Where should i buy wedding ring, Wedding ring

TSgrehartm
post Jun 12 2012, 11:57 AM, updated 10y ago

117 posts

Hi all, I need your recommendation on the best place to buy wedding ring. I'm looking for a diamond ring. Anyone knows store around KL that value for the money and i can get a good discount price. My budget around <rm5000 for couple rings. Also which metal should i choose.

Kindly advice. Thanks.
HonMun
post Jun 12 2012, 12:05 PM

Professor
1,050 posts

Lazo quite cheap.....quality u need to check yourself
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 12 2012, 12:10 PM

PeACe~~
21,485 posts

Just to go shop and look for the one u like and match ur budget.
Gor for Platinum ring coz it wont fade.
sidanos
post Jun 12 2012, 12:45 PM

200 posts

Try check at Wah Chan. Nice designs and price is ok.
SUSWintersuN
post Jun 12 2012, 01:48 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jun 12 2012, 12:10 PM)
platinum not as useful as gold

gold also wont fade
fai@fai
post Jun 12 2012, 03:52 PM

44 posts

dun go lazo....their diamond not nice...
if u got budget...go for wahchan lumiere collection...not sure about the spelling but their design nice and diamond are certified
TSgrehartm
post Jun 12 2012, 04:05 PM

117 posts

Thanks all for the suggestion. I did some survey on Wah Chan. They got so much discount.
MyKy44
post Jun 12 2012, 04:50 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

u need to go survey and see for yourself one la.
just go see whichever one u like, if within budget ma buy lor.

are u looking for wedding bands or solitaire diamond rings? if it's the latter u seek, can try diamond & platinum's own premium diamond line (i forgot wat name, think it's estelle or something).

I bought my engagement ring at wah chan, wedding band at love & co. biggrin.gif

Added on June 12, 2012, 4:53 pmya wah chan many discounts. but most of the designs not so suit my taste, though i finally found 1 which i like biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by MyKy44: Jun 12 2012, 04:53 PM
Hookah Stuff
post Jun 12 2012, 07:55 PM

54 posts

Tomei is good.

Just get a plain gold ring of 916 fineness. 999 will be too soft and dangerous. High resale value and its a kind of investment. A small one. Haha.
hafiez
post Jun 12 2012, 07:59 PM

2,974 posts

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Jun 12 2012, 04:50 PM)
u need to go survey and see for yourself one la.
just go see whichever one u like, if within budget ma buy lor.

are u looking for wedding bands or solitaire diamond rings? if it's the latter u seek, can try diamond & platinum's own premium diamond line (i forgot wat name, think it's estelle or something).

I bought my engagement ring at wah chan, wedding band at love & co. biggrin.gif

Added on June 12, 2012, 4:53 pmya wah chan many discounts. but most of the designs not so suit my taste, though i finally found 1 which i like biggrin.gif
aku ingat hang gay.

btw, Tiffany & Co gooding or not?
MyKy44
post Jun 12 2012, 10:18 PM

kaki bodek staff
2,821 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Jun 12 2012, 07:59 PM)
aku ingat hang gay.

apsal aku gay plak D:

tiffany for kaya raya ppls. i miskin papa kedana kenot afford
TzeThon
post Jun 12 2012, 10:19 PM

213 posts

aku ingat hang gay.

If you're going for branded rings which you'd like to impress her, Tiffany is a good choice. But it will be a bit pricey smile.gif
hafiez
post Jun 12 2012, 10:50 PM

2,974 posts

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Jun 12 2012, 10:18 PM)
apsal aku gay plak D:

tiffany for kaya raya ppls. i miskin papa kedana kenot afford

QUOTE(TzeThon @ Jun 12 2012, 10:19 PM)
If you're going for branded rings which you'd like to impress her, Tiffany is a good choice. But it will be a bit pricey smile.gif
is it?

i thought around RM500 can get d?

or at least RM2k.

dat RM500 i saw when i went to london last time.

i dont know local price. ohmy.gif
planb2
post Jun 12 2012, 11:12 PM

52 posts

Tiffany & co.... the workmanship is flawless.
kenji1903
post Jun 13 2012, 11:47 AM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jun 12 2012, 12:10 PM)
it will become greyish...

Added on June 13, 2012, 11:52 am
aku ingat hang gay.

definitely gooding smile.gif
engagement ring with 0.2c, GVVS1 is selling at RM12k thumbup.gif
fancy wedding bands? platinum at 3mm RM8k for guys, 2mm RM7k for ladies smile.gif

bought a pair of earrings the size of black beans for RM2k doh.gif

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Jun 13 2012, 11:57 AM
TSgrehartm
post Jun 13 2012, 03:13 PM

117 posts

woww.. so damn expensive at Tiffany sweat.gif . How bout Habib Jewels and others big name outlet like poh kong n tomei.? To be honest, im not bold enough to enter this kind of outlet with small amount of budget. blush.gif
xavi5567
post Jun 13 2012, 08:15 PM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,347 posts

QUOTE(grehartm @ Jun 12 2012, 11:57 AM)
Hi all, I need your recommendation on the best place to buy wedding ring. I'm looking for a diamond ring. Anyone knows store around KL that value for the money and i can get a good discount price. My budget around <rm5000 for couple rings. Also which metal should i choose.

