5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v2, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM138

jetwash
post Jul 17 2012, 02:05 PM

On high-altitude training
623 posts

QUOTE(Qavs @ Jul 17 2012, 01:11 PM)
OMFG, installation scheduled at 2.30, now suddenly rain. I purposely take leave just for this installation!! Hopefully the rain will stop before 2.30
how far away is the DP to your house? maybe can nego with the installers hoho
jetwash
post Jul 19 2012, 01:36 PM

623 posts

I now have to switch the ONT and Thomson in stages before i can get a connection. I used to switch them both at the same time and I'd get connected in 2 to 3 minutes. I hope it's not a sign of either one failing haha..
jetwash
post Jul 19 2012, 02:23 PM

623 posts

yeah i agree completely. just that turning both on at the same time worked flawlessly for about a week before.
It's not an issue anyway.
jetwash
post Jul 20 2012, 11:06 PM

623 posts

After just 9 days of problem-free surfing with Maxis Home Fiber, today my Thomson router went kaput.

Long post warning!

I had posted here a few days earlier that I'm having some difficulty getting the Thomson router to actually boot up and connect to the internet, but usually after a few restarts (and a long time waiting) I'd get connected. Yesterday around 6pm after work, I switched on the ONT and router as usual, and after 15 minutes of restarts and waiting, I still couldn't get connected. Proceeded to call 1800 82 1123. After five minutes waiting for someone to pick up (yes calling Maxis takes forever now), suddenly the connection was up, so ok, I hung up the phone, case closed. I still wasn't too comfortable with what had happened so I left the router on throughout the night (I'd usually switch things off).

That was yesterday's story.

Today I wasn't working, from morning browsing, torrents, dreambox all worked fine. Until around 6 pm that is. I was browsing when suddenly the wireless went out. Checked the router, all the normal lights were gone, the power light was red in colour (instead of the usual yellow), and the internet and wireless lights were very, very faint (instead of bright, blinking yellow). After a few restarts, proceeded to call Maxis.

This time I only had to wait around 20 minutes before someone took my call. Seriously, you guys really that busy eh?

The CS guy took my complaint, suggested a few troubleshooting procedures as usual (aahh it's like streamyx all over again) before conceding to forward my complaint to the technical guys. Was put on hold for another 5 minutes before I got to speak to the technician. Insisted that I try resetting the router again (I tried it before), but after telling him nothing happens after I push in a pin into the reset hole for even half a minute (it's as if the router is off, but the front wireless button light and the other lights I mentioned earlier is on), he conceded that the Thomson router is faulty.

So, I got a report number, the technician promised to get me a new router by monday, although he did say tomorrow might be possible (yeah ok I'm not getting my hopes up), and I seriously need to consider shelling out money for my own router.

So yes, I now agree that the Thomson router is crap. 9 days before going kaput? Epic! laugh.gif

p/s I have a conspiracy theory that my router was not a new unit but a refurbished one. Reason: the letters marking the phone ports at the back are already faded. Maybe I'll upload pics when my connection is restored.
jetwash
post Jul 20 2012, 11:47 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(kenjixx @ Jul 20 2012, 11:20 PM)
now that you mention my thomson router will go red light first every time i turn it on... i need to turn on and off multiple time only it will start function =.=" looks like it's a symptom that the router is dying
yup i got those same symptoms, intermittently at first, got worse yesterday, gone today laugh.gif

bro, i thought you're using custom router? was going to ask u to recommend brand.
jetwash
post Jul 21 2012, 07:25 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(kiawin @ Jul 21 2012, 01:42 AM)
Try to make your new thomson router stand, as it helps heat dissipation.

For me, my TM ONT kaput after 5 days tongue.gif

Yes, it took me 15-25 mins to get them, and the so-call troubleshooting call took me 1 hour with intermittent on hold eventhough the conversation only last max 15 minutes!!

Yes, I wrote a complaint email to customercare tongue.gif
the thomson is already has a notebook cooler underneath it, so perhaps heat is not a problem.

I'm just going to kacau them again today (the technician said it might be possible for them to replace today although he also said monday is more realistic) on email and/or forum just to keep them on their feet.

anybody else think their thomson router is a refurbished unit?
jetwash
post Jul 21 2012, 09:45 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(kiawin @ Jul 21 2012, 09:02 AM)
My long long complaint to Maxis.
Maybe i can copy paste parts of your email in my own complaint, adding in some expletives for good measure mad.gif

This morning after a few tries suddenly I'm back to two LEDs lit, bright yellow for power and bright yellow for internet. Ohh ok while I'm writing this it's back to yesterday's status lights.

Yesterday

Today

Still won't get connected.

By the way, these are the faded markings at the phone port that I mentioned earlier.

