Lubegard, anyone using it?, apparently it works!

TSulet
post Jul 14 2012, 06:10 PM, updated 14y ago

1,703 posts

anyone use Lubegard for their Auto Transmission here?

apparently this bugger really works! thumbup.gif
I thought it is just another additive that might help a little but apprently not.

My friend have 2001 n16 sentra and the auto transmission has this massive lag(got to wait more than a minute) to engaged 'D'(gear lever in 'D' but gear wont engaged) in the morning and whenever the car already switched off for more than few hours.

so the other day with Iszo did an ATF flush and replace the ATF filter. After all that, the massive lag still there! We poured in Lubegard Platinum(dint get the lubegard red because the shop were out of it) and he sent me back home without knowing whether the lubegard work or not.

The next day, he start the car and engaged 'D' and it works! there is no more lag and the gear just engaged flawlessly... im impressed but still skeptical hmm.gif
wondering whether the ATF flush and ATF filter replacement might do the job but take time.

anyway, i found out my uncle 1996 serena also having this masive gear lag(same like my friend's sentra). So we poured in Lubegard into it without changing the ATF and now... the gear engaged 'D' without any lag rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif

damn! this lubegard is good thumbup.gif

if u guys thinking im doing advertisement, sorry im not selling it nor related to anyone selling it.
please find out yourself where to get it. im just spreading what is good here.

This post has been edited by ulet: Jul 14 2012, 07:36 PM
huakenny
post Jul 14 2012, 07:31 PM

384 posts

yea...my fren use the lubeguard for his manual gearbox...it works too...
Quazacolt
post Jul 14 2012, 10:12 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

i use lubegard platinum (rm98 lol) along with Q8 semi synthetic ATF for my proton iswara 3 speed auto, and after the first time, i will definitely stick to it for the rest of the car's lifetime smile.gif

the total cost is almost rm300 every ATF replacement (20k km or 6 months for my case) and yes, it is very expensive compared to most products out there (eg: the famous toyota ATF only cost ~rm100 or so per application, although many fakes these days so steered away from that too) however imho it is worth the money spent because gear shifting is so god damn smooth and fast.

not to mention, its been the 2nd or 3rd time i've replaced my ATF fluid, and everytime the old ones drain out, it is almost like new (fluid isn't watery or super thick, basically no signs of degradation/oxidization ) which prompts me to consider extending the intervals to 1 year or 40k km. i mean, another claim of lubegard is extending the ATF's lifespan too, right? ROFL

tldr: expensive, however its worth the money spent if you're willing to fork out

Added on July 14, 2012, 10:13 pm
btw, izso as in the forumer? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jul 14 2012, 10:13 PM
gotdamsg
post Jul 15 2012, 12:31 AM

380 posts

May I know what's Lubegard is for?
Quazacolt
post Jul 15 2012, 12:41 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(gotdamsg @ Jul 15 2012, 12:31 AM)
ATF additive/supplement
gotdamsg
post Jul 15 2012, 08:39 AM

380 posts

Is it suitable for all vehicle? I am using Perdana v6.
Quazacolt
post Jul 15 2012, 09:11 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(gotdamsg @ Jul 15 2012, 08:39 AM)
i dont think suitable for all vehicle, only suitable for automatic transmission with dextron specifications.

that said, it should be suitable for perdana v6 auto transmission smile.gif
TSulet
post Jul 15 2012, 11:17 AM

1,703 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 14 2012, 10:12 PM)

yup, izso the forummer.

QUOTE(gotdamsg @ Jul 15 2012, 12:31 AM)
check out this link --> Lubegard problem solving

QUOTE(gotdamsg @ Jul 15 2012, 08:39 AM)
yup, it is suitable. v6 hold 6 litres of ATF so you need roughly 230ml of it. lubegard red is good already.

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 15 2012, 09:11 AM)
i dont think suitable for all vehicle, only suitable for automatic transmission with dextron specifications.

that said, it should be suitable for perdana v6 auto transmission smile.gif
it is suitable for all except Except Ford Type F ATF and CVT applications.

This post has been edited by ulet: Jul 15 2012, 11:42 AM
ThunderGod_Cid
post Jul 15 2012, 03:52 PM

158 posts

I would recommend lubegard to most of my customers during workshop days, and still do if they ask for additives for ATF.

The lubegard ATF flush elminates sticky valves in the valve bodies therefore curing the 'lag' problem of your friend's car

Added on July 15, 2012, 3:53 pm
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 14 2012, 10:12 PM)
i use lubegard platinum (rm98 lol) along with Q8 semi synthetic ATF for my proton iswara 3 speed auto, and after the first time, i will definitely stick to it for the rest of the car's lifetime smile.gif

the total cost is almost rm300 every ATF replacement (20k km or 6 months for my case) and yes, it is very expensive compared to most products out there (eg: the famous toyota ATF only cost ~rm100 or so per application, although many fakes these days so steered away from that too) however imho it is worth the money spent because gear shifting is so god damn smooth and fast.

not to mention, its been the 2nd or 3rd time i've replaced my ATF fluid, and everytime the old ones drain out, it is almost like new (fluid isn't watery or super thick, basically no signs of degradation/oxidization ) which prompts me to consider extending the intervals to 1 year or 40k km. i mean, another claim of lubegard is extending the ATF's lifespan too, right? ROFL

tldr: expensive, however its worth the money spent if you're willing to fork out

I'm not saying you're using the wrong lubegard for your tranny, but you can have a better choice by taking the lubagard atf additive in the black bottle which is made specially for japanese and korean cars. Platinum additive also works as converting atf specifications making it close to universal.Use the black one, equally as good for your iswara and saves you 10-20bux as well

Added on July 15, 2012, 3:54 pm
QUOTE(ulet @ Jul 15 2012, 11:17 AM)
yup, izso the forummer.
check out this link --> Lubegard problem solving
yup, it is suitable. v6 hold 6 litres of ATF so you need roughly 230ml of it. lubegard red is good already.
it is suitable for all except Except Ford Type F ATF and CVT applications.
if im not mistaken they have one specially for cvt as well

This post has been edited by ThunderGod_Cid: Jul 15 2012, 03:54 PM
Quazacolt
post Jul 15 2012, 10:35 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Jul 15 2012, 03:52 PM)
I'm not saying you're using the wrong lubegard for your tranny, but you can have a better choice by taking the lubagard atf additive in the black bottle which is made specially for japanese and korean cars. Platinum additive also works as converting atf specifications making it close to universal.Use the black one, equally as good for your iswara and saves you 10-20bux as well
hmm the workshop i goto only have the red ATF protect and platinum (and the yellow gear oil which i assume for MT's), don't have the black one sad.gif

what's the major differences anyway?
i thought platinum would be the "be all end all" solution?
izso
post Jul 16 2012, 07:09 AM

48 posts

ulet, woi.. don't drag me into this. But since you did I'm going to comment..

I'm not a supporter of additives.

Guys - this guys transmission had a complete drain, ATF filter change and filled up with fresh oil. Initially the GB still had the delay problem, it only resolved itself the next day.

Usually a complete drain and ATF filter change fixes most of these GB problems la. And the fact that he used Castrol Dexron III 4L (meaning reputable brand and oil) makes it even better. I mean, it might just have been the oil that solved the problem.

I have my reservations regarding additives.

Also, regarding your uncles car that had some problems and you just adding the additive in, has it ever occurred to you that it might just be the additive changing the viscosity of the oil or something? I know Bluechem's engine oil cleaner does exactly that. It temporarily 'revives' dead engine oil to be more viscous allowing you to flush the oil more easily. In fact they even claim that you can even prolong the engine oil change for about 50km to 100km with the engine cleaner mixed into your oil. But ultimately it's temporary.

I'm thinking it's possibly the same in this particular situation. But I'm just guessing.
TSulet
post Jul 16 2012, 10:43 AM

1,703 posts

i dint drag u in lah, i just said u did the changing atf and filter of the car.

maybe it does what u said to my uncle's car but they did claim lubegard will solve gear 'morning sickness' and they did that. hard to believe when my uncle's keep changing with good atf(not synthetic) every 20k and he already have this 'morning sickness' feeling since 2-3 years ago.
he poured in half bottle lubegard red and the next day no more 'morning sickness'.

i dont recommend it on new car, only car got similar problem with what i said.
Quazacolt
post Jul 16 2012, 12:14 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Jul 16 2012, 07:09 AM)
I'm not a supporter of additives.

Guys - this guys transmission had a complete drain, ATF filter change and filled up with fresh oil. Initially the GB still had the delay problem, it only resolved itself the next day.

Usually a complete drain and ATF filter change fixes most of these GB problems la. And the fact that he used Castrol Dexron III 4L (meaning reputable brand and oil) makes it even better. I mean, it might just have been the oil that solved the problem.

I have my reservations regarding additives.

Also, regarding your uncles car that had some problems and you just adding the additive in, has it ever occurred to you that it might just be the additive changing the viscosity of the oil or something? I know Bluechem's engine oil cleaner does exactly that. It temporarily 'revives' dead engine oil to be more viscous allowing you to flush the oil more easily. In fact they even claim that you can even prolong the engine oil change for about 50km to 100km with the engine cleaner mixed into your oil. But ultimately it's temporary.

I'm thinking it's possibly the same in this particular situation. But I'm just guessing.
i agree with your pointers.

although personally, im on the fence with this. i believe it if it works, disbelieve if it doesn't sorta deal.
and since it works for me, i guess you can call me a believer for lubegard, not so much for other products of the same function i suppose until it is proven to me otherwise

reason being coming from an engine oil point of view, base oil itself won't last as long as what reputable brand/expensive engine oil can. the additives is what prolong the oil's life, prevent it from degradation from carbon/other waste deposits from combustion, and of course enhances its functionality be it less friction, or even better and/or consistent oil viscosity etc

in contrast to ATF additives/oil in line to what i've said earlier, i am a believer of liqui moly and torco semi synthetic oils. the difference is just so huge compared to a "reputable brand" mineral oil (or even semi- synthetics)such as shell, hi-rev and so on.
Granted, those oil are so much cheaper, imo it is a good example of what you pay is what you get smile.gif
izso
post Jul 16 2012, 08:11 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(ulet @ Jul 16 2012, 10:43 AM)
i dint drag u in lah, i just said u did the changing atf and filter of the car.

maybe it does what u said to my uncle's car but they did claim lubegard will solve gear 'morning sickness' and they did that. hard to believe when my uncle's keep changing with good atf(not synthetic) every 20k and he already have this 'morning sickness' feeling since 2-3 years ago.
he poured in half bottle lubegard red and the next day no more 'morning sickness'.

i dont recommend it on new car, only car got similar problem with what i said.
Well, if your uncle has been using the correct oil and is always filling at optimum levels, then I'd be surprised. But if he was always overfilling or underfilling without realising it then he'd slowly kill the gearbox hence the problems now. Lubeguard *probably* changed the viscosity level (I use this assumption very loosely) to cater for the higher wear and tear.

In my Myvi's case, I cooked the gearbox because I ran about 20km+ without any oil in it because the hose had cracked and leaked all my oil out. So I probably do have damage inside the gearbox hence my issues. Lubeguard may or may not fix my problem but I'm not willing to spend close to RM100 to find out. Good fully synthetic oil like those from Rockoil or Pennzoil seems to do the trick for me except the gear changes aren't as smooth as they used to be.

