Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v2, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM138

kiawin
post Jul 5 2012, 01:12 PM

NOOBIE
680 posts

Register with Dr. Pitchard on 17 June. Appointment set a week later on 13 July smile.gif
kiawin
post Jul 5 2012, 08:41 PM

NOOBIE
680 posts

Just curious, anyone using XBMC? smile.gif
kiawin
post Jul 7 2012, 11:42 PM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(nzxkore @ Jul 7 2012, 05:38 PM)
better don't stack the modem-router
get laptop cooling pad as per suggest by other forummer if the problem persist
some say put it vertical for thompson.. hmm.gif
Yes, it is important not to stack them. Imagine both get hot and heat not able to dissipate.

It is also a good practice to put them vertical (e.g. standing) for greater ventilation.

Added on July 7, 2012, 11:43 pm
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 7 2012, 08:06 PM)
Found another problem with the Thomson router.
When only one wifi device connected to the router, no DC. However when more than one wifi devices connected to the router, internet connection keep DC repetitively.
Try check whether it is caused by some software. Last time my router always hang when I run MSN voice chat smile.gif

This post has been edited by kiawin: Jul 7 2012, 11:43 PM
kiawin
post Jul 9 2012, 04:12 PM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(alonso33 @ Jul 9 2012, 03:58 PM)
Yup, non standard installation charge RM200. At first, I thought they try con me, but then after I verify with maxis and TM via phone. It's because my house unable to use the phone box at the wall outside(not sure what is it) to install the cable, I have to choose another option which is pull the cable directly from outside longkang to inside of my house. So much wiring work have to be done.  rclxub.gif
Just curious, is it because the telephone line pole is located at the backlane of your house?
kiawin
post Jul 9 2012, 04:59 PM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(alonso33 @ Jul 9 2012, 04:40 PM)
Nope, It's at infront of the car pouch, But due to my personal house renovation work I stucked the line under the land  sweat.gif So It's unable to go thru the original way.  rclxub.gif

Btw, why I cant register at mylaunchpad? This number does not exist error. Any idea? or I have to wait for few days first?
I recall someone mentioned you can only do it like a day later. Remember to add 6 in front of your tel no.
kiawin
post Jul 11 2012, 01:39 PM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ Jul 11 2012, 01:21 PM)
gogetter83 is right..this is a forum to discuss, not to rage n curse for the problem that not everybody is facing..
if you wanna do that, take it to the maxis..we here are trying to help each other out on issues that we know n can tackle it down..
u cn be an IDIOT on ur own way..some forumner here is good at technical issues, or maybe an IT expert..
their help n suggestions are very helpful..
when somebody try to help you, you accept..pass or fail is it the other story..
some methods might work to some people, but some might not..
in this situation now, every inputs, ideas is very helpful in order to rectify these problems..
if u think u are good enough, then dont mess around here!!  vmad.gif
Well said thumbup.gif
kiawin
post Jul 13 2012, 10:11 AM

NOOBIE
680 posts

The TM guys are on time today at 9.30am. Ironically the maxis guy didn't show up. Maxis actually called me to check whether is everyone on time. I pass my phone to the TM peeps and shortly after that they start working. TM peeps told me that they can't enter the premise unless the authorized Maxis guy says yes.
kiawin
post Jul 13 2012, 01:30 PM

NOOBIE
680 posts

Hi, can anyone help me check which port is used at TM modem connecting to Thompson WAN port? I unplugged to tidy up the space and forgotten about the arrangement. Thanks smile.gif

Added on July 13, 2012, 1:35 pmFound. LAN2. I guess they made some tagging as LAN1 can't connect to Internet smile.gif

This post has been edited by kiawin: Jul 13 2012, 01:35 PM
kiawin
post Jul 13 2012, 03:22 PM

NOOBIE
680 posts

Using Maxis Fibre Home 10MB Now. Kindly include me in the list smile.gif

A brief observation on the Thompson router:

1. It will be cooler if we make it stand.
2. Or we can put a USB fan below it as it has big vent below the router which supposedly enable hot air flow out.

One thing great is that thompson router gives two USB ports.
kiawin
post Jul 13 2012, 09:02 PM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(angelic-x @ Jul 13 2012, 08:54 PM)
Dafuq, at the end no one showed up,what a bored day waiting whole afternoon. Highly disappointed
Did they call you to confirm the appointment few days in advanced, and send you an sms a day before installation?
kiawin
post Jul 13 2012, 11:02 PM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(angelic-x @ Jul 13 2012, 09:56 PM)
last time they call is i think around early of june after i submited after 1 week,they ask my name,and give me a installation date. after that no anymore...
High chances they forgotten about the appointment and wasn't really scheduled I believe.

What happened usually is they will call you few days before the installation day for reminder, and also a sms to remind you of the installation date.

Do call them to find out what happened to your scheduled appointment. All the best!

Added on July 13, 2012, 11:03 pm
QUOTE(mghong @ Jul 13 2012, 10:43 PM)
Hi , i got my maxis FTTH install , qoute for 10MBps , 2nd day i already change my gateway due to it contious reboot and wifi was missing (although setting was enable).

after the 2nd unit installed..now i saw 2 SSID..1 is mghong , another one is 'Maxis' ---> hantu ???

though of change the thomas gateway as i went into the configuration page and it was very slow...sad.gif

Any idea ?
I think the Maxis wifi is enabled. You can actually disable it in your configuration smile.gif

This post has been edited by kiawin: Jul 13 2012, 11:03 PM
kiawin
post Jul 14 2012, 12:14 AM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(weyyt @ Jul 13 2012, 11:55 PM)
You will need to re-setup your router again to turn it off.
"Thomson Gateway > Setup my Thomson Gateway"

Remember to note ur username first before doing it.
Not really, I tried few times the username is there by default smile.gif
kiawin
post Jul 14 2012, 01:13 AM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(scion @ Jul 14 2012, 12:40 AM)
Should i change it to disable On Thomson Gateway > Configuration > Configure > Web Browsing Interception ?
Based on the Help description for Web Browsing Interception,

When set to Enabled, the Thomson Gateway checks the Internet connectivity (and address based filtering rules if applicable) for each server request. When applicable, e.g. Internet connection is lost, the Thomson Gateway intercepts the server request and displays a message.

