Sony XPERIA™ Neo/NeoV/Pro Official Thread V2, ICS updatable with SUS

arbelnox
post Aug 22 2012, 03:29 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Aug 22 2012, 02:41 PM)
1) root or not, u can still update, just that after u update, ur unit is no more rooted. why bother Central Europe version when u can just flash it with International version (thorus sets uses this).

2) why cant they? just flash it with stock GB fw and do it.

3) nothing different, but we advice to use SUS coz SPC is not stable at the moment. SUS can provide more accurate update notifications and proper download from the internet.

4) yes. stock GB (International firmware which comes with qwerty and also chinese support)
thanks bro, however there is one thing that I'm not quite sure which is where to get the International firmware? Cos as far as I'm searching from XDA, I couldn't locate the International firmware... most of them are Europe, Africa and Baltic.... Thanks.

Back to Q1 though, I understand that once updated then the device will be unrooted... then I'm confused with some method where they suggest to get Kernel 4.0.3 from NEO and flash it over to PRO, root, and lastly flash with Stock 4.0.4... Won't that 4.0.4 flash render the ROOT stats being overwritten again?
psYCHopath
post Aug 22 2012, 03:30 PM

Collector / Trader of Hamster
951 posts

New Ice Cream Sandwich software version for 2011 Xperia™ smartphones
TSyuhhaur
post Aug 22 2012, 03:50 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Aug 19 2012, 05:20 PM)
Just bought a neo V ytd, still need time exploring android as previously was using nokia n79.
btw, how to use chinese handwriting in sms? all i got is the english keyboard, how to switch over to it?
When using the keyboard, drag down the top notification bar to reveal the keyboard change option.
SiuYi
post Aug 22 2012, 06:37 PM

*Squeeck!*
4,560 posts

QUOTE(arbelnox @ Aug 22 2012, 03:29 PM)
thanks bro, however there is one thing that I'm not quite sure which is where to get the International firmware? Cos as far as I'm searching from XDA, I couldn't locate the International firmware... most of them are Europe, Africa and Baltic.... Thanks.

Back to Q1 though, I understand that once updated then the device will be unrooted... then I'm confused with some method where they suggest to get Kernel 4.0.3 from NEO and flash it over to PRO, root, and lastly flash with Stock 4.0.4... Won't that 4.0.4 flash render the ROOT stats being overwritten again?
.58 GB stock firmware for PRO.

http://minus.com/mO43xlfGY

credits to rexstor

TS, please add this in the front page, if possible kindly search back other links to this fw from rexstor or other members. thanks~

Q1, i know ur confuse, but i duno the meaning behind the method. for me it is like we do not have the proper root method for PRO, then we borow root method from NEO, then NEO root method clashes with PRO at the kernel part, then we flash in the kernel part for PRO, then reflash in PRO fw. tadah~ that's what i understand only~ laugh.gif

----

and HEY, there's a fix on bug aka new updated FW for PRO in ICS!!!! icon_rolleyes.gif

4.1.B.0.587

use SPC to keep settings and apps in previous unit OR use SUS for a clean and clear flash through the internet. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by SiuYi: Aug 22 2012, 06:40 PM
SiuYi
post Aug 22 2012, 06:58 PM

*Squeeck!*
4,560 posts

my root is still around, i think. hmm.gif

p/s: ok, nandroid is gone. fml. forgotten about the rules of flashing. doh.gif rolleyes.gif

Added on August 22, 2012, 8:01 pm
QUOTE(kayro @ Jun 16 2012, 01:30 PM)

ok, this method is not working for the new ICS updated fw for PRO. help required if able. any faster or easier solution? me and my itchy hands.. doh.gif

--------

FINGERS CROSSED

trying onthis method now

conclusion: I GIVE UP!!
icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by SiuYi: Aug 22 2012, 08:38 PM
voscar
post Aug 22 2012, 09:27 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Aug 22 2012, 03:50 PM)
When using the keyboard, drag down the top notification bar to reveal the keyboard change option.
Just tried, nothing shows when I drag down the top notification bar. Instead I found long hold the blank screen for wording will pop-up the input text option, which will bring me to keyboard options.
TSyuhhaur
post Aug 22 2012, 10:11 PM

