126 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Monk Discussion V2, guides, opinions and builds for Monk!

choonwai11
post Jul 16 2012, 09:11 AM

329 posts

Going to end Act 3 inferno soon, at the heart of sin now. after dying many time with dual weilding in act 3, no choice need to change to 1 hand dagger and shield combination.

current resist 1k, armor 7k unbuff, DPS 17k unbuff(with 765dps dagger). very slow on taking out monster, and not enough money to buy better DPS weapon with good stat.

until now i nv use Loh weapon item before, is it really help alot in surviving?
TSQuazacolt
post Jul 16 2012, 09:12 AM

Riding couple
5,366 posts

QUOTE(choonwai11 @ Jul 16 2012, 09:11 AM)
Going to end Act 3 inferno soon, at the heart of sin now. after dying many time with dual weilding in act 3, no choice need to change to 1 hand dagger and shield combination.

current resist 1k, armor 7k unbuff, DPS 17k unbuff(with 765dps dagger). very slow on taking out monster, and not enough money to buy better DPS weapon with good stat.

LOH between 300-600 is ideal.
anechoic
post Jul 16 2012, 09:37 AM

TY
2,278 posts

just when i thought i finally found a good item 1-hand sword with 840+ dps...then it says only barb use !#!@#@! doh.gif doh.gif

cowithgun
post Jul 16 2012, 09:42 AM

A cow that can play notebook & phone
2,248 posts

QUOTE(illusi0nat0r @ Jul 15 2012, 11:43 AM)
I read somewhere its 1:10 ratio. Ideally 40% CC and 400% CD. Maybe you want to up another 80% CD first? Personally I feel 20-30% CC is enough to spawn cyclone to make everything melt (with >1.7aspd)
Guys! Need help about crit build.

Everyone talking about it. So, I decided to try it out. Mostly using drops. Managed to take crit% to 20%, crit damage still just 50%. sweat.gif That is without scarify too much on my other stat.

So, I roll out in Act2, Sweeping wind+Cyclone, kill a few elites. BUT:

First spam on Sweeping wind almost like no cyclone. Need to spam it 3 times to get lotsa cyclone?

75*3 = 225 spirit

Since I only have 150 spirit, need to wait quite a file to build it up so that I can spam 3 times. My atk speed is ~ 1.82. It takes quite awhile to get cyclone to it's max stack. So, crit build must have higher IAS as well?

For just 30 minutes of testing at really low 20% crit and 50% crit dmg... it's killing slower than my usual build:

Vortex Jailer ReflectDamage Illusionist (easy) - 20 seconds

Question is; do we need to stack up Cyclone to 3 stacks?

deodorant
post Jul 16 2012, 09:56 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jul 16 2012, 09:42 AM)
First spam on Sweeping wind almost like no cyclone. Need to spam it 3 times to get lotsa cyclone?

IIRC, the tooltip should say there's a chance of generating a cyclone on crit hit only when you are at max stacks already (i.e. 3 stack). I no money to change gear to CC/CD tho so I no use that skill. Plus since already beat Inferno feel lazy to spend money to upgrade, now just farming and selling itamz on RMAH only.
sexbomb
post Jul 16 2012, 09:59 AM

93 posts

still looking for ways to buff dps
T_T

This post has been edited by sexbomb: Jul 16 2012, 10:49 AM
B@rt
post Jul 16 2012, 10:01 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(choonwai11 @ Jul 16 2012, 09:11 AM)

Wah 17k unbuff... i 22k unbuff also damn slow in killing elites. My LoH is at 1k it doesn't help a lot vs elites but white mobs u can just run in and take em all without any worry.
Wazzzap
post Jul 16 2012, 10:05 AM

506 posts

i have no LoH and my resist is about 700+ armor unbuff about 5k

crit chance 37% crit damage 380% killing elites in act 3 about 20-30secs

if there are no retarded affixes such as invulnerable shielding bla bla

dps 47k with blazing wrath
cyruz13
post Jul 16 2012, 10:13 AM

Look for the light
717 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jul 16 2012, 09:42 AM)

Everyone talking about it. So, I decided to try it out. Mostly using drops. Managed to take crit% to 20%, crit damage still just 50%.  sweat.gif That is without scarify too much on my other stat.

