Sony XPERIA™ Neo/NeoV/Pro Official Thread V2, ICS updatable with SUS

arbelnox
post Aug 10 2012, 07:34 AM

446 posts

Hello guys.. good morning... New black SEX Pro reporting in~

wanna ask for those who updated the phone via PCC (official way), did anyone of you experience the qwerty to azerty HW keyboard issue?
Kinda afraid of updating it since I saw this problem over in Sony's official forum... Thanks

This post has been edited by arbelnox: Aug 10 2012, 08:04 AM
arbelnox
post Aug 10 2012, 01:22 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Aug 10 2012, 12:01 PM)
ur keyboard hardware is qwerty or azerty now?
I'm still at stock GB 2.3.4 (unrooted), so right now is QWERTY.
Just worrying that updating via PCC will mess the keymapping

arbelnox
post Aug 10 2012, 01:41 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(Snoe II @ Aug 10 2012, 01:25 PM)
no . it'll not messing up your keyboard .
alrighty thanks! By the way, is there anyway to install the language pack to the Pro's default keyboard?
I found the chinese missing... my phone's SI is 1261-5019.2 (AR,EN,FR)... so I think it is UK/Europe device.
arbelnox
post Aug 11 2012, 07:52 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(Snoe II @ Aug 10 2012, 07:41 PM)

i believe the language pack is same in all firmware ..
there's no need to install language pack ..
correct me if i'm wrong .
Really? Cos I have tried out a unit which I think is Taiwan Variant where it can switch to Chinese; while mine only contain all those European language. Hence I thought that there is a way to switch the languange pack. In that case, perhaps the only way to get chinese language on international keyboard is to flash to TW/HK stock ROM?
arbelnox
post Aug 11 2012, 02:12 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Aug 11 2012, 10:28 AM)
use flashtool, flash ur unit with an international fw and tat will solve ur problem.
thanks... so out of the following FW, which one has the built in Chinese? (Extracted from XDA)

Stock Firmwares
Note: Stock firmware bundles packed as ftf (below) seems to be cross-compatible between MK16i and MK16a versions. However, do not take this as a 100% fool-proof conclusion, since this has not been confirmed by Sony. You can flash firmware for MK16a in MK16i and vice versa, the only side affect being that your phone would be recognized by software as the corresponding firmware you flashed. In case if you flashed a different baseband and your SIM card/mobile network is not working, you can always re-flash the correct firmware.

For MK16i
MK16i 4.0.1.A.0.283 (1254-8131) (Android 2.3.4)
MK16i 4.0.2.A.0.42 (UK) , ALT (Android 2.3.4)
MK16i 4.0.2.A.0.42 (Generic DE) (Android 2.3.4)
MK16i 4.0.2.A.0.42 (Chinese) (Android 2.3.4)
MK16i 4.0.2.A.0.58 (1249-8108) , ALT1 , ALT2 , ALT3 (Android 2.3.4)
MK16i 4.0.2.A.0.62 (1251-0386) (Android 2.3.4)
MK16i 4.1.B.0.431 (Baltic / Europe Keyboard Layout) & (1251-0386 / Africa Keyboard Layout) (Android 4.0.4)
MK16i 4.1.B.0.431 (Baltic / Europe Keyboard Layout) (Android 4.0.4)

and when we are flashing the FW, do we have to master reset the phone again?
Mine is build number: 4.0.2.A.0.62

Also, I noticed that there are some posts mentioning that root for 042 and 062 has different method is it?
So, if I'm just going to flash the firmware, do I need to first unlock bootloader and root the phone first?

This post has been edited by arbelnox: Aug 11 2012, 02:14 PM
arbelnox
post Aug 11 2012, 02:49 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(megatpanji @ Aug 11 2012, 02:41 PM)
flash FW,dont need to unlock bootloader...flash and then root...
Thanks~
arbelnox
post Aug 11 2012, 04:50 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Aug 11 2012, 04:01 PM)
u want build in chinese form or can read chinese characters or can read and write?
Built in Chinese Read and Write with just the single click on the "Earth" icon on the keyboard..
Right now I'm using google PinYin but switching of language is kinda troubling. Thanks
arbelnox
post Aug 22 2012, 11:22 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Aug 21 2012, 11:02 PM)
that is ICS? owh, u mean B, not A. u can just use the previous stock firmware and upgrade it via SUS.
Fuh, just got back from Singapore 2 days ago... time to update my phone now... still at B.0.62 bootlocked unrooted.
Wanna clarify something first before moving on to ICS~ hehe

so, that means once we root the phone at B.0.42 or B.0.58 then we can update to MK16i 4.1.B.0.587 (Central Europe) with the root access intact?

Also, I wonder why those with ICS stock cannot just flash the Pro to GB (B.0.42) and root it then flash to ICS again?

