Wait iphone 5 or get Galaxy S3 now

ramz
post Jul 28 2012, 10:40 AM

21,398 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Jul 28 2012, 10:21 AM)
Haven't yet seen an S3 user switching to iPhone4S and saying he loves it  hmm.gif
i criticize samsung like hell. but i also criticise apple. i won't get a iphone4s only for 1 reason - no H+. better get the new ipad instead coz it has H+. H+ network is common now. even in small towns you can get H+. its twice as fast as H. so why would u buy a high end phone that cost rm2000 that give u half the internet speed of what the carriers are offering?

t. so the answer to this thread is very simple: get s3 now, or wait for iphone 5. don't get iphone 4s yet. if u still gatal to get an apple now, go for new ipad 3. but ipad 3 is not a phone.
ramz
post Jul 28 2012, 11:59 AM

21,398 posts

remember this is a apple site. apple users dominate this site. u won't hear many stories where ex-apple users move to other platforms from here.

anyway, contrary to dannyl is saying, i believe apple users are really sticky to apple. they won't move so easily. its just branding 101. it has to do with the "posh image' apple has set in people's mind. and also users get "dependent" on the apple platform they indulge. imagine all the apps they have purchased just goes down the drain when they switch platforms. its a hard think to do, even for me.
ramz
post Jul 28 2012, 04:38 PM

21,398 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jul 28 2012, 12:33 PM)
u dont even read my signature, dont u?
i use S2 and then change to S3,
i complain a lot about S3, but i comment nothing on S2.
i fully satisfied with S2 since first day i use android, but only S3 is make me frustrating.
but what i see, what i read, from first page of this thread, most of the comments are fair.
all of them gives pro and cons when using both of them. very less of them talking one side supporting Apple.
p/s: i think i already discussed this together with u, rite?

on the other hand, if u put this topic in samsung topic, they are more "fans" that hate apple compared to "ifans" that hate Samsung. just exactly like what i post earlier. nobody cares about phone this and phone that. android users are fine, only Samsung users are love to be haters. and i dont know why.
I'm reading from my s3 no signature on mobile format. I have no major complaints on performance but on quality control I have issues. I have s3,s1 and ipad 3. I think the performanceof of s3 is as good as my ipad 3.
ramz
post Jul 30 2012, 05:14 AM

21,398 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jul 29 2012, 10:20 PM)
For those says that apple fan is stupid, think again.
Not everybody love to see fancy stuff in their phone by sacrifice its performance and speed.
As for me, i prefer simplicity with apple ios, and the speed is much important to me. For business and corporate use, i dont like to see animation widget in front of my screen but takes two second just to open my contact list. Me and my board of committe got so much things to do instead of waiting. Imagine if u wan open a document from your email and it takes 5 minutes during a meeting, thats shameful! And thats what happen when i use my S3, which i never experience with my 4S.
I'm not defending Samsung. But I like to call a spade a spade. Widgets is a choice. If you don't want widgets then don't use them and it will look like iphone. Opening a document from email requires download. Download depends on Internet speed. Whether using 4s or s3 you still need to download. And I don't think the speed is any different unless you are in h+ zone then s3 is faster.
ramz
post Jul 30 2012, 08:42 AM

21,398 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jul 30 2012, 08:15 AM)
no
i am talking bout speed wise
iOS is simple and straight forward
while android have too many buttons for settings
time is matter for us. some of users around the world may not need it, but for us, 1 second is costing money
what exactly u referring to? maybe an example will help.

if u talking about speed in the scrolling and framerate then yes ios wins. even on s3 the difference is still a tad better on ip4s. some peole just like to see smoothness. coz its pleasant to the eyes and resembles the real world. i totally get that.

but if u talking about speed of an application opening up upon clicking the icon, then its about the same s3 vs ip4s
ramz
post Jul 30 2012, 02:46 PM

21,398 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Jul 30 2012, 02:18 PM)
How many steps does it take for your to get to a root folder in your SD card? Say "SDcard>Documents>Coorperate Stuff> Important Files" - How many steps on an iPhone? On Android it's 1.