Kindly advice. Thanks.
goldheart -- platinum thumbup.gif
last week scout with my gal for our wedding band.. rm 2699 for platinum (small blue topaz on the inner band) jpn mari punya... so 2 rings is a bit above 5k... as the lady 1 is 2499.. both are 900 platinum..

This post has been edited by xavi5567: Jun 13 2012, 08:18 PM
Black Red
post Jun 13 2012, 08:19 PM

485 posts

Bro, habib or poh kong quite ok with your budget.. Don't go for the cheapo type, those are for poorfag like me.
adliazaddin
post Jun 14 2012, 03:32 AM

329 posts

i bought mine at sookee not bad yo
kenji1903
post Jun 14 2012, 10:53 AM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(grehartm @ Jun 13 2012, 03:13 PM)
woww.. so damn expensive at Tiffany sweat.gif . How bout Habib Jewels and others big name outlet like poh kong n tomei.? To be honest, im not bold enough to enter this kind of outlet with small amount of budget. blush.gif
if you're going for diamonds, go for the branded ones... Habib's Hearts on Fire, Degem's Lazare and Suen's Love diamonds... Tiffany a bit pricey but it's a Tiffany, girls jizz hearing the name tongue.gif
Xefron
post Jun 14 2012, 11:05 AM

2,507 posts

I just bought one from Love & Co.Le Lumiere also is gooding yo.Normally they all sell perfect cut.So the only left is how much carat u want ? then how colorless u wanna it be.

Got mine only a 0.3 carat near colorless but almost 4K sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Xefron: Jun 14 2012, 11:05 AM
DrBarbarian
post Jun 14 2012, 11:40 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

the important thing is to decide if you wanna spend on quality diamond or size is more important. carat, colour, cut and clarity...... makes a huge difference in pricing....
Petre
post Jul 26 2012, 09:16 AM

Default Member Title
4,274 posts

good i found this thread...

guys i have a decision to make - poh kong or love n co? poh kong i can find a d1 diamond that almost the same price as an ideal cut diamond in love n co. my biggest concern is which one would worth the most - color or cut...
deodorant
post Jul 26 2012, 09:37 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Within your given budget:

Cut is the most important because it determines how much sparkle/fire the diamond has. Always go for GIA triple excellent (or the equivalent).

Second important is Size (i.e. Carat).

Color and Clarity you can skimp a bit because vast majority of people with untrained eye won't notice the difference between an I/J or an F diamond. They also won't be carrying around a 10x loupe.

Whatever diamond you choose, make sure it is reputably certified. In-house certifications are rubbish and to be avoided at all costs.

If you want to get an indication whether a shop is overcharging you for the diamond, look up reference prices on bluenile.com
Zer07
post Jul 26 2012, 02:17 PM

113 posts

i thought Tiffany & Co only selling silver??

inb4 noob here
Petre
post Jul 26 2012, 11:20 PM

Default Member Title
4,274 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 26 2012, 09:37 AM)
Within your given budget:

Cut is the most important because it determines how much sparkle/fire the diamond has. Always go for GIA triple excellent (or the equivalent).

Second important is Size (i.e. Carat).

Color and Clarity you can skimp a bit because vast majority of people with untrained eye won't notice the difference between an I/J or an F diamond. They also won't be carrying around a 10x loupe.

Whatever diamond you choose, make sure it is reputably certified. In-house certifications are rubbish and to be avoided at all costs.

If you want to get an indication whether a shop is overcharging you for the diamond, look up reference prices on bluenile.com
thanks for the website... then according to it... malaysian retailers are selling way above bluenile's price sweat.gif
deodorant
post Jul 26 2012, 11:34 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Jul 26 2012, 11:20 PM)
thanks for the website... then according to it... malaysian retailers are selling way above bluenile's price  sweat.gif

Well you have to factor in that bluenile is diamond only. you still have to add in the cost of the ring (gold/white gold + craftsmanship i.e. labour). but as a general guide, you know how diamond shops sometimes have those "MEGA 50% - 70% off SALE?" These discounted prices are the "reasonable" price. If you are paying full price then you kena tipu by them liao.
kenji1903
post Jul 27 2012, 10:47 AM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(Zer07 @ Jul 26 2012, 02:17 PM)
i thought Tiffany & Co only selling silver??

inb4 noob here
they have gold, white gold, rose gold, diamonds, rare gems, pearls and platinum...
chinyen
post Jul 27 2012, 12:06 PM

754 posts

pandora? congrats!!
xtylish
post Jul 27 2012, 06:54 PM

580 posts

So many perempuan bahagia in this thread. Haih
thelonely
post Jul 27 2012, 08:21 PM

how about something around 6k to 7k? any suggestion?
TS tumpang thread smile.gif
idoblu
post Jul 28 2012, 10:58 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

go to Selberan. they are honest and service very good
if diamond setting then get white gold
platinum will patina with age and and wont look shiny
sya_dc
post Jul 29 2012, 05:23 PM

146 posts

I like Diamond & Platinum estrella design.

