128 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Travel Travel To Japan V2, Info on pg1

domo_kun
post Jul 30 2012, 01:39 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

i'm gonna be in Tokyo next year mid of February for about 6 days. tentatively, these are the places i've got in mind:

1) Disneyland / Disneysea
2) Akihabara
3) Mt Fuji (one day tour)
4) Tokyo Sky Tree
5) Yoyogi Park
6) Meiji Shrine
7) Tsukiji Fish Market
8) Tokyo Mid Town
9) Roppongi Hills

any other must-go places? we'll only be in Tokyo throughout the days. other than Mt Fuji, which we intend to join a day tour, instead any suggestion on this?

if i'm to look for Gundam toys, where else would be better than Akihabara? is there a place for Snoopy, too? and One Piece? or probably i'm able to look for all these in Akihabara itself?

we'll be staying in ryokan, most probably, in Tokyo. any other suggestion asides from Tokyo Heritage Hotel, Sawanoya Ryokan, Shinokubo Sekitei, and Kimi Ryokan?

anyone has any experience sleeping/camping at the Haneda airport?

thanks a lot for the time! icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by domo_kun: Jul 30 2012, 01:45 PM
sayangness
post Jul 30 2012, 01:41 PM

26 posts

infos on reld lights!!hihi
RegentCid
post Jul 30 2012, 05:02 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

Look like i miss quite some fun over here.
afiqasbar
post Jul 30 2012, 09:30 PM

53 posts

sifus,the real size gundam and thousand sunny still have at odaiba? easy to find the place? afraid getting lost..haha
RegentCid
post Jul 30 2012, 11:15 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(afiqasbar @ Jul 30 2012, 08:30 PM)
sifus,the real size gundam and thousand sunny still have at odaiba? easy to find the place? afraid getting lost..haha
Yes smile.gif
afiqasbar
post Jul 31 2012, 01:01 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 30 2012, 11:15 PM)
Yes  smile.gif
nice! thnks! btw,can i just use credit card there? or i need to go to the bank and ask them to setting for japan travel? coz my mom ordered a lot of things and she give her credit card to use.. sweat.gif
tsubasa89
post Jul 31 2012, 10:00 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Jul 30 2012, 12:47 PM)
the same management operates another hostel nearby too : http://www.ikoi-no-ie.com/

stayed there last month n quite like it, good for those who wan to experience the traditional jap style tatami room.

anyway for me thats not quite budget... Kyoto Tower Hotel which is right infront of Kyoto Station cost me less, n it come with free entry to Kyoto Tower  biggrin.gif
how much is kyoto tower hotel?
well to be fair, i was talking reasonable budget for 2 person because of the room they offered was kindda huge compared to the usual 2 person room tongue.gif

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Jul 30 2012, 01:39 PM)
i'm gonna be in Tokyo next year mid of February for about 6 days. tentatively, these are the places i've got in mind:

2) Akihabara
4) Tokyo Sky Tree
5) Yoyogi Park
6) Meiji Shrine
7) Tsukiji Fish Market
8) Tokyo Mid Town
9) Roppongi Hills

any other must-go places? we'll only be in Tokyo throughout the days. other than Mt Fuji, which we intend to join a day tour, instead any suggestion on this?

if i'm to look for Gundam toys, where else would be better than Akihabara? is there a place for Snoopy, too? and One Piece? or probably i'm able to look for all these in Akihabara itself?

we'll be staying in ryokan, most probably, in Tokyo. any other suggestion asides from Tokyo Heritage Hotel, Sawanoya Ryokan, Shinokubo Sekitei, and Kimi Ryokan?

thanks a lot for the time!  icon_rolleyes.gif
where do you plan to go for the fuji view? hakone's abit risky i would say, during the day i was there the weather was cloudy so i cant see it during the day i was there.
About skytree, you'll need to book your entrance ticket ealier, i didnt manage to go in because the ticket was sold out for the whole week i was there!
matt85
post Jul 31 2012, 12:50 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Jul 30 2012, 02:39 PM)

2) Akihabara
4) Tokyo Sky Tree
5) Yoyogi Park
6) Meiji Shrine
7) Tsukiji Fish Market
8) Tokyo Mid Town
9) Roppongi Hills

Be warned if you plan to stay in Sawanoya Ryokan; it's almost 40 minutes walk from JR Ueno station. Nothing against Sawa-san though, they provide excellent hospitality.
cfc-free
post Jul 31 2012, 01:14 PM

157 posts

i got the following quote, is it reasonable?

Day 01

Arrival Kansai Airport, Osaka. Meet by local tour guide and transfer to down town hotel for free time. Nearby hotel have a lot shops and restaurants.