I came. I saw. I help
3,757 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Aug 22 2012, 09:27 PM)
Just tried, nothing shows when I drag down the top notification bar. Instead I found long hold the blank screen for wording will pop-up the input text option, which will bring me to keyboard options.
That was with 2.3.x GB firmware, with ICS 4.0.4 it is changed
Snoe II
post Aug 22 2012, 10:46 PM

Socialife;Not
1,395 posts

wow !
looks like everybody talk about sony stock ics update now ..
only me still on cm7 gingerbread ..
blush.gif
psYCHopath
post Aug 23 2012, 12:13 AM

Collector / Trader of Hamster
951 posts

QUOTE(Snoe II @ Aug 22 2012, 10:46 PM)
wow !
looks like everybody talk about sony stock ics update now ..
only me still on cm7 gingerbread ..
blush.gif
Cos ur using Smart Watch tongue.gif

Added on August 23, 2012, 12:17 amWhat's fixed for the latest Pro FW update?

This post has been edited by psYCHopath: Aug 23 2012, 12:17 AM
Snoe II
post Aug 23 2012, 12:24 AM

Socialife;Not
1,395 posts

QUOTE(psYCHopath @ Aug 23 2012, 12:13 AM)
Cos ur using Smart Watch tongue.gif

Added on August 23, 2012, 12:17 amWhat's fixed for the latest Pro FW update?
Haha .
I love my smart watch !
tongue.gif

Btw , I'm not update my fw anymore .
Juz stick with fxp129 now ..
Don't want to mess up and install all apps back ..
tongue.gif

But , still waiting stable cm9 and cm10 .
Then , I'll try it ..
SiuYi
post Aug 23 2012, 01:15 AM

*Squeeck!*
4,560 posts

siuyi is still trying on CWM installation, will just update the rooting method for 4.1.B.0.587 for MK16i at the moment.

add-on:
done with CWM. i recovered back my previous download.. check spoiler below:

This post has been edited by SiuYi: Aug 23 2012, 01:39 AM
arbelnox
post Aug 23 2012, 07:22 AM

446 posts

one more question please....

When I fire up the flashtool V 0.90 and click on the "Lighting /thunder" icon, it appears I have to choose between "FLASHMODE" or "FASTBOOT MODE".
So may I know which mode should I choose if I'm just flashing my MK16i to previous GB FW (currently at B.0.587)? And how to enter to each mode?

Kinda confusing cos I've read about few articles where different button is mentioned to enter the FLASHMODE like "BACK" / "MENU" / "VOLUME DOWN"...

SiuYi
post Aug 23 2012, 11:26 AM

*Squeeck!*
4,560 posts

QUOTE(arbelnox @ Aug 23 2012, 07:22 AM)
one more question please....

When I fire up the flashtool V 0.90 and click on the "Lighting /thunder" icon, it appears I have to choose between "FLASHMODE" or "FASTBOOT MODE".
So may I know which mode should I choose if I'm just flashing my MK16i to previous GB FW (currently at B.0.587)? And how to enter to each mode?

Kinda confusing cos I've read about few articles where different button is mentioned to enter the FLASHMODE like "BACK" / "MENU" / "VOLUME DOWN"...

flashmode. the flashtool will prompt u how to get into flashmode and PRO is by pressing 'back' button. pressing 'menu' brings u to fastboot mode.

may i know why u wanna downgrade? i just upgraded and rooted and CWMed my PRO to B.0.587 yesterday.

add-on: i just remmber u saying ur current fw is not normal, so u wanna flash to international firmware and upgrade it to ICS properly, right? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by SiuYi: Aug 23 2012, 11:27 AM
arbelnox
post Aug 23 2012, 11:37 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Aug 23 2012, 11:26 AM)
flashmode. the flashtool will prompt u how to get into flashmode and PRO is by pressing 'back' button. pressing 'menu' brings u to fastboot mode.

may i know why u wanna downgrade? i just upgraded and rooted and CWMed my PRO to B.0.587 yesterday.

add-on: i just remmber u saying ur current fw is not normal, so u wanna flash to international firmware and upgrade it to ICS properly, right? hmm.gif
I see... just managed to downgrade to 0.58.
Well, the reason that I wanna downgrade is because of the keyboard mapping of my MK16i is messed up and hence I think downgrade it to global firmware, root it, install CMW and only then decide whether to upgrade to ICS again or not...
By the way, do you mind to give me B.0.587 global firmware? Cos the .587 firmware that I could found is CENTRAL EUROPE... and I don't wanna mess up my keyboard again smile.gif
SiuYi
post Aug 23 2012, 11:40 AM