Added on July 16, 2012, 8:17 pm
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 16 2012, 12:14 PM)
reason being coming from an engine oil point of view, base oil itself won't last as long as what reputable brand/expensive engine oil can. the additives is what prolong the oil's life, prevent it from degradation from carbon/other waste deposits from combustion, and of course enhances its functionality be it less friction, or even better and/or consistent oil viscosity etc

in contrast to ATF additives/oil in line to what i've said earlier, i am a believer of liqui moly and torco semi synthetic oils. the difference is just so huge compared to a "reputable brand" mineral oil (or even semi- synthetics)such as shell, hi-rev and so on.
You are right and wrong at the same time.

The additives determine the viscosity, the amount of detergents, anti-acidity additives, heat suppressors and a few other small little things yes.. preventing it from degradation no.

There are a few grades of base oil, most engine oil brands these days use group 3 base oil which is the lowest quality that can be used for engine oils. Grade 4 and 5 are ester based oils and they are way superior in lifespan and heat transfer etc. Expensive oils like Motul (the ester based range) and Ravenol (I don't know the makeup of Torco and Liquimoly) use group 4 or 5 base oils hence their price.

It's kinda like comparing a car tinted with cheap tinting. It'll protect your interior from the UV and some IR. But put it side by side with Vkool Elite and it's a completely different thing although they both do the same thing. In most cases too Vkool Elite will outlast the el-cheapo tint because of the quality materials it's made from.

So you're right about you get what you pay for.

Added on July 16, 2012, 8:20 pmOh and lastly - Torco is not API certified. 'Exceeding API certifications' and compliance to the certification requirements is not the same thing.

I wouldn't use an oil that hasn't been tested and certified otherwise they can claim the whole sky and earth, and no one would be the wiser.

This post has been edited by izso: Jul 16 2012, 08:21 PM
Quazacolt
post Jul 16 2012, 10:59 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Jul 16 2012, 08:11 PM)

The additives determine the viscosity, the amount of detergents, anti-acidity additives, heat suppressors and a few other small little things yes.. preventing it from degradation no.

There are a few grades of base oil, most engine oil brands these days use group 3 base oil which is the lowest quality that can be used for engine oils. Grade 4 and 5 are ester based oils and they are way superior in lifespan and heat transfer etc. Expensive oils like Motul (the ester based range) and Ravenol (I don't know the makeup of Torco and Liquimoly) use group 4 or 5 base oils hence their price.

It's kinda like comparing a car tinted with cheap tinting. It'll protect your interior from the UV and some IR. But put it side by side with Vkool Elite and it's a completely different thing although they both do the same thing. In most cases too Vkool Elite will outlast the el-cheapo tint because of the quality materials it's made from.

Added on July 16, 2012, 8:20 pmOh and lastly - Torco is not API certified. 'Exceeding API certifications' and compliance to the certification requirements is not the same thing.

I wouldn't use an oil that hasn't been tested and certified otherwise they can claim the whole sky and earth, and no one would be the wiser.
perhaps my wording on "degradation prevention" is of exaggeration. however one thing that is certain is that with the additives, engine oil degradation is slowed down. would that be more acceptable then? smile.gif

btw this link could give some insight on why a lot of "boutique brand" engine oils are not API certified: http://www.carbibles.com/engineoil_bible_amsoilFAQ.html
as compared to almost all mainstreamed engine oils that are.

and on the same page, if one decides to take the leap of faith, you can immediately discover that despite being API certified, the performance of mainstream engine oil is just sub par compared to the more performing (albeit more expensive) un-certified non mainstream engine oil smile.gif

info on groups:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motor_oil
(so yeah group 4 = PAO, 5 are anything that arent covered in 1-4 and ester are the popular base stock for 5)

so from torco's specs (well they aren't certified, so if you don't believe their claims that is fine lol):

SR-1
http://www.torcousa.com/technology/TDS_SR-1%20RacingOil.pdf
group 3
http://www.torcousa.com/technology/TDS_SR-1%20MotorOil.pdf
didnt seem to specify

http://www.torcousa.com/technology/SR-5.pdf
group 4/5 so should be ester based.

the one i used (TR-5, only used/using for the sentra, and my own car once during the track day lol):
http://www.torcousa.com/technology/TR-1.pdf
unspecified, however with
"TR-­1 is a special blend of hydro processed petroleum base stocks,"

should be group 3 based smile.gif

still, a bit surprised you used tinting as an example.
merely because our scenario here is exactly like tints, except engine oil has certification bodies, while tints does not. can anyone certify whatever v-kool is claiming? what about other brands?

that's kinda the case with torco (or even liqui moly) is suppose laugh.gif
ThunderGod_Cid
post Jul 17 2012, 11:40 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Jul 16 2012, 08:11 PM)
Well, if your uncle has been using the correct oil and is always filling at optimum levels, then I'd be surprised. But if he was always overfilling or underfilling without realising it then he'd slowly kill the gearbox hence the problems now. Lubeguard *probably* changed the viscosity level (I use this assumption very loosely) to cater for the higher wear and tear.

In my Myvi's case, I cooked the gearbox because I ran about 20km+ without any oil in it because the hose had cracked and leaked all my oil out. So I probably do have damage inside the gearbox hence my issues. Lubeguard may or may not fix my problem but I'm not willing to spend close to RM100 to find out. Good fully synthetic oil like those from Rockoil or Pennzoil seems to do the trick for me except the gear changes aren't as smooth as they used to be.

Added on July 16, 2012, 8:17 pm

that is a pure mechanical failure by all means
Quazacolt
post Jul 17 2012, 01:01 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Jul 17 2012, 11:40 AM)
that is a pure mechanical failure by all means
personally, i dont think lubegard is magic in a bottle thats able to fix mechanical failure. at best it only lessens its affects.

im using it more towards PREVENTION of mechanical failures, and more towards the smoothness and responsiveness of gear shifts be it in the wee morning cold starts, or midnight drives or even very hot afternoon.
izso
post Jul 17 2012, 07:55 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 16 2012, 10:59 PM)
and on the same page, if one decides to take the leap of faith, you can immediately discover that despite being API certified, the  performance of mainstream engine oil is just sub par compared to the more performing (albeit more expensive) un-certified non mainstream engine oil smile.gif

still, a bit surprised you used tinting as an example.
merely because our scenario here is exactly like tints, except engine oil has certification bodies, while tints does not. can anyone certify whatever v-kool is claiming? what about other brands?
Well hey.. it's your money, your car, your choice and if there is one... your problem. I choose not to use unverifiable oils.

Amsoil makes very good oils and is API certified. Redline is certified. Motul is certified. Lucas is certified. Mainstream crap? Really? Are you going to debate this with me?

Vkool does have certification to prove its claims btw.

But ultimately like I said - your money, your choice, your problem.

Added on July 17, 2012, 7:59 pm
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 17 2012, 01:01 PM)
personally, i dont think lubegard is magic in a bottle thats able to fix mechanical failure. at best it only lessens its affects.

im using it more towards PREVENTION of mechanical failures, and more towards the smoothness and responsiveness of gear shifts be it in the wee morning cold starts, or midnight drives or even very hot afternoon.
Sigh.

Your choice and your money, but I have to point out companies like Mobil, Amsoil, etc didn't spend millions on R&D to be outsmarted by a <RM100 bottle of additives.

You want prevention? Change your oils more frequently and always change the filter. Don't overcook the gearbox either by going on track. That's prevention of mechanical failures, not adding some additive that may have some sort of chemical reaction with whatever fluids in your gearbox at god-knows what temperature at that point of time leaving behind something nasty.

Anyway, how long have you been using additives? 5 to 7 years down the road please do give me an update on how your gearbox is doing. My GB has been running on Proton SPIII and Mitsubishi Diaqueen SPIII for 8 years now and it's still going strong.

This post has been edited by izso: Jul 17 2012, 07:59 PM
Quazacolt
post Jul 17 2012, 08:35 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Jul 17 2012, 07:55 PM)
Well hey.. it's your money, your car, your choice and if there is one... your problem. I choose not to use unverifiable oils.

Amsoil makes very good oils and is API certified. Redline is certified. Motul is certified. Lucas is certified. Mainstream  crap? Really? Are you going to debate this with me?

But ultimately like I said - your money, your choice, your problem.

Added on July 17, 2012, 7:59 pm

Sigh.

Your choice and your money, but I have to point out companies like Mobil, Amsoil, etc didn't spend millions on R&D to be outsmarted by a <RM100 bottle of additives.

You want prevention? Change your oils more frequently and always change the filter. Don't overcook the gearbox either by going on track. That's prevention of mechanical failures, not adding some additive that may have some sort of chemical reaction with whatever fluids in your gearbox at god-knows what temperature at that point of time leaving behind something nasty.

Anyway, how long have you been using additives? 5 to 7 years down the road please do give me an update on how your gearbox is doing. My GB has been running on Proton SPIII and Mitsubishi Diaqueen SPIII for 8 years now and it's still going strong.
i am pretty sure when i (or we) am talking about mainstream, i am referring towards shell/castrol/petronas etc.

the brands like amsoil/redline/motul/lucas you have mentioned are all considered boutique/non-mainstream brand, in which their price clearly reflects btw

And if you've bothered checking out my links earlier (carbibles.com btw, or you can even look up bobistheoilguy forums) you will see that not all amsoil products, especially their top of the line/flagship are API certified, and they have even put out fake certifications smile.gif

slight note of bobistheoilguy btw: they have many "science/chemist" guys (lol!) that does UOA and results/feedback from torco has been pretty good mind you. else i wouldn't bother pouring something un certified with similar/same concerns as you are having smile.gif

i mainly use liqui moly and only used torco for my car for that one time track day OCI. if you didn't know, liqui moly is API SL / ACEA certified. so isn't that good enough? or what other kinda certification you're looking at?

atm i am considering changing to liqui moly for the nissan sentra because my mother is the main driver of it and she doesn't high rev/drive fast much, which kinda make torco pointless to be honest. might as well have the extra protection/engine quietness that liqui moly provides.

for my own info's sake though, what kinda certification v kool has? the one they give you when you buy their elite/high end product? or the one from jpj? please elaborate smile.gif

and lol surprised to see you mentioning track laugh.gif
however my reasons or even justifications as you may call it stands, think logically: why are we buying better engine oil? is it because it offers better protection and provides a smoother engine?

it's pretty much the same deal with lubegard.
the exact same things you said can also be applied to engine oil, why waste money on better engine oil for prevention? why not just change your oil at tighter interval? (4k km? 3k? or even 2k km? from my experience, shell lasts 2.5-4k km) That guarantees engine smoothness and cleanliness too. no point to buy more expensive oils right?

its just the same concept/logic. time to time i'll rev my car to red line just for the sheer fun/exhilaration of it, i don't think having more frequent OCI (be it engine oil/gear oil) would help much. and as i mentioned on my previous post, the gear engagement of my gearbox with and without lubegard is pretty obvious. it could be because of my very old gear box, or its because of my driving style having higher revs on gear shifts, i wouldn't know. however the differences is there, and i'd like to keep it.

hell, even lubegard's own statement claims a 50% increase in gear response which is 0.4 sec to 0.2 sec (lol minor almost unnoticeable difference, but it IS 50% LOL!) which may or may not be true, however for my case, it is even bigger difference especially on cold start putting my very first D or R engage after engine crank.

