19 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 >Bottom

Asus G-Series Notebooks Thread V6, Meet The Powerful G55 And G75(demanding)

holloway
post Jul 12 2012, 05:52 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(Jaru @ Jul 12 2012, 05:50 PM)
i deleted my recovery partition kemarin.. tongue.gif buntu..buntu..
o.0 why.. lol.. just for ubuntu?
holloway
post Jul 12 2012, 06:03 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(Jaru @ Jul 12 2012, 05:57 PM)
haha..no la., last week i do anytime upgrade to win7 ultimate (fake licence). then i mess the os with experimental softwares.,
struggle with slow bootup, then i decide to fresh factory recovery but failed. helpless with google, then i reformat the hardisk with oldschool pirated win7 ultimate. bad..bad.  doh.gif
haha.. actually fresh win 7 is better than the one that comes from factory..always boot up faster. rclxms.gif
holloway
post Jul 12 2012, 06:08 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(Jaru @ Jul 12 2012, 06:06 PM)
ya., but i lost my ugly Genuine Win 7 Home Premium..  laugh.gif
even better! lol

holloway
post Jul 12 2012, 08:10 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(crow23 @ Jul 12 2012, 06:15 PM)
eh ya la... if change to high performance will increase the cpu clock to 3.2ghz! remember that we say the brightness go crazy when play games? i think the system automatic change to high performance which cause the brightness to max out. so i change the high performance setting brightness to low, problem sloved!! btw, this is new snap on cpu stress. don mind the min low temp reading bcos i reset the reading while stressing.
[attachmentid=2943344]
haha.. now ur processor GG.. very high temp.. lol... coz use full power of the faster breast tongue.gif.. yep i think it will change to high performance automatically.. really nice feature.. but i always change myself.. lol just to make sure

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Jul 12 2012, 06:16 PM)
My case is the most ironical one.

I gaming, they all just surf, and her ancient laptop cannot surf when I'm gaming

I was like mellow.gif the fark ==
hahaha... very nice.. means that if she surfing.. will make u lag.. so better she not surf while u gaming.. haha.. (maybe ur faster breast insert poison to the connection.. so some ppl cannot connect.. ) hahaha
holloway
post Jul 12 2012, 10:29 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Jul 12 2012, 10:08 PM)
I wouldn't be surprised since I'm running on N
really faster breast even killing other ancient lappy.. haha... crushing them into pieces.. making them shocking.gif and cry.gif while faster breast user cool2.gif
holloway
post Jul 12 2012, 10:46 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(crow23 @ Jul 12 2012, 10:44 PM)
my hsemate always jeles when i game on this breast. set gfx to high still no lag. then they  drool.gif wakakaka!! rclxm9.gif
haha.. same here.. i especially like to install those games they played on medium or low setting.. then i'll go for high or ultra high... without lag.. and they go cry.gif cry.gif why so beautiful~!

i go .. faster breast maa brows.gif
holloway
post Jul 13 2012, 03:12 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(xienxienzai @ Jul 13 2012, 01:06 AM)
2. DOWNLOAD FURMARK TEST AND TEST YOUR GPU MAX TEMP IN FULL HD(1920X1080)
What is the temp consider as normal?
what temp did u get? normal i think would be anything below 87... that is with room temperature + no cooler fan
holloway
post Jul 13 2012, 08:02 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(shafiqmustafa @ Jul 13 2012, 04:20 AM)
Hi....bro how you do it ar... Fresh install win 7... Have to delete all the partition first?... And make a new partition. I also have a problem here. Win 7 cannot boot up. Stuck at starting windows 7 logo. Try recovery also fail. Need help. I don't mind install fresh windows
no need to delete the partition.. just format C: partition.. before setup for win 7 there is option to delete, format and create new partition... just format the partition that contains previous win 7

i found this website.. really helpful

CODE
http://pcsupport.about.com/od/operatingsystems/ss/windows-7-new-install-part-1.htm

but first of all .. u must have a copy of win 7...
holloway
post Jul 14 2012, 09:14 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(Bens0n @ Jul 14 2012, 08:57 AM)
solved this by replacing the cable

anyway, here's the furmark test result
in air conditioned room, and notice the chinese character? i spotted some alphabet being replace by random chinese character when running installer also but... why廢  cry.gif
nice temp.. for aircond temperature.. biggrin.gif

lolol.. ur lappy know which chinese character to pick..
holloway
post Jul 16 2012, 06:34 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(Steelonyx @ Jul 15 2012, 04:03 PM)
and then? nothing else? everything is up to date? i can play properly adi?
everything is up to date.. u can play it out of the box

