141 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Travel Bangkok V3

jacob888
post Oct 13 2012, 07:11 PM

649 posts

fyi, chatuchak price is not as cheap as what they said.... I just came back like 2 hour ago.... but the stall numbers u can visit is mission impossible (I found the stall nearby platinum beside roadside is even cheaper than chatuchak around 50%) so don't expect u can get really cheap there...
mcdonalds sumurai pork burger really yum yum ~~~
siam paragon cineplex ticket is way too expensive~~ normal ticket for a movie is RM22 (so I pass), and it's same as KLCC or bigger than KLCC price also more expensive than KLCC
MBK worth to go, but pricing still can't compare to the road side stall nearby platinum mall.... btw, their food court can go try @ 6th floor, don't go 5th floor (international food avanue, way too expensive, but u can go 5th floor food avanue get a welcome drink -- thai tea ice, nice) (MBK can get free ticket if u get a MBK map with ur passport)
chinatown sharkfin and birdnext I don't think it's better than malaysia 1, I dunno I just don't feel like it....
big c food court also worth to go and try local food, price is cheap, sometime even cheaper than u buy around road side.... (definitely worth go buy and eat there)
I did walk from platinum mall to big C then siam paragon then MBK... haha mission possible
another thing, the coconut ice cream in floating market is way way better than chatucak 1, I don't know why ppl like the chatucak 1, maybe they never try in floating market 1.... (floating market must go 5 star)
nite time can go khao san road there got pasar malam ...

QUOTE(sugarbaby @ Oct 13 2012, 01:11 AM)
hi sifus,

can you pls comment on my draft itinerary below? I'm going there next week for 6D 5N. Thanks!

Arrival at BKK: 20 Oct 2012
Departure to KL: 25 Oct 2012

1st day
Arrival at Don Muang about 12pm+ > Taxi to hotel “Legacy Express Bangkok ”
Check in hotel
Bath, rest
Look for food nearby hotel (preferably Samurai Burger McD, corn pie)
After that, go to Erawan Shrine.
After some worship prayer at the shrine, explore some malls (window shop & take pics only) i.e. Gaysorn Plaza, Central World Plaza, Siam Paragon, MBK
(I read there are a lot of shops and stalls opposite MBK mall. Cross the pedestrian bridge right in front of MBK. Should I explore there?)
Look out for Mango Tango at Siam Square next to novotel (if got time)
Dinner at MBK food court (is it recommended if i want to try cheap local food?)
After dinner, walk to Platinum Mall just to check out the place first
** if there is a reasonably priced foot massage then will go for massage first
Rest & surf Internet & sleep zzzzzzzzzzz
+++++++++++++++++++++++

2nd Day
Morning: Breakfast at hotel
Shopping at Chatuchak market
Lunch at Chatuchak market
Continue shopping and walking till late afternoon or until legs cannot tahan
Rest a while, remember to lookout for famous coconut ice cream stall & Mango Tango at section 3 (if didnt eat on day 1)
Late afternoon: go to Terminal 21
Dinner at Terminal 21
After dinner, walk around the mall again, take photos
** Look for massage places, if any
Back to hotel & rest

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
3rd Day
Morning: Breakfast at hotel
Suggested places to visit for half day: Reclining Buddha (Wat Pho), Wat Arun, Grand Palace, Emerald Buddha Temple, National Museum
(can you recommend which place to go first follow by another – for smoother flow?)
Lunch: probably take lunch in between the visits - Recommendation please?
Dinner: T&K Seafood at Chinatown
Then, walk around China Town. Any nice places to walk around?
If time permits, look for foot massage
Back to hotel

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Day 4
Wake up VERY early in the morning: Breakfast at hotel
Day trip to Ayutthaya
Take MRT train to Bangkok Centre for Hua Lamphong Railway Station.  Train leaves from almost every hour and tickets can be purchase on the spot at the railway station.  Duration to the destination is 1 hour 45 minutes ride.  3rd class seats and that only cost 15 baht.
Search for bicycle rental or explore by foot. There are a couple of sites to visit:
 Wat Mahathat (buddha head in a tree - 50 baht admission fee )
 Wat Chaiwatthanaram
 Wat Ratchaburana (50 baht admission fee)
 Wat Phra Si Sanphet (50 baht admission fee)
 Wat Lokayasutha (reclining Buddha)
 Lunch at Ayutthaya
 Back to Bangkok in late afternoon
 Go to Platinum Mall for 1st round shopping
 Dinner at nearby areas (any recommendation for nice & reasonably priced local food? I'm also thinkin of MOS burger, hehe)
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Day 5
Breakfast at hotel
Go to Pratunam Market, Platinum Mall shopping
Lunch (any recommendation?)
Go to Big C supermarket buy snacks (can you tell me how to go to the nearest Big C?)
Rest of the afternoon + evening = free and easy (any recommendation where to go & explore BKK at night? I'm not into clubs, pubs, etc)

++++++++++++++++++++

Day 6
Breakfast at hotel
Explore BKK before check out at 12pm and cab to airport (any place that can recommend me go just few hours before noon?)

