Blizzard admits the lack of long term endgame, Prepare for a depressing read

tytons
post Jul 8 2012, 10:23 AM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jul 5 2012, 03:44 AM)
And at the same time, i should probably be praying everyday, hoping that GW2 will not be a big pile of poo like Diablo 3 or Mass Effect 3, to a certain extent.

Why is everyone thinks that GW2 will be the game that will awesome in every way and suppress the disappointment with Diablo 3?I actually think that GW2 is incredibly overhype to the point that the same mass "disappointments" that happened with Diablo 3 will happen again.

No doubt GW2 looks great at the moment and the Dynamic Event sounds really interesting, but i think it might be a good idea not to overhype another game then become very disappointed with the game after release.

At the same time, i really hope GW2 will prove me wrong that it is really a good, fun game, as almost all the games i bought this year are fairly terrible games.
off topic..but from exp...ull have the same complains in d3 when GW2 is out, GW has a strong pvp fan base..and when u have pvp and pve...theres 1000% bound to have nerfs happening..this is unavoidable in any mmo, if u started GW beta which i did..and move on to the release of GW ull notice the game has totally changed 100% or more...in terms of skills la...ppl will complain whine and quit..but end of the day the game goes on. cos its not impossible to do it at the end of the day...in diablo ur limited to 1 build most of the time..in gw u can still alter or choose a diff skill set. which is wat i respect them for..diversity is something not easy to design and still with all the nerfs, players make manage to speed up the pve gameplay, which also proves that the skills werents "nerf" as badly as most tot.

i do hope theres something to be done in d3 tho..but im sure it will be out as an expansion...else they wont release it.
Cheesenium
post Jul 8 2012, 05:38 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(tytons @ Jul 8 2012, 10:23 AM)
off topic..but from exp...ull have the same complains in d3 when GW2 is out, GW has a strong pvp fan base..and when u have pvp and pve...theres 1000% bound to have nerfs happening..this is unavoidable in any mmo, if u started GW beta which i did..and move on to the release of GW ull notice the game has totally changed 100% or more...in terms of skills la...ppl will complain whine and quit..but end of the day the game goes on. cos its not impossible to do it at the end of the day...in diablo ur limited to 1 build most of the time..in gw u can still alter or choose a diff skill set. which is wat i respect them for..diversity is something not easy to design and still with all the nerfs, players make manage to speed up the pve gameplay, which also proves that the skills werents "nerf" as badly as most tot.

i do hope theres something to be done in d3 tho..but im sure it will be out as an expansion...else they wont release it.
I dont have problem with nerfing, it is part of the balance but what Blizzard did with D3 was not acceptable for me because it is difficult to find new gears that is as good as the previous ias. Also, the nerf in damage due to reduced ias wasnt even small to begin with. D3 is controlled by loot drops with all the sudden all your ias equipment become rubbish because blizzard decide to nerf it overnight. Was it fair for the players? While good loot drops are rare and good items on AH cost a bomb? In addition, since when D3 is a competitive game where balance matters? Diablo is always about finding some borderline exploits and exploit it to your benefit but Blizzard decide to nerf every single expoits people find. Will Elite packs whine on the forum because the damage is too high? Diablo has always been about getting the next shiny powerful loot, not balance, AH or real money rubbish. And Diablo 3 is not a MMO, if D3 is a MMO, then it must be a garbage MMO then. I have seen some free MMO that is better than D3.

If GW2 decide to nerf something overnight, what will be wrong then? You can respec easily or just swap your weapons to make up for it. As you said, GW encourages variety of builds, while Diablo 3 has completely failed on that, in my honest opinion. However, if they constantly make sweeping changes in the final game, that will be very annoying. Knowing the fact that GW2 will have minimum grinding for gear, i wont be that concern if they decided to nerf something by 50% overnight since its easy to swap gear.

Both are different game, one is a potentially a good MMO, and the other one, is a piece of shit tries to be a full fledged MMO.
tytons
post Jul 8 2012, 10:54 PM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jul 8 2012, 05:38 PM)
I dont have problem with nerfing, it is part of the balance but what Blizzard did with D3 was not acceptable for me because it is difficult to find new gears that is as good as the previous ias. Also, the nerf in damage due to reduced ias wasnt even small to begin with. D3 is controlled by loot drops with all the sudden all your ias equipment become rubbish because blizzard decide to nerf it overnight. Was it fair for the players? While good loot drops are rare and good items on AH cost a bomb? In addition, since when D3 is a competitive game where balance matters? Diablo is always about finding some borderline exploits and exploit it to your benefit but Blizzard decide to nerf every single expoits people find. Will Elite packs whine on the forum because the damage is too high? Diablo has always been about getting the next shiny powerful loot, not balance, AH or real money rubbish. And Diablo 3 is not a MMO, if D3 is a MMO, then it must be a garbage MMO then. I have seen some free MMO that is better than D3.

