8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Hardware 2012 NEW MacBook Pro | MacBook Air Users Thread, Version 9.0 - 95%/92% score on Gdgt.com!

FishnChipx
post Jul 2 2012, 08:48 PM

988 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 2 2012, 07:23 PM)
Cant see shit, Captain.

EDIT: "kernel_task" isn't part of virtualization processes, it is because you are using too many external hardware devices. G35 headphones lah, G700 mouse lah, notebook cooler lah, external keyboard lah. With all these devices connected on your usage pattern, you're better off getting a Mac Mini instead of an MBP RD!
From this article: http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-13727_7-20091...up-ram-in-os-x/
lol, instead of getting mac mini which i cant bring around, that y i just upgrade the ram to 16gb then problem solve ? rclxms.gif
FishnChipx
post Jul 2 2012, 10:19 PM

988 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 2 2012, 09:44 PM)
Yes. Instead of turning the laptop form factor and use it with external keyboards, USB headsets, USB mouse and USB hubs dangling around?

I have never(or rarely) seen anyone (except those coming from Windows camp), that are fond with external peripherals. Did you read that "kernel_task" article I posted? You're adding unnecessary RAM allocation to peripherals you keep connected all the time.

As for the advice on maxing out RAM, it's a matter of looking at your usage + how long your hanging on to that Mac before reselling it. I never had a portable device longer than 12 months in my possession, AND fom my posted Activity Monitor screenshot, I KNOW my RAM allocation needs never exceeds 8GB RAM. Virtualization is a poor way of using dual OS, and is more of a stop-gap than a permanent solution. Boot camp utilizes all the resources available mended for multi-OSes without any detrimental effect on either OS.
er, why do you care how ppl use their laptop ? yes i am coming from windows so you are actually not happy with the way how i use mac notworthy.gif ? why you dont go youtube and post there "y u plug so many thunderbolt / hdmi monitor ? why you use bluetooth keyboard mouse etc etc ?
Anyway, that is my workstation which i can and i just like plug in anything i am comfortable with. as I said just now, 8GB for u is more then enough, maybe 4gb is too much for u too. lol rclxms.gif
I know what VMware fusion (only consume 1.5gb ram) can and cant do, do you think i will just sacrifice dual boot for nothing ? it just few stupid software / tools that i really need windows explorer or windows to run. for wat i doing dual boot ? ( i guess u will ask me what is the tools those rite ? i can only say that is our company own tools which only have window platform tongue.gif )
well, let get all this thing end here as i have choose the 16GB path and i know it is suit me more and also can remain all my workstation stuff w/o any changes except OS part, so what wrong with that ?

for 16gb ram, i can do more, because i already pay more. i m not budgeting to 8gb which going to be my rmbp a bottleneck on doing my stuff. rclxms.gif
FishnChipx
post Jul 2 2012, 10:27 PM

988 posts

QUOTE(liwei92 @ Jul 2 2012, 10:22 PM)
Agree with you , i dont understand how the way people wanted 16gb ram could be so troubling to him

he ordered the 16gb ram and get over it
thanks. seriously i didnt complaint a thing and just it crash for 2 times today which i duno why.. then he started all this =='
i remember i didnt see any thing that say mbp cant use so many ext stuff, mbp must this and that... icon_rolleyes.gif
because i know i going to use more ram, so i get the 16gb haha.
FishnChipx
post Jul 2 2012, 10:38 PM

988 posts

QUOTE(maxsua @ Jul 2 2012, 10:30 PM)
anyone here bought the latest New MBP Retina? Cuz i'm from sabah. Just wanna know Retina MBP arrived in M'sia or not? still waiting.
few of us here already using it (i am using it too ^^) there are in malaysia already but not sure where have stock.. for demo unit almost whole klang valley machines have it, lowyat also have alot demo unit cos i just went there ytd, but they have no stock, need preorder..

QUOTE(liwei92 @ Jul 2 2012, 10:32 PM)
the crashed was caused by chrome i supposed , your using that right?
yea i was using chrome canary and the windows live messenger for mac (this messenger is like bug bug 1 ==') that y i am suspecting is one of them haha. when it suddently white screen, i also not sure what to do, just saw somthing like ask me press any key to restart.. then i press it to restart then everything back to normal >.<
FishnChipx
post Jul 2 2012, 10:49 PM

988 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 2 2012, 10:37 PM)
Because you're bringing the Windows mentality if doing things when the Mac OSX workflow and common sense costs you less money and more efficiency?