It seems the feature is based on firewall, which by default now is disabled. Hence you won't need it anyway.

Thanks to Google, it seems that keeping this option enabled create additional processing overhead and slow down the Thomson gateway smile.gif
kiawin
post Jul 14 2012, 11:43 PM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(wokan @ Jul 14 2012, 11:39 PM)
Those stay in landed property, please post whether the log file shows the message "xDSL linestate down" as the fiber configuration is different from condo.

Yes, do have it occasionally.

Now I'm facing slow crawling internet. Wonder why. Direct download of eclipse failed by Chrome with network error as cause.
kiawin
post Jul 14 2012, 11:53 PM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Jul 14 2012, 11:36 PM)
impossible lah... that lousy thomson router wifi signal can't even reach my kitchen
As the thomson has built in antenna, I guess we can't blame thomson, but just poor choice by maxis smile.gif
kiawin
post Jul 15 2012, 12:00 AM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(wokan @ Jul 14 2012, 11:44 PM)
Please do check the SNR margin from the ONT device from TM if you know how.
Could you post the error from the Thomson log file for our reference. One more thing, please use notebook cooler to cool down the Thomson router as it is overheat is known issue for Thomson router.

Paiseh. Tried google but no answer on how to access the ONT. Mind sharing? smile.gif
kiawin
post Jul 15 2012, 12:16 AM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(wokan @ Jul 15 2012, 12:08 AM)
Connect the network cable from yr computer to the ONT device. Plug to LAN4. It should give you auto IP address.
If no IP address is given, configure manually (use IP address: 192.168.1.xx. Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0) Do not use 192.168.1.1)

Once connected, goto browser and specify 192.168.1.1
User: admin, Pwd: PM me.

Goto Network Page > xDSL. You should see bunch of info there.

I forgot to mention here. The ONT device I am using is ZTE ZXDSL 931 series. I hope you guys are using the same ONT. If different, you need to search around the forum on how to access the ONT.
My google result shows I'm using the white color Alcatel Lucent I-240G-P smile.gif
kiawin
post Jul 15 2012, 12:45 AM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(scion @ Jul 15 2012, 12:30 AM)
What is this firewall replay check and tcp port scan on Thomson Gateway > Event Logs > Security
Jul 15 00:26:08 FIREWALL replay check (1 of 2): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 123.231.91.61 Dst ip: 14.192.237.106 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
Jul 15 00:23:57 FIREWALL replay check (1 of 13): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 203.147.88.34 Dst ip: 14.192.237.106 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
Jul 15 00:23:57 IDS scan parser : tcp port scan: 124.108.79.88 scanned at least 10 ports at 14.192.237.106. (1 of 1) : 124.108.79.88 14.192.237.106 0040 TCP 80->55902 [.FA...] seq 3669618614 ack 281960668 win 62
Jul 15 00:19:29 IDS scan parser : tcp port scan: 58.26.1.49 scanned at least 10 ports at 14.192.237.106. (1 of 1) : 58.26.1.49 14.192.237.106 0454 TCP 80->63738 [..A..P] seq 3789705528 ack 1909032126 win 3650
Jul 15 00:19:13 FIREWALL replay check (1 of 5): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 203.147.88.34 Dst ip: 14.192.237.106 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
Jul 15 00:17:24 FIREWALL replay check (1 of 18): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 203.147.88.34 Dst ip: 14.192.237.106 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
Jul 15 00:16:19 FIREWALL replay check (1 of 2): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 203.147.88.34 Dst ip: 14.192.237.106 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
Jul 15 00:14:52 FIREWALL replay check (1 of 9): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 203.147.88.34 Dst ip: 14.192.237.106 Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable
Do you BT?

Added on July 15, 2012, 12:46 am
QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Jul 15 2012, 12:41 AM)
can u guys list down the firmware of the router, would like to know which one is the stable one
CODE

Product Name: TG784n

Serial Number: CP1124NT0US

Software Release: 8.4.3.I

Software Variant: AR

Boot Loader Version: 1.1.2

Product Code: 3667917A

Board Name: DANT-P

IMHO don't show your serial number smile.gif

Added on July 15, 2012, 12:47 am
CODE
Product Name: TG784n
Software Release: 8.4.3.U
Software Variant: BX
Boot Loader Version: 1.1.2
Product Code: 3667917A
Board Name: DANT-P

[b]Issue:[/b] Occasional xDSL linestate

Mine smile.gif

This post has been edited by kiawin: Jul 15 2012, 01:22 AM
kiawin
post Jul 15 2012, 01:00 AM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(scion @ Jul 15 2012, 12:51 AM)
Yes. Cause by BT?
Yes, likely smile.gif

kiawin
post Jul 15 2012, 01:10 AM

NOOBIE
680 posts

QUOTE(wokan @ Jul 15 2012, 01:05 AM)
bro kiawin, you might want to check this link to help you out.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1755367/+200 on user: ruffstuff posting on Feb 20 2011, 08:26 PM.
Thanks smile.gif I already PM him just now. Hahaha wink.gif

0.0221sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:56 AM