Day 02 (B /-/D)

After breakfast at hotel,drive to Universal Studio for whole day.

Day 03 Osaka Aquarium/Osaka Castle/Shinsaibashi Shopping Mall (B/L/D)

Breakfast at hotel, drive to Osaka castle have a good look,one of the three famous castle in Japan. Then to one of the biggest Aquarium in the world. Late evening to Shinsaibashi shopping mall for shoppin, one of the two famous mall in Osaka, the other one is Sanban Street Uemeda area.Dinner at local restaurant.

Day 04 Kyoto/Osaka (B/L/D)

Take breakfast at hotel, drive to Kyoto city for sightseeing-K iyomizu Temple, one of the famous wooden constructed temple at the mountain side, you can see the whole view of Kyoto city, then to Heian Shrine ,have a good look of Japanese textile, traditional kimono show at Nishijin Textile Kaikan Hall. Afterward to Gion Street for more understanding about the old time of Kyoto, the Heian dynasty construction building. T hen back to Osaka for dinner and hotel for rest.

Day 05 Kobe/Nara/Osaka (B/L/D)

After breakfast at hotel, drive to Nara city to view the beautiful and great Buddha-the bronze solid metal statue, which over 500 tons weight and good fun with the holy deer at the deer park as well. After lunch drive to Kobe city have a good look of Japan China Town, Waterfront town at Harbourland shopping mall. Dinner at local restaurant. Back to hotel Osaka for rest.

Day 06 Kansai/Kul ( B/-/- )

Breakfast at hotel, free time at hotel or shopping nearby hotel and transfer to Kansai Airport, have a pleasant flight back home.

Accommodation:B est Western Joyful Hotel Osaka or Similar

Fare( based on twin sharing):

Adult: RM3380
Shazzac
post Jul 31 2012, 01:26 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(cfc-free @ Jul 31 2012, 01:14 PM)
i got the following quote, is it reasonable?

Day 01

Arrival Kansai Airport, Osaka. Meet by local tour guide and transfer to down town hotel for free time. Nearby hotel have a lot shops and restaurants.

Day 02                                  (B /-/D)

After breakfast at hotel,drive to Universal Studio for whole day.

Day 03  Osaka Aquarium/Osaka Castle/Shinsaibashi Shopping Mall  (B/L/D)

Breakfast at hotel, drive to Osaka castle have a good look,one of the three famous castle in Japan. Then to one of the biggest Aquarium in the world. Late evening to Shinsaibashi shopping mall for shoppin, one of the two famous mall in Osaka, the other one is Sanban Street Uemeda area.Dinner at local restaurant.

Day 04  Kyoto/Osaka                                        (B/L/D)

Take breakfast at hotel, drive to Kyoto city for sightseeing-K iyomizu Temple, one of the famous wooden constructed temple at the mountain side, you can see the whole view of Kyoto city, then to Heian Shrine ,have a good look of Japanese textile, traditional kimono show at Nishijin Textile Kaikan Hall. Afterward to Gion Street for more understanding about the old time of Kyoto, the Heian dynasty construction building. T hen back to Osaka for dinner and hotel for rest.

Day 05  Kobe/Nara/Osaka                                  (B/L/D)

After breakfast at hotel, drive to Nara city to view the beautiful and great Buddha-the bronze solid metal statue, which over 500 tons weight and good fun with the holy deer at the deer park as well. After lunch drive to Kobe city have a good look of Japan China Town, Waterfront town at Harbourland shopping mall. Dinner at local restaurant. Back to hotel Osaka for rest.

Day 06    Kansai/Kul                                        ( B/-/- )

Breakfast at hotel, free time at hotel or shopping nearby hotel and transfer to Kansai Airport, have a pleasant flight back home.

Accommodation:B est Western Joyful Hotel Osaka or Similar

Fare( based on twin sharing):

Adult: RM3380
Incl. Air tickets and all attractions entry fees (if there is any)?

If yes, quite cheap. But it could be cheaper with free and easy and if you are willing to do research as train tickets wouldn't be expensive since you will be in kansai region itself.
cfc-free
post Jul 31 2012, 02:16 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Jul 31 2012, 01:26 PM)
Incl. Air tickets and all attractions entry fees (if there is any)?

If yes, quite cheap. But it could be cheaper with free and easy and if you are willing to do research as train tickets wouldn't be expensive since you will be in kansai region itself.
excluding air tickets. i already bought tickets myself at RM860 per person. The quote includes the entry fees. kinda scared to be free and easy cuz only got 5 days and i dont speak the language...
Shazzac
post Jul 31 2012, 03:00 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(cfc-free @ Jul 31 2012, 02:16 PM)
excluding air tickets. i already bought tickets myself at RM860 per person. The quote includes the entry fees. kinda scared to be free and easy cuz only got 5 days and i dont speak the language...
OIC, then the package is quite expensive.