=edit=
and yes, while i've only been a lubegard user for maybe 1-2 years, definitely not going strong like your 8 years record. 1-2 years without any gearbox issue on my old 3 speed auto proton tranny thats been to track day once downshifting/1-2 speed gear limitation at 5-7k rpm... can consider *a bit* credible, right?

of course, like you said, at the end of the day, my money, my choice. and that's that la.
however we always can have healthy debates (hopefully not arguments) for knowledge sharing right? smile.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jul 17 2012, 08:37 PM
izso
post Jul 17 2012, 08:43 PM

48 posts

Are we arguing? No ah. If arguing I'd be calling you names. LOL
TSulet
post Jul 17 2012, 09:44 PM

1,703 posts

btw izso, i dont think my uncle got skip service... he owned a Shell petrol station. his lube technically are free!!
just serena is too old, 1996. 16 years old car.
Quazacolt
post Jul 18 2012, 03:22 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Jul 17 2012, 08:43 PM)
Are we arguing? No ah. If arguing I'd be calling you names. LOL
good la then, always welcome a healthy debate/discussion laugh.gif
ThunderGod_Cid
post Jul 18 2012, 11:29 AM

158 posts

Izso. what would be your views on engine flush and additives that's TUV, VAG and RoHS certified?

For engine oil manufacturers, sky is the limit if they do not take into consideration on the cost of adding their oils with additives.
rocketeer_ace
post Jul 18 2012, 11:52 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Jul 17 2012, 07:55 PM)
not sure how VKool ended up being discussed here

Since you brought this up, FYI... JPJ "NEVER" certified any brand of tint. I know this because recently i had issue with my car tint during JPJ road block. Not going to say the brand name (i can only say, branded one). I went to 2 different JPJ office and both side told me the same thing... JPJ NEVER certified any brand of tint...

the "KEY" word here.... is "COMPLIANCE”…. And not “CERTIFIEDtongue.gif

This post has been edited by rocketeer_ace: Jul 18 2012, 02:39 PM
gotdamsg
post Jul 18 2012, 02:24 PM

380 posts

COMPLIANCE smile.gif
rocketeer_ace
post Jul 18 2012, 02:46 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(gotdamsg @ Jul 18 2012, 02:24 PM)
COMPLIANCE smile.gif
opsss.... thanks for correcting me wink.gif
TSulet
post Jul 18 2012, 03:34 PM

1,703 posts

QUOTE(rocketeer_ace @ Jul 18 2012, 11:52 AM)

Since you brought this up, FYI... JPJ "NEVER" certified any brand of tint. I know this because recently i had issue with my car tint during JPJ road block. Not going to say the brand name (i can only say, branded one).  I went to 2 different JPJ office and both side told me the same thing... JPJ NEVER certified any brand of tint...

the "KEY" word here.... is "COMPLIANCE”…. And not “CERTIFIED”  tongue.gif
i believe izso doesnt mean the 1 certified/compliance by jpj
Quazacolt
post Jul 18 2012, 05:06 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ulet @ Jul 18 2012, 03:34 PM)
i believe izso doesnt mean the 1 certified/compliance by jpj
and i'm giving him the benefit of the doubt and presuming that he is not referring to JPJ hence requested that he clarify/elaborate that to us smile.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jul 18 2012, 05:06 PM
KIntos
post Jul 18 2012, 05:14 PM

1,132 posts

xpe. where can i get this lubegard in klang valley? i wanna try it out on my wira also. I didnt flush but same things delay in shift gear when cold.
Quazacolt
post Jul 18 2012, 05:54 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Jul 18 2012, 05:14 PM)
xpe. where can i get this lubegard in klang valley? i wanna try it out on my wira also. I didnt flush but same things delay in shift gear when cold.
personally, i recommend to flush and/or replace tranny filter FIRST.

if problem still persist, THEN opt to try out lubegard
then you'll know for sure if it really works or not smile.gif
KIntos
post Jul 18 2012, 06:01 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 18 2012, 05:54 PM)
personally, i recommend to flush and/or replace tranny filter FIRST.

if problem still persist, THEN opt to try out lubegard
then you'll know for sure if it really works or not smile.gif
i just need to buy lubegard. done flushing and filter 2x same case le
Quazacolt
post Jul 18 2012, 06:03 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Jul 18 2012, 06:01 PM)
i just need to buy lubegard. done flushing and filter 2x same case le
lol you mentioned you didnt flush hence my recommendation. what about gear box filter though? age of car/tranny?

that said however, if you've flushed 2x in the past and still disappointed in your tranny, then yeah by all means go for it.
for my case i buy/apply lubegard at the workshop near my house, at taman intan baiduri/selayang jaya (near FRIM forest reserve), shop name is torque legend (lol)
googlemap: https://maps.google.com/maps?q=Torque+Legen...ia&z=16&iwloc=A
KIntos
post Jul 18 2012, 06:17 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 18 2012, 06:03 PM)
lol you mentioned you didnt flush hence my recommendation. what about gear box filter though? age of car/tranny?

that said however, if you've flushed 2x in the past and still disappointed in your tranny, then yeah by all means go for it.
for my case i buy/apply lubegard at the workshop near my house, at taman intan baiduri/selayang jaya (near FRIM forest reserve), shop name is torque legend (lol)
googlemap: https://maps.google.com/maps?q=Torque+Legen...ia&z=16&iwloc=A
ehh. ops sry my bad typo. hmm selayang. abit far. haha. prefer klang valley. Anyone know where to get it in Klang Valley?

This post has been edited by KIntos: Jul 18 2012, 06:17 PM
TSulet
post Jul 18 2012, 06:43 PM

1,703 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Jul 18 2012, 06:17 PM)
ehh. ops sry my bad typo. hmm selayang. abit far. haha. prefer klang valley. Anyone know where to get it in Klang Valley?
i suggest u look for 'radenumar'. bought kool-it from him before. cod at bukit jalil lrt.
quite a nice chap i say. try enquire from him.
izso
post Jul 18 2012, 07:41 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(ThunderGod_Cid @ Jul 18 2012, 11:29 AM)
Izso. what would be your views on engine flush and additives that's TUV, VAG and RoHS certified?

For engine oil manufacturers, sky is the limit if they do not take into consideration on the cost of adding their oils with additives.
(How the hell do you multiquote in LY?)

Engine flushes that can actually obtain TUV certification must have some sort of quality to their products because TUV is way more stringent than even API and the European certification (forgot what their called). Personally right now I'm still testing Bluechem's engine oil flush, it's TUV certified and so far so good. I've also used CRC engine flush and that's been serving me well for years too.

I personally have no issues with flushes as long as it's not alcohol based. It's additives that annoy me.

Added on July 18, 2012, 7:44 pm
QUOTE(rocketeer_ace @ Jul 18 2012, 11:52 AM)

Since you brought this up, FYI... JPJ "NEVER" certified any brand of tint. I know this because recently i had issue with my car tint during JPJ road block. Not going to say the brand name (i can only say, branded one).  I went to 2 different JPJ office and both side told me the same thing... JPJ NEVER certified any brand of tint...

the "KEY" word here.... is "COMPLIANCE”…. And not “CERTIFIED”  tongue.gif
Dude, I'm not new to the car industry. There's no such thing as "JPJ certified" as you have pointed out.

I was talking about Vkool Elite's claims to be 99% UV blocking, 99% IR blocking, etc. They claim the world and they have the certification (tests by reputable companies) to prove their claims.

This post has been edited by izso: Jul 18 2012, 07:44 PM
KIntos
post Jul 18 2012, 08:06 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(ulet @ Jul 18 2012, 06:43 PM)
i suggest u look for 'radenumar'. bought kool-it from him before. cod at bukit jalil lrt.
quite a nice chap i say. try enquire from him.
hmm. his thread not active since 2011
TSulet
post Jul 18 2012, 11:15 PM

1,703 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Jul 18 2012, 08:06 PM)
hmm. his thread not active since 2011
i bought from him 2 months ago.
i straight call his HP.

sengasdf
post Jul 19 2012, 11:24 AM

492 posts

I thought Amsoil is producing good and reliable engine oil, never know they did put up fake certificatates. Currently am using Signature-series, would wonder anyone has any review regarding this? Might thinking to change to Liqui Moly on next change..

Added on July 19, 2012, 11:26 amOh ya, by the way, currently driving a swift, could any sifus recommend me ATF oil and addictive for my auto tranny? Any recommended seller? Much appreciate your info biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by sengasdf: Jul 19 2012, 11:26 AM
Quazacolt
post Jul 19 2012, 11:32 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Jul 19 2012, 11:24 AM)
I thought Amsoil is producing good and reliable engine oil, never know they did put up fake certificatates. Currently am using Signature-series, would wonder anyone has any review regarding this? Might thinking to change to Liqui Moly on next change..

Added on July 19, 2012, 11:26 amOh ya, by the way, currently driving a swift, could any sifus recommend me ATF oil and addictive for my auto tranny? Any recommended seller? Much appreciate your info  biggrin.gif
never said they produced bad oils. but yea, marketing decisions/issues, and/or cost saving etc. it happens to even the highest profile companies/corporations and i guess amsoil isn't excluded.

for ATF fluid, i would recommend your manufacturer's OEM, and/or main stream semi/full synthetic ATF fluid, and if you're not satisfied enough, then can try out lubegard smile.gif

of course, do proper flushing and/or even replacement of auto tranny filter (usually also involve gasket replacement too, at least for my auto tranny) for accurate/proper results especially for comparisons with/without lubegard nod.gif

=edit=
aiks edit on typo (didn't removed)

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jul 19 2012, 12:23 PM
sengasdf
post Jul 19 2012, 11:44 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 19 2012, 11:32 AM)
never said they didn't produce bad oils. but yea, marketing decisions/issues, and/or cost saving etc. it happens to even the highest profile companies/corporations and i guess amsoil isn't excluded.

for ATF fluid, i would recommend your manufacturer's OEM, and/or main stream semi/full synthetic ATF fluid, and if you're not satisfied enough, then can try out lubegard smile.gif

of course, do proper flushing and/or even replacement of auto tranny filter (usually also involve gasket replacement too, at least for my auto tranny) for accurate/proper results especially for comparisons with/without lubegard  nod.gif
I have read quite a lot of review regarding their (top line?) Signature-series engine oil, that is why I go for this.

And I have sent an email to Amsoil regarding compatibility on Liqui Moly Ceratec that I bought from Elton couple weeks back, they replied that it is not recommended to mix their oil with ceratec, ohmy.gif Was thinking to change to other brand or not... hmm.gif

I would like to try Lubegard, Lubegard ATF oil + additive? Which one is recommended? tongue.gif

Flushing and replace filter every time I change ATF oil? how often do you perform oil change on your auto tranny?
Quazacolt
post Jul 19 2012, 12:41 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Jul 19 2012, 11:44 AM)
I have read quite a lot of review regarding their (top line?) Signature-series engine oil, that is why I go for this.