When i went shopping i saw this one 0.5c, colourless, the best actually, for 10k.

But IF i have 10k, i might just topup and go to tiffany & co

also, angel cut, but poh kong i think. that one also naise. but price is ridiculous.

I thought of buying only one ring, instead 2 of 3 rings..

This post has been edited by sya_dc: Jul 29 2012, 05:24 PM
itnama
post Jul 29 2012, 09:42 PM

30 posts

Somebody bought me diamond ring less than rm1k at poh kong.
What matters is the weight and carrat. Kedai almost every kedai have the same pricing.
Unless u go to kedai in kampung or something.
Habib n poh kong in the same persatuan, thus the not much diffrrence in harga
Petre
post Jul 30 2012, 08:57 AM

Default Member Title
4,274 posts

i think love n co got some kind of ideal cut, which is around 80+ cut according to the sales person, and is certified with a belgium cert. while all other shops that i went to only have GIA cert which is around 50+ cut for the best cut
deodorant
post Jul 30 2012, 01:38 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(sya_dc @ Jul 29 2012, 05:23 PM)
But IF i have 10k, i might just topup and go to tiffany & co

10k won't get you a decent sized rock in t&c, you'd need to top up a huge amount.

Added on July 30, 2012, 1:44 pm
QUOTE(Petre @ Jul 30 2012, 08:57 AM)
certified with a belgium cert.

I would be very hesitant to buy anything that isn't certifed by one of the top agencies, GIA, AGS, IGI, etc.

The problem with other certifications is that they don't necessarily have the same standards. In-house certification is the worst one, cos they can whack whatever they want.

I learnt this the hard way with my first purchase, an SK jewelry Cellistar range diamond. The in-house cert said it was "near colorless," so I assumed it was G-J equivalent on the GIA scale. Guess what, when I go and compare with other proper diamonds, it was very obviously yellow. But when I tried to fight I didn't get anywhere because SK never anywhere claimed that their "near colorless" was following the GIA scale (or AGS scale, etc). They just said "according to our in house certification standards this is near colorless," and you're screwed.

[edit] Another thing which may or may not be a consideration for you. If you ever want to sell off your ring in the future, pawn shops will not take your diamond if it doesn't have a GIA/AGS/IGI/etc cert.

This post has been edited by deodorant: Jul 30 2012, 01:45 PM
Petre
post Jul 30 2012, 02:09 PM

Default Member Title
4,274 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 30 2012, 01:38 PM)
10k won't get you a decent sized rock in t&c, you'd need to top up a huge amount.

I would be very hesitant to buy anything that isn't certifed by one of the top agencies, GIA, AGS, IGI, etc.

The problem with other certifications is that they don't necessarily have the same standards. In-house certification is the worst one, cos they can whack whatever they want.

I learnt this the hard way with my first purchase, an SK jewelry Cellistar range diamond. The in-house cert said it was "near colorless," so I assumed it was G-J equivalent on the GIA scale. Guess what, when I go and compare with other proper diamonds, it was very obviously yellow. But when I tried to fight I didn't get anywhere because SK never anywhere claimed that their "near colorless" was following the GIA scale (or AGS scale, etc). They just said "according to our in house certification standards this is near colorless," and you're screwed.

[edit] Another thing which may or may not be a consideration for you. If you ever want to sell off your ring in the future, pawn shops will not take your diamond if it doesn't have a GIA/AGS/IGI/etc cert.
thanks for clarifying... love n co one did come with GIA... i cant remember what the belgium cert is... anyway their price is quite high as well... you heard anything about 80+ cuts? as i know the excellent cut for the GIA is 50+ only... they claim their 'ideal' cut is way better, which is 80+... hmm.gif

for trading in diamonds..according to poh kong the most important will be clarity..., as opposed to when we buy, they price it by color and cut rclxub.gif
deodorant
post Jul 30 2012, 02:14 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Jul 30 2012, 02:09 PM)
you heard anything about 80+ cuts? as i know the excellent cut for the GIA is 50+ only... they claim their 'ideal' cut is way better, which is 80+...  hmm.gif

this one you will need to decide for yourself what looks "better." For me, personally, I prefer the "standard" 58 facet. any more than that and the diamond becomes to "busy" for my eye. I saw a 221-facet diamond before and honestly it just looks like crap cos there's no more "obivious"/large sparkles, it's just one huge mess of too many miniscule ones.
Petre
post Jul 30 2012, 05:19 PM

