27 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

No qualified ppl even fresh grad RM100k pa., Investment banking is so hard to hire

beanbag ibank
post May 17 2015, 08:15 PM

88 posts

since i am bored today: a bit of tips how to get through beanbag ibank.

Ah bean reviewed anything between 200-400 CV a year depending on whether he is on recruitment drive.

And he gives 100-200 random calls at random time to CV that worth a call, solely in his opinion.

And he ends half of them abruptly within 10 minutes and talks to the other for 30 mins.

and den some get to the next level.

It is believe that ah bean spend 100-200 hours per success recruitment.

So you may want to think how to get ahead of others.
SUSrobertchoo
post May 18 2015, 12:09 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(Babizz @ Nov 24 2014, 12:35 PM)
im sorry but my friend makes more than 150k 2yrs out of college.. I'm pretty sure he'll open up a business soon and make even more!
Making rm150k is not alot of money if you want to start a business. Lets take rm150k for e.g. at that range yr tax would be 20% mark. Plus epf would amount to 33% gone. Take home pay would only be rm100.5k or rm8.4k a month. Assuming he takes a 5 year car loan on a toyota altis or honda civic that would easily set him back another rm1.2k-rm1.5k. Plus parking, toll, etc easily all in rm2k a month. He would be left with only rm6k per month. And with all the drinking, expensive lunches, dinners, ktv, spa and all those things ib people "live it up" I would be surprised if he can save rm3k a month or rm36k a year. How many years would he need to generate rm1m of capital to start any decent business?

This post has been edited by robertchoo: May 18 2015, 12:10 PM
bernking
post May 18 2015, 04:14 PM

79 posts

as an experienced electronics engineer, can i go into investment banking?
siew14
post May 19 2015, 11:04 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(bernking @ May 18 2015, 04:14 PM)
why not? just make sure your resume is tailored towards to banker and prepared to justify why would you want to switch ur career into different field.

notmycupoftea
post May 22 2015, 05:00 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(beanbag ibank @ May 17 2015, 08:15 PM)
since i am bored today: a bit of tips how to get through beanbag ibank.

Ah bean reviewed anything between 200-400 CV a year depending on whether he is on recruitment drive.

And he gives 100-200 random calls at random time to CV that worth a call, solely in his opinion.

And he ends half of them abruptly within 10 minutes and talks to the other for 30 mins.

and den some get to the next level.

It is believe that ah bean spend 100-200 hours per success recruitment.

So you may want to think how to get ahead of others.
i'm just curious, what kind of things in resume will get your attention? education background or experience?

when u call the candidates, what kind of things / answers u expect to hear? what sort of questions do u ask 1st? technical questions 1st or motivation test 1st?

Frostlord
post May 22 2015, 05:01 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(IBank BeanBag @ Jun 15 2012, 06:35 PM)
hey all, i am here to b****.

At first i thought hiring ppl is easy, always tell CF frens, u all sure not serious, always get lousy candidates.

Now i really feel like vomitting blood.

Front office investment banking job, just need 2 real good fresh  grad, interview until i pusing...
where r good ppl?

willing to pay also canot find  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

Note: new package is up to 100k cos bonus now up to 36 months
soo..... 2k basic?
htprbb
post Jun 18 2015, 07:10 AM

My IB is hiring CF. anyone who's interested please click on the link below.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3603940&hl=
beanbag ibank
post Jun 26 2015, 07:25 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(notmycupoftea @ May 22 2015, 05:00 PM)
i'm just curious, what kind of things in resume will get your attention? education background or experience?

when u call the candidates, what kind of things / answers u expect to hear? what sort of questions do u ask 1st? technical questions 1st or motivation test 1st?
c mood
beanbag ibank
post Jun 26 2015, 07:26 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(notmycupoftea @ May 22 2015, 05:00 PM)

hard to say.

Different quality different pay.

Many candidates think they are very good when in fact they are not. Too bad, try another place.
beanbag ibank
post Jun 26 2015, 07:28 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ May 18 2015, 12:09 PM)
Making rm150k is not alot of money if you want to start a business. Lets take rm150k for e.g. at that range yr tax would be 20% mark. Plus epf would amount to 33% gone. Take home pay would only be rm100.5k or rm8.4k a month. Assuming he takes a 5 year car loan on a toyota altis or honda civic that would easily set him back another rm1.2k-rm1.5k. Plus parking, toll, etc easily all in rm2k a month. He would be left with only rm6k per month. And with all the drinking, expensive lunches, dinners, ktv, spa and all those things ib people "live it up" I would be surprised if he can save rm3k a month or rm36k a year. How many years would he need to generate rm1m of capital to start any decent business?
IB ppl always eat at canteen RM5.

