Official Clevo/Sager Discussion Thread v4, Update with new 2013 lineup

carbonytte
post May 22 2014, 09:40 AM

659 posts

QUOTE(Nareen @ Apr 4 2014, 02:32 AM)
Guys, i just bought a Clevo P170sm-a from gentechpc and since this is my first time owning a sager laptop, can you guys give me some advise on how to take care of it. My previous laptop is studio xps 1645 and it lasted for about 4.5 years before the mobo capacitor got burned and was hoping i could make this new laptop of mind last a bit longer.Any advise.
For my old Sager NP8130, I only do annual dust cleaning (trapped dust on the heatsink and the fans). Also, whenever the power adapter is connected, I always let the fan to run full speed (Fn+1 for my model. not sure if they changed the shortcut key already) just to let the laptop cool down even when I'm not on game mode.
whatsayyou
post May 24 2014, 10:30 AM

525 posts

that will make the fan burn out faster. when not doing anything cpu intensive, the laptop will be cool enough. dont need extra cooling bah
HiT-AbLe
post May 27 2014, 12:02 PM

866 posts

I just got my Sager NP7378 from USA and I have a question about the power cord.

This's the power cord that comes along with the laptop, as you can see the socket is based on USA standard.

This's the AC/DC adapter for my Dell laptop, and the socket for this power cord is suitable for used in Malaysia as I bought it here quite long time ago at here. I notice that the power cord connected to adapter is similar to the Sager one, so I guess it's universal standard for this part.

So why not use the Dell's power cord connects to the Sager AC/DC adapter, I've connected both and it looks ok, but I don't know whether it can be used with this combo, scare later damage the laptop and it would be a nightmare to RMA this laptop back to USA, so have to ask here 1st before booting up the laptop with this combo. Anyone? icon_question.gif
Nareen
post May 29 2014, 09:32 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ May 27 2014, 12:02 PM)
I just got my Sager NP7378 from USA and I have a question about the power cord.

This's the power cord that comes along with the laptop, as you can see the socket is based on USA standard.

This's the AC/DC adapter for my Dell laptop, and the socket for this power cord is suitable for used in Malaysia as I bought it here quite long time ago at here. I notice that the power cord connected to adapter is similar to the Sager one, so I guess it's universal standard for this part.

So why not use the Dell's power cord connects to the Sager AC/DC adapter, I've connected both and it looks ok, but I don't know whether it can be used with this combo, scare later damage the laptop and it would be a nightmare to RMA this laptop back to USA, so have to ask here 1st before booting up the laptop with this combo. Anyone?  icon_question.gif
Dude mine also come is usa standard I just get a universal adapter better safe then sorry, besides it only cause rm5.
shiranui
post Jun 10 2014, 11:51 AM

I'm considering a Sager laptop for gaming purposes, one that can hopefully last me a good 3-5 years. Any recommendations?

For now I'm thinking the NP8258
skyp
post Jun 10 2014, 02:33 PM

1,288 posts

QUOTE(shiranui @ Jun 10 2014, 11:51 AM)
I'm considering a Sager laptop for gaming purposes, one that can hopefully last me a good 3-5 years. Any recommendations?

For now I'm thinking the NP8258
Is this model available in Malaysia? Or you are getting from other country?
I am looking for this model as well. Too bad Illegear did not bring this model in
shiranui
post Jun 10 2014, 03:38 PM

QUOTE(skyp @ Jun 10 2014, 02:33 PM)
Is this model available in Malaysia? Or you are getting from other country?
I am looking for this model as well. Too bad Illegear did not bring this model in
http://www.xoticpc.com/custom-gaming-lapto...-95_51_162.html
Not sure if its available back home, but I'm getting it in america.

I've been wondering if screen size/chassis are the only differences between NP8258/68/78/98 models?
skyp
post Jun 10 2014, 04:45 PM

1,288 posts

QUOTE(shiranui @ Jun 10 2014, 03:38 PM)
http://www.xoticpc.com/custom-gaming-lapto...-95_51_162.html
Not sure if its available back home, but I'm getting it in america.