Default Member Title
4,274 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 30 2012, 02:14 PM)
this one you will need to decide for yourself what looks "better." For me, personally, I prefer the "standard" 58 facet. any more than that and the diamond becomes to "busy" for my eye. I saw a 221-facet diamond before and honestly it just looks like crap cos there's no more "obivious"/large sparkles, it's just one huge mess of too many miniscule ones.
so the number of cuts dont really add value to the diamond hmm.gif the salesperson kinda hint that it does
kenji1903
post Jul 31 2012, 02:39 PM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(itnama @ Jul 29 2012, 09:42 PM)
Somebody bought me diamond ring less than rm1k at poh kong.
What matters is the weight and carrat. Kedai almost every kedai have the same pricing.
Unless u go to kedai in kampung or something.
Habib n poh kong in the same persatuan, thus the not much diffrrence in harga
habib got hearts on fire range... poh kong got? smile.gif

Added on July 31, 2012, 2:47 pm
QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 30 2012, 01:38 PM)

thumbup.gif

minimum must have GIA... AGS (Lazare, Hearts on Fire) and IGI (Love Diamond) a bit rare... T&Co have their own certs

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Jul 31 2012, 02:47 PM
yahiko
post Aug 1 2012, 10:04 AM

1,215 posts

try love and co~ got mine there.. simply and elegent design with a cute nice lether box compare u go poh kong /wah chan/tomei ~

congrats to u all 1st biggrin.gif
trd4ev3r
post Apr 17 2013, 11:45 AM

[quote=yahiko,Aug 1 2012, 10:04 AM]
try love and co~ got mine there.. simply and elegent design with a cute nice lether box compare u go poh kong /wah chan/tomei ~

love & co cost u how much?? compare to 2012 price now the ring price like goes up so many already!!
azbro
post Apr 17 2013, 02:47 PM

4,319 posts

Haha..dun be like me..cheapskate...went to buy diamond ring for GF, cost RM600 for cheapo one, later haggled until RM400...after that the man gave me the ring...(he did some adjustments to the size to fit the finger).....sigh...the size was OK, but the diamond looks like become smaller...haha..he even tell me you pay what you get..haha
[+]
post May 12 2013, 09:05 PM

1,935 posts

if same brand diff outlet will still have almost the same price and type right? hmm.gif
OctoberFly
post May 13 2013, 07:28 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Apr 17 2013, 02:47 PM)
Haha..dun be like me..cheapskate...went to buy diamond ring for GF, cost RM600 for cheapo one, later haggled until RM400...after that the man gave me the ring...(he did some adjustments to the size to fit the finger).....sigh...the size was OK, but the diamond looks like become smaller...haha..he even tell me you pay what you get..haha
its okay la hahaha. not wedding ring mar. when wedding ring u sure go buy mahal mahal brows.gif
SUSDorky
post May 13 2013, 09:58 PM

604 posts

Buying diamond ring needs sufficient knowledge to buy at fair price.
Must know the clarity, color, carat, etc.
Buy from wholesaler can get you as much as 50% discount or even more from eBay as you don't need to go through middlemen.
Natural vs synthetic.
Not enhanced vs enhanced.
Certified vs non-certified.
All those tags about appraised retail price is just plain fake.
The diamond industry is a cartel.
You buy it not for investment because you cannot sell back to the retailer without substantial discount.
deodorant
post May 28 2013, 04:12 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Jacxon @ May 28 2013, 03:41 PM)
My wife to be is from Singapore I suppose can claim tax.

You can claim the GST if you leave SG via airport.

Anyway the next time you're in SG get in touch with these guys http://jannpaul.com/ and go visit their shop. They'll give you a 30-40minute crash course into the 3 C's of diamonds, etc etc. No obligation one, they are the least hard selling jewellers I've ever met in my entire life.

This post has been edited by deodorant: May 28 2013, 04:13 PM
xavi5567
post May 28 2013, 06:47 PM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,347 posts

Kindly advice. Thanks.
Gold heart.. U want voucher i still have a stack of it..
temmyoi
post May 28 2013, 10:29 PM

290 posts

Lazo Diamond rings~

Affordable + various design, couple ring laugh.gif
xavi5567
post May 29 2013, 02:22 PM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,347 posts

QUOTE(Jacxon @ May 29 2013, 11:38 AM)
How much you selling for?
Gold heart SG & MY same designs?
Thanks!
gold heart is under tomei group.. So it depends.. Their diamond is le lumiere .. Although they also have in house 1 la..
Non certified though .. My proposal ring was from gold heart but wedding bands from le lumiere at mid valley.. Voucher need my ic to works though..
xavi5567
post May 29 2013, 07:07 PM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,347 posts

QUOTE(Jacxon @ May 29 2013, 06:39 PM)
I go view their rings first then if need from you let you know again.
By the way, how much discount?
If not mistaken got 450 lolz...
alvin2912
post May 29 2013, 07:40 PM