There is a better way of doing things. And costs lest performance hits on your machine compared to the sloppy way of you doing it currently. Sure, I can get a message sent via snail mail/post but who does that anymore when it's more efficient to either just text, email or bloody voice-chat via teleconferencing?

You can get away with 8GB RAM without running VMWare Fusion and going via Bootcamp instead. The end result would be the same, you'd get the job done, but it's like you going to the supermarket on a noisy,gas-guzzling, smoke belching lorry, when you can do the same thing riding a Nissan Leaf or Prius without spending much and with improved fuel/cost efficiency.

By all means, do what you want. In the end, no specs will be enough for you coz you do things the inefficient way (More Ghz, more RAM,etc) instead if packing those work flow within efficient work cycle.

I learnt to do things "the hard way" too coz I'm taught the ways of Windows but when Apple provides better execution and efficient ways of doing things, I'm willing to learn those work flow and abandon the slow, clunky, inefficiency Window ways. I still use Windows for games though, coz in the flip-side of this, Windows does it better in gaming than Macs. Just don't bring the old Windows adage (more gigahertz, bigger the number the better) when using a Mac. We've moved beyond pure Ghz numbers in processors and gone into improving cite processor efficiency cycles at lower processor frequency.

I'm providing my own side of how I compute on my Mac. If you still want to carry on with that Windows adage, be my guest. *shrugs*
stringfellow i keep laughing when i see ur reply lol ! let break it down like :

1. Because you're bringing the Windows mentality.....
ofcourse i am because i am using windows previously! what OSX workflow and sense, how i know ? this is my 3rd day on osx lol!

2. There is a better way of doing things......
like using the trackpad on the laptop to do photoshop ?

3. You can get away with 8GB RAM without running VMWare Fusion .....
so i will just restart my mac and boot into window just maybe to run 2 or 3 tools only? if like that there are more efficient and cost saving way, which is i just buy a cheap window pc enough, for wat i buy mbp ? the result sure wont be same because i can buy 5 to 6 cheapo laptop and play with them biggrin.gif

4. I'm providing my own side of how I ...
yes you can, but you are the 1 who keep saying window this and window that ... while I didnt =='(you can read back those reply anyway)

Added on July 2, 2012, 10:52 pm
QUOTE(maxsua @ Jul 2 2012, 10:40 PM)
Ic ic, so envy you. i sold out my macbook unibody late 2008. Now waiting for the stock for new MBP retina. How is it? nice to use? any comment for me notworthy.gif
yup, everything works great especially the screen ^^ u really gotta experience it your self hehe

Added on July 2, 2012, 10:53 pm
QUOTE(liwei92 @ Jul 2 2012, 10:48 PM)
Well i know your purpose and i don't recall him saying more ram is better , just if he use that much ram like 16gb which is very much for me also , good for him.

But you know , the way you were asking him are really inappropriate, its more like a  really ill-mannered questioning , like you are so unhappy that he used that way , seriously
yes i do feel very uncomfortable to talking / seeing how he reply my post. I dont know is it my problem or..... cry.gif

This post has been edited by FishnChipx: Jul 2 2012, 10:53 PM
FishnChipx
post Jul 2 2012, 10:57 PM

988 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 2 2012, 10:54 PM)
Point number 3 isn't efficient if you have to carry two laptops with you. Efficient is the keyword here, remember?

I don't use my Ferrari just to drive it to the wet market to buy fish. I use my reliable Nissan Leaf. Sure, I can use the Ferrari to do the same thing but it defeats the purpose of doing it efficiently without costing me much of my resources. Analogous enough?
efficent means i no need carry at all, cos i can put those laptop 1 at office, 1 at house, 1 at duno where and where, super efficent ! lol just kd tongue.gif
we all know you are reli rich with nice car and nice gadget which all showing at your siggy there, no need keep on nagging and repeating the same thing here, if you got the 8GB, then live with it, do all your "efficient" way to make 8GB more "efficient" for you.
while 16gb for me , i am very happy with it ~ i belive next time once i know how to make the ram on OSX more "efficiently" i will surely can make good use of the 16gb ram smile.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by FishnChipx: Jul 2 2012, 11:03 PM
FishnChipx
post Jul 2 2012, 11:07 PM

988 posts

QUOTE(liwei92 @ Jul 2 2012, 11:03 PM)
I have similar situation too ill been thinking because i just ordered the normal 256 gb , ill of course install bootcamp but sometimes im just too lazy to use bootcamp to watch ppstream with my gf , so , what im thinking is i'll just use some window-virtualization tech(i dont knw what its call) that allows me to use pps , but when im feeling like playing games, then ill boot to window