Added on October 13, 2012, 7:15 pmanother thing u can do is go baiyoke sky hotel try their international buffet at 76 & 78 floor at nite

This post has been edited by jacob888: Oct 13 2012, 07:15 PM
samlee860407
post Oct 13 2012, 10:09 PM

4,631 posts

after back from bangkok, seems that between chatuchak, platinum and MBK, it really depends which is better

for my group, 3 gals, all prefer platinum > chatuchak > MBK

it really depends coz most ppl go will have difference opinion on those 3
MilesAndMore
post Oct 13 2012, 10:45 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(sugarbaby @ Oct 13 2012, 04:17 PM)
Is Big C worth going? I read people buy lots of snacks there cos cheaper a bit than KL.
I was curious how their big supermarket looks like, that was the main reason I went there. I didn't check out the prices there. So I can't comment on that.

QUOTE(sugarbaby @ Oct 13 2012, 04:17 PM)
I want to go central world also. Looks nice there
Siam Paragon is nicer in my opinion. You should totally check out Gourmet Market and the Gourmet Market food stalls (all in the same floor). It's all on the ground level but depends on where you are coming in from, if you come in from the big entrance facing Sukhumvit Road, then it looks as if the Ground Floor is a Basement or Lower Ground Floor because you actually need to take an escalator down.

Gourmet Market at Siam Paragon is insane!!! Everything is so nicely organized and beautifully done. And what we have in KL don't even come close!!! So make sure you don't skip it. Gourmet Market is a high-end supermarket, and they sell cooked foods too like the hypermarket in Malaysia, except that the way they do it is different thumbup.gif

There is one Gourmet Market at CentralWorld too. This one is older and not quite as nice. So just go to the Siam Paragon one biggrin.gif

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Oct 13 2012, 07:02 PM)
oh yea....chit lom is not beside central world, i rmb i walk quite a distance to it, wonder why did i say that lolx

anyway, chit lom still nearer to central world, compare to siam station right?
Not really. It's in the middle. So the distance from either station is actually the same smile.gif

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Oct 13 2012, 07:02 PM)
PS: i just loved gourmet market, wonder why penang doesn't have something like this, or heck even KL sad.gif
I know right. Especially the one at Siam Paragon thumbup.gif

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Oct 13 2012, 10:09 PM)
after back from bangkok, seems that between chatuchak, platinum and MBK,  it really depends which is better

for my group, 3 gals, all prefer platinum > chatuchak > MBK

it really depends coz most ppl go will have difference opinion on those 3
Agreed. Everyone is different and some may find A is better while some find B is better.
cynnz
post Oct 13 2012, 11:05 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(jacob888 @ Oct 13 2012, 07:11 PM)
fyi, chatuchak price is not as cheap as what they said.... I just came back like 2 hour ago.... but the stall numbers u can visit is mission impossible (I found the stall nearby platinum beside roadside is even cheaper than chatuchak around 50%) so don't expect u can get really cheap there...
mcdonalds sumurai pork burger really yum yum ~~~
siam paragon cineplex ticket is way too expensive~~ normal ticket for a movie is RM22 (so I pass), and it's same as KLCC or bigger than KLCC price also more expensive than KLCC
MBK worth to go, but pricing still can't compare to the road side stall nearby platinum mall....  btw, their food court can go try @ 6th floor, don't go 5th floor (international food avanue, way too expensive, but u can go 5th floor food avanue get a welcome drink -- thai tea ice, nice) (MBK can get free ticket if u get a MBK map with ur passport)
chinatown sharkfin and birdnext I don't think it's better than malaysia 1, I dunno I just don't feel like it....
big c food court also worth to go and try local food, price is cheap, sometime even cheaper than u buy around road side.... (definitely worth go buy and eat there)
I did walk from platinum mall to big C then siam paragon then MBK... haha mission possible
another thing, the coconut ice cream in floating market is way way better than chatucak 1, I don't know why ppl like the chatucak 1, maybe they never try in floating market 1.... (floating market must go 5 star)
nite time can go khao san road there got pasar malam ...