355 posts

Hi folks, i find Lazo's diamond rings to be one of the cheapest in the market (if not the cheapest!)
TSgrehartm
post May 29 2013, 10:10 PM

117 posts

Bought my platinum wedding band at Tiffany n Co. Damn expensive for such a simple ring, but my fiance insist to buy for me. She said i will wear the same wedding ring for whole my life so make it worth.
kentLKW
post Jun 5 2013, 05:20 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(Jacxon @ May 30 2013, 12:18 PM)
Need to spend how much to get 450?
My lady hinted Tiff & Co. before.
Honestly speaking, so expensive!!
Ladies for sure go for Tiff & Co, Love & Co those.. well rank brand~~

QUOTE(Jacxon @ Jun 5 2013, 11:31 AM)
do you guys "upgrade" the diamond over years?
this will affect my buying decision and budget
What you mean by upgrade 1st? worry we get wrong perception...
Diamond ring for proposal is 1 time only for me.. maybe get 2nd after 5 years marriage??
Be clear on your budget all i can advise..
The Analyst
post Jun 15 2013, 04:25 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(Jacxon @ Jun 15 2013, 04:53 PM)
Yes tiff and co is nice brand.. not sure if i can afford.. looking at about rm 10 - 12k..

as for the upgrade, what I meant is some shops they say within 2 years can trade in and get bigger? So don't have to squeeze out so much $ first...

My girlfriend not a big fan of jewellry so I don't know if she will want or need a second ring.. (not big fan but still need minimum one haha)

usually ladies get more then 1 diamond ring in future?
Tiffany you paying a lot for th brand. I got an engagement ring and wedding band for my wife last year and it was painful.

Can get much bigger diamonds from other brands. Rings all look the same to me. See brand or size more important to your girlfriend. Don't pay over the odds, shop around for a while. Don't get suckered in by sales talk saying ten other people interested, 70% discount etc... Etc.... Took me two months to find the right ring. Take your time.
zikree
post Jun 15 2013, 04:28 PM

76 posts

habib of course. quality and up to date.
westcoastbay
post Jun 15 2013, 05:17 PM

17 posts

What choices do I have for a proposal diamond ring for RM5-7K?

0.3c?

This post has been edited by westcoastbay: Jun 15 2013, 05:21 PM
gbear
post Mar 31 2014, 06:52 PM

Went to Tiffany and Co today, really love their harmony design, but yes, it is so expensive, the 0.5 carat ring cost RM24k, and 0.65 carat cost RM30k... Speechless....
moshpit21
post Mar 31 2014, 07:28 PM

LYN Permanent Resident
1,205 posts

QUOTE(gbear @ Mar 31 2014, 06:52 PM)
Went to Tiffany and Co today, really love their harmony design, but yes, it is so expensive, the 0.5 carat ring cost RM24k, and 0.65 carat cost RM30k... Speechless....
Check out Diamond and Platinum, they have some Estrella Diamond too like what Tiffany & Co use. And cheaper I believe.
IluvProton
post Apr 2 2014, 06:58 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(grehartm @ Jun 12 2012, 06:57 AM)

Kindly advice. Thanks.
tomei quite cheap.

Love & co also expensive but design quite ok

zoldane
post Apr 2 2014, 12:47 PM

229 posts

go fb
search mariq jewellery
fully customizeable diamond rings

kenji1903
post Apr 2 2014, 05:45 PM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(kentLKW @ Jun 5 2013, 05:20 PM)
Ladies for sure go for Tiff & Co, Love & Co those.. well rank brand~~
T&Co is Cartier/Bvlgari rank... Love & Co is slightly above Tomei/WahChan/Poh Kong... that's a lot of difference in brand bro sweat.gif
arthas_teo
post Apr 2 2014, 11:08 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ May 29 2013, 07:07 PM)
If not mistaken got 450 lolz...
still got?
The Analyst
post Apr 4 2014, 12:09 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(gbear @ Mar 31 2014, 09:52 PM)
The specs must be pretty good. My wife's is a one carat Tiffany setting and was 40K+. Guess I got a good deal otherwise, it is massively overpriced in Malaysia.
miaopurr
post Apr 4 2014, 09:32 AM

570 posts

the clarity of the diamond greatly determines the price, right? carat, not so much.

also, different labs that produce the diamond certificates, will affect the final price? like GIA, AGS, etc
kenji1903
post Apr 4 2014, 06:35 PM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Apr 4 2014, 09:32 AM)
the clarity of the diamond greatly determines the price, right? carat, not so much.

also, different labs that produce the diamond certificates, will affect the final price? like GIA, AGS, etc
the carat size affects the price the most... big difference between a 0.9 and 1.0 carat...

depends... some labs are stricter... e.g. AGS is stricter than GIA... T&Co, IGI is between GIA and AGS
greyPJ
post Apr 4 2014, 08:36 PM

artificially stupid
3,151 posts

a bunch of stupid ignorant fools that spend money on stupid worthless stone call diamond. bodoh, just google for de beers scam diamond and read the history.

