Travel Bangkok V3

mugenz
post Jul 16 2012, 01:27 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(adam_lss @ Jul 16 2012, 11:39 AM)
guys, need some update of good and affordable hotel in bangkok, preferably near BTS and near sukhumvit/platinum mall area for ease of shopping smile.gif
if sukhumvit = on8 hotel, BTS just outside of the hotel.

if pratunam = There is Tango vibrant living place, PR place & Baiyoke Sky.

RedSiglap56
post Jul 16 2012, 10:01 PM

42 posts

Don't know what "affordable" means to you, but I enjoyed staying at Grand Diamond Plaza suites Hotel which is just on the left of Platinum Mall. Then to the right of Platinum Mall (in fact linked to the Mall) is the new Novotel. For a much cheaper option, around 300 metres across the overhead bridge from Platinum Mall is the First House Hotel. I stayed there twice and it is a very decent place for around RM100/room night. Once you step out of First House, it is already the Pratunam street market!
cheefai7
post Jul 16 2012, 11:06 PM

making coffee constantly
609 posts

QUOTE(adam_lss @ Jul 16 2012, 11:39 AM)
guys, need some update of good and affordable hotel in bangkok, preferably near BTS and near sukhumvit/platinum mall area for ease of shopping smile.gif
Please defined affordable, I had stayed at Khao San at only RM35 per night with twin bed, the tradeoff is the distance to BTS and BED BUG!!!
justanothername
post Jul 17 2012, 02:22 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(cheefai7 @ Jul 16 2012, 11:06 PM)
Please defined affordable, I had stayed at Khao San at only RM35 per night with twin bed, the tradeoff is the distance to BTS and BED BUG!!!
there are alot of better places with similar prices near BTS stations
Zeten
post Jul 17 2012, 10:07 AM

46 posts

i went back to Bangkok for the third time and i stayed in - Budacco The Living Place‏. Its walking distance to Platinum mall.
justanothername
post Jul 17 2012, 04:40 PM

128 posts

Currently the best exchange rate I've seen is 10.12 at Best Rate, Sungai Wang. I saw one with 10.10 but they ran out of THB. Has anyone seen any better rate?
funnybone
post Jul 17 2012, 04:43 PM

1,040 posts

I got screwed by the gem scam before in BKK cry.gif
justanothername
post Jul 17 2012, 04:46 PM

128 posts

The tuk-tuk guy took you to the place?
mugenz
post Jul 17 2012, 10:47 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

I can say its unavoidable if u take tuk tuk. Unless its nearby. If long way sure detour to collect petrol vouchers or money hahhaa
Celestee
post Jul 17 2012, 10:53 PM

QUOTE(justanothername @ Jul 17 2012, 04:40 PM)
Currently the best exchange rate I've seen is 10.12 at Best Rate, Sungai Wang. I saw one with 10.10 but they ran out of THB. Has anyone seen any better rate?
Hi was wondering if the said rate is for RM1= Baht 10.12 or RM10.12 = baht 100 ?
I got mine in BKK for Rm1 = baht 9.92

Added on July 17, 2012, 11:02 pm
QUOTE(funnybone @ Jul 17 2012, 04:43 PM)
I got screwed by the gem scam before in BKK cry.gif
Were you going to MBK? I encountered the same. Tuktuk offered 20baht to go MBK, so friendly and all then half way he stopped at roadside and begged me to go to the gem store coz he will have petrol/voucher given, begging me to 'help' him. I read so much of the gem store scam online so I stood firmly I said no a thousand times and ignored him. Then he started scolding in Thai and threw us out. Almost every cab we flagged had eyes lit up when I said MBK (all wanted to make that stupid gem store stop). In the end I offered a cab 100baht and made him promise no stupid stop.

Do share your story with us!

This post has been edited by Celestee: Jul 17 2012, 11:02 PM
justanothername
post Jul 17 2012, 11:09 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Celestee @ Jul 17 2012, 10:53 PM)
Hi was wondering if the said rate is for RM1= Baht 10.12 or RM10.12 = baht 100 ?
I got mine in BKK for Rm1 = baht 9.92

Added on July 17, 2012, 11:02 pm

Were you going to MBK? I encountered the same. Tuktuk offered 20baht to go MBK, so friendly and all then half way he stopped at roadside and begged me to go to the gem store coz he will have petrol/voucher given, begging me to 'help' him. I read so much of the gem store scam online so I stood firmly I said no a thousand times and ignored him. Then he started scolding in Thai and threw us out. Almost every cab we flagged had eyes lit up when I said MBK (all wanted to make that stupid gem store stop). In the end I offered a cab 100baht and made him promise no stupid stop.