Added on October 13, 2012, 7:15 pmanother thing u can do is go baiyoke sky hotel try their international buffet at 76 & 78 floor at nite
i personally think that some items in chatuchak are way cheaper than other places smile.gif maybe you didnt walk to whole chatuchak... first time (2 years back) when i went to chatuchak i feel like its waste of time, hot, packed, too big, nothing special..but during my trip last month to chatuchak, its way better..bought lots of nice clothes, accesories etc at super dirt cheap price biggrin.gif happy rclxms.gif and some quality is even better than platinum mall or pratunam market biggrin.gif
samlee860407
post Oct 14 2012, 12:09 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 13 2012, 10:45 PM)
I was curious how their big supermarket looks like, that was the main reason I went there. I didn't check out the prices there. So I can't comment on that.
Siam Paragon is nicer in my opinion. You should totally check out Gourmet Market and the Gourmet Market food stalls (all in the same floor). It's all on the ground level but depends on where you are coming in from, if you come in from the big entrance facing Sukhumvit Road, then it looks as if the Ground Floor is a Basement or Lower Ground Floor because you actually need to take an escalator down.

Gourmet Market at Siam Paragon is insane!!! Everything is so nicely organized and beautifully done. And what we have in KL don't even come close!!! So make sure you don't skip it. Gourmet Market is a high-end supermarket, and they sell cooked foods too like the hypermarket in Malaysia, except that the way they do it is different    thumbup.gif

There is one Gourmet Market at CentralWorld too. This one is older and not quite as nice. So just go to the Siam Paragon one   biggrin.gif
Not really. It's in the middle. So the distance from either station is actually the same   smile.gif
I know right. Especially the one at Siam Paragon   thumbup.gif
Agreed. Everyone is different and some may find A is better while some find B is better.
yeap yeap. i went to gourment market in siam paragon. supposedly we should be shopping upstairs, but i was WOW'ed when i saw it after trying to makan a bit at the food stalls there

walked in, and it was just amazing. even bought some steak go back hotel and cooked! biggrin.gif

seriously, i hope penang got something like this, but too bad even KL don't have these kinds of supermarket

PS: HK's supermarket seems better than gourmnet market in siam paragon, but really makes me wonder, why a country like thailand can have this , but back in malaysia... sigh

Added on October 14, 2012, 12:23 pmoh ya...to add on, bangkok is really much better than KL in many ways

1) almost all of us feel bangkok is a much safer place than KL. walking at midnight feel safe, unlike in malaysia, sometimes u just feel uneasy at certain place
2) they freaking respect the zebra crossing. cars will slow down when u walk on it
3) meter taxi are so much easier to find than in KL. of course there are still some that doesn't used meter, but at least it's not some insane price like RM20 from Pavillion to KLCC at 7am sunday morning when there is no jam. We do went to china town taking a 7 seater taxi, paying only THB300 for it where the ride is almost an hour due to the traffic
4) Bangkok traffic is bad, as bad as KL if not worse. But their MTR and BTS is really amazing, and their skywalk is really really good. it links few stations together so that one can walk far under the roof

however, i am kinda disappointed with their food. it's not that they taste bad, but it's just taste so-so. Most of the food is kinda forgetful, and only Somboon is a better one. The street food at chinatown is also just meh, since it's so repetitive. I enjoy street food in Danok so much more. Maybe at bangkok, some of them see that we are not the locals, they will reduce the spiciness level on it? because seriously i don't find any of the food there spicy, most of them is just moderate level for me lolx

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Oct 14 2012, 12:23 PM
edisonedw
post Oct 14 2012, 12:58 PM

1,307 posts

Bro , i still not understood wat is Soi11 / 4 / .. ?
cy97
post Oct 14 2012, 02:24 PM

1,140 posts

Yup I m still in Bangkok n just move from best western plus soi 20 to best western soi 13 sukhimvit. Both nice. So far the best meals is shabu shabu Japanese buffet at 6th floor MBK really cheap only 315++ b for 1 1/4 hour of non stop eating. Now there is an asiatic river front shopping bazaar replacing the previous Suam lum n located not to far for saphan taksim bts. N free shutter boat is provided to bring u there. And Nataya begs are just too cheap n u can go central to buy. Basically Bangkok to me is relax walk eat shop !

