Crafting follows an algorithm?, Wadafuq is this and is it legit?

TSCloudDave
post Jul 17 2012, 03:13 PM, updated 14y ago

174 posts

http://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/930659-diablo-iii/63432094

Basically this guy here posts that crafting with the BS follows some kinda pattern and that he can craft really good affixes by exploiting this theory. blink.gif

I am a lowly guy who has no idea about programming or even decent in maths. icon_question.gif So I need the sifus here to tell me if this is entirely possible at all? Or is this guy a major troll? rolleyes.gif

To be honest if this is the case, maybe us LYN forumers can figure it out by ourselves and help help a bit. brows.gif

1,2,3........discuss! hmm.gif

Added on July 17, 2012, 3:31 pmWow, guess no one knows that this guy is about at all then. tongue.gif Well if it's legit congrats to the guy. If it's not then he got me fooled, shame on me. cool2.gif

This post has been edited by CloudDave: Jul 17 2012, 03:31 PM
paogiv3r
post Jul 17 2012, 03:33 PM

395 posts

Interesting....
He says he can only do like 15 times a day, could it be every specific 1 hour of a time?
TSCloudDave
post Jul 17 2012, 03:40 PM

174 posts

Yes I suspected something like that since he mentioned the time on the servers. Meaning he can craft really good stuff at a certain time of the day? Like the beginning of every hour or something? But why 15? And search his posts. He's been bragging for awhile. Come on guys let's crack this code. Honestly I haven't bought any good BS stuff so those who do can they experiment? biggrin.gif I take tips if it works out for you. Hehehehe.
KahVII
post Jul 17 2012, 03:42 PM

195 posts

Or.. he's just trolling.
memphiz_zero88
post Jul 17 2012, 03:44 PM

My stars has gone. T_T
2,255 posts

QUOTE(KahVII @ Jul 17 2012, 03:42 PM)
Or.. he's just trolling.
this
The Amateur Working Bee
post Jul 17 2012, 03:46 PM

1,646 posts

er...right...so those crafting batches wont get good rolls? sounds legit.

if you have tried batch smithing, you are gonna laugh at this

im not gonna spend my life waitin for that moments to craft pixelated items man srsly
paogiv3r
post Jul 17 2012, 03:59 PM

395 posts

okay, easy to crack, if you're a game designer, what would you do to make STOP those batch crafters BLOODY RICH?
1. After some bad stats craft, more gooding stats will appear. 10%-GOOD 90%-BAD
SOLUTION (craft good ones then craft cheapo items maybe after 10items, 1 is good) *very possible*
2. Determine your RAW materials (less recipe better item, more = bad items) *maybe / maybe fail*
3. Every new game first No.2-No.3 crafted item will be good? ( that will be too easily to identify and exploit) *fail*
4. Server Time (certain time in a game, out of 100 secs, 1 sec is a really good craft) that will be 1% of the rare items. *POSSIBLE* they cannot randomize the time, because that will not go through the method No.1. So the timing must be every 100 sec 1 item? which is also very good because every minute the second changes,

10:00:00AM (good craft) + 100sec
10:01:40AM (good craft) + 100sec
10:03:20AM (good craft) + 100sec etc.. etc... every minute is different.

so the person starts to tweak his time and then it wont work because of the time follows on server? But if time follow server why last time people can cancel auction just change of time? Each of the individual game not will "ring up server time" because it'll kill D3 server. It'll be a computer mechanism self sustain, that's why he might have miss the timing and thought it's the game server.

Diablo 3 is build on a very lame programming method not randomize got a formula just programmer knows. Let's continue to decode

This post has been edited by paogiv3r: Jul 17 2012, 04:07 PM
TSCloudDave
post Jul 17 2012, 04:00 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(The Amateur Working Bee @ Jul 17 2012, 03:46 PM)
er...right...so those crafting batches wont get good rolls? sounds legit.

