Hyundai Elantra MD Ver.7, Calling All Elantra Owners & Future Ones

cybermaster98
post Sep 5 2012, 08:51 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ Sep 5 2012, 08:46 AM)
U can test Honda Civic physically. Legroom is not that great. I dont know how u get the data.
As I said it small & a bit cramp for the C-segment category.
No need to argue.
U can read it on Edmunds Insideline (US) which gives very detailed analysis about many cars. Much more info than what ull get anywhere in Asia.
cybermaster98
post Sep 5 2012, 12:26 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ Sep 5 2012, 09:04 AM)
Still most edmunds review/ road test said new Civic passenger room, interior room and trunk space slightly increase than previous gen civic. But no review/ road test said it huge, bigger than competitors or class leading.
Ure expecting them to say huge when the difference is 3cm across both front and rear legroom? doh.gif
cybermaster98
post Sep 14 2012, 08:21 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(666devil @ Sep 13 2012, 08:31 PM)
Depends. If ur priority is driving dynamics and quietness, then switch. If it's spaciousness, definitely a no no. I dare to say interior is even smaller than a Mazda 3. I just went test drive last weekend.
Further more feature really lose out to HE comparing the 116k mode
Since we're on this topic, what do u mean 'features really lose out' for the basic Focus Titanium (Sedan)? This model comes with the following:

1) ESC
2) 4 airbags
3) Keyless Entry & Push Start
4) Dual Zone auto aircon
5) SYNC audio system with voice command
6) 9 speakers
7) Leather seats
8) Power driver seat
9) Active Grille Shutter system
10) Torque Vectoring Control

Not to mention the more powerful 2.0L TI-VCT GDI engine with 168Hp & 202Nm torque. Plus Ford's new 5 year/200,000km warranty. And u have clearly mentioned the much better driving dynamics & ride handling on the Focus. All this for only RM 115,888 (OTR).

For RM 13K more (RM 128,888 OTR), you can go for the Titanium + with:

1) Active Park Assist (auto parking)
2) Active City Stop (auto braking)
3) Blind Spot Info System (BLIS)
4) Additional curtain airbags
5) Automatic Bi - Xenon HID lights
6) Cruise control
7) Rain sensing auto wipers
8) Power sunroof

So in what way does the Focus Titanium 2.0L (Sedan) lose out to the Elantra 1.8L? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Sep 14 2012, 08:25 AM
cybermaster98
post Sep 14 2012, 08:46 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(taizi5566 @ Sep 14 2012, 08:37 AM)
how abt.. sexiness? wink.gif
Design wise yes the Elantra is better.
cybermaster98
post Sep 14 2012, 08:47 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(flashg @ Sep 14 2012, 08:38 AM)
For those with cars to trade in, should not make much difference. Just think. If car prices go down, the value of trade in will also drop. Then the advantage of price drop of new car will be negated somewhat by lower trade in value. Oh yeah, there is that interest on higher loan amount to worry too but since I am taking a lower loan amount, not too much of an issue. Of course for thos with no cars to trade in, then they should wait after the Budget. Oh well, it is a gamble....

I booked my Elantra mid-July and trading in my Vios (fixed the trade in value). Lately, I have checked the second hand value of my Vios and on the average it has fallen RM5k (in 2 months)! I even had one second hand car dealer valuing my car at below RM50k (Vios 1.5G 2007 dugong model). GFK! The second hand car dealers are damn worried now. I have a friend who is also a second hand car delaer and he is thinking of giving up the trade.

