Wait iphone 5 or get Galaxy S3 now

ramz
post Jun 21 2012, 03:50 PM

21,352 posts

if u believe in "delayed gratification" then wait lah. sucessful people do believe in delayed gratification.

but if u believe that the grass is greener the other side, then u are stupid. the grass is never greener the other side. is how u make the best of the grass here. so buy s3 now!

there, here are 2 contradictory statements from me. just to confuse you people, and maybe generate more discussion points.

btw, itunes is confusing.
ramz
post Jun 23 2012, 08:39 AM

21,352 posts

get the iphone5 now!

the s3 can wait
ramz
post Jun 25 2012, 03:54 PM

21,352 posts

ok lets get serious. is there is a obsessive need to multitask then s3 won't disapoint. other then that u won't miss s3 too much.

for example, i do this very regularly (work related): i leave my skype on, whatsapp, viber, and internet, and reading excel spreadsheets. i switch apps back and forth very frequently, hence the multitasking. i didn't say ip4s cannot do this. but s3 does it better. i can give specific reasons why s3 does it better but i will just leave it as that and hope u trust me.

This post has been edited by ramz: Jun 25 2012, 03:59 PM
ramz
post Jun 26 2012, 10:18 AM

21,352 posts

QUOTE(JaysonGoh @ Jun 26 2012, 12:12 AM)
Don't really think so, if for multi task I prefer iOS more than android. Android is quite laggy where iOS is more stable than android, iOS is also user friendly than android and interface nicer and straight forward smile.gif One more thing I love iOS is because I found that every new version of iOS still support for older generation iDevices and still running quite smooth unlike android  thumbup.gif 

Some of my friend upgrade their Galaxy Note to ICS android 4.0.3 and now they are quite suffering because the entire OS is not running smoothly and laggy than the previous version, can only say most of the android devices better use back the version with the original version ship together with the phone. iOS never suffer these kind of problem even my friend using iPhone 3GS with update to iOS 5.1.1 still run very smooth which make him feel very satisfy when using it. My friend he own this 2 device iPhone 3GS and Galaxy Note and he told me he would prefer iOS  rclxms.gif

Now you can tell which one is better when you compare Galaxy Note have a higher spec running the latest version Android and a lower spec iPhone 3GS also running the latest version iOS yet the higher spec still loose to the lower spec iPhone 3GS in term of smoothness  tongue.gif
why you go and talk about other android devices? i am talking about s3 in relation to ip4s. i have no comments about the other samsung devices coz i don't have them. but i did have a old galaxy s1, and let me tell u its lag is no big deal unless u are a lagaholic. so what if it lags for like 0.01 secs slower than the iphone? on top of that there are people who pimp their phone and mess it up so much and then when it lags so badly, he will show it to the iphone user and then a conclusion is made, up to a point people generally believe it as dooms day for android devices.

now for a specific example. this is not hearsay. i experience it myself. i didn't hear this from my grandmother's brother's pet rooster like most people.
open skype on iphone, talk to your girlfriend, ask her if she can see your video. now from skype, goto dropbox (in my case its dropbox, coz she said she took a picture of her naked butt and placed it in dropbox). when i go to dropbox, my video will FREEZE on her phone. and when i return then only the video of me will continue. so what is the big issue u ask me? the big issue is she missed my face expression when i saw her naked butt pic! now if my skype is running on s3, this won't happen.

to me that's a big issue. much bigger then a 0.01 lag issue everybody is shouting about. btw, i know for a fact people may see this as a small issue. but that's ok. different people have different weights to an issue.

This post has been edited by ramz: Jun 26 2012, 10:37 AM
ramz
post Jun 26 2012, 01:54 PM

21,352 posts

QUOTE(JaysonGoh @ Jun 26 2012, 01:04 PM)
Since I'm comparing the latest version OS running on older generation device in term of smoothness of course I have to take Galaxy Note to compare, why on earth should I take S3 to compare when it's still the latest generation model running with the latest version of OS? We don't have to talk about how smooth the latest model smartphone running with the latest version of OS because it's sure running smoothly and it's a must to every smartphone.

I also din't hear any grandmother's brother's pet rooster story as I already stated MY FRIEND and I'll addon here she doesn't know anything about looting or flashing anyway she just use her Galaxy Note for web surfing purpose and din't even put the SIM card in it just connect wifi and surfing the web so now you can tell how original is her phone? Last month she just go and update her firmware to ICS and now she experience a more lagging OS and even you said lag is not a big deal but yet it's still an annoying issue, example would you rather prefer an older spec computer maybe pentium 4 as processor for gaming or you would rather choose Intel Core i7 for gaming? Even if you are used to the laggy issue but would you feel satisfy when you change to a more smoothness phone?

