Travel Travel To Japan V2, Info on pg1

mamasos
post Jun 6 2013, 09:01 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(lowyatter @ Jun 6 2013, 07:57 AM)
Your flight ticket will be the biggest determinator. And what determines your flight ticket is when you are travelling.

Fly in winter for the cheapest tickets (Also you'll get to see snow)

This was the budget I set for my winter trip to Kyoto with my wife, and we managed to stay within it. Bear in mind that when we did this trip the yen was at 27 to the ringgit, now it's 33

1.) Airfare:

- KL (LCCT) to Kansai International Airport (KIX) return
- reserved Seats (not Hot Seats)
- 25kg luggage allowance going, 50kg coming back
- travel insurance
- no meals (we'll smuggle in some KFC or McDonalds)
- all taxes included

RM1,518.00 for the 2 of us (RM759.00 per person)
2.) Accomodation:

- 4 nights in Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa (RM200 a night, booked via Hotelclub.com, accessible only with Citibank PremierMiles Visa. Agoda.com and Hotels.com give similar, but slightly more expensive prices)
- 1 night in Nara Komachi Guesthouse (RM265) via Agoda.com
- 2 nights in Osaka Chisun Hotel Shinsaibashi (RM175 a night) via Agoda.com
- 1 night in Mt. Koya Shojoshinin (RM900 a night for 2 people. This one is expensive, but you could safely cut it out of your itinerary if you're on a budget. The price does include dinner and breakfast though)

RM2,496.00 for 8 nights. You could reduce this to approx RM1,800.00 if you spend an extra day in Kyoto / Osaka instead of going to Mt. Koya.

3.) Food

- A typical meal in a cheap restaurant will cost 600-1000 JPY per person (RM24 - RM40). We are budgeting RM80 per person per day, so that ends up at:

RM1,440.00 for 2 persons for 9 days.

4.) Travel

- Train from KIX to Kyoto with JR West Kansai Pass 2000JPY (RM80) per person
- Kyoto Bus Pass 500JPY (RM20) per person per day
- Train from Kyoto to Nara on JR, 690JPY (RM28) per person
- Train from Nara to Osaka, 540JPY (RM22) per person
- Osaka One Day Pass 800JPY (RM32) per person per day
- Mt. Koya Heritage pass, 2780JPY (RM111) per person
- Train from Osaka to KIX, 890JPY (RM36) per person

RM802.00 for all travel expenses.

5.) Grand Total:
Airfare : 1518
Accomodation : 2496
Food : 1440
Travel : 802
Total : RM6,256.00
6k for 2 pax is really cheap, well done. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by mamasos: Jun 6 2013, 09:02 AM
post Jun 6 2013, 12:34 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(lowyatter @ Jun 6 2013, 07:57 AM)
Your flight ticket will be the biggest determinator. And what determines your flight ticket is when you are travelling.

Fly in winter for the cheapest tickets (Also you'll get to see snow)

This was the budget I set for my winter trip to Kyoto with my wife, and we managed to stay within it. Bear in mind that when we did this trip the yen was at 27 to the ringgit, now it's 33

1.) Airfare:

- KL (LCCT) to Kansai International Airport (KIX) return
- reserved Seats (not Hot Seats)
- 25kg luggage allowance going, 50kg coming back
- travel insurance
- no meals (we'll smuggle in some KFC or McDonalds)
- all taxes included

RM1,518.00 for the 2 of us (RM759.00 per person)
2.) Accomodation:

- 4 nights in Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa (RM200 a night, booked via Hotelclub.com, accessible only with Citibank PremierMiles Visa. Agoda.com and Hotels.com give similar, but slightly more expensive prices)
- 1 night in Nara Komachi Guesthouse (RM265) via Agoda.com
- 2 nights in Osaka Chisun Hotel Shinsaibashi (RM175 a night) via Agoda.com
- 1 night in Mt. Koya Shojoshinin (RM900 a night for 2 people. This one is expensive, but you could safely cut it out of your itinerary if you're on a budget. The price does include dinner and breakfast though)

RM2,496.00 for 8 nights. You could reduce this to approx RM1,800.00 if you spend an extra day in Kyoto / Osaka instead of going to Mt. Koya.

3.) Food

- A typical meal in a cheap restaurant will cost 600-1000 JPY per person (RM24 - RM40). We are budgeting RM80 per person per day, so that ends up at:

RM1,440.00 for 2 persons for 9 days.

4.) Travel

- Train from KIX to Kyoto with JR West Kansai Pass 2000JPY (RM80) per person
- Kyoto Bus Pass 500JPY (RM20) per person per day
- Train from Kyoto to Nara on JR, 690JPY (RM28) per person
- Train from Nara to Osaka, 540JPY (RM22) per person
- Osaka One Day Pass 800JPY (RM32) per person per day
- Mt. Koya Heritage pass, 2780JPY (RM111) per person
- Train from Osaka to KIX, 890JPY (RM36) per person

RM802.00 for all travel expenses.

5.) Grand Total:
Airfare : 1518
Accomodation : 2496
Food : 1440
Travel : 802
Total : RM6,256.00
Wao .. That's only 1 week ... O_O .. Looks like i have to delay then ..

Human Nature
post Jun 6 2013, 12:37 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jun 6 2013, 08:40 AM)
Don't be stupid to go Hakone at December.
Winter time will be very cloundy and fog are very Fxxx thick.  No way you can see Mt Fuji at Hakone.
But doing outdoor onsen would be fun! brows.gif
mat sputnik
post Jun 6 2013, 12:40 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(0172584519 @ Jun 6 2013, 12:34 PM)
Now got 2-for-1 sale with AirAsiaX -- can get RM1232 for 2 ppl KUL/HND.