if you have tried batch smithing, you are gonna laugh at this

im not gonna spend my life waitin for that moments to craft pixelated items man srsly
I already mentioned [I] that I don't do any crafting so am unable to test it out. And I didn't say you had to go out of your way to do it. Just experiment if you have the time. If not, no biggie. smile.gif
The Amateur Working Bee
post Jul 17 2012, 04:03 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(CloudDave @ Jul 17 2012, 04:00 PM)
I already mentioned [I] that I don't do any crafting so am unable to test it out. And I didn't say you had to go out of your way to do it. Just experiment if you have the time. If not, no biggie. smile.gif
no need to be so defensive, im just sayin this in general whistling.gif

crafting isint cheap, unless you are loaded.

prolly Vinluv might be interested to try this for the lulz

FIND THE PINK BARBARIAN NAO!
TSCloudDave
post Jul 17 2012, 04:07 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(paogiv3r @ Jul 17 2012, 03:59 PM)
okay, easy to crack, if you're a game designer, what would you do to make STOP those batch crafters BLOODY RICH?
SOLUTION (craft good ones then craft cheapo items maybe after 10items, 1 is good) *very possible*
2. Determine your RAW materials (less recipe better item, more = bad items) *maybe / maybe fail*
3. Every new game first No.2-No.3 crafted item will be good? ( that will be too easily to identify and exploit) *fail*
4. Server Time (certain time in a game, out of 100 secs, 1 sec is a really good craft) that will be 1% of the rare items.

so the person starts to tweak his time and then it wont work because of the time follows on server? But if time follow server why last time people can cancel auction just change of time?

Diablo 3 is build on a very lame programming method not randomize got a formula just programmer knows. Let's continue to decode
Yes I agree with the lame programming part. This is already evidenced in the item duping thread. That's why I said it's entirely possible to have some sort of 'pattern' to his crafting. icon_idea.gif Unfortunately I lack the BS plans to actually try this myself. I will buy some glove plans once I can afford them and do some experiments. Report back after that. Also, even though I have lack of computer programming, I used to major in data analysis. This can be done by just doing sample testings and defining a pattern or cycle to it and then test against the hypothesis that it is time-based.

If not, why mention the '15 times' as well as rolling back the time on servers? This indicates that crafting good stuffs can only be done at a certain period of time in the day. Hence the need to control the time as well as limiting the amount of good craftings a day. This would allow Blizzard a 'legit' way of minimizing flooding the market with too many high-end products.
paogiv3r
post Jul 17 2012, 04:07 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(CloudDave @ Jul 17 2012, 04:00 PM)
updated my previous post, take a look and feedback?

Added on July 17, 2012, 4:10 pm
QUOTE(CloudDave @ Jul 17 2012, 04:07 PM)
Yes I agree with the lame programming part. This is already evidenced in the item duping thread. That's why I said it's entirely possible to have some sort of 'pattern' to his crafting.  icon_idea.gif Unfortunately I lack the BS plans to actually try this myself. I will buy some glove plans once I can afford them and do some experiments. Report back after that. Also, even though I have lack of computer programming, I used to major in data analysis. This can be done by just doing sample testings and defining a pattern or cycle to it and then test against the hypothesis that it is time-based.

If not, why mention the '15 times' as well as rolling back the time on servers? This indicates that crafting good stuffs can only be done at a certain period of time in the day. Hence the need to control the time as well as limiting the amount of good craftings a day. This would allow Blizzard a 'legit' way of minimizing flooding the market with too many high-end products.
I have lvl 10 blacksmith and crafting plans, i tried mass craft, it really turn out sucks. but first No.2 and No.4 items area good, up to No.8-9 all sucks

This post has been edited by paogiv3r: Jul 17 2012, 04:10 PM
The Amateur Working Bee
post Jul 17 2012, 04:12 PM

1,646 posts

before you guys start to day dream ok, let me ask you this, what is a "good" roll for each of you?

how many attirbutes there is to be rolled for an item alone?

think about this 2 factors, and tell me if you still can get good rolls for smithing

and oh yeah btw, ilvl63 > ilvl62 lol
TSCloudDave
post Jul 17 2012, 04:13 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(paogiv3r @ Jul 17 2012, 03:59 PM)
4. Server Time (certain time in a game, out of 100 secs, 1 sec is a really good craft) that will be 1% of the rare items. *POSSIBLE* they cannot randomize the time, because that will not go through the method No.1. So the timing must be every 100 sec 1 item? which is also very good because every minute the second changes,

10:00:00AM (good craft) + 100sec
10:01:40AM (good craft) + 100sec
10:03:20AM (good craft) + 100sec etc.. etc... every minute is different.

so the person starts to tweak his time and then it wont work because of the time follows on server? But if time follow server why last time people can cancel auction just change of time? Each of the individual game not will "ring up server time" because it'll kill D3 server. It'll be a computer mechanism self sustain, that's why he might have miss the timing and thought it's the game server.

