11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Android Phone recommendation thread V5, Pls use 1st pg format / state your usage

TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 13 2012, 09:39 PM, updated 14y ago

5,538 posts

PLEASE USE THIS FORMAT. Thx. smile.gif
CODE

To request recommendation, what u need to post:

1. Brand. (HTC/Samsung/LG/Motorola/Others)
2. Budget. (1.5k-2k)
3. Specs. (Ram/Proc/Camera's MP/Screen size)
4. What you need in the phone (Good camera/good sound quality/durable)

PLEASE include your requirements when you ask for a recommendation!

Refrain from asking 'Is xxx better than xxx' questions. State your usage and purposes.
==================================================================
Original post from TS:

Quote below by xDarkKnightx
IMPORTANT
DO NOT CLUTTER THE THREAD WITH IRRELEVANT QUESTIONS! DIRECT THOSE TO THE GENERAL QUESTIONS THREAD INSTEAD

Thank you and have a nice day smile.gif

I often stress this a lot and not many actually take note but PLEASE!

Include your requirements when you ask for a recommendation!

Make sure your sentences are correctly typed and easily read. Keep it short and concise . If you ask in a very lazy way and indistinguishable sentences without requirements or any sort of specification I won't respond to your question.

Thanks and have a nice day. notworthy.gif
Previous threads.

Top 10 contributors. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jun 14 2012, 04:16 PM
TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 13 2012, 09:54 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Jun 13 2012, 09:51 PM)
I thought we already have official phone recommendation thread. Why open another one..!??
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2177883/+2480
Oh that 1 is V4, 3 more posts then 2.5k posts edi. smile.gif
This is V5.
TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 13 2012, 10:02 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Jun 13 2012, 10:00 PM)
PM mods to pinned the thread. And ask TS on V4 to close his thread first.
Yeah I will, once it hits 2.5k posts. Thx.
TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 14 2012, 04:06 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Jun 14 2012, 08:39 AM)
Topic pinned smile.gif
Thx mengsuan. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jun 14 2012, 12:34 PM)
Nice option..thanks for your recommendation..
Too bad that Galaxy W cannot upgrade to ICS officially due to single core limitation..  sweat.gif
Xperia U / sola is the best choice in terms of specs but so far got 2 users facing quality problems edi for 'U', the camera shutter button became unresponsive. Previous models also got quality issues, some more Sony's service centres' service sucks.

If u dun mind lower specs, can try HTC one V. Running ICS well in single core. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(syakirizzat @ Jun 14 2012, 12:37 PM)
1.Brand. (HTC/Samsung/LG/Motorola/Others)
2. Budget. (0-1.3)
3. Specs. (Ram 1 gb(didnt lag)/Camera's MP doesnt care as long as beautiful quality/large screen size for watching vid)
4. What you need in the phone (Good camera/good sound quality/durable/fun for playing game) smile.gif
Samsung galaxy nexus / S2 AP set. For S2 better get non-G version.

If must be ori then either HTC evo 3D or Motorola atrix.

QUOTE(jackpro41 @ Jun 14 2012, 02:01 PM)
1. HTC (1st choice) , Samsung (2nd choice) , LG (3rd choice)
2. RM6xx till RM7xx
3. processor at least 1 Ghz, at least 5 MP camera, screen size at least bigger than HTC Desire
4. Large display screen, good camera, large internal memory, slim, lightweight, with front camera, with flashlight, of coz with wifi, adobe flash player supported....

quote me about the recommendation. thanks a lot TS
Samsung galaxy W.
TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 14 2012, 09:22 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jun 14 2012, 08:32 PM)
Thanks for your reply..but unfortunately One V doesn't have front camera..  doh.gif
Can consider HTC desire S or Huawei honor. Will get ICS but I doubt they'll run smoothly. Overall, I think can try xperia U la.
TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 17 2012, 03:06 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jun 14 2012, 09:30 PM)
Seems I have no choice..never mind..thanks for your reply..will let her decide..  biggrin.gif
Will suggest her to get Xperia U seems overall also balance..thanks  notworthy.gif
Seems there is a phone that suit her requirement..Galaxy S Advance..selling RM900+..not famous and no ICS update news from Samsung..  rclxub.gif
Yup, now S advance is good also. Big screen drool.gif .
Why u said not famous? Lol.