How many steps does it take to deactivate/activate Wifi on iPhone? It's 1 again.

Regardless of any OS. The phone is only as smart as the user. Too many buttons? The basic homescreen of the iPhone is rows and rows of icons(buttons). But to be fair, people like you should stay with iPhones.
iphone no sd card leh. no file manager either. what u talking? and wifi activation i could swear its 2 steps: 1. dropdown notification bar, 2. wifi off.

This post has been edited by ramz: Jul 30 2012, 02:50 PM
ramz
post Jul 30 2012, 02:53 PM

21,398 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Jul 30 2012, 02:48 PM)
Thank you for pointing this out.  laugh.gif This is intended.
my mission is to call a spade a spade. not to say which is better. both have good market share. so both have its own merits. if i have a way, i will buy out both of them and merge the 2 technologies together, and of course get rid of itunes.
ramz
post Jul 31 2012, 03:39 PM

21,398 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jul 31 2012, 02:32 PM)
The whole idea about a simple OS is to do away with folders so why do you need a file manager for? Android is so much like Windows which I am moving away from. 

SD card appears to be a great thing for android phones but I think its more of a curse.  I really hate it when the android system have to scan and scan the sd card.  The bigger the sd card capacity and more files it contain, the longer it takes and that really becomes a pain after a while.  Move your programs from internal to external sd card storage and it takes ages to open up the program.  Iphone never have this stupid scan card thing and if you want more space, there is always a larger capacity iPhone.  In the end if android user think that having external SD card is such a great thing, Think AGain!

That is why apple user Think Differently! They rather spend more and have a OS that is friendly which you don't have to worry about folder etc and no need to have extra storage that need scanning all the time!
i'm not an IT expert. but i have been using PCs for a long time already - since 1995. and as u know everybody who uses pcs are accustomed with file systems (show me one that isn't). so this paradigm of organizing your digital objects into universal folders and subfolders resembles the real world. in the real world, if u want to search for abc proposal document for example, u go to the proposal cabinet, and under folder "abc" i would find the proposal. in the non-file system paradigm, i would first need to ask which "app" is my document in first - is it a spreadsheet, word doc, or powerpoint doc? i have no idea.

and as for the sd card, i think u need to be updated. its now 2012. my samsung s3 i when i boot up it takes 20 secs. on the 21st second onwards i can already access my sd card. there is no longer any "scanning sd card...." message like zaman dulu.
ramz
post Aug 3 2012, 02:14 PM

21,398 posts

Do you think Timothy cook is using android?
ramz
post Aug 3 2012, 03:53 PM

21,398 posts

s3 is a very practical phone. it can do everything a PC can do. nearly everything. even in its unrooted/unflashed state. i think the only think it cannot do is......err....maybe handle complex documents. maybe....i assume i guess.

as for my ipad. well its good for what i expect it to do but its quite far from a pc.

This post has been edited by ramz: Aug 3 2012, 03:58 PM
ramz
post Aug 3 2012, 04:22 PM

21,398 posts

QUOTE(xin @ Aug 3 2012, 04:11 PM)
my WM is the nearest to the PC lol .. it even can install PC games .. wow
besides that what else WM closer to pc?
ramz
post Aug 3 2012, 07:40 PM

21,398 posts

QUOTE(xin @ Aug 3 2012, 04:33 PM)
almost everything, you try use WM phone then you know. Afterall they come from the same DNA.
I was hoping for a specific example
ramz
post Aug 7 2012, 06:30 AM

21,398 posts

QUOTE(s3an_looi @ Aug 7 2012, 12:02 AM)
Ok what can the android not do ?
Good question. Right now I'm playing subway surfers. It's an awesome game but can't find it on Android. There is another app plentunium kinda good can't find it on Android. Apple is about the apps. Especially the niche apps.
ramz
post Aug 8 2012, 07:23 AM

21,398 posts

i'm a practical guy. i use my phone to make my life easier, and not so much for entertainment. i show u some pracitcal examples. i don't bring my computer anymore when i am out of office for short stints. so i rely on my phone.