This post has been edited by jetwash: Jul 21 2012, 09:46 AM
jetwash
post Jul 21 2012, 12:11 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(kenjixx @ Jul 21 2012, 11:15 AM)
there's one flaw in your theory...
there is limited user before the price cut where do they come with so many reusing router other then they bought it refurbish

be more creative with your wild imagination  thumbup.gif
Haha.. Maybe Thomson is scamming Maxis rather than Maxis scamming us.

Judging by the number of router and/or connection issues on this thread alone, we probably have a case for the national consumer complaints centre already cool2.gif

Had I noted my username number the other day, I probably would've bought and setup another router already.
jetwash
post Jul 22 2012, 04:26 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(jetwash @ Jul 21 2012, 12:11 PM)
Haha.. Maybe Thomson is scamming Maxis rather than Maxis scamming us.

Judging by the number of router and/or connection issues on this thread alone, we probably have a case for the national consumer complaints centre already  cool2.gif

Had I noted my username number the other day, I probably would've bought and setup another router already.
ok, i have my connection back now. yesterday 'saja kacau' the helpline (had to wait another 20 minutes, since it's toll free i didn't mind wasting the time), deceivingly told them that the Maxis technicians had promised to come replace the router yesterday laugh.gif before they checked things out and told me someone will be in touch with me before the end of the day. I finally received the call just before tarawih prayers (wow these guys must work loooonnnggggg hours) confirming that someone will come around 4 to 5 pm today.

The guy came early at 345pm just now. Straight away replaced the router, no questions asked. When I asked him how common is the faulty Thomson router problem, he just smiled and laughed politely. He said "Kita technician tengok saja ini router sudah tau mmg banyak problem punye".
jetwash
post Jul 22 2012, 04:44 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(Isky @ Jul 22 2012, 04:40 PM)
Which is why for now, I'll wait a little longer for Maxis FTTH to stabilize and settle down. Too many early adopter issues to deal with at the moment. I would like to say that I had expected better from Maxis, but nowadays stuff like this doesn't surprise me anymore. Right now, it seems like Time > Maxis > Unifi > Streamyx in terms of perceived reputation. Before this promo, I had Time and Maxis at about the same level...now, with all the issues, I hope that Maxis doesn't descend down to Streamyx level in terms of reputation.
in actual fact, maxis ftth has been around since 2010, right? what's happening now is probably not growing pains, just cost-cutting and operational inefficiencies.
jetwash
post Jul 23 2012, 05:50 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(duckaton @ Jul 23 2012, 04:16 AM)
my installation scheduled early august.

so far no userid/password or telephone number yet.
do they let you know only after installation?

reply is appreciated.
thank you.

Added on July 23, 2012, 4:18 am
sounds alot like what danieltay is facing.
not everyone is affected.

any solution yet to this?

no point having fast bb if surfing is not even smooth,
ID and number given during installation. You'll get your bills beforehand though.

It seems that the page doesn't load problem occurs more frequently in vdsl installations, am i right? I'm landed and i barely notice it
jetwash
post Jul 23 2012, 03:19 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(ahtom82 @ Jul 23 2012, 02:10 PM)
ya anyone have the direct line? please give me also can?
u can try this 03 2300 5074
jetwash
post Jul 23 2012, 03:21 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Jul 23 2012, 02:36 PM)
I don't really need speed as I seldom download.
At best twice a week.

Don't really watch 1080p Youtube.
My lappy can't handle it.
But my little brother, little sister on the other hand, love it.

At times, there is me and my Dad working on our lappy, my little brother playing on his lappy, my little sister Youtubing on her iPad and my Mom on her lappy.
Quite a lot of people hogging it.

None of us really notice a lag except or my little brother who is playing online games.

I seriously wouldn't mind sticking to CoolUniPack.
However my contract is expiring and Streamyx doesn't have any good offer atm.
The closest package that they have is RM140 for a 4mb service in the Blockbuster package.
Doesn't really make sense when I can only pay RM118 for a 10mb fiber.

I'm not really sure if I will live to regret it though.
Haha
It was the UniPack promo.
If you're a 2nd year student you get a free lappy and 4mb at only RM88.
I wouldn't mind continuing paying RM88 for 4mb.
It has never failed me except a few slow browsing at an average once a month but only for a couple of hours.

Even if TM offers Streamyx 4mb at RM100, I would still take it.

Oh man...
This is really scary.
Can't even handle 2 tabs???

I talked to my opposite neighbor.
They don't seem to have any problems.
Didn't ask about the inability to open multiple tabs though.
Unfortunately there is no such promotion anymore.
And I'm not even a student anymore.
Too bad TIME and Astro only caters to high-rise residentials.
i'm just saying this based on anecdotal evidence, but it seems the slow-loading-page problem affect high-rise vdsl installations more than landed ftth installations. Personally for myself I'm not bothered by it at all.

and yes, i regularly have 5 or 6 tabs open at one time; and i almost always open links in new tabs. i don't think it has anything to do with tabs anyway.