And I have sent an email to Amsoil regarding compatibility on Liqui Moly Ceratec that I bought from Elton couple weeks back, they replied that it is not recommended to mix their oil with ceratec,  ohmy.gif Was thinking to change to other brand or not...  hmm.gif

I would like to try Lubegard, Lubegard ATF oil + additive? Which one is recommended?  tongue.gif

Flushing and replace filter every time I change ATF oil? how often do you perform oil change on your auto tranny?
if amsoil replied recommending against mixing their oil with ceratec, perhaps its best to follow.

can consider other engine oil that is compatible (can confirm via email like you've did, or maybe go with liqui moly as ceratec AFAIK has no compatibility issues with their own engine oil)

personally id recommend sticking to OEM/main stream semi/full synthetic ATF fluids, then add in lubegard additives to protect/enhance the original ATF fluid, so you won't stray too far from manufacturer's specifications as components within ATF tranny are quite sensitive. repairs if shit goes wrong due to wrong application is a hefty price too sad.gif

personally lubegard atf protection (red one) is a more universal application, while platinum is a better version of it. elton recommended black (HFM, high friction modifier IINM) that's more suitable for japanese/local cars, which is also cheaper than platinum. problem is, can't find anyone that sells black laugh.gif

well for the 7-8+ years or so on ownership of my proton iswara, i believe i've only done flushing maybe 2-3 times? filter replace (including gasket) maybe once, or twice max.

i am only recommending this method because after performing it, you may not even need lubegard which would be nice saving some money, no? if you still feel not satisfied, or just curious on trying out the product, it also serves as a better bench marking as your tranny is confirmed to be clean, and you can understand further on the differences before/after lubegard in a more accurate fashion, then better decide if you still need it or not in the future smile.gif

as for oil change, every 20k km, or 6 months. however as i have mentioned in this thread, i am seriously considering 40k km or 1 year. because the oil comes out damn clean on previous 1-2 oil changes most likely thanks to lubegard as previously i have never encountered such cases of clean tranny oil lol.

and there was no performance drop (or increase after tranny oil change) prior to tranny oil change at around 20k km, which means the oils and its additives (namely lubegard) maintains its properties and what not well, which should warrant a longer OCI
TSulet
post Jul 19 2012, 02:29 PM

1,703 posts

i dont think torco is widely discussed in bobistheoilguy. very little and vague actually.
it not even popular like liqiumoly, royal purple or redline.
somehow in malaysia, people craze with torco.
sengasdf
post Jul 19 2012, 03:03 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 19 2012, 12:41 PM)
if amsoil replied recommending against mixing their oil with ceratec, perhaps its best to follow.

can consider other engine oil that is compatible (can confirm via email like you've did, or maybe go with liqui moly as ceratec AFAIK has no compatibility issues with their own engine oil)

personally id recommend sticking to OEM/main stream semi/full synthetic ATF fluids, then add in lubegard additives to protect/enhance the original ATF fluid, so you won't stray too far from manufacturer's specifications as components within ATF tranny are quite sensitive. repairs if shit goes wrong due to wrong application is a hefty price too sad.gif

personally lubegard atf protection (red one) is a more universal application, while platinum is a better version of it. elton recommended black (HFM, high friction modifier IINM) that's more suitable for japanese/local cars, which is also cheaper than platinum. problem is, can't find anyone that sells black laugh.gif

well for the 7-8+ years or so on ownership of my proton iswara, i believe i've only done flushing maybe 2-3 times? filter replace (including gasket) maybe once, or twice max.

i am only recommending this method because after performing it, you may not even need lubegard which would be nice saving some money, no? if you still feel not satisfied, or just curious on trying out the product, it also serves as a better bench marking as your tranny is confirmed to be clean, and you can understand further on the differences before/after lubegard in a more accurate fashion, then better decide if you still need it or not in the future smile.gif

as for oil change, every 20k km, or 6 months. however as i have mentioned in this thread, i am seriously considering 40k km or 1 year. because the oil comes out damn clean on previous 1-2 oil changes most likely thanks to lubegard as previously i have never encountered such cases of clean tranny oil lol.

and there was no performance drop (or increase after tranny oil change) prior to tranny oil change at around 20k km, which means the oils and its additives (namely lubegard) maintains its properties and what not well, which should warrant a longer OCI
LOL, I also sent an email to Liqui Moly to ask about compatibility issue with amsoil + ceratec, and Liqui Moly said it is compatible with Amsoil SSO engine oil biggrin.gif Now I don't know who to trust sad.gif

I guess I shall follow your advise, OEM ATF oil + lubegard addictive. Any recommended seller for me to refer with?

QUOTE(ulet @ Jul 19 2012, 02:29 PM)
i dont think torco is widely discussed in bobistheoilguy. very little and vague actually.
it not even popular like liqiumoly, royal purple or redline.
somehow in malaysia, people craze with torco.
Advertisement effect? hmm.gif
Quazacolt
post Jul 19 2012, 03:27 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Jul 19 2012, 03:03 PM)
LOL, I also sent an email to Liqui Moly to ask about compatibility issue with amsoil + ceratec, and Liqui Moly said it is compatible with Amsoil SSO engine oil biggrin.gif Now I don't know who to trust  sad.gif

I guess I shall follow your advise, OEM ATF oil + lubegard addictive. Any recommended seller for me to refer with?
heh both manufacturers playing it safe/wanting to earn money sweat.gif
use your own judgement/decision then lol

and i've posted few posts ago on where i get my lubegard smile.gif
izso
post Jul 19 2012, 07:36 PM

48 posts

sengasdf : Wow.. ceramic based additive for the engine? Uh.. dude, think about it. Engine oils have detergents to clean out sludge and contaminants in the engine, they have a shitload of other additives that does different things too but ultimately it's there to provide some heat dissipation and mainly lubrication for the car. Ceramic is a great friction preventer no doubt but it still has a shelf life. Having that sort of thing stuck to your internals and later stuck in your oil sump is just asking for trouble. If Ceramic was that great why wasn't any engine oil made with it? Unless you're physically bonding the block and internal parts with ceramic (ceramic coating), adding liquid ceramic isn't quite the same thing. It'll still eventually break down and the type of sludge left over will be "fantastic".

I'd just personally use a good oil and leave it at that.

As for good gearbox oil, what sort of ATF does the swift use? I'm sure you'll find a Motul or a Redline that suites your needs and those are pretty good stuff. A complete swap out of fluids + a new ATF filter will do wonders for you. And if you haven't already, get a ATF cooler.

note : this is purely my personal opinion. You are not obliged to agree and have the right to your own opinion as do I.

This post has been edited by izso: Jul 19 2012, 07:39 PM
joshuaa85
post Jul 19 2012, 10:41 PM

829 posts

i am not sure this lubegard is under local made or USA ?
lubegard in market also got engine oil . carry by cycle and carriage bintang ? WTF is going on man . so many similiar name out there
avielboys
post Jul 19 2012, 11:04 PM

21 posts

Just an information:

1) Engine Oil + Ceratec >>> OK
2) MTF + Ceratec >>> OK
3) ATF + Ceratec >>> CANNOT
4) Differential Oil + Ceratec >>>OK

I hope no one is confused ... cos i read that someone was trying to use ceratec with ATF ...
izso
post Jul 19 2012, 11:12 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(joshuaa85 @ Jul 19 2012, 10:41 PM)
i am not sure this lubegard is under local made or USA ?
lubegard in market also got engine oil . carry by cycle and carriage bintang ?  WTF is going on man . so many similiar name out there
http://www.lubegard.com/~/C-113/LUBEGARD+P...+ATF+Protectant

This is the one that ulet was specifically talking about.
joshuaa85
post Jul 20 2012, 08:03 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Jul 19 2012, 11:12 PM)
http://www.lubegard.com/~/C-113/LUBEGARD+P...+ATF+Protectant

This is the one that ulet was specifically talking about.
i hope so, btw it's still rare to be available in market. frankly, i never see this XD
sounds good . flex.gif
sengasdf
post Jul 20 2012, 11:14 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Jul 19 2012, 07:36 PM)
sengasdf : Wow.. ceramic based additive for the engine? Uh.. dude, think about it. Engine oils have detergents to clean out sludge and contaminants in the engine, they have a shitload of other additives that does different things too but ultimately it's there to provide some heat dissipation and mainly lubrication for the car. Ceramic is a great friction preventer no doubt but it still has a shelf life. Having that sort of thing stuck to your internals and later stuck in your oil sump is just asking for trouble. If Ceramic was that great why wasn't any engine oil made with it? Unless you're physically bonding the block and internal parts with ceramic (ceramic coating), adding liquid ceramic isn't quite the same thing. It'll still eventually break down and the type of sludge left over will be "fantastic".

I'd just personally use a good oil and leave it at that.

As for good gearbox oil, what sort of ATF does the swift use? I'm sure you'll find a Motul or a Redline that suites your needs and those are pretty good stuff. A complete swap out of fluids + a new ATF filter will do wonders for you. And if you haven't already, get a ATF cooler.

note : this is purely my personal opinion. You are not obliged to agree and have the right to your own opinion as do I.
This ceratec won't last forever inside engine, it only last for 50k KM, for further technical info how it works, got to ask ThunderGod_Cid or Quazacolt for explaination biggrin.gif

I have no idea what ATF that swift is currently using, do not know much about ATF laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Jul 20 2012, 11:33 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Jul 20 2012, 11:14 AM)
This ceratec won't last forever inside engine, it only last for 50k KM, for further technical info how it works, got to ask ThunderGod_Cid or Quazacolt for explaination  biggrin.gif

I have no idea what ATF that swift is currently using, do not know much about ATF  laugh.gif
personally i dont think it even last beyond 30-40k km haha. my engine isn't as "orangey" as it was when i first put in ceratec 10-15k km ago lol
sengasdf
post Jul 20 2012, 11:42 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 20 2012, 11:33 AM)
personally i dont think it even last beyond 30-40k km haha. my engine isn't as "orangey" as it was when i first put in ceratec 10-15k km ago lol
Orange? I thought is grey mang, haven't open the bottle yet biggrin.gif
Quazacolt
post Jul 20 2012, 11:47 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Jul 20 2012, 11:42 AM)
Orange? I thought is grey mang, haven't open the bottle yet  biggrin.gif
LM is grey/black ish, ceratec on the other hand, ceramic based additive/compound, yeah orange lol
izso
post Jul 22 2012, 09:25 PM

48 posts

Thanks to ulet I have got my grubby paws on a Asbro ATF additive and hopefully later a Lubeguard ATF platinum for comparison.

Now if I can find a sponsor to do a oil analysis I'd gladly feature that sponsor on a very popular website.

Any takers for a objective comparison for these additives?
sengasdf
post Jul 22 2012, 10:08 PM

492 posts

Done servicing on my gearbox yesterday

ATF cooler + Q8 Unitrans JK + Lubegard Platinum

Feels lighter biggrin.gif
TSulet
post Jul 22 2012, 10:23 PM

1,703 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Jul 22 2012, 09:25 PM)
Thanks to ulet I have got my grubby paws on a Asbro ATF additive and hopefully later a Lubeguard ATF platinum for comparison.

Now if I can find a sponsor to do a oil analysis I'd gladly feature that sponsor on a very popular website.

asbro atf additive? never heard it before.. trustable?
at least there is tonnes of positive testimonial on lubegard, even the oil analysis in bob is the oil guy forum.

Quazacolt
post Jul 23 2012, 12:11 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Jul 22 2012, 09:25 PM)

i can't wait for a proper comparison/UOA rclxms.gif

so what are your test cases and pre/post tests? it's going to be a looooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnngggg 1-2 years timespan to test out 2 products + a pre test without neither TBH

then gasket+filter set and flushing every conclusion to make results accurate.

then of course a UOA sponsor heh.

hey depending on the total cost etc, i think i may be able to help out (maybe few people chipping in etc) for the sake of SCIENCE! laugh.gif

Added on July 23, 2012, 12:21 am
QUOTE(sengasdf @ Jul 22 2012, 10:08 PM)
Done servicing on my gearbox yesterday

ATF cooler + Q8 Unitrans JK + Lubegard Platinum

Feels lighter biggrin.gif
FUH straight away do all these 3 things. how much you got quoted for the Q8 and lubegard (including service charge) and where you got it done?

also you got notice the Q8 fluid color? is it red? i wonder if mine is using the exact fluid. my workshop dude just told me it is Q8 semi syn oil without the model/product detail, somemore its taken out from a bigger drum and not individual bottles to save cost hmm.gif

so far so good though, things are a ton smoother as i've tried that Q8 semi syn oil without lubegard, still smoother than shitty "highly appraised (by workshops at least)" toyota ATF lol. then got poisoned to try lubegard and lol even smoother and oil during oil drain is much cleaner compared to without.