75*3 = 225 spirit

Since I only have 150 spirit, need to wait quite a file to build it up so that I can spam 3 times. My atk speed is ~ 1.82. It takes quite awhile to get cyclone to it's max stack. So, crit build must have higher IAS as well?

For just 30 minutes of testing at really low 20% crit and 50% crit dmg... it's killing slower than my usual build:

u no need to spam.. the Sweeping wind will stack.. once you land a crit hit on enemy, it will stack to 2, and so on.. up to 3 stack max...
after the full 3 stacks, if u land a crit hit on enemy again, it will generate lightning tornado...

i try replace flash blind to sweeping wind ... just to try... but end up.. i notice that sweeping wind x jadi bcoz I need to kite around on certain elites.... (fire ground, poision ground.. etc..) =/
so i use back flash blind for the 30% dmg increase every 15second...

I also trying CC , CD build... my CC is 22.5% .. my atkspd around 1.8 as well... i try use way of hundred fist with blazing fist.. ... chances of landing crit hit are high.. and fast ..(due to the atkspd incrase) but... ... i need to move really close to hit the target.. =/ so.. i giv up as well.. use back deadly reach... slower.. but. to survive.. .. >.<

Added on July 16, 2012, 10:16 am
QUOTE(Wazzzap @ Jul 16 2012, 10:05 AM)
i have no LoH and my resist is about 700+ armor unbuff about 5k

crit chance 37% crit damage 380% killing elites in act 3 about 20-30secs

if there are no retarded affixes such as invulnerable shielding bla bla

dps 47k with blazing wrath
700+ resist can tahan fire ground ka??

me resist 700+ also... Yesterday.. i kena one pack elite in act 3..
Jailler, frozen , fire ground...

wan kite... jail me... cast fire ground... ..
right after jail finish.. frozen... ... i die until .............. sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by cyruz13: Jul 16 2012, 10:16 AM
shinkawa
post Jul 16 2012, 10:21 AM

parttime otaku
855 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jul 16 2012, 10:42 AM)

Everyone talking about it. So, I decided to try it out. Mostly using drops. Managed to take crit% to 20%, crit damage still just 50%.  sweat.gif That is without scarify too much on my other stat.

75*3 = 225 spirit

Need to spam wan meh? I think you misunderstand d.
Cyclone will only come out after you have 3 stacks. Which mean you need 3 critics minimum.

Use thunderclap coz got radius, sometime if hit 3 target all 3 got critic, can straight get 3 stacks d. Very fast.

cowithgun
post Jul 16 2012, 10:33 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(cyruz13 @ Jul 16 2012, 10:13 AM)
u no need to spam.. the Sweeping wind will stack.. once you land a crit hit on enemy, it will stack to 2, and so on.. up to 3 stack max...
after the full 3 stacks, if u land a crit hit on enemy again, it will generate lightning tornado...

i try replace flash blind to sweeping wind ... just to try... but end up.. i notice that sweeping wind x jadi bcoz I need to kite around on certain elites.... (fire ground, poision ground.. etc..)  =/
so i use back flash blind for the 30% dmg increase every 15second...

I also trying CC , CD build...  my CC is 22.5% .. my atkspd around 1.8 as well... i try use way of hundred fist with blazing fist.. ... chances of landing crit hit are high.. and fast ..(due to the atkspd incrase) but... ... i need to move really close to hit the target.. =/ so.. i giv up as well.. use back deadly reach...  slower.. but. to survive.. .. >.<
Thanks for the explanation! I totally miss-understood that Cyclone thingy. Will experiment with it again.

I am like you, using blinding flash at the moment. Killing is fast... but only in Act2!

cyruz13
post Jul 16 2012, 10:33 AM

Look for the light
717 posts

QUOTE(shinkawa @ Jul 16 2012, 10:21 AM)
Cyclone will only come out after you have 3 stacks. Which mean you need 3 critics minimum.