This post has been edited by jetwash: Jul 23 2012, 03:27 PM
jetwash
post Jul 23 2012, 03:55 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Jul 23 2012, 03:44 PM)
03 2300 5074 got answer, but they can't handle the credit limit matter. i really need to lower my credit limit and customer service workers all died, nobody answer
haha how long did you wait at 1800821123? it's free anyway, just leave on speakerphone and go off doing your work. I managed to finish a meal while waiting for them to take my call doh.gif

Added on July 23, 2012, 3:57 pm
QUOTE(kenjixx @ Jul 23 2012, 03:55 PM)
did you see mylaunchpad page after to refresh the tab?
my guess that it has something to do with that page...
this mylaunchpad thingy with the browser only occurs once you've registered with mylaunchpad is it? Luckily I haven't registered yet. Could not register actually.

But I'd like to monitor the call usage. This can only be done thru launchpad right?

This post has been edited by jetwash: Jul 23 2012, 03:57 PM
jetwash
post Jul 23 2012, 07:51 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Jul 23 2012, 04:14 PM)
yaaaaaaaaaaay, now my credit limit is RM150 !

Added on July 23, 2012, 4:15 pmi think leng chai don't have to wait so long la hahahahahhaha
eh, how low can it go? i'm thinking of around rm10 if possible haha. if it is i'll go thru the hassle of calling customer care
jetwash
post Jul 24 2012, 11:11 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(zDarkForceSz @ Jul 24 2012, 10:41 AM)
ape macam ni. stupid MAXIS still giving me no new news. tunggu sebulan dy lo~~~ call them take forever to pick up. they got number tracer is it.
know i call them complain -.-
u may want to try these numbers, at least if they pickup you'd get to speak to a human being straight away. don't forget to mention NCCC and MCMC while you're complaining cool2.gif
03 2300 5050
03 2300 5074
03 2300 5080

jetwash
post Jul 25 2012, 06:38 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(lanun8 @ Jul 25 2012, 02:35 AM)
hye,

i'm about to subscribe maxis FTTH 10 mb to my parent house in Sg. Buloh, when RM118 promotion, i've checked the coverage but its not included in their coverage are..  sad.gif

on last Sunday night (22nd July) filled up the interest form again and suddenly the next morning got e-mail and calls from the maxis, so submit my application form on Monday (23rd July) and Tuesday maxis called and have an appointment for installation on 30th July at 2.30pm

rclxms.gif  tongue.gif  thumbup.gif

after using the search function reading this thread from 1st till 33 pages, so penat and took me about 2 and half hours
the prob is the house is about 50-70 metres from the main road, which i don't know where is the nearest maxis/unifi fibre distribution point is as i doubt that my parent house in the maxis coverage area at first place.  (which is in the kampung housing area)

and here is my question,

1. if the non-standard installation charge that will cost me more than i can afford, can i cancel the installation without getting charge? or should i consult the maxis cs first coz i dont know how to estimate the non-standard installation charge (since i dont know where is the DB point is.)

2. or should i just wait till the installation day and get a good deal with the contractor?

3. or anyone know how to determined or have photos of their nearest db point so i can look around and calculate the estimated cost.
thanks in advance
Look around your nearest telephone poles for the db (white box). If they are so willing to give you an installation date just a few days after registration there must be the box somewhere smile.gif
I suppose you could try negotiate with the installers too should you exceed 85m external cabling. The ones that did mine didn't bother to calculate my internal cabling which definitely exceeded 15m, so u might get lucky too (the same installers cover Sg Buloh too haha)
As for question 1, you'd be better off asking maxis. Good luck with the call waiting time cool2.gif
jetwash
post Jul 26 2012, 06:48 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(mackioes @ Jul 26 2012, 05:52 PM)
Do u guys think the router with the phone is quite inconvenient? I mean all 3 device has to be at the same place. My modem upstairs, but I want the phone at living room. So if the router can work as ap mode then it would be nice.
just use longer RJ11 and RJ45 lah, problem solved biggrin.gif put anywhere you want
jetwash
post Jul 26 2012, 07:10 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(AhBoy~~ @ Jul 26 2012, 07:05 PM)
Next time got IPTV how?
nothing another RJ45 cable can't solve laugh.gif only the BTU and ONT needs to stay where they are

This post has been edited by jetwash: Jul 26 2012, 07:11 PM
jetwash
post Jul 26 2012, 10:34 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(kyen @ Jul 26 2012, 09:14 PM)
yup its happening to mine also... darn thing would at times slow to a crawl... a reboot will make it faster a while until it happens again.. what the heck is going on?

Any one have any ideas?
poor latency. that's why gamers hate maxis ftth whistling.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0405sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:32 AM