That was the incentive for my SA to find me a car ASAP and yesterday he called me that a car has been allocated to me and will be getting it next week. rclxm9.gif 1.6HS white colour. rclxms.gif
Ive noticed that trade in values for cars in Klang Valley are less than other cities like Ipoh. Thats why i traded in my 2003 Vios 1.5E in Ipoh and managed to get RM3K more. Sold it for RM38K. Not bad for a 9yr car.
cybermaster98
post Sep 14 2012, 10:16 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(slyer @ Sep 14 2012, 09:18 AM)
Really worth it to go beyond country.
How u trade it, by urself or thru used car?
Trade in means 2nd hand car dealer. If myself, it would be direct sale.
cybermaster98
post Sep 14 2012, 10:19 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(michaelnct @ Sep 14 2012, 10:09 AM)
now I am in the junction, whether I should wait for another 2 months to get my HE1.8 or switch to Ford Titanium 2.0L....
But if I choose Ford, I will not have the sunroof which my son like it very much. Can't affort to buy the +
Both good cars. Forget the sunroof. I would rather not have it. The Optima sunroof alone costs RM10K to replace. I think Elantra 1.8L is quite pricey for what's on offer. But test drive both and ull get a better idea.
cybermaster98
post Sep 14 2012, 10:40 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(michaelnct @ Sep 14 2012, 10:26 AM)
Tested the HE1.8, but somehow the power not up to my expectation. But I was impressed by the gadget and the body shape Hyundai presented. Maybe I should give Ford Titanium a try. RM3000 cheaper and higher power.

Sorry! not to pour cold water on HE user. Just cannot wait! my SA told me due to Korea bla bla bla bla, car will only/maybe arrive Nov12.... for car booked in Jul12. So sad......
Ford Titanium and Titanium Plus (sedan) is RM 115,888 & RM 128,888 (OTR) respectively. Hyundai Elantra 1.8L is RM 114, 888 (OTR).
cybermaster98
post Sep 14 2012, 11:45 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(mav3rick @ Sep 14 2012, 11:40 AM)
to  be honest, i think SD has really priced the FF aggressively. With all those features even the + variants looks like a bargain. What more 3 years free maintenance and 5 years warranty!!!!

Not sure if SD is trying to pit its marques against each other but this does not really bode well for the HE. kinda dumb if you ask me. Shouldnt have increased the price for the HE in the first place.
Yes i forgot about the 3 yrs / 60,000km free service by Ford. Yes i think the price increase for the Elantra was not a good move. Plus with the long wait period, i dont think many would be buyers would be attracted.

But yes, at less than RM129K the Focus Titanium Plus is quite a bargain for a 2.0L GDI engine with such top class specs. SD did well to price it such. Now they need to improve their afer sales.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Sep 14 2012, 11:47 AM
cybermaster98
post Sep 14 2012, 12:29 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(michaelnct @ Sep 14 2012, 12:09 PM)
I have placed RM500 to book the HE1.8. Asking the sifu out there whether possible to get the refund from SA? hehehe
the set back is the 4.2" MID screen (Does FF-T has the reverse visual?), anyway FF-Titanium 2.0L is a good buy. Can't afford the plus version. Just want to ask, in term of engine, which one is the latest technology, and better? Thanks
Surely the Focus. Its 2.0L is more powerful than Camry, Accord, Optima and Sonata.
cybermaster98
post Sep 14 2012, 03:26 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(yayiyu99 @ Sep 14 2012, 03:02 PM)
Ford Focus much better to buy compare to Hyundai Elantara. By the way im Honda civic 2.0 8th gen owner and thinking of buying Ford Focus instead of HE. Already test drive HE didn't like it.
U wanna move from Civic 2.0 to Elantra 1.8? Why bother? Might as well stick to your current ride rite?
cybermaster98
post Sep 14 2012, 03:48 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(yayiyu99 @ Sep 14 2012, 03:43 PM)
Calm down. Don't be too sensitve. I'ts just a test drive, doesn't mean i will buy it. just to see the difference between HE, FF & my current car.
Who's excited? Sensitive? rclxub.gif
cybermaster98
post Sep 14 2012, 05:27 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(michaelnct @ Sep 14 2012, 05:00 PM)
Tomorrow I am going to test drive the FF-Titanium. If my feel is good! I will  cancel my HE1.8 and place the booking on FF-T. Yesterday my SA told me I will get my car in Nov12. But I dont think it will be so easy, Same like how he said I will get my car in Oct12 when I call up in Aug12. Hope I can get back my RM500.00 deposit!

Sorry! no offence to potential/still waiting/HE owner.
Isnt it a waste to get a car in Nov when your car will be considered 2 years old in Jan? Huge loss of resale value.
cybermaster98
post Sep 14 2012, 05:53 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(michaelnct @ Sep 14 2012, 05:28 PM)
So???? any good suggestion? wait until 2013??? 3.5 months to go......
Cars like Ford lose quite a bit in resale value especially over the first few years. Ure talking about 10% drop minimum. That's roughly a 'loss' of RM11K in the first year alone. As u probably know, the month of registration has no effect on resale value. Its the year of manufacture that counts. So if u buy the car in 2012, thats considered the 1st year of ownership. 2013 is considered the 2nd year of ownership.