If GW2 decide to nerf something overnight, what will be wrong then? You can respec easily or just swap your weapons to make up for it. As you said, GW encourages variety of builds, while Diablo 3 has completely failed on that, in my honest opinion. However, if they constantly make sweeping changes in the final game, that will be very annoying. Knowing the fact that GW2 will have minimum grinding for gear, i wont be that concern if they decided to nerf something by 50% overnight since its easy to swap gear.

Both are different game, one is a potentially a good MMO, and the other one, is a piece of shit tries to be a full fledged MMO.
i do agree with you on the nerfing part..but i think the biggest mistake was their short vision...and yes D3 is item base..if u run out naked with no armor ur, tho ur lvl 60 ur no better then a lvl i ..most probably. ur weapon + armors determine ur dmg and thats a pretty pathetic thing. exploits however needs to be fix...and the economy thing..thats a players fault la. when D3 1st got release ..u see ppl simply bantai prices of item..and they think what they have is pretty good..so they startout with some crazy price n when they have better stuff it goes higher n higher n higher..eventually they created a virtual "ecomomy" like hong kong ...where gold just didnt have much value. the reason why i say its players fault is because even with the insane high prices..ppl are buying it....so it encourages the economy to stay that way or progressively go higher. i also think the biggest mistake they did was to say its not an mmo...if its not..things like AH shouldnt be there..if ur not ready to fix ur content or update fast..dont make it run out so fast...these days ppl are not stupid like they were 10 years ago..games have become more and more difficult..ppl think alot faster and making it online only encourages more brains to do the same thing ..which leads to completion of the game faster. duno la what they had in mind when designing..i know 1 of the thing was to encourage buying ori..and having it online was the safest and best way...for now.

GW on the other hand wasnt item base from the start..they have n had promise u can get the best item from merchants. so in other words...u need not worry and infact everything u want is a maxout item..and can be bought easily...anything non max is garbage n is salvaged. GW core is the skills...so if u nerf that its like nerfings ppls weapon in D3..hence ppl get really angry..if u see when they 1st introduce assasins..they were freaking strong in pvp..but in pve..so so only...but that also kena nerf..man were not happy at all. but in time ppl found thier way around it.

but all in all GW and D3 have 2 diff target goals, 1 aims to give players a good exp with no grinding..and 1 does....1 admit mistakes or atleast have a good community rep, (gaile back then) and 1 has the snobbishest GM's ull ever see in any game which have 0 customer service value.

im no fan of bliz after wow came out, cos ive always loved GW and thats 1 of the longest game ive played besides fung wan online. GW2 however is a total diff game...lvling cap also maxed out..and its been overhyped by non GW players...so im not putting any faith in it so i wont get disappointed like d3 fans tongue.gif
sammm33
post Jul 9 2012, 10:44 AM

684 posts

so ur telling me that for the nearly 2 month + , the D3 i play (till now) is still in BETA ?
deathTh3Cannon
post Jul 9 2012, 04:40 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(sammm33 @ Jul 9 2012, 10:44 AM)

so ur telling me that for the nearly 2 month + , the D3 i play (till now) is still in BETA ?
From Mr Bashiok :

We recognize that the item hunt is just not enough for a long-term sustainable end-game. There are still tons of people playing every day and week, and playing a lot, but eventually they're going to run out of stuff to do (if they haven't already). Killing enemies and finding items is a lot of fun, and we think we have a lot of the systems surrounding that right, or at least on the right path with a few corrections and tweaks. But honestly Diablo III is not World of Warcraft. We aren't going to be able to pump out tons of new systems and content every couple months. There needs to be something else that keeps people engaged, and we know it's not there right now.

Maybe answer your question ?

Source : http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/6019511928#17
commanderz
post Jul 10 2012, 11:48 AM

676 posts

just wondering how can people get 1.5 billion gold just for single item.....feel sad to the game full of gold bot and destroying the economic in auction house....http://img20.imageshack.us/img20/2945/yuprich.png

This post has been edited by commanderz: Jul 10 2012, 11:49 AM
goldfries
post Jul 10 2012, 12:10 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Blizzard should just settle the bots first. if not then RMAH is pointless.