QUOTE(carbon14 @ Jun 17 2012, 02:26 PM)
You can go for:

or

I think Xperia Ray still have some viability despite the new U replacing it. One is a dual-core another is a single core. The Ray design is just so  wub.gif

Android 4.1B is out for these two phones. You can install V6 supercharger and remove unwanted apps. In that way you can make the phone zippy and save precious space.
Xperia ray is a good choice with good camera, but <3.5" so it doesn't meet Lineage's requirement.
I read a lot of bad reviews of SE's ICS on those models as well.
TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 17 2012, 09:30 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(natedrake @ Jun 17 2012, 06:03 PM)
guys help me decide

sgs2 g version
galaxy nexus

both sme price about the same

most important feature i need is speed and browsing.
G.nexus
TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 18 2012, 03:37 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(fm_hyudin @ Jun 18 2012, 10:32 AM)
I saw one sony phone advertisement where they claim dust proof and water proof.Not sure what model. May I know what is the model and selling price?
QUOTE(xerox8908 @ Jun 18 2012, 11:27 AM)
Active
Go
Acro s

Only the first one currently available on market.  Probably bout rm600-800
Add Motorola defy / defy+

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Jun 18 2012, 03:11 PM)
LOL
but s2 also very fast and browsing once using ICS
improve a lot
But compared to nexus....?
TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 18 2012, 04:44 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(nilimbeh @ Jun 18 2012, 04:33 PM)
Android Phone Recommendation ! Please Help ! Going to buy new Android Phone!

1. Brand. (HTC/Samsung/Huawei/Any Others)
2. Budget. (RM500-RM800)
3. Specs. (Android OS,Camera doesnt care,Ram the more the better,any size)
4. What you need in the phone (Longer Battery Lasting/Good sound quality/Durable/Good looking)

Guys please recommend me! I am in some trouble choosing a simple smartphone ~
-SE xperia active / live with walkman / mini
-Huawei ideos X5
TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 18 2012, 05:21 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(tengsk78 @ Jun 18 2012, 05:07 PM)
hi all, need help to choose here. I only narrow down to two below.

1. Brand: HTC One X/ Samsung S2
2. Budget: max 1700
3. Specs: screen 4.3" to 4.7"
4. What you need in the phone: Normal use for camera, internet browsing. Plan to use for 3 to 5 years so need durable one

I wish to get one x but worry about the qualify of it as saw forum said many issue with hardware and software, also the unremovalbe battery which must send back to htc for change later and more expensive. But i like the design, screen, camera and sound of it

S2 - more stable less issue, much cheaper compared to one x

TQ
Hmm...like that ahh... hmm.gif

I still recommend one X, got 2 years warranty if registered within 1 week of purchase. So for hardware I think can claim warranty since they allow 1 to 1 exchange, software I guess future updates will solve it. For battery, both removable and unremovable will also get weak eventually. It's just that unremovable 1 will be more expensive, I think can deal with it la. 3 to 5 years, another +1 for one X. Quad core proc.
TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 18 2012, 05:55 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(nilimbeh @ Jun 18 2012, 05:52 PM)
hmm thanks for recommendation , but doesnt really like the brand ''Sony''  .. ><
Do you have other recommendation if i remove ''Good quality in sound and looking for HTC/Samsung/Huawei brand ? doh.gif
i have consider some phone ... Huawei G300,Samsung Galaxy Y,Samsung Galaxy Y duos,Samsung Galaxy Mini 2,Htc Desire C,Htc Explorer .. or any other phone again @@?
Those models are too rare except for the Samsungs, so we won't know our units here got any prob or not. For Samsung, those models are not very worth the $.

I still suggest ideos X5.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jun 18 2012, 05:55 PM
TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 18 2012, 06:34 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(nilimbeh @ Jun 18 2012, 06:05 PM)
hmm ideos X5 is with android 2.2 yawn.gif and i heard that android phone with 2.2 is not so good ? where can i get this phone if  i am located in penang ? ><'' by the way thanks again!!
Can update to 2.3 officially, can even go to 4.0 unoffically through custom ROM.
Android 2.2 and above are ok edi.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jun 18 2012, 06:34 PM
TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 19 2012, 03:59 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(nilimbeh @ Jun 18 2012, 11:13 PM)
is sony xperia active really that good yawn.gif? whats the Pro's of it, i think i will reconsider it :S
Water and dust proof thumbup.gif !
It can also update to ICS but SE of that range seems to be struggling to run it.