Use thunderclap coz got radius, sometime if hit 3 target all 3 got critic, can straight get 3 stacks d. Very fast.
thunderclap ? the distance far ar???
cowithgun
post Jul 16 2012, 10:34 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(shinkawa @ Jul 16 2012, 10:21 AM)

Thanks. I understand now. How fast is it to kill a group of elite with cyclone? Generally?
sexbomb
post Jul 16 2012, 10:40 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jul 16 2012, 10:34 AM)
Thanks. I understand now. How fast is it to kill a group of elite with cyclone? Generally?
depends on dps, crit chance and crit dmg
cowithgun
post Jul 16 2012, 10:41 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(cyruz13 @ Jul 16 2012, 10:33 AM)

I really like your build actually. If you also have problem in Act3, I guess Act3 and crit build is not for me.

Just want to ask, since your armor is low, have you try use "Evasion+20%armor"?

Thunderclap has low distance, just like WoTHF. I recommend you switch from Deadly Reach to Thunderclap+Evasion+20% armor. I hope to see you kill elite less than 20 seconds in Act2... it will give me reason to invest in Crit build. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Jul 16 2012, 10:44 AM
yuhhaur
post Jul 16 2012, 10:44 AM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

Personally thinks that Deadly Reach+Keen Eye and Lashing Tail Kick+Sweeping Armada does a nice defensive job. Instead of killing elites I try not to get killed by elites tongue.gif

My current build:
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/calculator/monk...;dXU!ZZZcac
shinkawa
post Jul 16 2012, 10:46 AM

parttime otaku
855 posts

QUOTE(cyruz13 @ Jul 16 2012, 11:33 AM)
thunderclap is teleport wan. I micro teleport if got arcane, descretor and so on.
short range, got small radius but punch faster.

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jul 16 2012, 11:34 AM)
cyclone kill fast if you got a lot of mini thunder storm. 20% damage from each
I can fill up the map 10+ storm

How fast u ask? read the comment

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/5889229004

I 've been using this build since the patch. Shhhh, inb4 blizzard nerf

cyruz13
post Jul 16 2012, 10:49 AM

Look for the light
717 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Jul 16 2012, 10:41 AM)

I really like your build actually. If you also have problem in Act3, I guess Act3 and crit build is not for me.

Just want to ask, since your armor is low, have you try use "Evasion+20%armor"?

Thunderclap has low distance, just like WoTHF. I recommend you switch from Deadly Reach to Thunderclap+Evasion+20% armor. I hope to see you kill elite less than 20 seconds in Act2... it will give me reason to invest in Crit build. biggrin.gif
i all the while using MOE +20% amor.. laugh.gif ...
my previous LOH build w/o CC and CD .. can survive and take down elites in act 3.. but killing damn slow...
but i switch to CD and CC build... got problem to survive.. .. i guest cd and cc build is for super high dps monk... me average dps monk kenot.. doh.gif doh.gif

let me try thunderclap...hmm
choonwai11
post Jul 16 2012, 11:14 AM

329 posts

QUOTE(B@rt @ Jul 16 2012, 10:01 AM)
Wah 17k unbuff... i 22k unbuff also damn slow in killing elites.  My LoH is at 1k it doesn't help a lot vs elites but white mobs u can just run in and take em all without any worry.
yalo, that y i felt very very slow killing mobs, even the white mobs...... i tried use duel weild, can get up to 23k unbuff but die very fast......due to less 120 resist and 1200 armor from the shield. how i hope i have 100million that i can spend on a 1200++ damage weapon with good stat. tongue.gif
Wazzzap
post Jul 16 2012, 11:15 AM

506 posts

i suggest if you want to use thunderclap better use it with MoC + overawe.

you need to kill as fast as possible.

skills that im using

Mantra of Conviction + Overawe

Blinding + Faith in Light

Heal + Blazing

Serenity + Ascension

Sweeping Wind + Cyclone

FoT + Thunderclap

Passive
Resolve + OneWEverything + Seize

126 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top