Ppstream is just a small application , i dont think booting to window is called efficient
window-virtualization tech <-- we call that VM, virtual machine ^^ i am using vmware fusion. seriously this is a very light version of vm, bootcamp surely usefull on playing game ^^ but i also only have 256gb hdd, so i just give up on that and live with vmware sad.gif

edit: to your off topic, mcd is the best XD

This post has been edited by FishnChipx: Jul 2 2012, 11:08 PM
FishnChipx
post Jul 2 2012, 11:19 PM

988 posts

QUOTE(liwei92 @ Jul 2 2012, 11:09 PM)
Is there anywhere that use a window application without booting up window in Vm? i want to used a edited version of pps that arent avaiable in mac

More off-topic: Mcd nt healthy and oh yeah subway hehehe
yup, when u click open an .exe programe or any window files or let say right click a jpeg and choose open with "paint", it will promt you and ask want to open that in windows, if you click yes, then the vmware will kick in and start it self ^^ ofcourse u can manually open that too ^^
FishnChipx
post Jul 2 2012, 11:53 PM

988 posts

QUOTE(liwei92 @ Jul 2 2012, 11:50 PM)
i knw bt mine ver can watched all the vip one lol..all the good movies are in vip
i just want QVOD, but looks like only china app store can download that while my apple id (malaysia) wont allow me to do that sad.gif
FishnChipx
post Jul 3 2012, 08:27 AM

988 posts

QUOTE(SurpriseZZZZZ @ Jul 3 2012, 01:43 AM)
I'm on your side this time.  For me, I'm that kind of person who can't stand people from using their MBP or their PC in an inefficient way. It is like you are buying a Ferrari but not driving it the Ferrari way.

Added on July 3, 2012, 1:51 am

Be frank, my RMBP takes 15 seconds to go into Lion.
Though I never tried using windows on this machine. I bet the booting time should be around the same.
Boot windows natively will gives you more house power.
I try not to install windows in my RMBP.

If I need to work, I'll stop all my games and boot into windows and work.
When my stuff is done, I'll boot it back to my Lion.

Booting time is not a big issue in your RMBP right?
I bet booting into Lion and Windows are around the same time.
Should be 10-15 seconds.
it not the matter of boot time fast or slow, it is the matter that need to "reboot". let say i am using osx now for surfing and doing my stuff half way, then suddently i will need to use window to open some stuff or file only, maybe just to monitor somthing or test some application.. if i use bootcamp that means i have to reboot all my stuff which i doing halfway on the osx and go into window just click somthing then reboot back into osx... dont u think this is reli waste of time ? since vmware can do my stuff, why i need bootcamp anyway ?
anyway, it is somthing like i am using 90% osx (most of the time using osx) and 10% window only (just to test few application or open file).i dont see why i need going all the hassle way for me doing bootcamp =='. btw, one more important thing, my hdd drive is only 250gb, using vmware i only use 10gb of hdd space because i can share the drive wit OSX, if bootcamp, they are both completely isolate, means i will need to spare more space for my windows. lol

It is like you are buying a Ferrari, of course the ferrari can do more stuff, using VMware confirm is not a problem too, why going the old way which doing bootcamp ?

This post has been edited by FishnChipx: Jul 3 2012, 08:52 AM
FishnChipx
post Jul 3 2012, 05:46 PM

988 posts

QUOTE(SurpriseZZZZZ @ Jul 3 2012, 11:43 AM)
Oh boy, this function exists for a reason.

Well, if you think you can drive your Ferrari your way well enough. We'll just shut up.
After all, this is a forum to share ideas. The right way of using your Mac.
If you feel like you want to do it that way, be my guest.

Same mentality, when I go into "Does iPad able to replace laptop?" thread.
People are not using their device, the intended, designed, manufacturer way.
When this happens, they will complain. Complain that iPad can't do this or that.

The problem is that the iPad is not designed to be used this way.

In case you need the source, Click here.

Anyway, enough of this.