I've been wondering if screen size/chassis are the only differences between NP8258/68/78/98 models?
Just found that Malaysia is selling this model for 17"
You can refer Illegear website.
http://store.illegear.com/rs-series/91-ill...-rs-17-evo.html
ahhmadd
post Jun 16 2014, 12:41 PM

31 posts

Di mana saya boleh repair sager w86cu? Notebook ni bila on, tiada display...
faxanadu
post Jul 23 2014, 10:29 AM

17 posts

Hi guyz, any info where i can get compatible replacement gpu fro sager 8170 / clevo 170HM ? lowyat maybe ?
e_mc_square
post Jul 31 2014, 10:21 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(faxanadu @ Jul 23 2014, 10:29 AM)
Hi guyz, any info where i can get compatible replacement gpu fro sager 8170 / clevo 170HM ? lowyat maybe ?
What model of GPU you looking for? smile.gif
faxanadu
post Aug 1 2014, 10:49 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(e_mc_square @ Jul 31 2014, 10:21 PM)
What model of GPU you looking for? smile.gif
im trying to look for any gpu compatible with sager 8170 as follows :
gtx 460m 470m 480m/ gtx 560m, 570m. Thanks!
e_mc_square
post Aug 2 2014, 07:09 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(faxanadu @ Aug 1 2014, 10:49 AM)
im trying to look for any gpu compatible with sager 8170  as follows :
gtx 460m 470m 480m/ gtx 560m, 570m.  Thanks!
YGPM smile.gif
ipohzeng
post Aug 26 2014, 12:26 PM

25 posts

Hi all,

Good to hear that I got " friends " who use Sager and Clevo here. tongue.gif

I am using the p150hm series for a good 3.5 years. Recently I feel like my gpu is dying on me. (idle temp in an air con room reaches 60 degrees...browsing internet reaches 104 and then shut downs)

A few things I am planning to do.

1) Change my thermal paste (Just did a fan and heat sink cleaning but no improvement)

2) Updated my gpu drivers (ati 6970m) but somehow it got worst. Maybe it is not compatible with the bios etc.. not sure. Maybe some help from the users here.

3) Worst case scenario, get a new gpu.. was planning to get the 7970m or maybe gtx 680m.

So my questions,

1) Any shops in Malaysia that can help with installing new gpu cards or maybe where I can buy one(preferably with preinstalled vbios). I went around to digital mall and low yat and they told me you can't change gpu on laptop and etc...lazy want to argue with them.

2) Do you think Illegear will be able to help?

Thanks a lot in advance

This post has been edited by ipohzeng: Aug 26 2014, 12:27 PM
e_mc_square
post Aug 26 2014, 12:53 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(ipohzeng @ Aug 26 2014, 12:26 PM)
Hi all,

Good to hear that I got " friends " who use Sager and Clevo here. tongue.gif

I am using the p150hm series for a good 3.5 years. Recently I feel like my gpu is dying on me. (idle temp in an air con room reaches 60 degrees...browsing internet reaches 104 and then shut downs)

A few things I am planning to do.

1) Change my thermal paste (Just did a fan and heat sink cleaning but no improvement)

2) Updated my gpu drivers (ati 6970m) but somehow it got worst. Maybe it is not compatible with the bios etc.. not sure. Maybe some help from the users here.

3) Worst case scenario, get a new gpu.. was planning to get the 7970m or maybe gtx 680m.

So my questions,

1) Any shops in Malaysia that can help with installing new gpu cards or maybe where I can buy one(preferably with preinstalled vbios). I went around to digital mall and low yat and they told me you can't change gpu on laptop and etc...lazy want to argue with them.

2) Do you think Illegear will be able to help?
Thanks a lot in advance
You can find me. biggrin.gif
I got clevo/kapok gpu as well.

This post has been edited by e_mc_square: Aug 26 2014, 12:54 PM
tauq
post Sep 14 2014, 06:07 PM

26 posts

hey guys, I've been wondering if Sager NP9170 gpu can be upgrade? now using 7970m...
e_mc_square
post Sep 14 2014, 08:10 PM

768 posts

QUOTE(tauq @ Sep 14 2014, 06:07 PM)
hey guys, I've been wondering if Sager NP9170 gpu can be upgrade? now using 7970m...
So far, the highest AMD GPU in NP9170/Clevo P170EM worth to upgarde is 7970M which is the one you using. For Nvidia is GTX 680M, I think is not "upgrade" coz it perform just like 7970M but provide you to have more room to overclock.

marcuslpm
post Apr 12 2015, 08:48 PM

96 posts

Hey guys, been using my NP8130 for awhile now.
Wondering what are the possible upgrades i can have to max it all out?
Azusa_San
post May 30 2015, 03:10 AM

309 posts

just curious did clevo's bios has any option like battery life extender to prevent overcharging? something like charging the battery to certain percentage only.

This post has been edited by Azusa_San: May 30 2015, 03:11 AM
ansonkit
post Dec 9 2015, 11:08 AM

13 posts

hi, can you recommend me the model with 17" monitor and GTX980m with min 32gb of ram memory.

thank you

42 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 >Top

0.0282sec    1.01    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:07 AM