1. i want a phone that can transfer files easily. coz when my client ask for a file, i can just whip it out and give it to him in usb drive, and when my client give me a usb drive that contains a file that i need, i can just transfer it easily to my phone (act as an interim computer)
2. i want a phone that can read my attachments offline. where i visit sometimes no internet or very slow internet. so not all the time i can rely on the dropbox cloud service.
3. i want a phone that can easily communicate with my computer. drag and drop style. coz when i am back on my computer, all my files that i transferred to my phone now i will transfer to my computer. and i want to transfer fast without loading any kind of "synch" software. coz sometimes the computer i am using doesn't have that kind of sync software
4. i want a phone that i can whip out my sd card and just give to the client to copy in case all other method of transfer fails (bluetooth is soooo combersome, dropbox don't work if no wifi, usb drive sometimes i forgot to bring)
5. i want a phone can play all kinds of video. sometimes my client give me a work related video, and its in avi format. i want it to be able to transfer into my phone, and play on my phone.

so which phone u think is suitable for my everyday practical usage?

of course is not for leisure. for leisure i don't use a phone i use a tablet. and guess what tablet is that?
ramz
post Aug 8 2012, 02:40 PM

21,398 posts

WM has no future for now. but i will consider WM 8.
ramz
post Aug 9 2012, 05:42 AM

21,398 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Aug 8 2012, 05:16 PM)
u r using traditional way of file sharing. instead of so troublesome to synch here and there, carrying arnd usb drives, why dun u use iCloud service?

fast, convenient and trouble-free.

or maybe u always work in isolated places. then different story lar.
if like that, better use pen and paper.

LOL
It's an unreasonable world out there kid. Cloud service is not the solution to everything. Out There u don't get the comfort of your home wifi. Out there U only get a quota of 1g per month. U think clients are so willing to share their wifi with u? And if someone give u something in pen drive do u say to him "take it back and email to me instead". What happen if it's 1 g in size? U think he will tolerate your request?

Some people suggested bring a lap top. That is correct for some cases where I actually do. But when I don't I still got my phone that I can depend on. Is about convenience. its about flexibility. Things don't always go the way you plan it.
ramz
post Aug 9 2012, 03:14 PM

21,398 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Aug 9 2012, 02:46 PM)
coz it is by the mighty apple
nope, coz icloud is more integratable to ios than any other cloud service. for example "itunes in the cloud", it really means "itunes in the icloud", and can never be "itunes in dropbox".

ramz
post Aug 10 2012, 07:04 AM

21,398 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Aug 9 2012, 06:54 PM)
well, nowadays my client just upload their files into my corporate dropbox account. it is printed in our company's business card.

many clients are overjoyed bcos it is so much convenience for them. some even mentioned that it is much safer method. imagine if u keep ur important files on thumbdrive and lost it.  rclxub.gif

but this is getting out of topic.

many ppl are used to the old ways and keep resisting change.
but there are always better methods out there.
just got to plan properly.

apple leads the way.
think different. nod.gif
let's live in your hypothetical world for a moment. All transfers are on the cloud. there is no longer a need to transfer through
1. pendrives
2. portable hardisk
3. bluetooth
4. wifi direct
5. nfc
6. usb/memory cards.

possible? possible yes. but it is happening today? this is 2012. the methods above for transfering files are very much alive. i am not living in the future. i am living in the now. apple can lead the way i don't care. but i want today's solutions, not tomorrow's.
ramz
post Aug 10 2012, 09:23 AM

21,398 posts

QUOTE(KuLi @ Aug 10 2012, 08:51 AM)
on the contrary, u r in the past. pls start to think of the future.
And you please start thinking of the present. It's about choice. I can choose to transfer anyway I want. You can't.
ramz
post Aug 10 2012, 04:56 PM

21,398 posts

iphone is indeed a very trendy phone. If u look at real stats, the users are CEOs, Directors, and such with high profile jobs........basically users that don't spend too much time tinkering their phones, ..... and transferring files, i must add.

This post has been edited by ramz: Aug 10 2012, 04:58 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0391sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:38 AM