Btw, last year Dec, we visited Kawaguchiko to see Mt Fuji -- see at 9:15 in this vid: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R1rHmrcp_5U

This post has been edited by mat sputnik: Jun 6 2013, 12:47 PM
Acevalentine
post Jun 6 2013, 01:11 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(azkoleq @ Jun 6 2013, 05:30 AM)
1. My trip last april by Airasia x cost me RM820 all inclusive with luggage 15kg & 20kg and 4 meals. Booked last year may.

2. Yes, because when I apply for visa. They ask for flight itenerary. Also, visa only valid for 3 month. So, you only apply near to departure date.
Thanks, RM 820 for two way? So cheap... And one more question, last time i tried to buy airasia x through internet but i cant find it. Do you know how to buy?
Acevalentine
post Jun 6 2013, 01:12 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(azkoleq @ Jun 6 2013, 05:30 AM)
1. My trip last april by Airasia x cost me RM820 all inclusive with luggage 15kg & 20kg and 4 meals. Booked last year may.

2. Yes, because when I apply for visa. They ask for flight itenerary. Also, visa only valid for 3 month. So, you only apply near to departure date.
Thanks, RM 820 for two way? So cheap... And one more question, last time i tried to buy airasia x through internet but i cant find it. Do you know how to buy?
Kiki-Lala
post Jun 6 2013, 01:15 PM

330 posts

Managed to grab tix to Osaka for average RM790.50 per person for Buy 1 Free 1 for next year March. Not a bad deal tho.
lowyatter
post Jun 6 2013, 01:27 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(0172584519 @ Jun 6 2013, 12:34 PM)
Actually 8N9D, quite long.
Jv8888
post Jun 6 2013, 03:09 PM

82 posts

Hi, im going to Japan around end of Dec. Can anyone advise me what to wear and where to shop for the winterwear?
menmissed
post Jun 6 2013, 03:29 PM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(mat sputnik @ Jun 6 2013, 12:40 PM)
Now got 2-for-1 sale with AirAsiaX -- can get RM1232 for 2 ppl KUL/HND.

Btw, last year Dec, we visited Kawaguchiko to see Mt Fuji -- see at 9:15 in this vid: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R1rHmrcp_5U
QUOTE(Acevalentine @ Jun 6 2013, 01:11 PM)
QUOTE(Kiki-Lala @ Jun 6 2013, 01:15 PM)
Managed to grab tix to Osaka for average RM790.50 per person for Buy 1 Free 1 for next year March. Not a bad deal tho.
Last year i manage to grab promo price, it's about 660 for 2 ways per pax.
estcin
post Jun 6 2013, 03:41 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(Jv8888 @ Jun 6 2013, 03:09 PM)
Hi, im going to Japan around end of Dec. Can anyone advise me what to wear and where to shop for the winterwear?
Winter clothing from head to toe - winter jacket, long john, beanie, scarf, gloves, muffler, face mask, thick socks, appropriates shoes (boots) to avoid slippery. Can buy from Universal Traveller, Uniqlo, etc
Jv8888
post Jun 6 2013, 03:42 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(estcin @ Jun 6 2013, 03:41 PM)
Winter clothing from head to toe - winter jacket, long john, beanie, scarf, gloves, muffler, face mask, thick socks, appropriates shoes (boots) to avoid slippery. Can buy from Universal Traveller, Uniqlo, etc
Wah... need to spend a lot of $$$ TT
estcin
post Jun 6 2013, 05:09 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(Jv8888 @ Jun 6 2013, 03:42 PM)
Wah... need to spend a lot of $$$ TT
No choice. Unless u wanna be freezed to death during winter
Jv8888
post Jun 6 2013, 05:45 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(estcin @ Jun 6 2013, 05:09 PM)
No choice. Unless u wanna be freezed to death during winter
How much money to change will be enough? Accomodation, food will be sponsor by company.
Oblivionz
post Jun 6 2013, 06:16 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(Kiki-Lala @ Jun 6 2013, 01:15 PM)
from what date until what date?

I want to go during the sakura season, but the price are all expensive around mid of march till beginning of April
Kiki-Lala
post Jun 6 2013, 06:21 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(Oblivionz @ Jun 6 2013, 06:16 PM)
from what date until what date?

I want to go during the sakura season, but the price are all expensive around mid of march till beginning of April
I will go from 14th Mar till 22nd March.
Oblivionz
post Jun 6 2013, 06:23 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(Kiki-Lala @ Jun 6 2013, 06:21 PM)
I will go from 14th Mar till 22nd March.
RM790 return flight?
Kiki-Lala
post Jun 6 2013, 06:33 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(Oblivionz @ Jun 6 2013, 06:23 PM)
RM790 return flight?
Yeah. This morning managed to book for 4 person at the same price as mine before the ticket went up RM80 per person.
blacktubi
post Jun 6 2013, 08:41 PM

-
8,405 posts

Since Air Asia is doing promo now, I am planning to reach Tokyo and depart back from Osaka.

Is this a good idea? Going to travel about 10 days
menmissed
post Jun 6 2013, 09:13 PM

-- ® --
1,340 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jun 6 2013, 08:41 PM)
Since Air Asia is doing promo now, I am planning to reach Tokyo and depart back from Osaka.

Is this a good idea? Going to travel about 10 days
yup, thats the way. you can save a lot.

128 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 126 > » Top

0.0335sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:44 PM