwj: Jul 25 2012, 11:47 PM |
Jul 25 2012, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(dares @ Jul 25 2012, 11:47 PM) I think he means the 3max RSB is not tied directly to the towers by design so that the rear is less stiff compared to UR RSBs. Guess so.Actually if the 3Max RSB doesn't connect between the strut towers then they should be called a chassis brace or something else. Anyway, reading CBT's review of the current Elantra, seems like it's still plagued with the same steering feel. I believe a good steering feel is essential as you're always steering the car. Other flaws are forgivable but not this one. Glad the Gaga's one is decent, and improved further with a FSB. This post has been edited by lhwj: Jul 25 2012, 11:59 PM |
Jul 26 2012, 12:08 AM
Jul 26 2012, 08:46 AM
QUOTE(iskazulka @ Jul 26 2012, 08:30 AM) Never This post has been edited by lhwj: Jul 26 2012, 08:49 AM |
Jul 26 2012, 09:14 AM
Jul 26 2012, 09:28 AM
QUOTE(eqmal197 @ Jul 26 2012, 09:22 AM) good morning FC discussion is never off topic question, but is a bit off topic to calculate accurately our gaga using fuelly, must fill up full tank. then drive until tank almost dry. right? in my case, the tank still have petrol let say 10l, then i fuel up another 20l and total 30l. when i update fuelly, its average give weird figure, say 22.2l/100km. my my. i confuse before this, i never calculate how much petrol i use. thing i know is when meter left 1 bar, fill the tank but not full tank. there's 6 bar on fuel meter. when left 1 bar, i fill up rm50. then all 6 bar appeard. i considered it already full (although is not full tank) after play around with this fuelly, IMO, i think is a bit useless when come to situation like me i dunno how do you guys manage it. since you guys use fuelly to track down your gaga, its good to share about it. to TS, dunno if my statement here is off topic but if its do, dont discuss here. lets concentrate on our gaga thanks As I explained last night, you must start off with a full tank. I suggest you delete all previous logs on Fuelly and start afresh. It doesn't matter how much you drive before filling again, you can fill up after it drops one bar, two bars, half tank, empty. The principle is by starting off with a full tank you can measure how much fuel was used on the journey. I dunno how you got 22L/100km. Make sure you're entering the correct data. Choose either odometer or trip meter reading. I prefer the former. Perhaps if you link us to your Fuelly page we could help you figure it out. |
Jul 26 2012, 10:10 AM
Jul 26 2012, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(r3apers @ Jul 26 2012, 10:03 AM) Hyundai i10 not bad.. but weak in power...t] I remember just before ordering the Gaga, my family bumped into the salesman who sold us the Elantra. He was promoting the i10 at Queensbay Mall. When my father said he was buying a Gaga the salesman went into a long rant about problems with Potong and how the i10 is better |
Jul 26 2012, 01:09 PM
Jul 26 2012, 01:15 PM
Jul 26 2012, 03:55 PM
Jul 26 2012, 04:10 PM
Just doing a survey, what settings do you normally use for your air cond? On cold days and at night, blower at 1 and thermostat at the warmest temp will do. When needed I go up to 2 and turn the thermostat halfway in between. Very rarely I use 3 and the thermostat never goes beyond halfway.
Jul 26 2012, 05:38 PM
Thanks for your replies. Seems that we're pretty similar in the air cond settings.
Eqmal, I know why Fuelly says 22L/100km. You only covered 95 km but you filled 21.05 litres. So Fuelly thinks you started on a full tank and did 95 km on 21 litres then divided 22.05/95. I'd advise you to delete those two entries and the next time you fill up, fill until full and log it in Fuelly. Then the calculation will be accurate. QUOTE(dares @ Jul 26 2012, 04:47 PM) Then why you still need cabin filter? This post has been edited by lhwj: Jul 26 2012, 05:47 PM |
Jul 27 2012, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(davidke20 @ Jul 27 2012, 10:38 AM) If Luke is cuming, then he's well experienced on GaGa's FSB installation liao QUOTE(GP mad man @ Jul 27 2012, 11:12 AM) aiyak ,sry YAB... Anyone who buys that FSB can meet me anywhere in northern PJ or TTDI and I'll help you install it. Will bring my tools down with me. never read all and now only notice is 2point FSB... i think u need find other buyer This post has been edited by lhwj: Jul 27 2012, 11:17 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0623sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:40 PM |