- bot player finds loot. set at 100,000,000.
- bot player finds gold too, lots of it.
- bot player then sells gold, so non-bot players have to buy gold from them to buy loot set at 100,000,000.

found something great and selling it at 2mil? well you have others having similar goods, and I believe many are botters.

if you sell low, probably it's yet another botter who will buy it and attempt to resell at higher price.
Mr.Beanster
post Jul 10 2012, 07:26 PM

1,267 posts

Sometimes i do hope there will be no AH in this game..
meetxj9
post Jul 10 2012, 08:18 PM

187 posts

Blizzard's Foresight is none existent. All praise quality over quantity (sarcasm).
dlct87
post Jul 10 2012, 08:21 PM

474 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jul 10 2012, 12:10 PM)
Blizzard should just settle the bots first. if not then RMAH is pointless.

- bot player finds loot. set at 100,000,000.
- bot player finds gold too, lots of it.
- bot player then sells gold, so non-bot players have to buy gold from them to buy loot set at 100,000,000.

found something great and selling it at 2mil? well you have others having similar goods, and I believe many are botters.

if you sell low, probably it's yet another botter who will buy it and attempt to resell at higher price.
those gold bots r making the gold value deteriorates extremely fast, soon 500,000,000 gold wont even fetch you half decent gear
tytons
post Jul 11 2012, 02:46 AM

2,823 posts

QUOTE(sammm33 @ Jul 9 2012, 10:44 AM)

i didnt say the game is beta..just the whole community says so..
i say the game didnt go thru proper planning and no contingency steps taking appropriately, if u been playing the game since day1 of release u would have notice that theres no end game..which i dont really care atm but the step to handle the economy is really stupid...increase repair cost??WTF? so in other words..if u play inferno which Jay said its meant to he hell difficult...true....reason is because there is no drops that prepares you for it..which is a con job. not only that as u die and progressively not progress in game u lose money...so...hows that a "step" to balance out the economy?

pretty stupid idea if you ask me...its like they have not put much taught before executing such a dumbass idea.
sammm33
post Jul 11 2012, 03:02 AM

684 posts

QUOTE(tytons @ Jul 11 2012, 02:46 AM)
i didnt say the game is beta..just the whole community says so..
i say the game didnt go thru proper planning and no contingency steps taking appropriately, if u been playing the game since day1 of release u would have notice that theres no end game..which i dont really care atm but the step to handle the economy is really stupid...increase repair cost??WTF? so in other words..if u play inferno which Jay said its meant to he hell difficult...true....reason is because there is no drops that prepares you for it..which is a con job. not only that as u die and progressively not progress in game u lose money...so...hows that a "step" to balance out the economy?

pretty stupid idea if you ask me...its like they have not put much taught before executing such a dumbass idea.
yea i actually get what you try to tell... its like the whole game itself is not yet mature, but somehow its released...

waited near 10 year for D3 but end up get this kind of game quality ... really really sad as this is so not acceptable (for myself and at my opinion, those who still think D3 is good plz go on and continue play it and let me continue my ranting here, as i'm not here to stop you to play D3 , thank you)...

judge from the previous response and some other comment, it seems that some still quite enjoy the D3 with their own particular reason... mebi they can accept it but sorry , definitely not me, i cannot accept this D3...

Added on July 11, 2012, 3:06 am
QUOTE(deathTh3Cannon @ Jul 9 2012, 04:40 PM)
From Mr Bashiok :

We recognize that the item hunt is just not enough for a long-term sustainable end-game. There are still tons of people playing every day and week, and playing a lot, but eventually they're going to run out of stuff to do (if they haven't already). Killing enemies and finding items is a lot of fun, and we think we have a lot of the systems surrounding that right, or at least on the right path with a few corrections and tweaks. But honestly Diablo III is not World of Warcraft. We aren't going to be able to pump out tons of new systems and content every couple months. There needs to be something else that keeps people engaged, and we know it's not there right now.

Maybe answer your question ?

Source : http://us.battle.net/d3/en/forum/topic/6019511928#17
... sounds like they try quite hard to explain why the heck more and more ppl is leaving D3

This post has been edited by sammm33: Jul 11 2012, 03:06 AM

11 Pages « < 9 10 11Top

0.0157sec    1.09    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:33 PM