If you didn't know how this is started, refer to your post, the highlighted part.
People tell you nicely that there is a thread for ordering discussion repeatively and this is what you interpreted.
why u still dont understand that what i mean ==' i just dont want msn til half way, watching youtube halfway, gaming til half way, then somthing i need open window to run awhile , so if i use bootcamp to do it, i have to close all those what i am doing and reboot into window ? it weired rite ? since i can just 1 click open vmware and doing my stuff while continue msn, youtube etc etc in one window.. seriously, it is all depend on us where if you think bootcamp is suit u better, then u bootcamp while i think vmware can handle my task already, then i'll choose vmware.. lol thumbup.gif

btw, u mean mbp is design not to use with vmware ? or not to use wit 16gb ram ? or not to use other ext peripheral ?
from my though, mbp is still a portable machine which allow me continue to do my stuff from windows and osx. why do we need to argue about this ?

and so that F**k word is insulting ? well, if like that then i appologize because i dont know that world u guys take it so serious in forum, since i only use it as a joking way to tell them go to the correct thread to further discussion regarding delivery only =='

Added on July 3, 2012, 5:50 pm
QUOTE(liwei92 @ Jul 3 2012, 10:45 AM)
For god sakes , why do you even care how people are using? seriously , okay , you guys are really creepy

i probably should wait quietly for my mbpro to come and stay out from this forum
i agree ... is my fault because i share what happen on my laptop only sad.gif better just keep quiet next time if anything happen blush.gif

Added on July 3, 2012, 5:51 pm
QUOTE(exp007 @ Jul 3 2012, 11:03 AM)
I'm on FishnCHipx side. Why waste time booting when you wanna work side by side with Windows. VMWare/Parallels is more efficient (copy & paste across, file transfers, etc) unless you wanna play games (then use Bootcamp). Plug into ext monitor, retina screen OSX, the other screen Windows, both running same time, 1 RMBP.
yeah rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif is not that i want to use VMware to do heavy stuff like playing flying spaghetti monster HON those, lol!

This post has been edited by FishnChipx: Jul 3 2012, 05:51 PM
FishnChipx
post Jul 3 2012, 06:12 PM

988 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Jul 3 2012, 06:11 PM)
fishnchipx, your unit is buy from retail store or online store?
online store BTO smile.gif
FishnChipx
post Jul 3 2012, 06:20 PM

988 posts

QUOTE(Xirality @ Jul 3 2012, 06:14 PM)
plan to go with your setup since I can't really change the ram.
cool ^^ actually i love my 16gb ram and it rocks haha, since i not 100% sure the ram is it really soldered in the rmbp, but i am getting it because i know i will use that much haha.
FishnChipx
post Jul 3 2012, 07:39 PM

988 posts

wow, very informative site! thanks mate, will definitely book mark that page!
FishnChipx
post Jul 4 2012, 11:19 PM

988 posts

QUOTE(Victor3010 @ Jul 4 2012, 11:12 PM)
For 226 dpi of pixel density in the rmbp, i recalled Steve jobs launching the iPhone 4 saying that the threshold our eyes can't differentiate pixel is when the pixel density becomes more than 300 dpi... Did they over advertised the rmbp?
once u put both retina and non retina mbp, then u can see the difference, or else it should be hardly see it unless u go very very close to see the lcd hehe.
FishnChipx
post Jul 5 2012, 08:28 AM

988 posts

guys, just want to ask.. do you all enable and use the time machine in os X ? cos i notice the time machine snapshot file is getting larger and larger ==' i have already sudo tmutil disablelocal to clear it and also disable it. do you guys do the same ? or any other solution ?
FishnChipx
post Jul 5 2012, 09:06 AM

988 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Jul 5 2012, 09:04 AM)
I use time machine manually. 1TB is not enough if auto backup T.T
ehh ? how to do it manually? lol

edit: nvm i googled and found.. lol

Added on July 5, 2012, 9:14 amsry, another question here. let say today i make another backup, is there any way for me to delete all the backup from lastweek and remain this week backup file only ?

This post has been edited by FishnChipx: Jul 5 2012, 09:14 AM
FishnChipx
post Jul 5 2012, 09:57 AM

988 posts

QUOTE(Jing-leBelle @ Jul 5 2012, 09:55 AM)
Yeap, go into your time machine and delete your old backup in there. There's an option to delete.
is not directly delete those folder at backups.backupdb rite ?
FishnChipx
post Jul 6 2012, 05:20 PM

988 posts

wonder how is the speed for the micro SD card and what is the support speed for our retina mbp card reader..but still very interesting stuff!
FishnChipx
post Jul 8 2012, 11:11 PM

988 posts

hey guys, there are 2TB ext hdd WesternD (2.5" usb 3.0 w/o need any external power)! i just got mine at midvalley maybank treats point fair for free lol! (use my cc point to change) or can buy with RM699. now i no need to bring so many 500gb ext drive around lol biggrin.gif

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0251sec    1.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:46 PM