Also, I'm bit confused with Sony PC Companion and SUS... what's the difference between the two though?

Added on August 22, 2012, 11:49 amshoot....updated via Sony PC Companion and it got me AZERTY keyboard~ more works to do now...

Guess I will just flash back to GB instead...

So, I can just download the GB stock firmware (General DE) and flash it with flash tool is it? No unlock bootloader is needed right?

This post has been edited by arbelnox: Aug 22 2012, 11:49 AM
arbelnox
post Aug 22 2012, 03:29 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Aug 22 2012, 02:41 PM)
1) root or not, u can still update, just that after u update, ur unit is no more rooted. why bother Central Europe version when u can just flash it with International version (thorus sets uses this).

2) why cant they? just flash it with stock GB fw and do it.

3) nothing different, but we advice to use SUS coz SPC is not stable at the moment. SUS can provide more accurate update notifications and proper download from the internet.

4) yes. stock GB (International firmware which comes with qwerty and also chinese support)
thanks bro, however there is one thing that I'm not quite sure which is where to get the International firmware? Cos as far as I'm searching from XDA, I couldn't locate the International firmware... most of them are Europe, Africa and Baltic.... Thanks.

Back to Q1 though, I understand that once updated then the device will be unrooted... then I'm confused with some method where they suggest to get Kernel 4.0.3 from NEO and flash it over to PRO, root, and lastly flash with Stock 4.0.4... Won't that 4.0.4 flash render the ROOT stats being overwritten again?
arbelnox
post Aug 23 2012, 07:22 AM

446 posts

one more question please....

When I fire up the flashtool V 0.90 and click on the "Lighting /thunder" icon, it appears I have to choose between "FLASHMODE" or "FASTBOOT MODE".
So may I know which mode should I choose if I'm just flashing my MK16i to previous GB FW (currently at B.0.587)? And how to enter to each mode?

Kinda confusing cos I've read about few articles where different button is mentioned to enter the FLASHMODE like "BACK" / "MENU" / "VOLUME DOWN"...

arbelnox
post Aug 23 2012, 11:37 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Aug 23 2012, 11:26 AM)
flashmode. the flashtool will prompt u how to get into flashmode and PRO is by pressing 'back' button. pressing 'menu' brings u to fastboot mode.

may i know why u wanna downgrade? i just upgraded and rooted and CWMed my PRO to B.0.587 yesterday.

add-on: i just remmber u saying ur current fw is not normal, so u wanna flash to international firmware and upgrade it to ICS properly, right? hmm.gif
I see... just managed to downgrade to 0.58.
Well, the reason that I wanna downgrade is because of the keyboard mapping of my MK16i is messed up and hence I think downgrade it to global firmware, root it, install CMW and only then decide whether to upgrade to ICS again or not...
By the way, do you mind to give me B.0.587 global firmware? Cos the .587 firmware that I could found is CENTRAL EUROPE... and I don't wanna mess up my keyboard again smile.gif
arbelnox
post Aug 23 2012, 11:52 AM

446 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Aug 23 2012, 11:40 AM)
if u got international fw for GB in ur PRO now, even after u SUS it or SPC it, it will still be upgraded to ICS international fw. u dun really need the fw. that is why we only keep .587 GB fw instead of the ICS.

i did not archive any fw before, i just upgrade it.

add-on

u can just try to flash to GB international fw then SPC/SUS it to ICS B.0.587 and see if that suits u. coz it will be a waste if u root and install CWM in ur GB then upgrade it to ICS as the root and CWM will loss it fuction (just like what i encounter).
I see... so there is no way where I can root, CWM and flash it to B0.587 while keeping ROOT and CWM intact?
Thanks... In that case, think I will update it later then.

Though yesterday when I tried the B.0.587, the phone feels bit sluggish (lagging) than GB... can it be improved with master reset? Thanks
arbelnox
post Aug 23 2012, 03:49 PM

446 posts

updated to ICS B.0.587 already. Hmm... the phone sure is more responsive after the master reset as compared to yesterday ICS.

Perhaps time to learn to ROOT and remove bloatwares
arbelnox
post Aug 23 2012, 04:05 PM

446 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Aug 23 2012, 03:52 PM)
im using pattern lock and the bug on 4.1.B.0.587 ICS PRO i found atm is that sometimes when the screen is locked and slpt, i wake it up using the ON/OFF button, then it shows me the SLIDING lock. after i slide to unlock, it then shows me the PATTERN lock.. what a bug.

p/s; i duno isit me or what, battery life seems promising with this upgrade.

still there is bug on slide lock on ICS Sony which u can still pull down the notification bar above..adesssssssss
Really? Never really use pattern lock so didn't notice such bug before. At least it doesn't sound like deal breaking bug to me...

I sincerely hope that battery life will improve with the upgrade though smile.gif

0.0166sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:07 AM