If it's really just 0.01 sec lag for the whole usage then it's still ok, but if you keep on using it and do you think it's still a 0.01 sec lag? Seriously it will sure drag the user experience down, that's what technology nowadays are trying to solve this laggy issue. Anyway I understand you got your point on the video freeze as it's just the same as Facetime when you minimize it to the multitask. If my words is making you pissed off, I would apologize here. Peace  notworthy.gif
first of all i am not pissed off. this is the way i talk. i am sarcasticaholic.

like i said i no comment on galaxy note. but i have a few hearsay stories where my friend said 'best la galaxy note with ICS". but anyway. no comments.

but we have to talk about s3 vs iphone coz this is the topic header. i have both ipad and s3. if u talk about smoothness both are comparable. I have 50++ apps installed on my s3 and the same number on my ipad. and both are just as smooth (actually, ipad is a bit more smooth on the scrolling framerate when scrolling the browser)

forget the grandmother's story. Lag have different weights for different people. i won't argue if its an issue for u. but from my galaxy s1 i don't have issue of the lag, however i do have issue with its multitasking. on s1 once u open skype, u can't do anything else because skype will hog all the resources and not leave u much to do other things effectively. but on s3 i can even be on gps sygic and talk on skype at the same time, and still maintain smoothness in both apps as i switch from one to another!

the iphone multitasking issue is a big big issue. it means i can't view the candid side of my cal-lee. simple things like playing a game with your kids and seeing their face reaction is a priceless thing. i hope ios6 and iphone 5 will solve this issue. but i don't think so. coz if they had i am sure their marketing dept would have have hyped it by now.

This post has been edited by ramz: Jun 26 2012, 02:20 PM
ramz
post Jun 26 2012, 03:18 PM

21,352 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Jun 26 2012, 02:54 PM)
Using iPhone for few years continuously and started to feel bored, bought myself a Samsung Galaxy SIII early this month, become a happy man again lol. Mainly because totally new phone and new experience ( again ) since nexus one is my last android. However I really can't stand the typo I keep getting on android , it's not really responsive and intuitive compare to iOS, if you text alot and migrated from iOS , you will know what mean.
Those are still minor glitch and still acceptable. I am also waiting for the iPhone 5 but there is still time so trying out the new SIII first. If iPhone 5 still getting the same old interface without any improvement , I'd keep this SIII and get WP8 instead.
Let's say iPhone 5 launched at December , you still have around 6 months to use the SIII. This phone definitely worth to give it a try.
yeah, the keyboard of s3 sux (but i don't think ipad is any better). i need to add 2.35 usd for swiftkey 3 and now is better than ipad!. coz not only it autocorrects, it perdicts the next word, and even learns your abbreviations that u use.

but is official s3 keyboard sux.
ramz
post Jun 26 2012, 04:22 PM

21,352 posts

QUOTE(JaysonGoh @ Jun 26 2012, 03:27 PM)
Yeah, based on your situation yeah S3 is more suitable for you since you want to capture the expression all the time smile.gif
Yeah same here  rclxms.gif Love my iPhone and iPad all very nice design and convenient to use, MacBook also especially the multi touch track pad is very awesome  drool.gif
I mean the older model phone like Galaxy Note running the latest version Android, but I tried Galaxy S3 too and I don't got any lagging issue when playing it and the ICS on Galaxy S3 seems better than the previous want  smile.gif
of course. some people are so lucky coz they come home to their kids every day. not me.
ramz
post Jun 27 2012, 04:56 PM

21,352 posts

i think the context of the discussion is which phone suits the user best. so people are sharing their experiences. there will be fanboys joining in the party, but i think that is ok. emotions aside, its all information at the end of the day. and that info would help the TS or whoever make his choice. for matthew his experience is he has a load of iapps already, so why change? for me is i have experience both worlds and here is my take. if u don't think the info here is of help than leave it alone. u can also get info from other sources like formal reviews and such, but they are just that - formal - its not the same as what u get in forums.
ramz
post Jun 28 2012, 06:40 AM

21,352 posts

QUOTE(mr.jackie @ Jun 27 2012, 10:44 PM)
better iphone 5 cause i just change to samsung(android),just not smart enough cry.gif regret
What exactly is not smart enough.?

Added on June 28, 2012, 6:44 am
QUOTE(RazerDeathAdder @ Jun 27 2012, 11:26 PM)
jb vs not-jb, what difference the most ?
No need to jail break for ordinary user. Jb for geeks

This post has been edited by ramz: Jun 28 2012, 06:44 AM
ramz
post Jun 28 2012, 02:05 PM

21,352 posts

QUOTE(RazerDeathAdder @ Jun 28 2012, 12:27 PM)

Added on June 28, 2012, 12:27 pm
Thanks for sharing

you welcome

Added on June 28, 2012, 2:09 pm
QUOTE(KoYuKii @ Jun 28 2012, 12:29 PM)
s3 for the win and u r asking at the wrong place
don't say like that around here. go to neutral section. i think there is a section called "f*** off". no fanboys live there

This post has been edited by ramz: Jun 28 2012, 02:09 PM
ramz
post Jun 28 2012, 03:25 PM

21,352 posts

QUOTE(JaysonGoh @ Jun 28 2012, 02:58 PM)
Yeah, please go to the S3 thread post as many as you like  mad.gif
but i love apple. i have apple product. please let me stay
ramz
post Jun 29 2012, 09:20 AM

21,352 posts

u all talk like android really hard to use. ingat android guna command prompt ke? of course u don't aspect android to look and behave like ios, do u? of course u need some intelligence to use, otherwise my dog also can use. and of course u need to get use to it. otherwise my dog also can drive my car the first time. is it really rocket science to operate an android? do u need to do anything different then fingering it like u do on ios?

