Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v2, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM138

jetwash
post Aug 3 2012, 08:06 AM

On high-altitude training
623 posts

QUOTE(ryudell @ Aug 3 2012, 07:51 AM)
this morning after restart the modem..
only power & ethernet lights were on!
WTF??
alamak bro, looks like the same problem that happened to me before rolleyes.gif router kaput already

might want to try restarting again a few times, might have some life left biggrin.gif

i thought maxis are already supposed to change your router in these few days?
jetwash
post Aug 3 2012, 10:17 AM

623 posts

sounds like the thomson is ok. have u tried logging in to the thompson and checking things out.

maxis will be dragging their feet since the tm zte is not directly under their care
jetwash
post Aug 8 2012, 12:04 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(jerryhean @ Aug 8 2012, 11:50 AM)
Same issue faced, noticed this happened when WAN IP changed, software version 8.4.3.I, on public IP.
no such issues on 8.4.3.U, maybe time to push maxis for a firmware upgrade?
jetwash
post Aug 9 2012, 07:04 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(erichhl @ Aug 9 2012, 05:45 PM)
i thought 1st month bill is rm236 cause need to pay 1 month deposit.  hmm.gif
what one month deposit? biggrin.gif

Added on August 9, 2012, 7:05 pm
QUOTE(weihuan @ Aug 9 2012, 06:07 PM)
Wuhoo!! my installation done on 7/8/2012..
cool! enjoy biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jetwash: Aug 9 2012, 07:05 PM
jetwash
post Aug 10 2012, 06:58 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(pingy_ping @ Aug 10 2012, 01:48 AM)
holy crap, my connection just gone now...
just now the internet led on thomson showing red, now nothing
on the modem dsl led in on but the internet got a steady blink..
still figuring wat went wrong..
update: the thomson suddenly gave up to to connect thn after several restart and log in to connect, it's connected...woohoo!
be warned though, it might be a sign that your thomson router is failing..

btw, i noticed last night (around after tarawih time) the connection was a bit erratic (sort of the 'danieltay' problem). E.g. i had to reload 3 or 4 times to get gmail to load, and even lowyat takes quite some time to get connected. My dreambox (which requires a stable line with good latency) was fine though. I was only online till 1 am so dunno what happened later on, everything switched off by then. I can only assume that Maxis are indeed doing their maintenance work and things are only going to get better, if not worst laugh.gif

This morning it's business as usual though biggrin.gif
jetwash
post Aug 10 2012, 09:58 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(hongchai888 @ Aug 10 2012, 09:24 AM)
Anyone notice connection yesterday very bad? Normally I could load any page without any problem, but yesterday it took age to load some local web like Lowyat and Cari etc.

But Speedtest.net still show 10Mbps omygod.... The connection become normal after I woke up around 5am.
same with me then, as i stated a few posts up...

i don't mind these problems as long as they are really doing maintenance/troubleshooting work (and not because of another unsolvable problem has cropped up), and as long as it's not happening every month for the next two years laugh.gif

Added on August 10, 2012, 9:59 am
QUOTE(teq @ Aug 10 2012, 09:44 AM)
I got call from maxis for home fiber installation, but they said the thomson is out of stock. So even after installation I still can't use the internet.

Anyone having same problem?
everyone due for installation are having the same problem. let's hope you get a better router brand/model than we did smile.gif

This post has been edited by jetwash: Aug 10 2012, 09:59 AM
jetwash
post Aug 10 2012, 12:24 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(hasyrein @ Aug 10 2012, 10:26 AM)
Ubuntu, one of the many Linux distributions, is a great torrent  to test you p2p speed since it is hosted on dedicated servers. It will max out your internet connection within a few minutes (10-15 on average).

Download the torrent file on this page...
http://www.ubuntu.com/download/desktop/alternative-downloads

This is what I've got through my Maxis FTTH

You can see the different between a good torrent file and other torrent file.

Cheers!
as long as your file is well seeded with an excellent seed/peer ratio, you will get the maximum speed
jetwash
post Aug 11 2012, 08:57 AM

623 posts

so, yesterday no FUP implemented yet right? must be TM hired hands spreading rumours then? haha

so it's going to bad connections every day, 10pm to the early wee hours till the end of the month then. Normalcy restored around 6am I think (that's when I switch things on anyway)

although the degree of the problem varies... for example I'm only experiencing slow initial connections to websites with only very occasional page load failure
jetwash
post Aug 11 2012, 10:11 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(erictanyh @ Aug 11 2012, 07:37 PM)
Please refer the photos... the open gate is my house. They opened the concrete and tried to push the cable from there into my house near my door entrance.
I would suggest you call up maxis and demand your rm100 back. Or else threaten to bring the issue to the media if they seem to condone the fact that the tm installers always try to con subscribers off their money. It's total bullcrap when you are able to nego rm800 to rm100
jetwash
post Aug 12 2012, 06:56 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(rudytron @ Aug 12 2012, 05:20 PM)
1.im planning to change my modem but how to know my default username & password to connect to MAXIS cos i couldn't find any information in the form/receipt i got from maxis during registration n installation

2. What can i do with maxis launchpad? thinking of registering on that site but im afraid my browser got hijacked with launchpad site
1. well usually it's written there. maybe you can ask cs but i can't think of a reason, maybe just say you did a hard reset on your router?

2. best you can do is complain to skmm cool2.gif it's not a browser hijacking thing but rather they seem to hijack your browser request once it goes through their server. FYI, i haven't registered yet (haven't been able to) with mylaunchpad but still i got hijacked..... although it has only happened 3 or 4 times in the last one month

Added on August 12, 2012, 7:05 pmpings are much worst today. it seems that so called maintenance is now around the clock instead of late night to early morning? my pings to yes 4g and u mobile kl servers yielded 224 ms and 421 ms just now.........

anyone know if unifi facing the same problem?

This post has been edited by jetwash: Aug 12 2012, 07:05 PM
jetwash
post Aug 13 2012, 10:26 PM

623 posts

I'm 'feeling' like I'm getting better connection quality tonight (and today in general), sort of like back to 'before so-called maintenance' connection quality. Certainly not seeing any 'looking up www.' delays in my firefox status bar.. btw i'm using the default maxis dns.

anybody else getting some improvement?
jetwash
post Aug 15 2012, 01:06 AM

623 posts

eh, thepiratebay.se is now blocked by maxis is it? or is the site itself down? used to be fine under default maxis dns.. couldn't be bothered to switch to google dns.. good thing my favorite torrent site is fine..

for those of you worried about future installations and current problems, i'd just like you guys to know that on my side, everything is pretty much back to normal, so there might be a geographical factor in maxis' so called maintenance (i.e. some areas get fixed first or something)..

hopefully everyone's problems are sorted out soon..

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0345sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:09 AM