Diamonds are Forever Stupid

This blog basically serves two purposes. One, it is entertainment for me; and two, it sometimes helps people save money. More recently, however, I discovered it actually serves a third purpose, which is… three, it helps make sure that I never get laid.

And even while aware of this, with every post, I continue to shoot myself in the foot penis time and time again. I don’t know if it’s my dislike for wasting money or love for making sense, but I can’t seem to stop. Well today, I’m here to continue to dig myself into a deeper hole in order to address a topic that affects my current age group.

Diamonds, more specifically diamond engagement rings, are a waste of money.

Diamonds are kind of a f***ing scam. If you do a little bit of googling, you can find that giving diamond rings didn’t even become a tradition for marriage proposals in the United States until the late 1930’s. De Beers, a family of diamond companies (read: cartel) that pretty much monopolizes the market, launched a successful advertising campaign in 1938 to convince average Americans that they basically can’t get engaged without a diamond ring. Fast forward 75 years to the present day, and you can see that we are now all programmed to associate our success with how expensive of a ring we can afford.

This was strategically done through De Beer’s ingenious marketing tactics. Have you ever heard of the 4 C’s? Color, clarity, cut and carat right? Who do you think invented that? Yes, it was De Beers, the diamond company with a surplus of smaller diamonds that was trying to break the “bigger is better” consumer mentality. Here are the directions they provided on every ad: “Ask about color, clarity, and cutting — for these determine a diamond’s quality, contribute to its beauty and value. Choose a fine stone, and you’ll always be proud of it, no matter what its size.”

How much money should I spend on a diamond ring? Oh, don’t you worry; De Beers has that part covered for us as well. They recommend two months’ salary. Yes, the company selling you the diamond is also helping you budget how much money you should spend on it. Their slogan asks: “Isn’t two months’ salary a small price to pay for something that lasts forever?” The answer is no. f*** no, it is not.

It’s actually kind of insane. They’ve basically made it a social norm for us to completely overspend on something that is completely unproductive. And we’ve eaten it right up. Just imagine if you proposed to your girlfriend today with a diamond ring you bought for something you could very easily afford. You’d probably be scared of coming off as a dickhead to her friends and family right? My god… and what would other people think when she takes a picture of it and posts it online?

Anyways, let’s do some math.

Let’s say Bob is 28 years old and is ready to take the next step with his girlfriend, Jill. Bob is financially responsible and does very well for himself. Bob loves Jill and wants to give her an engagement ring fancy enough to prove it. He makes $100,000 a year and wants to spend about $12,000 – $15,000 on a ring for his fiancé to be. Jill expects this because that’s a little less than 2 months’ salary.

Keep in mind that Bob, alone, has an income in the top 80%ile of American households. Let’s break down his finances:

On a 100k salary, after tax (~25%) and 401k (5%), on a monthly basis, Bob sees about $5,800.

Here is a list of his Monthly expenses:

Car: $300
Rent/Utilities: $1,500
Student loans: $200
Health insurance: $150
Car insurance: $70
Long term investments: $200
Food/Alcohol/Going out: $2,000
Random expenses (buying things, vacation, ect.): $200
Total expenses: $4,620

So after expenses, Bob is able to put away ~$1,200 in cash every month. Keep in mind, Bob is practicing self-control and not blowing money left and right, but at the same time, he is living a rather comfortable lifestyle. At this rate, Bob is able to save ~$14,500 in a year.

After just a year of saving he managed to afford that beautiful ring for Jill. Now they can get married and live happily ever after right?

No. Actually, f*** no. In reality, this is absolutely irrational. We are talking about an entire year of savings. That’s 365 days of hard work and self-control. Why in the world would he spend an entire year of savings on a piece of jewelry that literally does nothing but “show” their love, and more importantly, impress other people (read: her friends)? The ring can literally do nothing except get looked at.

Also, they are about to start a new life together. They need to be saving money for the future of their family. More immediately, they need money for their wedding and down payment on a house. How is Bob supposed to afford this if he just dropped a year’s worth of savings on a ring? “What if the parents help out?” Eh, I guess that is a possibility, but that is another story. The ring that Jill will be flaunting to her friends would actually be bought by Bob’s dad, not Bob. Their parents might also help with their wedding or down payment on a house, but then by definition, this means that Bob and Jill are no longer living within their means. And, when does this stop? The problem at hand here is that there is a large disconnect between Bob’s and Jill’s expectations of the diamond they think they can afford and their reality.