Thats one of the reasons why car companies love to launch CBU models in Malaysia towards year end. Most of the CBU stock are coming from other countries because they know Malaysians will still buy and not many realise the potential losses from buying a car at year end.

So unless Ford is giving good discounts to push off their 2012 Focus towards year end, i would strongly suggest you to wait. The sales ppl will start coming up with their scare stories by next month e.g 2013 stock will only come in April 2013, price increase, etc. Same thing Naza Kia did for the Optima K5 in 2011. But surprisingly, the 2012 stock arrived in early Feb with additional rear aircon ducts for the same price.

Added on September 14, 2012, 5:54 pm
QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Sep 14 2012, 05:52 PM)
do you having any major problem for your 5years old civic? why do you want to change it anyway?
Exactly my point. If the car has no major problem or if your needs havent changed, why bother changing just to keep up with the times?

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Sep 14 2012, 05:54 PM
cybermaster98
post Sep 15 2012, 12:29 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(michaelnct @ Sep 14 2012, 06:13 PM)
Thanks for the points. I think I will hold until things get clearer.....
But use the next few months to learn more about the Focus and other competitors. Go for more test drives and choose different routes to get a better idea. Read up more on the internet also.
cybermaster98
post Sep 18 2012, 08:11 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(michaelnct @ Sep 15 2012, 03:55 PM)
Tested the Ford Focus (Sport +) just now. Solid, comfort, powerful. Decided to let go White HE1.8.
Before I call my Hyundai SA to cancel my booking. Anyone want to undertake the booking???? Please PM me before 5pm.
Thank
I did 2 test runs on the new Focus Titanium (sedan) over the weekend. I must say the handling is really good. Very confident going into corners and well planted. Ford really did a good job here. But the rear legroom is a bit of a letdown for a 2.0L car. I also noticed that there is a delay before the engine kicks in when you floor the pedal. But power is good and low rev torque is more than adequate. Doors feel solid and interior quality is top notch. Dashboard and side door panels are much better than the Civic & Elantra. The Sony sound system is quite good too.

So for RM 128,888 (OTR) for the Titanium + Sedan with the specs on offer, its quite a good buy.
cybermaster98
post Sep 18 2012, 09:20 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(v26davk @ Sep 18 2012, 08:58 AM)
icon_question.gif Anyone can lend their experience with advant speed motor Serdang? Are they good....they promise me if book HE 1.6HS now can get car b4 Xmas??
Why would u want a 2012 car in Dec and suffer huge depreciation losses instead of getting a 2013 model? rclxub.gif

Added on September 18, 2012, 9:21 am
QUOTE(BuFung @ Sep 18 2012, 12:37 AM)
Did u ask u getting a 2013 car or 2012car? I bet u getting a 2012 car...
Surely 2012 car. He will easily have lost RM10K before he even collects the car due to the depreciation.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Sep 18 2012, 09:21 AM
cybermaster98
post Sep 18 2012, 11:39 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(yayiyu99 @ Sep 18 2012, 09:26 AM)
It's ok as long the registration card is dated year 2013 when he receives the car in January 2013.
Date of registration has no meaning and no effect on resale value. Resale values are based on year of manufacture. If he gets a 2012 car in 2013, he is basically getting a >1 yr old car already. 2012 is considered 1st year while 2013 is considered 2nd year.

cybermaster98
post Sep 18 2012, 12:55 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(michaelnct @ Sep 18 2012, 12:45 PM)
Agreed! the power kick in 2nd gear onward. I tested the sport model. no problem on uphill road around Taman Midah.
How many passengers in the car? I did mine with a full load of 5 adults. Rear seat was quite cramped.
cybermaster98
post Sep 18 2012, 03:21 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(michaelnct @ Sep 18 2012, 02:32 PM)
3 adults and 2 kids. my wife was happy with the comfortable level compared to HE1.8. At least they were not throwing left and right when I cornering.
But i think the biggest drawback of the Focus is the design. It still looks bland compared to Japs and Korean makes.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0518sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:28 PM