*Squeeck!*
4,560 posts

QUOTE(arbelnox @ Aug 23 2012, 11:37 AM)
I see... just managed to downgrade to 0.58.
Well, the reason that I wanna downgrade is because of the keyboard mapping of my MK16i is messed up and hence I think downgrade it to global firmware, root it, install CMW and only then decide whether to upgrade to ICS again or not...
By the way, do you mind to give me B.0.587 global firmware? Cos the .587 firmware that I could found is CENTRAL EUROPE... and I don't wanna mess up my keyboard again smile.gif
if u got international fw for GB in ur PRO now, even after u SUS it or SPC it, it will still be upgraded to ICS international fw. u dun really need the fw. that is why we only keep .587 GB fw instead of the ICS.

i did not archive any fw before, i just upgrade it.

add-on

u can just try to flash to GB international fw then SPC/SUS it to ICS B.0.587 and see if that suits u. coz it will be a waste if u root and install CWM in ur GB then upgrade it to ICS as the root and CWM will loss it fuction (just like what i encounter).

This post has been edited by SiuYi: Aug 23 2012, 11:42 AM
arbelnox
post Aug 23 2012, 11:52 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Aug 23 2012, 11:40 AM)
if u got international fw for GB in ur PRO now, even after u SUS it or SPC it, it will still be upgraded to ICS international fw. u dun really need the fw. that is why we only keep .587 GB fw instead of the ICS.

i did not archive any fw before, i just upgrade it.

add-on

u can just try to flash to GB international fw then SPC/SUS it to ICS B.0.587 and see if that suits u. coz it will be a waste if u root and install CWM in ur GB then upgrade it to ICS as the root and CWM will loss it fuction (just like what i encounter).
I see... so there is no way where I can root, CWM and flash it to B0.587 while keeping ROOT and CWM intact?
Thanks... In that case, think I will update it later then.

Though yesterday when I tried the B.0.587, the phone feels bit sluggish (lagging) than GB... can it be improved with master reset? Thanks
SiuYi
post Aug 23 2012, 11:56 AM

*Squeeck!*
4,560 posts

QUOTE(arbelnox @ Aug 23 2012, 11:52 AM)
I see... so there is no way where I can root, CWM and flash it to B0.587 while keeping ROOT and CWM intact?
Thanks... In that case, think I will update it later then.

Though yesterday when I tried the B.0.587, the phone feels bit sluggish (lagging) than GB... can it be improved with master reset? Thanks
sluggish due to the ram is quite occupied. i find that GB is far consistent than ICS but things have to go forward. im wif ICS .587 rooted and CWM, so far so good. i dun see any big changes compared to .431 ICS..but the presentation in the settings > apps surely got some touchup already. with or without that touchup doesnt seem to provide any big improvement for me.. hmm.gif
arbelnox
post Aug 23 2012, 03:49 PM

446 posts

updated to ICS B.0.587 already. Hmm... the phone sure is more responsive after the master reset as compared to yesterday ICS.

Perhaps time to learn to ROOT and remove bloatwares
SiuYi
post Aug 23 2012, 03:52 PM

*Squeeck!*
4,560 posts

im using pattern lock and the bug on 4.1.B.0.587 ICS PRO i found atm is that sometimes when the screen is locked and slpt, i wake it up using the ON/OFF button, then it shows me the SLIDING lock. after i slide to unlock, it then shows me the PATTERN lock.. what a bug.

p/s; i duno isit me or what, battery life seems promising with this upgrade.

still there is bug on slide lock on ICS Sony which u can still pull down the notification bar above..adesssssssss
arbelnox
post Aug 23 2012, 04:05 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Aug 23 2012, 03:52 PM)
im using pattern lock and the bug on 4.1.B.0.587 ICS PRO i found atm is that sometimes when the screen is locked and slpt, i wake it up using the ON/OFF button, then it shows me the SLIDING lock. after i slide to unlock, it then shows me the PATTERN lock.. what a bug.

p/s; i duno isit me or what, battery life seems promising with this upgrade.

still there is bug on slide lock on ICS Sony which u can still pull down the notification bar above..adesssssssss
Really? Never really use pattern lock so didn't notice such bug before. At least it doesn't sound like deal breaking bug to me...

I sincerely hope that battery life will improve with the upgrade though smile.gif

87 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:23 AM