Added on October 14, 2012, 2:28 pm
QUOTE(edisonedw @ Oct 14 2012, 12:58 PM)
Bro , i still not understood wat is Soi11 / 4 / .. ?
Basically sukhimvit is main road like Jalan and soi is like lorong branching out from the main road. Try google map n u will understand

Added on October 14, 2012, 2:31 pmAlso check out the brand new terminal 21 located next to asok bts. It is very well design with tonnes of Japanese restaurant.

Added on October 14, 2012, 2:39 pmMy favorite snack is still the bento squid seafood snack from 7/11

This post has been edited by cy97: Oct 14 2012, 02:39 PM
cflim82
post Oct 14 2012, 11:16 PM

QUOTE(jacob888 @ Oct 12 2012, 09:46 PM)
wah, the ideal hotel is just too inside .... I stay in first house hotel now even the road hardly for 2 car to pass thru, then the ideal hotel is even hard for 1 car go in...
Thanks for the info smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif .... I stay in Citin Pratunam during my last trip and the road to is also very narrow.... Just book this hotel as wanna try it cos very close to platinum and the main road plus the review from the other travelers is quite good....
MilesAndMore
post Oct 14 2012, 11:48 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Oct 14 2012, 12:09 PM)
PS: HK's supermarket seems better than gourmnet market in siam paragon, but really makes me wonder, why a country like thailand can have this , but back in malaysia... sigh
Eh ? Hong Kong got similar supermarket ? I've been to Hong Kong many times but i never come across any Gourmet Market like supermarket in Hong Kong. Perhaps I wasn't at the right place. Where is it ? Wanna check it out next time biggrin.gif

oh ya...to add on, bangkok is really much better than KL in many ways

1) almost all of us feel bangkok is a much safer place than KL. walking at midnight feel safe, unlike in malaysia, sometimes u just feel uneasy at certain place
2) they freaking respect the zebra crossing. cars will slow down when u walk on it
3) meter taxi are so much easier to find than in KL. of course there are still some that doesn't used meter, but at least it's not some insane price like RM20 from Pavillion to KLCC at 7am sunday morning when there is no jam. We do went to china town taking a 7 seater taxi, paying only THB300 for it where the ride is almost an hour due to the traffic
4) Bangkok traffic is bad, as bad as KL if not worse. But their MTR and BTS is really amazing, and their skywalk is really really good. it links few stations together so that one can walk far under the roof
I totally agree with you!!! Taxi at KLCC is the worst. Now they provide this premium taxi service at the entrances and the additional fee charged is such a turn-off mad.gif

however, i am kinda disappointed with their food. it's not that they taste bad, but it's just taste so-so. Most of the food is kinda forgetful, and only Somboon is a better one. The street food at chinatown is also just meh, since it's so repetitive. I enjoy street food in Danok so much more. Maybe at bangkok, some of them see that we are not the locals, they will reduce the spiciness level on it? because seriously i don't find any of the food there spicy, most of them is just moderate level for me lolx
Bangkok was even more fun back in the 90s. Things were far cheaper than they are now and there were more street food stalls. People were a lot more polite back then too. Not saying that they are not polite now. Just that Bangkok people in the 90s were even friendlier and polite thumbup.gif

Dad brought the whole family to Bangkok twice in the late 90s and both trips were such memorable trips. Then I did not return to Bangkok until last year. Quite a lot of things have changed but Bangkok is still a shopping heaven and it is just such a wonderful city. That is why I already went there 3 times in the past one year. This city has character and it is so culturally rich rclxms.gif
jacob888
post Oct 14 2012, 11:59 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 14 2012, 11:48 PM)
Eh ? Hong Kong got similar supermarket ? I've been to Hong Kong many times but i never come across any Gourmet Market like supermarket in Hong Kong. Perhaps I wasn't at the right place. Where is it ? Wanna check it out next time  biggrin.gif
I totally agree with you!!! Taxi at KLCC is the worst. Now they provide this premium taxi service at the entrances and the additional fee charged is such a turn-off  mad.gif
Bangkok was even more fun back in the 90s. Things were far cheaper than they are now and there were more street food stalls. People were a lot more polite back then too. Not saying that they are not polite now. Just that Bangkok people in the 90s were even friendlier and polite  thumbup.gif

Dad brought the whole family to Bangkok twice in the late 90s and both trips were such memorable trips. Then I did not return to Bangkok until last year. Quite a lot of things have changed but Bangkok is still a shopping heaven and it is just such a wonderful city. That is why I already went there 3 times in the past one year. This city has character and it is so culturally rich  rclxms.gif
yaya, totally agree, bangkok people is way polite than malaysian..... also walking on street even small lorong also feel safer than malaysia
ShowtimeDope
post Oct 15 2012, 03:51 AM