QUOTE(xienxienzai @ Jul 15 2012, 04:42 PM)
this is my furmark test..is it normal?
very normal indeed.. smile.gif

QUOTE(ultimate.shun @ Jul 15 2012, 08:53 PM)
hello,can anybody help me,this is my case,i just got my g55vw(non3d),with gtx660m graphics card,8gb ram,but when i play gta iv , it is already extremely lag in the very begining, i cannot even play for a second because it is extremely lag when it is not suppose to happended coz other g55 user have not experice this kind of problem. what is the problem?or i have something i havent installed yet because when i got my laptop i did not install the additional driver that the laptop provided. please help me, thanks!!!
1) All G55Vw comes with GTX660M 3D or NON 3D...
2) Don't forget to always manual set your power setting to HIGH PERFORMANCE
3) Need to know which games runs on DX10 or DX11 .
4) The G55VW comes with almost everything updated. Only need to PLug n PLay.

QUOTE(stupid1 @ Jul 15 2012, 10:31 PM)
anyone knows where to buy vpn? i wanna do it for my digi lol... no choice bcoz i have signed a contract with them...may i know which floor or shop in the lowyat got provide vpn service?^^
even though you buy vpn.. you must know what is the function of a vpn..

1) it's not for letting you download exceeding the quota.. it's for a secure line
2) most vpn does not support DIGI, U Mobile, YES broadband.. MOSTLY Celcom, Maxis, P1 W1max

Added on July 16, 2012, 6:38 am
QUOTE(OneStudent @ Jul 15 2012, 05:04 PM)
won't installing ssd remove warranty?
Nope, warranty according to one of our forumer and a professional since he already did surgery to his very new G55VW is only on the heatsink.

If you're upgrading RAM or changing the 1TB HDD to SSD .. It's on the user accessible slot, no harm.

Different story if you're inserting MSATA (which is very very non user accessible) or extra 2 more slot ram (part time user accessible)

This post has been edited by holloway: Jul 16 2012, 06:38 AM
holloway
post Jul 16 2012, 08:17 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(stupid1 @ Jul 16 2012, 09:33 AM)
but then i thought vpn is for unlimited badwidth?
bro..

here

CODE
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virtual_private_network

this is what VPN is for actually.. the main purpose.. the unlimited bandwidth feature is a bonus only.. it doesn't work 100% all the time.. sometimes it will fail where you have to refresh it (depends on which vpn you take) BUT of course here in malaysia those who use VPN is actually who are using broadband because of the extra feature..

and only MAXIS and CELCOM available at the moment..

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Jul 16 2012, 10:57 AM)
There is a pdf version available on Asus Support and eManual installed in the laptop.
User Accessible Slot are will not void warranty unlike the old days laptop they stick the warranty sticker on top of the back cover lid. doh.gif
Add On : IINM, mSata slot lies beneath the heatsink.
No, says who? Its only for tunneling purpose.
yes yes =.= the damn MSATA will void your warranty.. doh.gif ******* asus..

Added on July 16, 2012, 8:21 pm
QUOTE(stupid1 @ Jul 16 2012, 11:08 AM)
so if i subscribe vpn for maxis broadband right, den can i get the same speed after the quota?
High probability it will be the same speed... i suggest mytunnel.us coz a few members here already give their statement + show proof that it is quite reliable

Added on July 16, 2012, 8:24 pm
QUOTE(OneStudent @ Jul 16 2012, 12:23 PM)
Thanks man! one more question tho if I take out the HDD and put SSD instead what is the socket will be Sata 2 or Sata 3?
if the speed of connection is say 375MB/s between hdd and the MOBO.. but the HDD can only read around 50 - 100MB/s u will still not get 375MB/s

but if ur SSD HD speed is 500MB/s .. it will bottleneck but still alot better than 5400rpm HDD .... but this doesn't apply.. we are running SATA 3 (Ivy Bridge! FTW!)

p/s: someone correct me if i'm wrong

This post has been edited by holloway: Jul 16 2012, 08:24 PM
holloway
post Jul 18 2012, 02:40 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Jul 18 2012, 12:42 AM)
Aite guess we can't do much about it laugh.gif
Actually I think the performance improvement came from windows superfetch and caching after a few times

After you constantly use your laptop and reboot a few times you should be able to bootup to windows login in 30 secs actually

Apparently the 4 cores thingy is a myth and it doesn't make your pc boot faster laugh.gif
SSD is still always and forever the solution.. lol..

p/s:

for anyone who REALLY want a faster boot up get a CADDY (PRICE = RM 60 - 69) 12.7mm version + SSD (ur choice)

swap your 1TB noob 5400rpm HDD with the all new SSD HD... and put that 1TB noob 5400rpm inside caddy... and there you go.. (won't void warranty.. if you don't see any stick that says void warranty.. meaning you are NOT voiding any warranty.. thats about it..)