Anyways, let’s get back on topic. You might say “Oh, but diamonds are rare and have a really good resale value.” Shut up. They aren’t and they don’t. If diamonds were so rare, why would almost every household in America own at least one? Diamonds are a horrible investment because they aren’t actually rare. De Beers basically controls the prices of diamonds by controlling the supply. They literally sit on their supply to drive prices up. Also, the retailer markup on diamonds is about 100% to 200%, which means, if they were to buy back your diamond from you they would have to significantly undercut you, thus proving that diamonds aren’t a good investment, which was one of their selling points. It has been reported that diamonds generally resell for about 25% of the original cost.

Realistically speaking, De Beers already got us. They’ve started a tradition that has already been engrained into our society. Most likely, you won’t be telling your girlfriend that the whole country has been tricked and now she won’t be getting a diamond ring when you propose. But maybe there is some common middle ground you can reach. Scientists have actually been able to create diamonds in labs that are so similar to natural made diamonds it is practically impossible to tell the difference (not CZ). And since these diamonds were made in a lab, they are completely flawless, unlike real diamonds which naturally have imperfections. Additionally, these diamonds are a lot more affordable and provide the same value, which is basically only means they look equally as pretty.

I’m not exactly sure about how girls would react to this idea, but it is kind of hard to make the argument to spend exceedingly more money on something that is basically exactly the same. The tradition was essentially made up to profit off of you, you won’t be reselling the diamond, nobody can tell the difference between man-made and natural diamonds, and real diamonds don’t even last forever (which is why it’s supposed to represent your marriage right?).

There’s really nothing that could rationally argue in favor of spending more money on a natural diamond besides the fact that natural diamonds are more expensive and therefore worth more. When it comes down to it, I think that is what diamonds are truly about. It is just another way for people to outwardly, yet classily, express their success and worth. It allows the man to show how much money he can afford to throw away on a rock that is only expensive because the seller tells him it is. Meanwhile, it gives the woman satisfaction in showing the world that her new life partner is someone who will be capable of providing for them. Yeah, you can argue it represents love and commitment or whatever too, but that doesn’t explain why people are pressured by society to overspend on it. I think this is a cultural, behavioral and maybe even an educational problem more than anything; because, if you really think about it, diamonds are kind of really stupid.

http://iamhellacheap.com/diamonds-are-forever-stupid/
TSgrehartm
post Apr 6 2014, 12:33 PM

117 posts

Bought mine a platinum ring at Tiffany & Co as Muslim men cannot wear gold.
kenji1903
post Apr 7 2014, 11:41 AM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Apr 4 2014, 08:36 PM)
a bunch of stupid ignorant fools that spend money on stupid worthless stone call diamond. bodoh, just google for de beers scam diamond and read the history.

Diamonds are Forever Stupid

This blog basically serves two purposes. One, it is entertainment for me; and two, it sometimes helps people save money. More recently, however, I discovered it actually serves a third purpose, which is… three, it helps make sure that I never get laid.

And even while aware of this, with every post, I continue to shoot myself in the foot penis time and time again. I don’t know if it’s my dislike for wasting money or love for making sense, but I can’t seem to stop. Well today, I’m here to continue to dig myself into a deeper hole in order to address a topic that affects my current age group.

Diamonds, more specifically diamond engagement rings, are a waste of money.

Diamonds are kind of a f***ing scam. If you do a little bit of googling, you can find that giving diamond rings didn’t even become a tradition for marriage proposals in the United States until the late 1930’s. De Beers, a family of diamond companies (read: cartel) that pretty much monopolizes the market, launched a successful advertising campaign in 1938 to convince average Americans that they basically can’t get engaged without a diamond ring. Fast forward 75 years to the present day, and you can see that we are now all programmed to associate our success with how expensive of a ring we can afford.

This was strategically done through De Beer’s ingenious marketing tactics. Have you ever heard of the 4 C’s? Color, clarity, cut and carat right? Who do you think invented that? Yes, it was De Beers, the diamond company with a surplus of smaller diamonds that was trying to break the “bigger is better” consumer mentality. Here are the directions they provided on every ad: “Ask about color, clarity, and cutting — for these determine a diamond’s quality, contribute to its beauty and value. Choose a fine stone, and you’ll always be proud of it, no matter what its size.”

How much money should I spend on a diamond ring? Oh, don’t you worry; De Beers has that part covered for us as well. They recommend two months’ salary. Yes, the company selling you the diamond is also helping you budget how much money you should spend on it. Their slogan asks: “Isn’t two months’ salary a small price to pay for something that lasts forever?” The answer is no. f*** no, it is not.

It’s actually kind of insane. They’ve basically made it a social norm for us to completely overspend on something that is completely unproductive. And we’ve eaten it right up. Just imagine if you proposed to your girlfriend today with a diamond ring you bought for something you could very easily afford. You’d probably be scared of coming off as a dickhead to her friends and family right? My god… and what would other people think when she takes a picture of it and posts it online?

Anyways, let’s do some math.