And the idea is 10 years 10 times. He will be 1.5m in 10 years
beanbag ibank
post Jun 26 2015, 07:29 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(bernking @ May 18 2015, 04:14 PM)
Boleh
SUSrobertchoo
post Jun 26 2015, 09:10 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(beanbag ibank @ Jun 26 2015, 07:28 PM)
IB ppl always eat at canteen RM5.

And the idea is 10 years 10 times. He will be 1.5m in 10 years
Hmm...work 12 hours daily including sat/sun, no life and only eat rm5 canteen...nah. no point having money when you can't spend it
azwan92
post Jun 27 2015, 09:24 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(beanbag ibank @ Jun 26 2015, 07:29 PM)
Boleh
Is the job description still the same from last time? Really interested, fyi im a fresh grad in engineering. Despite the background of my education, I trade equities/fx all the time since last 2+ years and has been my hobby everyday, most of the economic news, factors also familiar already.

Working hard not a problem for me rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by azwan92: Jun 27 2015, 09:55 AM
carrer
post Jun 27 2015, 11:29 AM

453 posts

Dear beanbag ibank,

I am in no position to ask you to clarify things, but I would like to humbly ask you about certain things.

These are what I understood about investment banking (IB).
1. In an IB, there are technical analyses traders who trade varieties of securities.
2. In an IB, there are fundamental traders/value-investing traders who make analyses on securities/companies, etc.
3. In an IB, there are research analysts who work on mergers and acquisitions (which I believe it's called corporate finance).

Am I correct here?
The reason why I am asking is because I am a trader who does the number 1 and 2.

And which kind of people you are looking for?

This post has been edited by carrer: Jun 27 2015, 11:31 AM
siew14
post Jun 27 2015, 11:38 AM

845 posts

Traders are short term investment goal, mainly TA with little bit of FA..
1 and 2 are combined..

I don't think they are called research analyst for Mna , I think is either executive or associate

For cf, they just copy and paste the research from other houses and apply to their own MNA then convince their client their value is right or the best.. Lol
beanbag ibank
post Jun 30 2015, 03:44 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Jun 26 2015, 09:10 PM)
Hmm...work 12 hours daily including sat/sun, no life and only eat rm5 canteen...nah. no point having money when you can't spend it
u can dial in any fancy dinner. but dun do IB, no lifestyle one.
fletcherwind
post Jun 30 2015, 04:47 PM

273 posts

QUOTE(carrer @ Jun 27 2015, 11:29 AM)
Dear beanbag ibank,

I am in no position to ask you to clarify things, but I would like to humbly ask you about certain things.

These are what I understood about investment banking (IB).
1. In an IB, there are technical analyses traders who trade varieties of securities.
2. In an IB, there are fundamental traders/value-investing traders who make analyses on securities/companies, etc.
3. In an IB, there are research analysts who work on mergers and acquisitions (which I believe it's called corporate finance).

Am I correct here?
The reason why I am asking is because I am a trader who does the number 1 and 2.

And which kind of people you are looking for?
IB does a lot of things. prop trader? sell side/buy side research analyst? corp finance/dcm/ecm? A lot more roles within IB.

It's quite clear that beanbag is looking for corp fin related people.

I'm just surprised by how you do 1 and 2 in an IB. You either do 1 or you do 2.

Does treasury dept. still run prop equity book these days?

This post has been edited by fletcherwind: Jun 30 2015, 04:50 PM
carrer
post Jun 30 2015, 04:58 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(fletcherwind @ Jun 30 2015, 04:47 PM)
IB does a lot of things. prop trader? sell side/buy side research analyst? corp finance/dcm/ecm? A lot more roles within IB.

It's quite clear that beanbag is looking for corp fin related people.

I'm just surprised by how you do 1 and 2 in an IB. You either do 1 or you do 2.

Does treasury dept. still run prop equity book these days?
I am not an employee of an IB, I am a retail trader who does 1 and 2. Therefore, I have no knowledge about the traders of IBs who only do either 1 or 2.

Thank you for the reply. Are you also working in an IB?

Equity Capital Market and buy side research analyst are what I am interested in, besides the number 1 and 2.

beanbag ibank
post Apr 23 2016, 10:23 AM

88 posts

Your understanding of the IB's business a bit weak.

Btw, we are talking about Investment Banking....not just any part of an investment bank.
LovelyPotato
post Apr 26 2016, 09:08 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(beanbag ibank @ Apr 23 2016, 10:23 AM)
Your understanding of the IB's business a bit weak.

Btw, we are talking about Investment Banking....not just any part of an investment bank.
Hey beanbag, any opening for an engineering graduate? Been working in engineering field for about 2 years (1 year technical, 1 year business development) and are looking to switch to IB. Have a lil knowledge on FSM UT and would like to venture more into this field.

Willing to learn more and learn fast, let me know if there's any opportunities available. I can forward you my resume to have a look if you'd like.

Thanks in advance!

27 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0736sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:56 PM