Maxis Connect to Maxis using Custom Router!, Guidelines

syk
post Feb 25 2013, 02:25 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(ywkwy @ Feb 25 2013, 02:18 PM)
Yup, true. But still need to keep the Thompson for the VoIP, that's mean need to power on 3 devices. If access into hg850a, can setup VoIP on it and totally throw away the Thompson, just need to power on 2 devices..
Thanks for your guide.
I tried yesterday and it work for me.
Suggest thread starter merged the guide from you to make it a complete guide to ditch Thomson router.
syk
post Mar 7 2013, 10:46 PM

315 posts

Switch to OpenWRT TP-Link now.

syk
post Mar 28 2013, 05:48 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(philipcs @ Mar 28 2013, 10:41 AM)
Bro, If i dont want to use VOIP phone, can you just jump straight to Step 6 to configure the TP-link with stock firmware?
I tried to follow from Step 6 but the PPPoE doesnt get connected.

I plug my LAN cable to WAN port on my TPLink and LAN Port 2 on BTU (Alcatel Lucent). Am i right?

Or i must flash TPLink WR1043ND with OpenWRT or DD-WRT ?

thank you in advance!
TPLink with stock firmware doesn't have VLAN tagging. (621 for Maxis)
So, you need to flash TPLink 1043 into custom firmware to get VLAN tagging.
I am using OpenWRT now and it works.

Check your hardware revision of TPLink. (Refer to sticker on your box)
Read the table from below link carefully for correct firmware to download.

http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tl-wr1043nd

If you are on revision V1.10, you can download the firmware from this link :

http://downloads.openwrt.org/attitude_adju...hfs-factory.bin

The rest just follow instruction from klseet

http://www.klseet.com/index.php/tl-wr1043nd-ver18

Step is the same, klseet is using unifi and we are using maxis with different vlan.
syk
post Mar 31 2013, 04:00 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(jianwei87 @ Mar 31 2013, 03:18 PM)
I just follow with the klseet post but the voip doesn't work. why?
You need to follow this for VOIP to work

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2710206
syk
post Apr 1 2013, 12:49 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(jianwei87 @ Mar 31 2013, 10:54 PM)
but my btu is alcatel lucent not hg850a
Too bad...
syk
post Apr 7 2013, 02:06 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(cynethshin2002 @ Apr 6 2013, 05:19 PM)
Can yours guy recommend any brand wifi router (with strong signal and not any problem) can connect with Thomson .i don wanna use Thomson as wifi router.thanks
I think Asus router is strong on wifi signal.
syk
post Jul 24 2013, 03:38 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(wad3lee @ Jul 24 2013, 03:29 PM)
hiii...can i have ur fb or whatsapp num? im having alot of problem for my maxis...i cant even configure the TM modem
what problems you having on maxis?
The TM modem is blocked by firewall, you cannot access the modem directly.
syk
post Sep 13 2013, 06:28 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(walaoyeh @ Sep 13 2013, 03:38 AM)
Need help.. i have follow the step to configure the fixed ip, but when i try to browse 192.168.1.1 and i couldn't get it, any sifu can help on this?
I think is blocked by the firewall in the modem.
You can try to search the instruction on HG850 thread.
syk
post Jul 20 2014, 12:41 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(timster @ Jul 15 2014, 10:43 PM)
seems like until now no one has found a way to use VoIP without the Thompson router... sad.gif
This is hardware limitation. Thompson router has build in VOIP support while most of the replacement router (Asus, TPLink & etc) doesn't have VOIP function.
Only 2 ways, 1st way is source for a router model with VOIP function which is very rare, 2nd way is use replacement router + VOIP device / phone.
syk
post Jan 11 2015, 03:53 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(lms2005 @ Jan 11 2015, 01:09 PM)
last month got few times internet indicator no light. anyone hv same experience?
Usually will resolved by reboot both modem & router.

syk
post Mar 2 2015, 11:55 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(noobloh31128 @ Mar 2 2015, 11:27 PM)
I cant access the webgui i need expert help
You can find out more from here :

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2710206/+140
syk
post Mar 3 2015, 10:37 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(noobloh31128 @ Mar 3 2015, 12:03 AM)
I try this method before but got error at putty
Read carefully and make sure you won't miss the step.
Is very tricky to login at putty.
syk
post Sep 1 2015, 06:40 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(ati radeon @ Aug 27 2015, 06:35 PM)
anybody manage to bypass thomson router, as in connecting the VOIP straight to Tm huawei hg modem?

my current setup is TM Huawei HG655a modem, TP-link WR841ND and the thomson router.
Yes. There is a thread on how to setup VOIP on HG655a.
You try search for it.
syk
post Feb 5 2016, 09:28 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(Js23 @ Jan 24 2016, 07:09 PM)
hello guys,

I using Echolife HG850a. May i know how to configure it? as shown on the 1st page.

TQ
This the guide for HG850a -

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2710206
syk
post Feb 23 2016, 06:52 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(Js23 @ Feb 22 2016, 03:54 PM)
Hello Guys ,

I have a problem need your guys help...
Connection as default maxis connected the internet and VOIP work OK once I add-in my new buy router archer c2 as attached i having a problem with the VOIP.
On the maxis configuration checked telephone status OK but register shown a cross...
Anyone have any idea to solve the problem and i called to maxis but until now haven't get any reply from them.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2710206

This guide will help you to configure hg850a to use voip, then you can retired the thompson.
syk
post Jun 30 2016, 05:22 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(Liuism @ Jun 28 2016, 07:15 PM)
Me too, please advise
Look for TP Link TL-WR1043ND.
It is below 200 and support Maxis.
syk
post Jul 4 2016, 04:39 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(Liuism @ Jul 4 2016, 02:18 PM)
Setup is to replace the technicolor, or as additional WIFI but disable the Technicolor WIFI?
Replace maxis modem, but no VOIP function.
syk
post Jul 5 2016, 10:56 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(Liuism @ Jul 4 2016, 06:30 PM)
i need the voip, for house phone and alarm system.
Depends on your TM modem model, you can transfer voip from maxis router to TM modem.
syk
post Jul 11 2016, 05:09 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(Liuism @ Jul 11 2016, 02:02 PM)
how about another model? i heard ASUS there is a unit which is quite good(RTN-12HP)?
Many router model can be used as long as it support Unifi / Maxis vlan tagging.
I think Asus modeol is >rm200.
syk
post Jul 17 2016, 09:48 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Jul 16 2016, 07:57 PM)
Bro, May I know how to do it ? I want throw Thompson modem .

Thank you.  notworthy.gif
Refer to post#1 or Post #902

0.0246sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:29 PM