There's nothing to be afraid of.

I'm a solo female traveller to many countries which don't speak the languages that I know, like Japan, South Korea, Thailand, Spain, Portugal, France, Italy & etc. Nothing to be afraid of. Just go with the flow.

Tour agents usually always bring you to touristy places, bring you shop at touristy places (which is very expensive), bring you to eat at touristy restaurants (which aren't authentic at all most of the time)..... but this is just what my thoughts are!
domo_kun
post Jul 31 2012, 04:54 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Jul 31 2012, 03:00 PM)
OIC, then the package is quite expensive.

There's nothing to be afraid of.

I'm a solo female traveller to many countries which don't speak the languages that I know, like Japan, South Korea, Thailand, Spain, Portugal, France, Italy & etc. Nothing to be afraid of. Just go with the flow.

Tour agents usually always bring you to touristy places, bring you shop at touristy places (which is very expensive), bring you to eat at touristy restaurants (which aren't authentic at all most of the time)..... but this is just what my thoughts are!
so, how it went out for you Japan, then? Tokyo? biggrin.gif
Shazzac
post Jul 31 2012, 05:09 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Jul 31 2012, 04:54 PM)
so, how it went out for you Japan, then? Tokyo? biggrin.gif
Of course my trips to Japan were good. I'm going to Osaka in Oct.

Went to Tokyo twice.
Chrisky
post Jul 31 2012, 05:52 PM

Romanista
4,567 posts

QUOTE(tsubasa89 @ Jul 31 2012, 10:00 AM)
how much is kyoto tower hotel?
well to be fair, i was talking reasonable budget for 2 person because of the room they offered was kindda huge compared to the usual 2 person room tongue.gif
13k for 2 nights, semi double room which is actually quite ok n more spacious than i expected. factor in the 2 kyoto tower ticket that worth 700 each n its location, its quite a good deal.
Chrisky
post Jul 31 2012, 06:00 PM

Romanista
4,567 posts

QUOTE(cfc-free @ Jul 31 2012, 02:16 PM)
doesnt look good to me coz sounds like u gonna miss out quite a number of interesting places, i would say juz go free n easy by urself.

i cant speak any japanese but never hav prob going round, its easy especially if u know chinese. get a guidebook n ur all set haha.
domo_kun
post Jul 31 2012, 07:47 PM

domo_kun
2,690 posts

QUOTE(matt85 @ Jul 31 2012, 12:50 PM)
Be warned if you plan to stay in Sawanoya Ryokan; it's almost 40 minutes walk from JR Ueno station. Nothing against Sawa-san though, they provide excellent hospitality.
it's 7 minutes away from Nezu Station, why would you wanna walk 40 minutes to Ueno Station, instead? how's the Ryokan? it's one of my shortlisted place to stay in Tokyo, though... and it's ranked #1 in Trip Advisor, wow...

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Jul 31 2012, 05:09 PM)
Of course my trips to Japan were good. I'm going to Osaka in Oct.

Went to Tokyo twice.
can share some of your experiences in Tokyo? hehehe... laugh.gif

by the way, anyone camp at Haneda Airport before? staying overnight, i mean...

This post has been edited by domo_kun: Jul 31 2012, 07:47 PM
Flo_2010
post Jul 31 2012, 08:29 PM

156 posts

May I ask where to find green tea kit kat in Tokyo?? This is urgent.
mmyy
post Jul 31 2012, 08:49 PM

@Flo_2010: You can get them at Haneda airport.

QUOTE(domo_kun @ Jul 30 2012, 01:39 PM)

One thing I can say about One Piece, they are EVERYWHERE. Every freakin place on every freakin thing. Nothing against that, I even bought some OP souvenirs haha. Gundam can also be found in Toys R Us there. Snoopy, not sure but you can try Kiddy Land at Harajuku.

I stayed overnight at Haneda, it's okay quite a number of people do that too. The seats are pretty comfy actually, and it's quiet. There are some patrol guards walking around, quite safe. I don't think they have incoming passengers after midnight. It'll start to get a bit busy after 4am, since the first train is around 5.

Flo_2010
post Jul 31 2012, 08:56 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(mmyy @ Jul 31 2012, 08:49 PM)
@Flo_2010: You can get them at Haneda airport.
How about Narita airport? Any specific store that I should lookout if its Haneda/Narita? Bcoz I'm trying not to make my friend purposely go to Haneda just for it.
What time shop close?

This post has been edited by Flo_2010: Jul 31 2012, 09:01 PM

128 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:50 PM