Im going to bangkok on january, planning to stay at this hotel http://www.blistonresidence.com/ Seem have bigger space 72sqf. Now the airasia have change the airport to don mueng. Im planning to take taxi and call the guy drop me at BTS station and then i'll take BTS all the way to chit lom station. Or i jz sit the taxi to my hotel? Any suggestion? Is it worth for paying this hotel as we don't stay inside the hotel for whole day coz some of my frenz said not worth.

samlee860407
post Oct 15 2012, 07:39 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 14 2012, 11:48 PM)
Eh ? Hong Kong got similar supermarket ? I've been to Hong Kong many times but i never come across any Gourmet Market like supermarket in Hong Kong. Perhaps I wasn't at the right place. Where is it ? Wanna check it out next time  biggrin.gif

i only went to 1 before, which is times square at wanchai there. very very nais too. the size might be smaller, but imo there are selling more variety of upmarket stuff there biggrin.gif
Putraskyline
post Oct 15 2012, 09:01 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Oct 15 2012, 07:39 AM)
i only went to 1 before, which is times square at wanchai there. very very nais too. the size might be smaller, but imo there are selling more variety of upmarket stuff there biggrin.gif
Having many trips to BKK but never visit gourmet market there. Whats so special until here in KL don't have? hmm.gif
samlee860407
post Oct 15 2012, 10:18 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Oct 15 2012, 09:01 AM)
Having many trips to BKK but never visit gourmet market there. Whats so special until here in KL don't have? hmm.gif
many types of steak cuts, ranging from those RM10 per 100gm to those RM100+ per 100gm

many types of interesting frozen or cooked food, sausages and snacks...

in HK one even better, they got sell many different types of fish for sashimi (sea urichin also got), unagi, and even canned Foie gras lolx
Putraskyline
post Oct 15 2012, 10:59 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Oct 15 2012, 10:18 AM)
many types of steak cuts, ranging from those RM10 per 100gm to those RM100+ per 100gm

many types of interesting frozen or cooked food, sausages and snacks...

in HK one even better, they got sell many different types of fish for sashimi (sea urichin also got), unagi, and even canned Foie gras lolx
Owh....We have in KL, maybe you have missed it when your trip here tongue.gif We have Jason food hall in BSC and Ben's Independent Grocer in Publika. Both have quality food even chilled foie gras.
samlee860407
post Oct 15 2012, 11:08 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Oct 15 2012, 10:59 AM)
Owh....We have in KL, maybe you have missed it when your trip here tongue.gif We have Jason food hall in BSC and Ben's Independent Grocer in Publika. Both have quality food even chilled foie gras.
oh really? i never visit BSC and Pubika before haha. only those in KLCC, pavillion, mid valley and of course...those giant and tescos lolx

thanks for the info, next time i will go and see..hehe. too bad...penang....why u no have? sad.gif
Putraskyline
post Oct 15 2012, 11:14 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Oct 15 2012, 11:08 AM)
oh really? i never visit BSC and Pubika before haha. only those in KLCC, pavillion, mid valley and of course...those giant and tescos lolx

thanks for the info, next time i will go and see..hehe. too bad...penang....why u no have? sad.gif
My reply will be off topic, haha. Maybe out of 1000 Penangite, only 10 will have premium wagyu priced at RM100+/grams cooked at home tongue.gif
samlee860407
post Oct 15 2012, 11:17 AM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Oct 15 2012, 11:14 AM)
My reply will be off topic, haha. Maybe out of 1000 Penangite, only 10 will have premium wagyu priced at RM100+/grams cooked at home tongue.gif
haha...OT too...but i really wish malaysia can have more of those supermarket like in HK and Bangkok

if only HK got those, i still can accept because their standards of living is much much higher. but in bangkok? seriously something similar to KL/Penang can have, but not in penang?

ok la...RM100+/gram steak is too over to cooked at home, but at least sell those RM30 to RM50 one ma...at least give more choice lo hahah
MilesAndMore
post Oct 15 2012, 11:17 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Oct 15 2012, 10:59 AM)
QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Oct 15 2012, 11:08 AM)

No man. Gourmet Market @Siam Paragon is way better and fancier.

Putraskyline
post Oct 15 2012, 11:18 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 15 2012, 11:17 AM)
No man. Gourmet Market @Siam Paragon is way better and fancier.
Really? I will have a look later this year. biggrin.gif

141 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0312sec    1.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 12:45 AM