Do share your story with us!
RM10.12 =THB100

it's probably the similar rate you got in BKK
sallywei
post Jul 18 2012, 10:33 AM

Hi,i will go to bangkok on next year~ hv to start do some research and planning everything...any nice place must go to visit? this is my 1st time travel to bangkok...i heard my fren said that there ppl treat u unfriendly if u dont know thai language..izzit? they dont know english so how to communicate with them? must follow tour cant walk myself? thanks~

This post has been edited by sallywei: Jul 18 2012, 10:35 AM
Jet23sky
post Jul 18 2012, 12:07 PM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

I'm wondering what is everyone budget for Thailand? RM4000? Mind sharing? As I need to start saving for my next trip. laugh.gif
kons
post Jul 18 2012, 12:12 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(sallywei @ Jul 18 2012, 10:33 AM)
Hi,i will go to bangkok on next year~ hv to start do some research and planning everything...any nice place must go to visit? this is my 1st time travel to bangkok...i heard my fren said that there ppl treat u unfriendly if u dont know thai language..izzit? they dont know english so how to communicate with them? must follow tour cant walk myself? thanks~
They should know some English, they too study English in school.
With BTS/Subway and their ultra cheap taxi, getting around Bangkok is never a problem, most important is that you know where you want to go.

samlee860407
post Jul 18 2012, 01:28 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jul 18 2012, 12:07 PM)
I'm wondering what is everyone budget for Thailand? RM4000? Mind sharing? As I need to start saving for my next trip.  laugh.gif
i already paid for my room and flight tix for my trip coming soon

flight tix cost me RM1676 (2 person)
room cost me RM1274.3 ( 5 nights )

most likely will spend RM3k there include food, drinks, tour and some shopping

mugenz
post Jul 18 2012, 01:31 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Jul 18 2012, 01:28 PM)
i already paid for my room and flight tix for my trip coming soon

flight tix cost me RM1676 (2 person)
room cost me RM1274.3 ( 5 nights )

most likely will spend RM3k there include food, drinks, tour and some shopping
wahhhh.. ah Sam kor.. thats really alot for BKK!

samlee860407
post Jul 18 2012, 01:32 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Jul 18 2012, 01:31 PM)
wahhhh.. ah Sam kor.. thats really alot for BKK!
for 2 person ma lol

Sky.Live
post Jul 18 2012, 01:37 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

Just came back from bangkok.. the biggest problem i found..
why their food no spicy...
Celestee
post Jul 18 2012, 01:46 PM

QUOTE(sallywei @ Jul 18 2012, 10:33 AM)
Thai people are very friendly/smiley and most of them at least know some basic english. Minority who don't will use calculator to show you price. As for going around it shouldn't be a problem too, just print a BTS/MRT map. The officers at the BTS/MRT can speak english well. I think most importantly perhaps do a lot of research before going? E.g find out which station to stop, what time the place opens/closes. And buy a data plan. GPS helps alot! Also, I get asked a lot if this is my first in BKK, normally I tell them I've been here many times (though it's my first), just in case they have bad intentions.

Added on July 18, 2012, 1:53 pm
QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jul 18 2012, 12:07 PM)
I'm wondering what is everyone budget for Thailand? RM4000? Mind sharing? As I need to start saving for my next trip.  laugh.gif
I brought RM1.5k for purely shopping/eating and got two full luggages back. Bf brought RM500 tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Celestee: Jul 18 2012, 01:53 PM
samlee860407
post Jul 18 2012, 01:56 PM

4,631 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jul 18 2012, 01:37 PM)
Just came back from bangkok.. the biggest problem i found..
why their food no spicy...
oh noes...why? but sedap?

Added on July 18, 2012, 1:59 pmany sifus can see see my itinerary? biggrin.gif

6 days 5 nights.

Day 1:

9.00AM - Arrived at Bangkok airport
11.00AM - Arrived and checked in at hotel (also search for tour)
2.00PM - Chatucak market ( i arrived on sunday...so well, this is the only day i can go)
7.30PM - Dinner
9.00PM - Baiyoke Observation Tower & The Roof Top Bar & Music on 83rd floor
10.00PM - Back to hotel

Day 2

6.30AM - Head to Damnoen Saduak Floating Market, Maeklong Railway Market, grand palace
and temples.
6.00PM - Back to Hotel
8.00PM - Sukhumvit Soi 11/ Patpong Night Market (mayb Thai girl show here? But seems a lot
of scam)

Day 3

11.00AM - Boat Noodles @ Victory Monument
12.30PM - Rangnam
6.30PM - Watch Muay Thai at Lumpini Stadium (known in Thai as Sanam Muay Lumpini)
9.00PM - Find some bar and chill before back to hotel

Day 4

10.30AM - Shopping at Siam Paragon
1.30PM - Shopping at MBK center
7.30PM - Dinner at Somboon

Day 5

10.30AM - Shopping at Terminal21.
4.30PM - Yaowarat (Bangkok Chinatown)

Day 6

Simple shopping then back

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Jul 18 2012, 02:00 PM

141 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top