This post has been edited by ramz: Jun 29 2012, 09:23 AM
ramz
post Jul 2 2012, 09:55 AM

21,352 posts

QUOTE(burb @ Jul 1 2012, 10:42 PM)
i find the new tagline of S3 abit offensive.. designed for humans? means last time for non-human? those who bought samsung phones are droids (as mentioned bt Gneba360) or animals? Damn... they really dont think before saying it out.. gonna ban samsung..ahaha.. mad.gif
don't take it literally. it means design with a human touch.

so from a scale of 1 to 10, does it live up to its motto?

to me its a 4, s2 being a 3. it has a long way more to go. but things like this takes time anyway. samsung, or google is taking the right steps that direction.

This post has been edited by ramz: Jul 2 2012, 09:55 AM
ramz
post Jul 3 2012, 11:25 AM

21,352 posts

maybe iphone 5 can give us file explorer to replace itunes. really i'll worship apple to my grave if they just to that one thing for me.
ramz
post Jul 3 2012, 02:10 PM

21,352 posts

iphone 4s feels like long time already release. but actual fact it has only been 7 months old.
ramz
post Jul 3 2012, 03:43 PM

21,352 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jul 3 2012, 03:02 PM)
By the time iPhone5 launches, S3 is half a year old already.  Half a year is a long time for mobile phones.  Should compare with upcoming S4 instead.
so samsung should always compare to future apple phones. and apple phones should always compare to current samsung phones? sounds ok to me.

This post has been edited by ramz: Jul 3 2012, 03:44 PM
ramz
post Jul 3 2012, 05:02 PM

21,352 posts

QUOTE(cutypuppy @ Jul 3 2012, 04:40 PM)
Hmm....actually got no pro or con, depend on your need, I'm using 3GS IOS 5.1.1 previously & now using the S3, get it when it launch.

For internet surfing, I prefer S3 which is more faster & can upload photo as normal browser which Iphone not able to do it.

For gaming, I prefer the Iphone 3GS which it run smooth.

So now i own the S3 for business use like mail, surfing & uploading for sharing. Other than that, I get another Ipad 2 for Gaming & reading ebook as well....

So choice is your, since S3 is available at the shop, just go & play it, if don't like, just wait for the Iphone 5, else just get the S3.

There will not have the best phone in the world since technology is keep changing time by time, but will have suitable phone for your need now, just go & try it.
u are so in tune with me. really.

i use my s3 for business. coz there are lot of unforeseen events like pc breakdown and here come s3 to the rescue. coz the s3 behaves nearly like a pc (so close in fact i think only thing missing is serious ms office work). and yes, u can even conneect your 1 terabyte pocket hardisk to your s3!!!

but for smoothness related things, ipad is it. some apps, and gaming is best on ipad. video streaming and music too. coz the retina display just resonates well with my eye retina.

This post has been edited by ramz: Jul 3 2012, 05:04 PM
ramz
post Jul 4 2012, 09:34 AM

21,352 posts

QUOTE(JaysonGoh @ Jul 4 2012, 01:40 AM)
Wow? After turn on is everything normal?  shocking.gif
my experience on s3 is that the quality is not as the good old s1 and s2 days. i have a slight yellow tint on my screen that i don't see on other s3s. and during very dark rooms with black screen, i can see a slight flooding of lights from the touch buttons to the screen. its not a deal breaker, but that says something about the quality. well there is 1 year warranty, but is very leceh to go to samsung to repair coz i have my whole life in that phone. as for my ipad, no issues at all except it hangs every week or so of use. i read in websites that is normal i guess.
ramz
post Jul 4 2012, 10:08 AM

21,352 posts

QUOTE(cutypuppy @ Jul 4 2012, 10:02 AM)
Well the is no perfect device in the world, either suits you or not.

But if a device hang weekly consider normal, than what is not normal. My Ipad heavy on gaming & surfing, do not have such issue.
perhaps it has to do with housekeeping (deleting apps from the multtask tray). my wife and kids never do that (neither do i). i still don't do housekeeping. but must do ah?
ramz
post Jul 4 2012, 03:33 PM

21,352 posts

Wait as long as your current phone can still use. Phones are not investments. They depreciate so much. It's wise to spend less on these things and spend more on assets that appreciates like house., business, land etc

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0453sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 09:40 AM