Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread V12, bloatware is updated

SUSngkhanmein
post Jul 11 2012, 12:00 PM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 11 2012, 12:57 PM)
Ya, is time for new thread. smile.gif
bro.. u flashed UK firmware right? so camera firmware also auto updated??
jingyong
post Jul 11 2012, 12:03 PM

472 posts

I'm thinking of switching from iPhone 3G to Galaxy SIII..

But i'm a low monthly user.. currently on Celcom family plan with monthly usage max of RM20.. do u think i should buy SIII without plan at RM2199 or sign a plan?

If I buy at Rm2199 then I can just add on Rm38 for the monthly 1GB internet plan
RedDevils88
post Jul 11 2012, 12:06 PM

3,244 posts

QUOTE(jingyong @ Jul 11 2012, 12:03 PM)

But i'm a low monthly user.. currently on Celcom family plan with monthly usage max of RM20.. do u think i should buy SIII without plan at RM2199 or sign a plan?

If I buy at Rm2199 then I can just add on Rm38 for the monthly 1GB internet plan
currently i m using U28 at RM28 per month without any contract and bought the phone itself.
c010
post Jul 11 2012, 12:10 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(jingyong @ Jul 11 2012, 12:03 PM)

i think you should purchase the phone outright without plan. anyway there are people selling the phone for less than 2k.
Andrewtst
post Jul 11 2012, 12:11 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jul 11 2012, 12:00 PM)
bro.. u flashed UK firmware right? so camera firmware also auto updated??
Camera firmware need manual update, it only store that firmware at kernel. This is what Samsung always did, since I use OMNIA II, already like that.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jul 11 2012, 12:11 PM
Dark_Angel85
post Jul 11 2012, 12:12 PM

Government Agent
956 posts

I think wanam's lagfix also fixes the black bar camera issue...

I think la....
VinluV
post Jul 11 2012, 12:13 PM

1,947 posts

Gonna join blue family soon. Bought from Jusco sales and got RM220 Jusco vouchers (no expiry date). drool.gif

Anyone got recommendation for cheap and good casing?
I like the hard silicon ones. smile.gif

Also anything to check on the phone in case i missed anything?
1-get dealer to register warranty
2-check milking
3-dial *#0*# to run tests and check for any dead pixels
4-Check IMEI (dial *#06#)
wormyx
post Jul 11 2012, 12:19 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(VinluV @ Jul 11 2012, 12:13 PM)
Gonna join blue family soon. Bought from Jusco sales and got RM220 Jusco vouchers (no expiry date).  drool.gif

Anyone got recommendation for cheap and good casing?
I like the hard silicon ones. smile.gif

Also anything to check on the phone in case i missed anything?
1-get dealer to register warranty
2-check milking
3-dial *#0*# to run tests and check for any dead pixels
4-Check IMEI (dial *#06#)
Don;t forget drop test from your height! it supposed to be gorilla glass!.. tongue.gif
jingyong
post Jul 11 2012, 12:21 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(c010 @ Jul 11 2012, 12:10 PM)
i think you should purchase the phone outright without plan. anyway there are people selling the phone for less than 2k.
U meant buying from garage sales or from shop outside?
Hikari0307
post Jul 11 2012, 12:24 PM

平成の光
4,541 posts

QUOTE(terry3386 @ Jul 11 2012, 11:45 AM)
No one flashed the UK firmware here?
You don't need to flash anything else after flashing the UK ROM for stuff to work.
You need to change the CSC though if you want to update through kies later though this will wipe your phone.

QUOTE(barjoyai @ Jul 11 2012, 11:46 AM)
guys, anyone here using SGP ultra nano clear screen protector? how is it? I am considering between the ultra nano clear and ultra nano optics. need some feedback before buying..
I'm using it, what are your concerns?
It's very thin so you have to be careful not to make any creases when you put it on, otherwise, unlike a lot of other screen protectors, the edges stick very nicely and you don't see them lift up. The oleophobic layer also means that the screen stays relatively clean and wiping it clean with a piece of cloth ain't a hard task.

Cons I guess is that since it's thinner, it's not as hard as a lot of other screen protectors and like a lot of other screen protectors, it doesn't cover the whole front screen. It does not affect touch screen responsiveness at all as far as I can tell and since it's very thin and adhere to the edges better than other dry screen protectors, you don't notice that it's there unless you really look at the edges. At first glance it might look like there's no screen protector.

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Jul 11 2012, 11:48 AM)
the games folder cannot be moved to an SD card?
you can't do it with stock ROM out of the box as far as I can tell.

QUOTE(awsc777 @ Jul 11 2012, 11:49 AM)
Try the curved crystal from SPIGEN. Better I think.

http://www.spigen.com/cell-phone/samsung/g...ed-crystal.html
The curved crystal is better in terms of hardness and covering the entire screen, it's basically the ultra crystal made to curve with the shape of the screen, however the lack of the oleophobic layer present in the ultra clear nano means that the screen can get oily and very dirty and not as easy to wipe clean. I'd rather use the ultra clear nano, my case-mate tough case already covers the parts that is not covered by the screen protector anyway.
limbryan
post Jul 11 2012, 12:27 PM

Can anyone tell me anyway to reduce the RAM? I always hit 670MB/780MB even i always clear memory, close sync, stop using live wallpaper, close pop up notification from Play store.