RAM = currently your G55vw comes with a stock ram 1600mhz hyundai 4gb x 1.. so without messing up alot... u can get another 4gb 1600mhz ram and make it run dual channel..

current brand RAM claimed by our own very forumer that runs dual channel

KINGSTON PERFORMANCE RAM = 4GB 1600MHZ x 1 or x 2
MUSHKIN RAM = 4GB 1600MHZ X 2
CORSAIR RAM = 4GB X 2 OR SOME PEOPLE CHANGE ALL 4 (most claimed that their RAM didnt go dual channel until they change timing of the RAM)

thats about it... so far 1 forumer says that his RAM didn't go dual channel

BRAND!

APACER

Added on July 18, 2012, 2:43 am
QUOTE(lexg55 @ Jul 17 2012, 01:26 PM)
I plan to do a clean install of windows. Any expert here can guide me along ?

I want to maintain the genuine windows I have in the system now but then I don't have original win 7 to reinstall. Any source I can download or alternative
for clean install of windows 7.. i think you can google that.. alot of tutorial.. video guides even in youtube.. if we explain in here to you.. you might confuse cos everything is in words

but from google always have picture to guide you..alot more easier...

google is your friend ( just my 2 cents icon_rolleyes.gif )

Added on July 18, 2012, 2:48 am
QUOTE(satinblack @ Jul 17 2012, 09:35 PM)
Yup, can add me in. Mine is a G55VW-1131 (Upgraded with Corsair Series 3 SSD + 1TB 5400 RPM HDD with caddy + 40 GB Corsair MSATA + 16 GB Corsair Vengeance 16GB 1866 Mhz)
wow so geng! rclxms.gif

did you manage to not void warranty while inserting that damn mSATA? or did shop do for you...

just wanna ask performance wise.. 1866 mhz worth it? what are you doing with such a high speed ram?

This post has been edited by holloway: Jul 18 2012, 02:48 AM
holloway
post Jul 18 2012, 12:32 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(lexg55 @ Jul 18 2012, 08:48 AM)
Hi holloway.

Thank you for your detailed sharing. As for putting our existing 1tb to a caddy meaning it become a external hard disk ? As for ssd, I google it and seem that all ssd comes with small storage. Average at about 120gb? If that's the case, after OS installed not much spare for games Liao leh. Kindly correct me if I'm wrong coz I'm new to caddy and ssd.

As for clean install, I can't find any information on g55. Most guides are with existing oem wins 7 cd. I even went to windows 7 forum. Can't find leh. I'm looking for a way to clean install without oem cd and use back the serial no for windows 7 at the back of g55.

Added on July 18, 2012, 9:01 amhttp://www.corsair.com/en/ssd/force-series-3-ssd/force-series-3-notebook-upgrade-kit-240gb-sata-3-6gbs-ssd.html

I just read up on this corsair ssd 240g. Shiok leh. Basically plug and play. Automatic copy existing OS to ssd. Don't even need to reinstall. Is it really that easy to upgrade ?

But there's one thing I don't understand. Only 240g then how you guys install other things ?
Yup the 1TB will become slave HDD in that caddy which you have to sacrifice your DVD reader (the DVD slot will be inserted with caddy so no more DVD reader): data inside would be i.e; games installer, light games, data, movies and also brows.gif brows.gif

and your SSD (which comes with limited size : 64gb, 128gb, 256gb, 480gb) because it's so damn expensive (the 480gb will cost you almost RM1.5K + - depends on many factors such as: speed of Read & Write and brand) so normal users would buy SSD just to satisfy themselves (boot up faster, put in software such as autoCAD, photoshop, oracle etc etc.. )

as for the clean install for Win 7 . u mean you want to use the original Win 7 or you want to install a fresh install of Win 7 and use the key at the back of the laptop..

if original Win 7 go to First page of this post.. there is a tutorial by Arvinaa what to do on your G55 especiall the 5 CD recovery backup

but if you want to install a really fresh win 7 without any of those junks (which means doesn't comes with driver and all that) you will need a fresh pirated copy of win 7 which you can download from torrents or warez site (warez-bb.org) and activate it with ori key that comes behind the laptop (i cannot ensure you it will work.. but going pirates of the caribbean is always the best solution)

QUOTE(crazyissac @ Jul 18 2012, 10:02 AM)
1 question bro~all ssd can fit 12.7mm caddy ?