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Jul 23 2012, 12:25 AM
izso
post Jul 23 2012, 07:19 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(ulet @ Jul 22 2012, 10:23 PM)
asbro atf additive? never heard it before.. trustable?
at least there is tonnes of positive testimonial on lubegard, even the oil analysis in bob is the oil guy forum.
Got someone offer to me FOC.. I take and do comparison objectively lor. If I can't get a UOA then will probably do other less-than-scientific-comparisons.
sengasdf
post Jul 23 2012, 10:17 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 23 2012, 12:11 AM)
i can't wait for a proper comparison/UOA  rclxms.gif

so what are your test cases and pre/post tests? it's going to be a looooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnngggg 1-2 years timespan to test out 2 products + a pre test without neither TBH

then gasket+filter set and flushing every conclusion to make results accurate.

then of course a UOA sponsor heh.

hey depending on the total cost etc, i think i may be able to help out (maybe few people chipping in etc) for the sake of SCIENCE! laugh.gif

Added on July 23, 2012, 12:21 am

FUH straight away do all these 3 things. how much you got quoted for the Q8 and lubegard (including service charge) and where you got it done?

also you got notice the Q8 fluid color? is it red? i wonder if mine is using the exact fluid. my workshop dude just told me it is Q8 semi syn oil without the model/product detail, somemore its taken out from a bigger drum and not individual bottles to save cost  hmm.gif

so far so good though, things are a ton smoother as i've tried that Q8 semi syn oil without lubegard, still smoother than shitty "highly appraised (by workshops at least)" toyota ATF lol. then got poisoned to try lubegard and lol even smoother and oil during oil drain is much cleaner compared to without.
Q8 is RM49 per bottle and the Lubegard platinum is RM9X, done these at Kaitenaz Racing.

Actually wanna add ATF cooler only, since they need to top up some ATF after installation, some more has been using for 30k KM, might as well drain the entire ATF and change new.

Yea the Q8 Unitrans JK is in red color, as well as lubegard platinum. Same goes to mine, they don't have proper product label sticker on it, maybe it is the same thing, only sold in big drum or something.

Some poison and reference tongue.gif

Quazacolt
post Jul 23 2012, 11:26 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Jul 23 2012, 10:17 AM)
Q8 is RM49 per bottle and the Lubegard platinum is RM9X, done these at Kaitenaz Racing.

Actually wanna add ATF cooler only, since they need to top up some ATF after installation, some more has been using for 30k KM, might as well drain the entire ATF and change new.

Yea the Q8 Unitrans JK is in red color, as well as lubegard platinum. Same goes to mine, they don't have proper product label sticker on it, maybe it is the same thing, only sold in big drum or something.

Some poison and reference  tongue.gif
doh.gif
that's the exact bottle when i requested them to show me a bottled version so i can check out the labels/product description way back then.

albeit it did not come with the marker pen "Q8 unitrans JK". just a "blank" Q8 bottle laugh.gif
per bottle should be a liter i assume? if yes then yeah pricing is about the same that i've gotten for my place.

i dont know la, however from the way how smooth my auto shifts are, i am not even sure if one even needs an ATF cooler after you're on good semi syn (the product sheet says synthetic from Q8 site, however my workshop foreman says its semi synthetic only) AND lubegard platinum.

the main reason why one gets an ATF cooler is to cooldown ATF temperature because the higher temperature it goes for the ATF, the viscosity may change and may be off your tranny specifications or at least very near off which may not offer enough protection.

i've never experienced jerks/delays in shifts ever since i'm on Q8 and eventually lubegard, and that totally killed my thoughts of getting an ATF cooler since i probably don't need one.

Alas the above claims are from non-scientific claims/feels/experience, which may or may not be accurate as opposed to having a proper thermostat/device to check your actual ATF temperature/viscosity.
however one thing to note, MAJORITY of stock vehicles DOES NOT have ATF coolers installed in their car, so *maybe* it really isn't needed smile.gif
sengasdf
post Jul 23 2012, 11:50 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 23 2012, 11:26 AM)
doh.gif
that's the exact bottle when i requested them to show me a bottled version so i can check out the labels/product description way back then.

albeit it did not come with the marker pen "Q8 unitrans JK". just a "blank" Q8 bottle laugh.gif
per bottle should  be a liter i assume? if yes then yeah pricing is about the same that i've gotten for my place.

i dont know la, however from the way how smooth my auto shifts are, i am not even sure if one even needs an ATF cooler after you're on good semi syn (the product sheet says synthetic from Q8 site, however my workshop foreman says its semi synthetic only) AND lubegard platinum.

the main reason why one gets an ATF cooler is to cooldown ATF temperature because the higher temperature it goes for the ATF, the viscosity may change and may be off your tranny specifications or at least very near off which may not offer enough protection.

i've never experienced jerks/delays in shifts ever since i'm on Q8 and eventually lubegard, and that totally killed my thoughts of getting an ATF cooler since i probably don't need one.

Alas the above claims are from non-scientific claims/feels/experience, which may or may not be accurate as opposed to having a proper thermostat/device to check your actual ATF temperature/viscosity.
however one thing to note, MAJORITY of stock vehicles DOES NOT have ATF coolers installed in their car, so *maybe* it really isn't needed smile.gif
Fake product? They buy in bulk? God knows man... I could not care much since Kaitenaz Racing has reputation. Nazlee did introduced me the Torco ATF, but it is damn pricey, around double of Q8 rclxub.gif

I did not experience any jerks or delays as the gearbox is still new(2 years++) but does feel that car is hard to pull after long driving, getting hot maybe?

I just throw a cooler in so I don't need to worry about gearbox overheating when I pull it hard as I don't have any gauge to check the temperature. Just for prevention and feel good factor laugh.gif

Not going to install engine oil cooler, just waiting next coolant change and get a good coolant. Has quite good review, can be found at ACE hardware

Added on July 23, 2012, 11:57 amThis is the coolant I mentioned

This post has been edited by sengasdf: Jul 23 2012, 11:57 AM
batusaix
post Jul 23 2012, 12:40 PM

15 posts

Seng.. Engine oil cooler important for kaki like u ler.. Haha
Quazacolt
post Jul 23 2012, 12:47 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Jul 23 2012, 11:50 AM)
Fake product? They buy in bulk? God knows man... I could not care much since Kaitenaz Racing has reputation. Nazlee did introduced me the Torco ATF, but it is damn pricey, around double of Q8  rclxub.gif

I did not experience any jerks or delays as the gearbox is still new(2 years++) but does feel that car is hard to pull after long driving, getting hot maybe?

I just throw a cooler in so I don't need to worry about gearbox overheating when I pull it hard as I don't have any gauge to check the temperature. Just for prevention and feel good factor  laugh.gif

Not going to install engine oil cooler, just waiting next coolant change and get a good coolant. Has quite good review, can be found at ACE hardware
haha i was introduced to torco ATF too. price was rclxub.gif
and i thought, proton 3 speeder auto only dei, no need so pamper it right? LOL

well if you're not having jerks/delays you didn't really need lubegard right? hows the "feel good factor" going? better shifts? less 0.2 sec that you probably didn't feel? lol

hmm maybe can look into that coolant. reviews from where?
sengasdf
post Jul 23 2012, 02:29 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 23 2012, 12:47 PM)
haha i was introduced to torco ATF too. price was  rclxub.gif
and i thought, proton 3 speeder auto only dei, no need so pamper it right? LOL

well if you're not having jerks/delays you didn't really need lubegard right? hows the "feel good factor" going? better shifts? less 0.2 sec that you probably didn't feel? lol

hmm maybe can look into that coolant. reviews from where?
3 speeder? very good top end wor

Not sure if is new oil or Lubegard, it actually feels lighter, not as sluggish as before. Better shift? I am suck on butt-dyno man...

This coolant has already mixed properly, so just pour in without mixing water. Had the review long time ago, can't remember the site..

Might try Lubegard coolant

This post has been edited by sengasdf: Jul 23 2012, 02:38 PM
Quazacolt
post Jul 23 2012, 05:03 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Jul 23 2012, 02:29 PM)

Not sure if is new oil or Lubegard, it actually feels lighter, not as sluggish as before. Better shift? I am suck on butt-dyno man...

This coolant has already mixed properly, so just pour in without mixing water. Had the review long time ago, can't remember the site..

ok la, exceeded proton's original spec by few km/h max speed, despite being mostly stock (performance wise, only got lcp and full exhaust system replacement, 15" wheels is kinda a downgrade than upgrade in most sense lol)

then just masuk redline and forever cannot climb (or until traffic approaches lol)

and suddenly going lubegard full product ranges laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Jul 25 2012, 06:37 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

remember back then when izso mentioned about torco not being API certified? i actually sent them a mail that day btw.

took long enough for the torco corp rep replied me. now i am asking him if i can copy paste the entire content to LYN w
oh and he cant spell "allowed" lol americans XD

regardless i will continue further on the engine oil review thread ( http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1438525 )instead here as it is kinda derailing already smile.gif
TSulet
post Jul 25 2012, 12:52 PM

1,703 posts

either torco lying to you or API forgot to put their brand in the directory list.
http://eolcs.api.org/brandSearchResults.aspx
Quazacolt
post Jul 25 2012, 12:55 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ulet @ Jul 25 2012, 12:52 PM)
either torco lying to you or API forgot to put their brand in the directory list.
http://eolcs.api.org/brandSearchResults.aspx
don't worry, they admit that they are not API certified laugh.gif
brucesss
post Aug 2 2012, 11:33 PM

Stay hungry, Stay foolish
2,266 posts

is it ok to stuff it in when ur car gb has no prob? using myvi btw
Quazacolt
post Aug 2 2012, 11:38 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(brucesss @ Aug 2 2012, 11:33 PM)
is it ok to stuff it in when ur car gb has no prob? using myvi btw
if your gb no problem, what do you seek in lubegard anyways?
TSulet
post Aug 3 2012, 01:10 AM

1,703 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 2 2012, 11:38 PM)
same with you what, for brows.gif
Quazacolt
post Aug 3 2012, 02:11 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ulet @ Aug 3 2012, 01:10 AM)
same with you what, for brows.gif
posted in previous pages lorh laugh.gif
neotoxin
post Aug 3 2012, 07:09 AM

~Tweeeeeeeeeet~
565 posts

Which lubeguard to be used for my manual tranny with synchros problem?
brucesss
post Aug 3 2012, 09:55 AM

Stay hungry, Stay foolish
2,266 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 2 2012, 11:38 PM)
More smooth tansmission change
Quazacolt
post Aug 3 2012, 02:51 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(neotoxin @ Aug 3 2012, 07:09 AM)
Which lubeguard to be used for my manual tranny with synchros problem?
lubegard yellow