QUOTE(AdwinJeans @ Jun 19 2012, 08:13 AM)
I nid to buy a phone

1. Brand. (HTC/Sony/Nokia)
2. Budget. (RM700)
3. Specs. (Camera's MP/Screen size)
4. What you need in the phone (Good camera/good sound quality/3G)
AP SE xperia pro / ray or ori SE live with walkman.

Nokia no Android.

This post has been edited by danielcmugen: Jun 19 2012, 04:00 PM
TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 19 2012, 09:45 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Jun 19 2012, 09:40 PM)
unlimited..
Hmm...S3 will be more or less the same. So try one X? Or other OS?
TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 19 2012, 09:57 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Jun 19 2012, 09:55 PM)
i played with one x, sense 4.0 is not my taste, but i do like the screen...besides wp, what is other os, i will never ever buy apple product..anyone played with lumia 900???
I played with lumia 800, ok la.

Other OS hmm.gif , RIM and Symbian?? sweat.gif
TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 19 2012, 10:00 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(ogiveyakuza @ Jun 19 2012, 09:59 PM)
played with my bro in law lumia 800, basically, in term of software is same rite..? haisy...
Yup, same.
TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 20 2012, 01:09 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(walamak1988 @ Jun 20 2012, 12:59 AM)
Is there any umuch different between S2 and S Advance? My mom Looking to buy a new phone and I've been thinking this 2..Maybe other bros here can recommend me other phone..Thanks biggrin.gif
Not much, just camera... hmm.gif ..screen...and no news about ICS on S advance. Can also consider Samsung galaxy nexus and Sony xperia sola.
TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 20 2012, 09:24 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(roadie @ Jun 20 2012, 05:53 PM)
thanks for the feedback. comparing those 2 phones...
- can htc one v install swype?
- is there a big difference in performance between single and dual core?
- any major must-have features in ics that are missing from gingerbread?

what about motorola defy xt 535? is it in malaysian market?
Similar to swype, can. The performance can be noticed when doing heavy tasks, for normal use should be not much difference. For ICS, not really must have. Froyo and above ok edi. Defy I think no more, defy+ got. Around RM8xx.

QUOTE(phyzoul @ Jun 20 2012, 07:21 PM)
sensation XE? reason?
A lot cheaper.
TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 21 2012, 03:53 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(ahnee92 @ Jun 20 2012, 10:44 PM)
the defy xt535 he mentioned is a new model of defy la bro....not come yet...but soon smile.gif
Oh is it? Sorry sorry. Thx for the correction smile.gif .

QUOTE(roadie @ Jun 21 2012, 12:02 AM)
thanks all for suggestions for <rm1k phone.

sola and htc one v downside is non removable battery. desire hd has low battery ratings. think i will give up idea of 2 year warranty.

so that leaves me with samsung s adv, motorola atrix 2 and defyxt535.
defyxt525 - cheapest, water proof
atrix 2  - 8mp camera, hdmi out, biggest screen
s adv - thinnest, biggest internal memory

now to decide rclxub.gif
If u want 2 yrs warranty, there's still the HTC incredible S.
Atrix 2 punya camera is not good for an 8mp, I suggest S advance.

QUOTE(raffie092 @ Jun 21 2012, 12:14 AM)
hi guys, thinking of changing my ace to another phone. cant stand the lag la  sweat.gif

thinking of trying the new xperia lineup,but under rm1000 only. which is the
xperia U and Sola. so,betwwen the two,what the difference? n which is the best between the 2?

n what the current price for a 2nd galaxy ace? thanks icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(raffie092 @ Jun 21 2012, 12:29 AM)
i see. the camera doesnt seem to bother me,i hardly use 3g tongue.gif
both of them have similar hardware right?
hmm,but i prefer newer phone with ICS... n i thinking of getting another brand other than samsung. how about htc one v?
One V only using single core proc, but got 2 yrs warranty. 2nd hand ace maybe around 3xx.
U already chose sola anyway, hehe... smile.gif
TSdanielcmugen
post Jun 21 2012, 11:35 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(ralfmars83 @ Jun 21 2012, 06:27 PM)
Sola is a perfect choice for a below 1k phone...
Motorola atrix not bad also if u need front camera. smile.gif

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0473sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:42 AM