Added on July 18, 2012, 10:08 am

ya...480gb is the biggest size i heard  cry.gif
install all ur game in ur 1tb hdd lah~games no need load faster actually....
woo~~that's data migration cd quite nice~  thumbup.gif
got 2 types of caddy.. one is the 9mm ++ one is the 12.7mm .. actually the size of actually the height of that caddy.. (coz it put into the DVD slot)... 9mm is for the slimmer laptop.. while ours use 12.7mm coz abit bulky

and as far as my knowledge goes.. standard caddy comes with a 2.5" bay.. so all HDD or SSD within that size can be put in it and become slave for your main HDD or SSD
holloway
post Jul 19 2012, 10:27 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Jul 19 2012, 08:59 AM)
For G55, one of the vent is fanless but opened a small hole for air whole while the other vent has a fan to push air out.
On G53, both Vents has their own fan and cooling CPU and GPU.
wow seriously.. i thought g55 also have 2 fan =.=... any picture to show that g55 only have 1 fan? really interested and also vmad.gif vmad.gif too the marketing gimmick by Assus
holloway
post Jul 19 2012, 08:39 PM

123 posts

so where is the guy with G75... any news about him? did he get his G75 already?

Added on July 19, 2012, 8:40 pm
QUOTE(Arvinaaaaa @ Jul 19 2012, 11:09 AM)
No,g55 has two fans also, look at the promo video by asus when releasing the g55..g55 two fans are towards the middle while g75 is towards the corner...only problem is the useless thermal paste asus uses

Added on July 19, 2012, 11:11 am
Got 2 fan bro,located towards the middle..its like 2 fans in a black box..if still dont believe,ask the guy who opened his g55..both fans are located under the g55 motherboard
ok thx bro.. just need a pic to confirm =.= riku already contaminate my mind.. lol damn damn

This post has been edited by holloway: Jul 19 2012, 08:40 PM
holloway
post Jul 19 2012, 08:56 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(crazyissac @ Jul 19 2012, 08:50 PM)
plus U3 then got 5 fans...not enuf ?  doh.gif
omg g75~~~faster post some pic here please~~~btw i just saw the youtube review about g75~nice
so bro~how's ur ssd status ?
no.. not enough.. i want my faster breast temperature to be below 30C wakakakak... no la jk jk..

SSD not yet buy =.= haven't had the time to survey which SSD to buy =.= SSD damn jem every evening.. so tired back from work..
holloway
post Jul 19 2012, 09:15 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(crazyissac @ Jul 19 2012, 09:03 PM)
30c then u need to hide inside refrigerator to play ady ... sweat.gif u might get 10c...ahahaxD
oic~so u r going to replace hdd or get a caddy ?
hahaha... yah....need to find extra large refrigerator so that i can fit in it with the bulky faster breast.. lol...

going for caddy also... coz i dont want to lose the space =.= really games nowadays... so LARGE
holloway
post Jul 20 2012, 12:39 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(satinblack @ Jul 20 2012, 11:58 AM)
Thanks for the info, however oddly enough the guys from Xotic PC confirm that they were able to get the 3820QM to run at maximum capacity together with 1866 Mhz RAM. They had even build several those units for their customers. But they did advised that I would need to upgrade my cooling plate.

Besides, these guys know what they are doing though. They even previously helped me to upgrade my G74 processor to 2960XM with 8GB 1866 Mhz RAM before it was stolen.

The information page on Asus is limited to what they sell but they did not list what can be supported or upgraded.
nice info.. just wanna ask... did you directly upgrade or buy stock first.. then contact gentech pc for upgrade.. coz if they provide this service.. will burn this in my head for future use rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
holloway
post Jul 20 2012, 01:23 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(chennyooi @ Jul 20 2012, 01:12 PM)
arvina, really not gonna put my name up the owner's list? sad.gif
haha.. dun be sad la..while u show ur faster breast.. he didn't see liao.. must be busy molesting his faster breast somemore he busy with 1st week of uni.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
holloway
post Jul 20 2012, 01:35 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(ykgen @ Jul 20 2012, 01:26 PM)
u mean u want to send your laptop all the way to US and get gentech to send the laptop back to Malaysia
not a bad idea~ lol... anything for the faster breast! lol...

19 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 >Top

0.0484sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:37 PM