Hmmmm from what I can logically conclude, 1.) would not really be plausible since it would NOT limit him to 15 crafts a day. If you have the time and money you can follow this hypothesis indefinitely. However, I am intrigued by the 4.) solution. But having it every 2 minutes would make it too easy as well don't you think? Perhaps by the hour? Or try 24 hours/15 to think about it. I am sure he didn't purposely mention the 15 just for the lulz. He was probably giving us a clue. hmm.gif

Added on July 17, 2012, 4:17 pm
QUOTE(The Amateur Working Bee @ Jul 17 2012, 04:12 PM)
before you guys start to day dream ok, let me ask you this, what is a "good" roll for each of you?

how many attirbutes there is to be rolled for an item alone?

think about this 2 factors, and tell me if you still can get good rolls for smithing

and oh yeah btw, ilvl63 > ilvl62 lol
Didn't dispute the fact that affixes and rolls are based on RNG. However, he did mention that he could consistently get certain rolls on some attributes ie. All Res, Critical Chance as well as Critical Damage on his rolls. Something to ponder about. Everyone knows that without those, you can't even sell gloves for 0.10 USD. He provided us links to attest to the fact there were bidders on RMAH for his items. Just throwing it out there.

Oh and GOOD iLvl 62>>>>>>>>>>>> CRAPPY iLvl63 anyday.

This post has been edited by CloudDave: Jul 17 2012, 04:17 PM
paogiv3r
post Jul 17 2012, 04:20 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(CloudDave @ Jul 17 2012, 04:13 PM)
Hmmmm from what I can logically conclude, 1.) would not really be plausible since it would NOT limit him to 15 crafts a day. If you have the time and money you can follow this hypothesis indefinitely. However, I am intrigued by the 4.) solution. But having it every 2 minutes would make it too easy as well don't you think? Perhaps by the hour? Or try 24 hours/15 to think about it. I am sure he didn't purposely mention the 15 just for the lulz. He was probably giving us a clue.  hmm.gif
CloudDave bro, what that poster knows could be somewhere 10%-50% of the pattern works, and we can take some tested clues he leak as a reference only we shouldn't set it as a benchmark, im sure he also do the miss and hits to figure out his formula. if we bring 24 hours a cycle or even 8 hours a cycle in, it won't makes sense already. cause people plays all the time and it should be 24 hrs functionally.

Did you "notice there's a time delay when u click craft" this is really suspicious, im sure the chances of crafting 1 good item isnt falls on 1 sec now.. it falls on maybe 5 secs a gap.

Added on July 17, 2012, 4:28 pmThat delay timer when you hit "craft" that function is to prevent you double crafting a good items twice. I'm taking 1 hr as a standard circle.

1 hr = 3,600 secs
3,600 secs, 5 secs 1 gap = 720 category of stats (100%)
now we don't know the chances of getting good stats, could be 1% to 10%.
that will falls between 7 to 72 good stats. of items

any suggestion from yourside?

This post has been edited by paogiv3r: Jul 17 2012, 04:28 PM
TSCloudDave
post Jul 17 2012, 04:30 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(paogiv3r @ Jul 17 2012, 04:20 PM)
CloudDave bro, what that poster knows could be somewhere 10%-50% of the pattern works, and we can take some tested clues he leak as a reference only we shouldn't set it as a benchmark, im sure he also do the miss and hits to figure out his formula. if we bring 24 hours a cycle or even 8 hours a cycle in, it won't makes sense already. cause people plays all the time and it should be 24 hrs functionally.