Added on August 3, 2012, 2:52 pm
QUOTE(brucesss @ Aug 3 2012, 09:55 AM)
More smooth tansmission change
thumbup.gif go ahead and give it a try then.

if possible, do a full flush and replace the filter as well before adding

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Aug 3 2012, 02:52 PM
ThunderGod_Cid
post Aug 4 2012, 11:33 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(sengasdf @ Jul 23 2012, 02:29 PM)

this is not a coolant, this is to be used WITH a coolant. It's similar to water wetter from redline
SENTRA N16
post Oct 5 2012, 11:41 PM

is it worth to buy lubegard platinum? my n16 also have the same problem. icon_question.gif
car not moving when the gear already engaged to "D". cry.gif
i already change my gearbox oil last month. sad.gif
is it still need to flush the gearbox & change filter or just add lubegard platinum to my gearbox...? blush.gif
please advice.....
sarjantulang
post Oct 6 2012, 11:53 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(SENTRA N16 @ Oct 6 2012, 12:41 AM)
is it worth to buy lubegard platinum? my n16 also have the same problem. icon_question.gif
is it still need to flush the gearbox & change filter or just add lubegard platinum to my gearbox...? blush.gif
please advice.....
assalam,

try the new Dexron VI or Duradrive Synthetic ATF if you want...

sarjantulang
Quazacolt
post Oct 6 2012, 07:25 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(SENTRA N16 @ Oct 5 2012, 11:41 PM)
please advice.....
perhaps give it a full flush including replace the ATF filter (which will likely require gasket replacement too)
if still persist, perhaps give lubegard a try then.

personally, id recommend against using lubricants to solve problems because they are additives which helps elevate problems and doesn't solve the root cause of a problem.

then again with what so many people claims of it working/solving their problems (including my own experiences), why the hell not right? lol
SENTRA N16
post Oct 6 2012, 11:24 PM

QUOTE(sarjantulang @ Oct 6 2012, 11:53 AM)
assalam,

try the new Dexron VI or Duradrive Synthetic ATF if you want...

sarjantulang
w'salam....

is it ok with dexron VI? others people recomended dexron III.....
Quazacolt
post Oct 6 2012, 11:25 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(SENTRA N16 @ Oct 6 2012, 11:24 PM)
w'salam....

best to follow your manufacturer recommendations.

that said, if dextron 6 is backward compatible, then it shouldn't have problems
SENTRA N16
post Oct 6 2012, 11:27 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 6 2012, 07:25 PM)
perhaps give it a full flush including replace the ATF filter (which will likely require gasket replacement too)
if still persist, perhaps give lubegard a try then.

personally, id recommend against using lubricants to solve problems because they are additives which helps elevate problems and doesn't solve the root cause of a problem.

then again with what so many people claims of it working/solving their problems (including my own experiences), why the hell not right? lol
noted & tq for the advice bro.....
did u now how much it cost for flushing,replacement gasket filter & changing ATF oil?

This post has been edited by SENTRA N16: Oct 6 2012, 11:31 PM
sarjantulang
post Oct 7 2012, 11:10 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(SENTRA N16 @ Oct 7 2012, 12:24 AM)
w'salam....

totally ok...it is backward compatible with previous DexIII requirement....it is also give u 2x long life than dex iii...

sarjantulang
Quazacolt
post Oct 7 2012, 12:11 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(SENTRA N16 @ Oct 6 2012, 11:27 PM)
noted & tq for the advice bro.....
did u now how much it cost for flushing,replacement gasket filter & changing ATF oil?
that depends on your car's gasket/filter cost, and of course the extra liters needed for a flushing.

not familiar with sentra, you'll need to check spare part shops/tan chong centers smile.gif
SENTRA N16
post Oct 9 2012, 09:55 AM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 7 2012, 12:11 PM)
that depends on your car's gasket/filter cost, and of course the extra liters needed for a flushing.

not familiar with sentra, you'll need to check spare part shops/tan chong centers smile.gif
noted.

Did u knows where is the best place to tuning & diagnosis engine & gearbox for sentra n16?
My gearbox now have problem,not running when engaged to "D". Before i go for flushing & changing oil,
i think i want do tuning & diagnosis 1st. Any suggestion at cheras area? Price?

huakenny
post Oct 9 2012, 10:48 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(SENTRA N16 @ Oct 9 2012, 09:55 AM)
noted.

Did u knows where is the best place to tuning & diagnosis engine & gearbox for sentra n16?
My gearbox now have problem,not running when engaged to "D". Before i go for flushing & changing oil,
if engaged to D not running...i dun think flush n replace atf will solve the problem

u need to overhaul the gearbox edi
Quazacolt
post Oct 9 2012, 11:10 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

by right, tan chong/nissan SC should be the "best" place. however that obviously may not be the cheapest. other than that i have no idea, sorry

Added on October 9, 2012, 11:12 am
QUOTE(huakenny @ Oct 9 2012, 10:48 AM)
if engaged to D not running...i dun think flush n replace atf will solve the problem

u need to overhaul the gearbox edi
hence my initial message of troubleshooting the root cause, although there are many cases of lubegard solving it "magically", so that's worth a "cheap try" as well sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Oct 9 2012, 11:12 AM
TSulet
post Oct 9 2012, 11:24 AM

1,703 posts

noted.

my friend n16, he engaged the gear lever to D and have to wait 1-2 before the gear engage.
flushing and replacing the atf filter doesnt help him but after he put in lubegard platinum.
the problem gone straight away.
huakenny
post Oct 9 2012, 11:47 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 9 2012, 11:10 AM)
by right, tan chong/nissan SC should be the "best" place. however that obviously may not be the cheapest. other than that i have no idea, sorry

Added on October 9, 2012, 11:12 am

hence my initial message of troubleshooting the root cause, although there are many cases of lubegard solving it "magically", so that's worth a "cheap try" as well  sweat.gif
yeap...can give it a try la....mana tau it works
SENTRA N16
post Oct 9 2012, 02:42 PM

Tq,guys. I will try the cheapest way 1st.

Added on October 18, 2012, 9:05 amMy N16 gearbox problem already gone when i do servicing the gearbox. Change the atf oil & filter. After this i want to install atf oil cooler.

Added on October 18, 2012, 9:09 amTq guys for sharing ideas & knowledge. Really useful & appreciate it.

This post has been edited by SENTRA N16: Oct 18 2012, 09:09 AM
netcrok
post Dec 12 2012, 08:22 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(izso @ Jul 18 2012, 07:41 PM)
(How the hell do you multiquote in LY?)

Engine flushes that can actually obtain TUV certification must have some sort of quality to their products because TUV is way more stringent than even API and the European certification (forgot what their called). Personally right now I'm still testing Bluechem's engine oil flush, it's TUV certified and so far so good. I've also used CRC engine flush and that's been serving me well for years too.

I personally have no issues with flushes as long as it's not alcohol based. It's additives that annoy me.

Added on July 18, 2012, 7:44 pm

Dude, I'm not new to the car industry. There's no such thing as "JPJ certified" as you have pointed out.

I was talking about Vkool Elite's claims to be 99% UV blocking, 99% IR blocking, etc. They claim the world and they have the certification (tests by reputable companies) to prove their claims.
Hi izso,

where do you get bluechem? How much?
izso
post Dec 16 2012, 10:23 PM

48 posts

I got it from the Bluechem salesman, John Liew.

Try calling him : 017-8465666
bad melatonin
post Jul 2 2013, 01:56 PM

Insomnia
1,677 posts

sorry for bumping an old thread...
who's d lubegard distributor in malaysia?
plan to get d atf protectant but dunno which 1 to get. which is better? red bottle or platinum?
Quazacolt
post Jul 2 2013, 04:03 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(bad melatonin @ Jul 2 2013, 01:56 PM)
who's d lubegard distributor in malaysia?
plan to get d atf protectant but dunno which 1 to get. which is better? red bottle or platinum?
cosmic elite:
http://oilguru.com.my/template.asp?menuid=43

for lubegard, if got money just go platinum. if want to save a few 10's ringgits, consider black (for high friction japanese based AT box) for p1/p2/japanese AT box vehicles.
red is the bare basic lubegard.

personally the pricing between black and platinum isn't huge, might as well go for platinum.

if CVT will need to use lubegard CVT fluid (different)
kcmy
post Jul 2 2013, 04:08 PM

I gazed a gazeless stare
726 posts

im driving a ford lynx and i experienced the lagness os shifting into 'D'gear every morning. i hv to reverse my car to get out of my parking bay,when i put it into 'D' the car will only jerk into life after a few seconds. can i use this Lubeguard to rectify the problem?
Quazacolt
post Jul 2 2013, 05:21 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(kcmy @ Jul 2 2013, 04:08 PM)
im driving a ford lynx and i experienced the lagness os shifting into 'D'gear every morning. i hv to reverse my car to get out of my parking bay,when i put it into 'D' the car will only jerk into life after a few seconds. can i use this Lubeguard to rectify the problem?
changed ATF for your AT box yet? consider changing its filter too if you never done it/haven't done in a very long time.

after done that, if problem still not solved perhaps then you can give lubegard a try smile.gif
kcmy
post Jul 2 2013, 09:51 PM

I gazed a gazeless stare
726 posts

sori bro,wats an ATF?
Quazacolt
post Jul 2 2013, 11:11 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(kcmy @ Jul 2 2013, 09:51 PM)
sori bro,wats an ATF?
automatic transmission fluid
kcmy
post Jul 3 2013, 12:06 AM

I gazed a gazeless stare
726 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 2 2013, 11:11 PM)
automatic transmission fluid
i think i got it changed about 6mths ago if im not mistaken.
Quazacolt
post Jul 3 2013, 12:10 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(kcmy @ Jul 3 2013, 12:06 AM)
i think i got it changed about 6mths ago if im not mistaken.
typical service interval for ATF is 20-40k km or 6 months/1 year.
depending on manufacturer recommendations.

like i said, perhaps do a ATF change and even replacing the ATF filter (may need the gasket too depending on how your AT box is designed)
if it doesn't help then give lubegard a try smile.gif
kcmy
post Jul 3 2013, 12:52 AM

I gazed a gazeless stare
726 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 3 2013, 12:10 AM)
typical service interval for ATF is 20-40k km or 6 months/1 year.
depending on manufacturer recommendations.

like i said, perhaps do a ATF change and even replacing the ATF filter (may need the gasket too depending on how your AT box is designed)
if it doesn't help then give lubegard a try smile.gif
ok,will try ur advice bro. thnx for ur time n patience notworthy.gif
bad melatonin
post Jul 3 2013, 02:30 AM

Insomnia
1,677 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 2 2013, 04:03 PM)
cosmic elite:
http://oilguru.com.my/template.asp?menuid=43

for lubegard, if got money just go platinum. if want to save a few 10's ringgits, consider black (for high friction japanese based AT box) for p1/p2/japanese AT box vehicles.
red is the bare basic lubegard.

personally the pricing between black and platinum isn't huge, might as well go for platinum.

if CVT will need to use lubegard CVT fluid (different)
any idea whats d price for red & platinum?
Quazacolt
post Jul 3 2013, 07:31 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(bad melatonin @ Jul 3 2013, 02:30 AM)
any idea whats d price for red & platinum?
platinum 9x
red 6x-7x
Alan
post Jul 3 2013, 02:36 PM

413 posts

Didn't manage to find lubeguard product in penang, please help to post some info (if available in penang).
Tried the x1-r atf additive (~rm30), some improvement in the delay/slipping symptom. Maybe my wear out is pretty severe d. For those who experience "slight delay/slip", maybe can try x1-r atf additive.