Need your help...., please.

Thank you.
SUSngkhanmein
post Jul 11 2012, 12:28 PM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

QUOTE(limbryan @ Jul 11 2012, 01:27 PM)
Can anyone tell me anyway to reduce the RAM? I always hit 670MB/780MB even i always clear memory, close sync, stop using live wallpaper, close pop up notification from Play store.

Thank you.
remove all the bloatware..
Andrewtst
post Jul 11 2012, 12:29 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(limbryan @ Jul 11 2012, 12:27 PM)

Thank you.
Just let it be, it auto close if not enough ram, don't bother too much on that, and keep clearing RAM is only slowing down the phone itself.
syaryel
post Jul 11 2012, 12:33 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jul 11 2012, 10:42 AM)
guys a noobie question. i tested yesterday night to root my galaxy s1 and success. so now i am pretty confident to root my galaxy s3.

now question about rooting:
1. if i root means if a new samsung OTA comes by, and  when i install that new firmware my data and installed apps will all be gone right?
2. So to avoid problem 1, i will need to unroot first before i install the new samsung firmware right?
3. and if i don't unroot, then all my data and apps will be gone right? actually its the same question as one. heck......
4. if yes to q2, then is unroot the same procedure as root? where can i a reliable source to unroot?
5. If i unroot, my titanium backup and cerberus will still not be affected other than the root functionalities can't be used anymore. correct?
my objective is to root, but i know the hassle will come when new samsung firmware come. thank you in advance for your answers.
In my case after downloading OTA update, SIII reboot but cannot install ~ use KIES pop up

Solution:
1. Download OTA but don't install
2. Copy update.zip from Cache folder (need root explorer) to exSd card
3. Update using CWM
4. re-root ur phone
5. Optional (triangle away)

This post has been edited by syaryel: Jul 11 2012, 01:14 PM
limbryan
post Jul 11 2012, 12:35 PM

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jul 11 2012, 12:28 PM)
remove all the bloatware..
"bloatware"??? May i know how to remove it? Sorry as first time hear this name.
-Ax-
post Jul 11 2012, 12:35 PM

370 posts

Sifu..im cming from stock rom...gonna flash checkrom 3.5.. I should just fully wipe n flash rite? Btw i root my fon already..do help..thx
barjoyai
post Jul 11 2012, 12:36 PM

PoisonRoses
726 posts

QUOTE(Hikari0307 @ Jul 11 2012, 12:24 PM)

I'm using it, what are your concerns?
It's very thin so you have to be careful not to make any creases when you put it on, otherwise, unlike a lot of other screen protectors, the edges stick very nicely and you don't see them lift up. The oleophobic layer also means that the screen stays relatively clean and wiping it clean with a piece of cloth ain't a hard task.

Cons I guess is that since it's thinner, it's not as hard as a lot of other screen protectors and like a lot of other screen protectors, it doesn't cover the whole front screen. It does not affect touch screen responsiveness at all as far as I can tell and since it's very thin and adhere to the edges better than other dry screen protectors, you don't notice that it's there unless you really look at the edges. At first glance it might look like there's no screen protector.
you can't do it with stock ROM out of the box as far as I can tell.
The curved crystal is better in terms of hardness and covering the entire screen, it's basically the ultra crystal made to curve with the shape of the screen, however the lack of the oleophobic layer present in the ultra clear nano means that the screen can get oily and very dirty and not as easy to wipe clean. I'd rather use the ultra clear nano, my case-mate tough case already covers the parts that is not covered by the screen protector anyway.
thanks for the feedback. I'm using one kind of matte SP now but it really aches my eyes. Of course it is fingerprint free but it has some rainbowing/pixelating over the screen that annoys me. Less clarity is another issue. I just want to know about the nano clear, is the fingerprint/smudges too obvious? The nano optics is just another matte types, i scared if i bought one it will practically the same as i have now.
Superman7
post Jul 11 2012, 12:36 PM

11,086 posts

new thread again sweat.gif
limbryan
post Jul 11 2012, 12:37 PM

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jul 11 2012, 12:29 PM)
Just let it be, it auto close if not enough ram, don't bother too much on that, and keep clearing RAM is only slowing down the phone itself.
But the problem is when I opening any app or using any app, it keep on pop up to ask me close some apps cause not enough RAM to run of it. It's make me crazy!!!! doh.gif
Superman7
post Jul 11 2012, 12:37 PM

11,086 posts

having same V13 thread as Nexus. Wonder will it topple GNote thread of V20 now hmm.gif

128 Pages « < 125 126 127 128 >Top

0.0291sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:07 PM