Did you "notice there's a time delay when u click craft" this is really suspicious, im sure the chances of crafting 1 good item isnt falls on 1 sec now.. it falls on maybe 5 secs a gap.
Granted there is a delay. But I suspect due to the 'online' nature of the game, it could be just that the game client is downloading the requisite data from the servers to upend the stats and rolls on the item being crafted. Pure theory on that part though. And you're right about the cycle. But 15 times a DAY should mean something. Why not 18? 32? 59? 139? tongue.gif
The Amateur Working Bee
post Jul 17 2012, 04:31 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(CloudDave @ Jul 17 2012, 04:13 PM)

Didn't dispute the fact that affixes and rolls are based on RNG. However, he did mention that he could consistently get certain rolls on some attributes ie. All Res, Critical Chance as well as Critical Damage on his rolls. Something to ponder about. Everyone knows that without those, you can't even sell gloves for 0.10 USD. He provided us links to attest to the fact there were bidders on RMAH for his items. Just throwing it out there.

Oh and GOOD iLvl 62>>>>>>>>>>>> CRAPPY iLvl63 anyday.
if you are talking glove specific then that is indeed NORMAL rolls due to the lack of odd attributes compared to lets say shield which list at least quad the amount of attributes rolled for glove?

and yeah ilvl63 equips generally reaches 200+ main stats, no matter how crappy, a sub par ilvl63 gear still beats the crap of an ilvl62, im not trying to say smith gears are no good, they are good, but not as good.
TSCloudDave
post Jul 17 2012, 04:34 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(The Amateur Working Bee @ Jul 17 2012, 04:31 PM)
if you are talking glove specific then that is indeed NORMAL rolls due to the lack of odd attributes compared to lets say shield which list at least quad the amount of attributes rolled for glove?

and yeah ilvl63 equips generally reaches 200+ main stats, no matter how crappy, a sub par ilvl63 gear still beats the crap of an ilvl62, im not trying to say smith gears are no good, they are good, but not as good.
Agreed, not as good. But compared to a 50 million gold worth iLvl63 which will drop in like 10 years of gameplay as compared to a guaranteed (if we work it out) iLvl62 worth 2 million gold only? Gimme the latter anyday of the week, 365 days a year. rclxms.gif
The Amateur Working Bee
post Jul 17 2012, 04:36 PM

1,646 posts

QUOTE(CloudDave @ Jul 17 2012, 04:34 PM)
Agreed, not as good. But compared to a 50 million gold worth iLvl63 which will drop in like 10 years of gameplay as compared to a guaranteed (if we work it out) iLvl62 worth 2 million gold only? Gimme the latter anyday of the week, 365 days a year.  rclxms.gif
assuming you are one of those that are super reliant on getting gear from AH then yes.
paogiv3r
post Jul 17 2012, 04:38 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(CloudDave @ Jul 17 2012, 04:30 PM)
Granted there is a delay. But I suspect due to the 'online' nature of the game, it could be just that the game client is downloading the requisite data from the servers to upend the stats and rolls on the item being crafted. Pure theory on that part though. And you're right about the cycle. But 15 times a DAY should mean something. Why not 18? 32? 59? 139?  tongue.gif
Downloading the requisite data from the servers, i believe yes / no.
1) could be from server or could only be self generated from own computer, imagine lets take 1 mil players playing and take only 50% of them farming, 500,000 of items need to be generated every 10 second? 50,000 items = 1 sec + random item naming generation. then the problem is did you ever get item lagging? lol it kinda slowly drop out from creature? No.. it's instant. and why blacksmithing takes 5 sec to be generated where IF blizzard can generate 50,000 items in a sec?
TSCloudDave
post Jul 17 2012, 04:39 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(The Amateur Working Bee @ Jul 17 2012, 04:36 PM)
assuming you are one of those that are super reliant on getting gear from AH then yes.
Not super reliant but it's one of the few (let me reiterate FEW) joys of playing post level 60. Farming with friends is fun and all, but looking for alternative means to get gold is part of MY fun as well. nod.gif In retrospect Pao-Man, all our assumptions are moot unless we give it a test run. Will farm for more gold to afford those plans first. Vinluv where are you? sweat.gif

0.0228sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:16 PM