Quazacolt
post Jul 3 2013, 04:22 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Alan @ Jul 3 2013, 02:36 PM)
Didn't manage to find lubeguard product in penang, please help to post some info (if available in penang).
contact cosmic elite if they got dealers/sellers there.

else can contact lyn seller like zhapalang zendengoh
Alan
post Jul 4 2013, 08:43 AM

413 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 3 2013, 04:22 PM)
contact cosmic elite if they got dealers/sellers there.

else can contact lyn seller like zhapalang zendengoh
Thanks for the info... seems like need to order online smile.gif
lonelyicelemon
post Nov 12 2013, 04:31 PM

having the same problem with the same car as ts.I am currently in Klang. Is there any shops here selling Lubeguard???thinking of replacing the gear box until i get to see this thread.praying that it can solve my problem..T.T
Quazacolt
post Nov 25 2013, 06:46 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(lonelyicelemon @ Nov 12 2013, 04:31 PM)
having the same problem with the same car as ts.I am currently in Klang. Is there any shops here selling Lubeguard???thinking of replacing the gear box until i get to see this thread.praying that it can solve my problem..T.T
can consider buy online/postage, then bring workshop ask them help pour (after ATF drain, and after pour lubegard fill ATF to appropriate level)
cktang
post Jan 6 2014, 12:46 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 25 2013, 06:46 AM)
can consider buy online/postage, then bring workshop ask them help pour (after ATF drain, and after pour lubegard fill ATF to appropriate level)
If I pour after gear oil changed, will it be effective?
My persona auto problem : Half year ago when i drove back, suddenly a bmx bicycle head drop off from a lorry in front at seremban highway, cannot evade and 'cross over' with 'CRUCK....' sound. Drove 8km go home park the car see got red oil leaking out. Send car to workshop 'Solder' the hole and refill gear oil.

No problem until recently car kena flooded. After repaired and replacing the gear oil heard there are 'duk' sound with slight jerk when gear shift from 2nd to 3rd. Do another gear oil changed at diff shop, the oil are very dirty when pour out (Realised the shop was a black shop, they charged me and NEVER did the oil change). BTW my problem got improved, but the problem still exist.

Ask a mechanic recommend by my neighbour, he said one of my valve in the gearbox are stuck or rosak. Repairing needs to left the car there at least 3 days and estimate cost rm 400++ labour only. And cannot guarantee 100% solved the problem.

Try x1r auto threatment last week, again the problem got 'minimize', now the 'duk' sound become not as loud as before and the jerking also not as noticable as before. But the problem is still there and i am scare to throttle when 2nd to 3rd gearchange, scare the gearbox to totally damage slowly and need to change.

i wonder if can i put this lubegard now to my gearbox to solve my problem. Or i need to change the gear oil again. The mechanic said persona atf filter is hard to change and must removed the gearbox cover with labour rm 100++ is it true? How much is the lubegard flush and protectant together, keen to try...
Quazacolt
post Jan 6 2014, 04:01 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(cktang @ Jan 6 2014, 12:46 PM)
If I pour after gear oil changed, will it be effective?

No problem until recently car kena flooded. After repaired and replacing the gear oil heard there are 'duk' sound with slight jerk when gear shift from 2nd to 3rd. Do another gear oil changed at diff shop, the oil are very dirty when pour out (Realised the shop was a black shop, they charged me and NEVER did the oil change). BTW my problem got improved, but the problem still exist.

Ask a mechanic recommend by my neighbour, he said one of my valve in the gearbox are stuck or rosak. Repairing needs to left the car there at least 3 days and estimate cost rm 400++ labour only. And cannot guarantee 100% solved the problem.

Try x1r auto threatment last week, again the problem got 'minimize', now the 'duk' sound become not as loud as before and the jerking also not as noticable as before. But the problem is still there and i am scare to throttle when 2nd to 3rd gearchange, scare the gearbox to totally damage slowly and need to change.

i wonder if can i put this lubegard now to my gearbox to solve my problem. Or i need to change the gear oil again. The mechanic said persona atf filter is hard to change and must removed the gearbox cover with labour rm 100++ is it true? How much is the lubegard flush and protectant together, keen to try...
best if you pour it during a fresh gear oil change interval not after gear oil change then drive maybe 500/1000 km or more.
if in doubt, consider performing ATF flushing prior to lubegard + fresh ATF especially when you mentioned that your car is flooded before, since water may easily enter the gear box housing via the dip stick (not sure bout persona, iswara dip stick is just at the gearbox housing which is damn low lol.)
more so when you described that changing ATF improved on your problem thumbup.gif

and yeah, give a try to these solutions, at worst you waste rm90+, however more often than not if it's confirmed to be stuck valves, lubegard can help solve that and you'll save over rm400 (not including replacing worn parts if reqiured) in repair bills and car down time.

again, don't straight away put in. do ATF flushing (if you can afford), else just drain your ATF, pour in lubegard, then fill with ATF till appropriate levels.
DO NOT OVERFILL, please fill till cold level, then to make sure, start engine and drive a bit or if car is jacked, have the gears cycle a bit between reverse/D/P and check again on the ATF hot level.
if on really tight budget, go with proton's ATF SP3 or XP3, else spend a little bit more for Caltex ATF-J (need to find at caltex stations) smile.gif

AFAIK false, the mechanic probably con you... however if you're uncertain of the gear box ATF filter quality (since you mentioned black oil poured out before having repaired/replaced by black shop), can consider replacing the ATF filter which means you need to remove the ATF oil sump.
Buy original gasket/ATF filter from proton parts stockists/glenmarie parts center thumbup.gif

no need to use lubegard flush, just regular atf filling, let it run/cycle in the car, and drain it out. there are workshops that have dedicated flushing machines which will work better, however expensive charges.
cktang
post Jan 9 2014, 11:45 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 6 2014, 04:01 PM)
best if you pour it during a fresh gear oil change interval not after gear oil change then drive maybe 500/1000 km or more.
if in doubt, consider performing ATF flushing prior to lubegard + fresh ATF especially when you mentioned that your car is flooded before, since water may easily enter the gear box housing via the dip stick (not sure bout persona, iswara dip stick is just at the gearbox housing which is damn low lol.)
more so when you described that changing ATF improved on your problem thumbup.gif

and yeah, give a try to these solutions, at worst you waste rm90+, however more often than not if it's confirmed to be stuck valves, lubegard can help solve that and you'll save over rm400 (not including replacing worn parts if reqiured) in repair bills and car down time.

again, don't straight away put in. do ATF flushing (if you can afford), else just drain your ATF, pour in lubegard, then fill with ATF till appropriate levels.
DO NOT OVERFILL, please fill till cold level, then to make sure, start engine and drive a bit or if car is jacked, have the gears cycle a bit between reverse/D/P and check again on the ATF hot level.
if on really tight budget, go with proton's ATF SP3 or XP3, else spend a little bit more for Caltex ATF-J (need to find at caltex stations) smile.gif

AFAIK false, the mechanic probably con you... however if you're uncertain of the gear box ATF filter quality (since you mentioned black oil poured out before having repaired/replaced by black shop), can consider replacing the ATF filter which means you need to remove the ATF oil sump.
Buy original gasket/ATF filter from proton parts stockists/glenmarie parts center thumbup.gif

no need to use lubegard flush, just regular atf filling, let it run/cycle in the car, and drain it out. there are workshops that have dedicated flushing machines which will work better, however expensive charges.
Thanks for your kindness feedback, my car got improved ady after running two weeks adding x1r auto threatment. But the 'duk' sound still there, it is not as loud as before ady and the jerk are almost gone. Send to other mechanic to survey repair price, the mechanic mentioned my car got slight overfilled when hot. He say should be no harm but maybe will be gear engaged delay when hot, could be due to after i poured all 240ml x1r into it. The mechanic said not recommendable to repair as it will sum up a cost around rm800 after he test out my car are quite smooth excepts the small 'duk' sound (2nd ~ 3rd everytime) and slight jerk (throttle 2nd gear up to 3k rpm). He ask me to live with it and 'drive until it kong completely' and change a recon gearbox around rm2500 . Btw wan to try the lubegard red on the next oil change after 5000km, went to eneos bu but they are not selling anymore. Nvm i think i'll take your advise to find a shop to flush the gearbox and re-fill with caltex atf j on the next oil change.

Quazacolt
post Jan 9 2014, 06:05 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(cktang @ Jan 9 2014, 11:45 AM)
Thanks for your kindness feedback, my car got improved ady after running two weeks adding x1r auto threatment. But the 'duk' sound still there, it is not as loud as before ady and the jerk are almost gone. Send to other mechanic to survey repair price, the mechanic mentioned my car got slight overfilled when hot. He say should be no harm but maybe will be gear engaged delay when hot, could be due to after i poured all 240ml x1r into it. The mechanic said not recommendable to repair as it will sum up a cost around rm800 after he test out my car are quite smooth excepts the small 'duk' sound (2nd ~ 3rd everytime) and slight jerk (throttle 2nd gear up to 3k rpm). He ask me to live with it and 'drive until it kong completely' and change a recon gearbox around rm2500 . Btw wan to try the lubegard red on the next oil change after 5000km, went to eneos bu but they are not selling anymore. Nvm i think i'll take your advise to find a shop to flush the gearbox and re-fill with caltex atf j on the next oil change.
plenty of shops selling lubegard platinum la... 1 eneos not selling other eneos may sell? i remembered kepong and 1utama eneos had those.
Quazacolt
post Jan 10 2014, 12:01 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(cktang @ Jan 9 2014, 11:45 AM)
Eneos Kepong: http://twitpic.com/drphpi
cktang
post Jan 14 2014, 05:46 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jan 10 2014, 12:01 AM)
Ok, will go to eneos kepong to get one for next oil change. Should i get the platinum as it is just rm5 diff? Went to proton yesterday tell them the problem. They diagnosis with the computer, there was an error - invalid transmission variant. After they did the tuning the jerk almost gone and the sound still there and getting smaller (again). Mechanics is a generous young malay guy who called uncle(i am 30 plus only mad.gif ) said the oil still clean and suggest me to change the oil on next service. He said he never heard of lubegard and show me the x1r, tell me my oil level was full and must release some if want to put in addictive.
Quazacolt
post Jan 14 2014, 01:23 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(cktang @ Jan 14 2014, 05:46 AM)
Ok, will go to eneos kepong to get one for next oil change. Should i get the platinum as it is just rm5 diff? Went to proton yesterday tell them the problem. They diagnosis with the computer, there was an error - invalid transmission variant. After they did the tuning the jerk almost gone and the sound still there and getting smaller (again). Mechanics is a generous young malay guy who called uncle(i am 30 plus only  mad.gif ) said the oil still clean and suggest me to change the oil on next service. He said he never heard of lubegard and show me the x1r, tell me my oil level was full and must release some if want to put in addictive.
yeah platinum is their best product for protection if you can afford it.

can consider getting their flush (white bottle), then before next ATF change, pour it in, follow the instructions on the bottle, and then drain out the ATF and it's flush, pour in lubegard platinum and top of the rest with ATF to appropriate level smile.gif

and again, don't overfill smile.gif
Klemann C
post Oct 19 2014, 07:21 PM

481 posts

Pardon me for revival the thread.
Just wondering is there huge margin different between red & platinum series?

Interested wanna give a try, due yesterday done rebuilt my auto gb from gb specialist smile.gif

Quazacolt
post Oct 20 2014, 03:08 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Klemann C @ Oct 19 2014, 07:21 PM)
Just wondering is there huge margin different between red & platinum series?

Interested wanna give a try, due yesterday done rebuilt my auto gb from gb specialist smile.gif
probably not much, as the price margin also not that huge difference also.
deadmanwalking1
post Feb 5 2015, 04:58 PM

73 posts

just tried one bottle of Lubegard Platinum on my Nissan Sentra. A bit costly but very efficient.

I had read many review on these ATF lube, so gave it a try.
It really solve my gearbox problem such as smoother acceleration.
Before this i have problem engaging my gear during morning/cold time. I have to wait for >5mins every morning before my car can start moving.

Pour in the lube yesterday and i can feel the different almost immediately.

bought Petron ATF 1L - 4 bottle (each RM21)
Lubegard Platinum 0.5L = 1 bottle (RM90) can use twice
g9000z
post Feb 6 2015, 04:14 PM

112 posts

I just knew got additives for ATF.
looks very tempting.
Can sifus here comments, what if I use this oil on a Hyundai Atos?

Yes I know its not a hi performance car, but I just want better shifting of my AT tranny.

It's 10 year old Atos, my tranny still good cond, only when cold/many ppl inside, can feel it work extra (rough) on low gear shifting.

now im using OEM hyundai ATF, with 20K interval.

Should I changed to better ATF? or stick with it, but add Lubeguard?

Quazacolt
post Feb 6 2015, 05:18 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(g9000z @ Feb 6 2015, 04:14 PM)
I just knew got additives for ATF.
looks very tempting.
Can sifus here comments, what if I use this oil on a Hyundai Atos?

Yes I know its not a hi performance car, but I just want better shifting of my AT tranny.

It's 10 year old Atos, my tranny still good cond, only when cold/many ppl inside, can feel it work extra (rough) on low gear shifting.

now im using OEM hyundai ATF, with 20K interval.

Should I changed to better ATF? or stick with it, but add Lubeguard?
see what is more practical/cheaper for you smile.gif
Sbanjoe
post Nov 4 2015, 05:41 PM

QUOTE(deadmanwalking1 @ Feb 5 2015, 04:58 PM)
just tried one bottle of Lubegard Platinum on my Nissan Sentra. A bit costly but very efficient.

Before this i have problem engaging my gear during morning/cold time. I have to wait for >5mins every morning before my car can start moving.

Brother, where did you buy your Lubeguard Platinum. Let me have the name of the shop and address please!1

Thank you
Sbanjoe
post Nov 4 2015, 05:47 PM

Hey Brother, me again. Give me a call or SMS me at 012 2622595 (URGENT) Thanks

This post has been edited by Sbanjoe: Nov 4 2015, 05:47 PM
deadmanwalking1
post Nov 11 2015, 12:31 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(Sbanjoe @ Nov 4 2015, 05:47 PM)
Hey Brother, me again.  Give me a call or SMS me at 012 2622595 (URGENT)  Thanks
bro, you try can buy from www.fasmoto.com
I bought it from them previously.
Quazacolt
post Nov 11 2015, 04:13 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Sbanjoe @ Nov 4 2015, 05:47 PM)
Hey Brother, me again.  Give me a call or SMS me at 012 2622595 (URGENT)  Thanks
why not contact cosmic elite directly? they are the distributor for lubegard in malaysia.
Sbanjoe
post Nov 17 2015, 12:55 AM

QUOTE(deadmanwalking1 @ Nov 11 2015, 12:31 PM)
bro, you try can buy from www.fasmoto.com
I bought it from them previously.
Bro,
Thanks for the info. I managed to get two bottle from a dealer in PJ but they were the 10FL oz (small bottle) type. Have not use the product yet. Will do after flushing the gb and will give an update.
Quazacolt
post Nov 17 2015, 08:22 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Sbanjoe @ Nov 17 2015, 12:55 AM)
Bro,
Thanks for the info.  I managed to get two bottle from a dealer in PJ but they were the 10FL oz (small bottle) type. Have not use the product yet. Will do after flushing the gb and will give an update.
that's the standard size Malaysia carry.
1 bottle will be enough to treat one transmission oil change.

if you are currently facing transmission issues, suggest to do a few flushes/short intervals (maybe 3-5k km) ATF change a few times, then lastly lubegard + ATF after you're done so you don't waste it smile.gif
Sbanjoe
post Nov 25 2015, 05:14 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Nov 17 2015, 08:22 AM)
that's the standard size Malaysia carry.
1 bottle will be enough to treat one transmission oil change.

if you are currently facing transmission issues, suggest to do a few flushes/short intervals (maybe 3-5k km) ATF change a few times, then lastly lubegard + ATF after you're done so you don't waste it smile.gif
Thanks for the tip. Yes, having the "Morning Sickness" recently. According to "Deadmanwalking", the Lubeguard he bought was 0.5L which is approx 15Fl oz, mine is the 10Fl oz (296ml)
hitz
post Nov 25 2015, 05:43 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(Sbanjoe @ Nov 25 2015, 05:14 PM)
Thanks for the tip.  Yes, having the "Morning Sickness" recently.  According to "Deadmanwalking", the Lubeguard he bought was 0.5L which is approx 15Fl oz, mine is the 10Fl oz (296ml)
Where to buy? Eneos got sale it?
Quazacolt
post Nov 25 2015, 06:08 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Sbanjoe @ Nov 25 2015, 05:14 PM)
Thanks for the tip.  Yes, having the "Morning Sickness" recently.  According to "Deadmanwalking", the Lubeguard he bought was 0.5L which is approx 15Fl oz, mine is the 10Fl oz (296ml)
hmm cant recall ever buying 0.5 liters, price for 298ml also rm9x
and from my usage experience, 298 ml enough also.
Quazacolt
post Nov 25 2015, 06:09 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

bro, can you confirm your lubegard is 298ml or 0.5l?
Quazacolt
post Nov 25 2015, 06:10 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(hitz @ Nov 25 2015, 05:43 PM)
they used to sell it but now i think clearing stock/stopped selling. you can try to check if they have old stock clearing for cheap price biggrin.gif
sonic_darkknight
post Nov 26 2015, 01:26 AM

628 posts

Can buy from lyn forumer named smmotorsport.his PIC is called Chin. Located in cheras
Sbanjoe
post Nov 28 2015, 07:53 PM

QUOTE(hitz @ Nov 25 2015, 05:43 PM)
Hitz, give me your contact number, I can help you. Where are you from?
am3
post Nov 29 2015, 08:07 PM

1,352 posts

Any recommendation to buy lubegard?
Sbanjoe
post Dec 6 2015, 04:27 PM

QUOTE(am3 @ Nov 29 2015, 08:07 PM)
Any recommendation to buy lubegard?
Am3, are you having morning sickness with your gb? If so then, try lubeguard to solve your problem. If you want to purchase lube guard, let me know. Btw, I am no dealer, just try to help out.
am3
post Dec 6 2015, 07:47 PM

1,352 posts

QUOTE(Sbanjoe @ Dec 6 2015, 04:27 PM)
Am3,  are you having morning sickness with your gb?  If so then, try lubeguard to solve your problem.  If you want to purchase lube guard, let me know.  Btw, I am no dealer, just try to help out.
Yes I have used lubegard before. After using lubegard no problem. It's been 20k since last atf. Although my car is 40k for every atf change, I think it's better to change now.

How to buy the lubegard?

Yong_5290
post Dec 7 2015, 01:55 AM

152 posts

Have any1 tried on dual clutch gearbox ? From vw
Quazacolt
post Dec 7 2015, 08:37 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(am3 @ Dec 6 2015, 07:47 PM)
Yes I have used lubegard before. After using lubegard no problem.  It's been 20k since last atf.  Although my car is 40k for every atf change, I think it's better to change now. 

How to buy the lubegard?
if you have used it, why wouldn't you know how to buy it?
Quazacolt
post Dec 7 2015, 08:38 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Yong_5290 @ Dec 7 2015, 01:55 AM)
Have any1 tried on dual clutch gearbox ? From vw
if you were referring to their regular products, i would suggest it against any dual clutch as they are meant for ATF

however: http://www.lubegard.com/~/C-1040/Dual+Clut...nsmission+Fluid
it looks like they just released DCTF for wet clutch applications and VW is listed among it?
Yong_5290
post Dec 7 2015, 11:52 PM

152 posts

Hey thanks . Yup it's suitable for wet dsg gearbox
am3
post Dec 8 2015, 12:52 AM

1,352 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 7 2015, 08:37 PM)
if you have used it, why wouldn't you know how to buy it?
I ordered it online two years ago. . I can't remember where I bought it thought. I think it was on mudah.
Can't find the ads anymore.
Quazacolt
post Dec 8 2015, 09:44 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(am3 @ Dec 8 2015, 12:52 AM)
I ordered it online two years ago. .  I can't remember where I bought it thought.  I think it was on mudah.
Can't find the ads anymore.
cosmic elite contacts:

https://en-gb.facebook.com/permalink.php?st...119331044785793
http://oilguru.com.my/web/contact-us/
http://www.torcousa.com/6-dealer/malaysia.html
http://www.millersoils.co.uk/distributorde...ountry=Malaysia
am3
post Dec 8 2015, 01:51 PM

1,352 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 8 2015, 09:44 AM)
Thanks. This is the same one that imports the lubegard platinum?

Quazacolt
post Dec 8 2015, 02:01 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(am3 @ Dec 8 2015, 01:51 PM)
Thanks.  This is the same one that imports the lubegard platinum?
yeap
IkanKelisa
post Feb 2 2016, 07:37 PM

Hi All..

I'm thinking to use lubeguard platinum in my next ATF service for my waja CPS (A) together with Mitsubishi diaqueen SPIII. How much should I use? Is it the whole bottle (15 Oz @ 444 ml) + 4 liter ATF?

Any review using lubeguard for waja CPS (A)? thanks smile.gif
Quazacolt
post Feb 3 2016, 10:16 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(IkanKelisa @ Feb 2 2016, 07:37 PM)
Hi All..

I'm thinking to use lubeguard platinum in my next ATF service for my waja CPS (A) together with Mitsubishi diaqueen SPIII. How much should I use? Is it the whole bottle (15 Oz @ 444 ml) + 4 liter ATF?

Any review using lubeguard for waja CPS (A)? thanks  smile.gif
whole bottle and appropriate levels of ATF (refer your dipstick on cold/hot fluid levels)
do NOT overfill.
ky118
post Jul 30 2022, 05:13 PM

156 posts

ulet
Quazacolt
deadmanwalking1

I know this is an old thread but just wanted to check for those who added the Lubegard ATF, how long did it last and whether the problem will come back later? Do you need to keep adding the Lubegard to resolve the gear delay when shifting to D in the morning?
Quazacolt
post Jul 30 2022, 05:40 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ky118 @ Jul 30 2022, 05:13 PM)
ulet
Quazacolt
deadmanwalking1

I know this is an old thread but just wanted to check for those who added the Lubegard ATF, how long did it last and whether the problem will come back later? Do you need to keep adding the Lubegard to resolve the gear delay when shifting to D in the morning?
last the same as normal ATF, just drain/refill as per your usual ATF intervals (no benefits on prolonging intervals)

problem may come back after you stop using as the varnish/gunk etc just rebuilds up eventually.

0.0898sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:24 AM