Let’s say Bob is 28 years old and is ready to take the next step with his girlfriend, Jill. Bob is financially responsible and does very well for himself. Bob loves Jill and wants to give her an engagement ring fancy enough to prove it. He makes $100,000 a year and wants to spend about $12,000 – $15,000 on a ring for his fiancé to be. Jill expects this because that’s a little less than 2 months’ salary.

Keep in mind that Bob, alone, has an income in the top 80%ile of American households. Let’s break down his finances:

On a 100k salary, after tax (~25%) and 401k (5%), on a monthly basis, Bob sees about $5,800.

Here is a list of his Monthly expenses:

Car: $300
Rent/Utilities: $1,500
Student loans: $200
Health insurance: $150
Car insurance: $70
Long term investments: $200
Food/Alcohol/Going out: $2,000
Random expenses (buying things, vacation, ect.): $200
Total expenses: $4,620

So after expenses, Bob is able to put away ~$1,200 in cash every month. Keep in mind, Bob is practicing self-control and not blowing money left and right, but at the same time, he is living a rather comfortable lifestyle. At this rate, Bob is able to save ~$14,500 in a year.

After just a year of saving he managed to afford that beautiful ring for Jill. Now they can get married and live happily ever after right?

No. Actually, f*** no. In reality, this is absolutely irrational. We are talking about an entire year of savings. That’s 365 days of hard work and self-control. Why in the world would he spend an entire year of savings on a piece of jewelry that literally does nothing but “show” their love, and more importantly, impress other people (read: her friends)? The ring can literally do nothing except get looked at.

Also, they are about to start a new life together. They need to be saving money for the future of their family. More immediately, they need money for their wedding and down payment on a house. How is Bob supposed to afford this if he just dropped a year’s worth of savings on a ring? “What if the parents help out?” Eh, I guess that is a possibility, but that is another story. The ring that Jill will be flaunting to her friends would actually be bought by Bob’s dad, not Bob. Their parents might also help with their wedding or down payment on a house, but then by definition, this means that Bob and Jill are no longer living within their means. And, when does this stop? The problem at hand here is that there is a large disconnect between Bob’s and Jill’s expectations of the diamond they think they can afford and their reality.

Anyways, let’s get back on topic. You might say “Oh, but diamonds are rare and have a really good resale value.” Shut up. They aren’t and they don’t. If diamonds were so rare, why would almost every household in America own at least one? Diamonds are a horrible investment because they aren’t actually rare. De Beers basically controls the prices of diamonds by controlling the supply. They literally sit on their supply to drive prices up. Also, the retailer markup on diamonds is about 100% to 200%, which means, if they were to buy back your diamond from you they would have to significantly undercut you, thus proving that diamonds aren’t a good investment, which was one of their selling points. It has been reported that diamonds generally resell for about 25% of the original cost.

Realistically speaking, De Beers already got us. They’ve started a tradition that has already been engrained into our society. Most likely, you won’t be telling your girlfriend that the whole country has been tricked and now she won’t be getting a diamond ring when you propose. But maybe there is some common middle ground you can reach. Scientists have actually been able to create diamonds in labs that are so similar to natural made diamonds it is practically impossible to tell the difference (not CZ). And since these diamonds were made in a lab, they are completely flawless, unlike real diamonds which naturally have imperfections. Additionally, these diamonds are a lot more affordable and provide the same value, which is basically only means they look equally as pretty.

I’m not exactly sure about how girls would react to this idea, but it is kind of hard to make the argument to spend exceedingly more money on something that is basically exactly the same. The tradition was essentially made up to profit off of you, you won’t be reselling the diamond, nobody can tell the difference between man-made and natural diamonds, and real diamonds don’t even last forever (which is why it’s supposed to represent your marriage right?).

There’s really nothing that could rationally argue in favor of spending more money on a natural diamond besides the fact that natural diamonds are more expensive and therefore worth more. When it comes down to it, I think that is what diamonds are truly about. It is just another way for people to outwardly, yet classily, express their success and worth. It allows the man to show how much money he can afford to throw away on a rock that is only expensive because the seller tells him it is. Meanwhile, it gives the woman satisfaction in showing the world that her new life partner is someone who will be capable of providing for them. Yeah, you can argue it represents love and commitment or whatever too, but that doesn’t explain why people are pressured by society to overspend on it. I think this is a cultural, behavioral and maybe even an educational problem more than anything; because, if you really think about it, diamonds are kind of really stupid.

http://iamhellacheap.com/diamonds-are-forever-stupid/
good read, good history but...

it's always a choice when buying luxury accessories... no one's pointing a gun at your head telling you to buy... or what 4C combo to buy...

its entirely up to you and how well you know your other half... that blog's web address describes the blogger very well...
kidmad
post Apr 8 2014, 12:12 PM

4,363 posts

i alot money to spend ma. buy diamond ring for my fiancee she smile smile and give good service after that leh. Something you won't understand one la.. Adding on... base on your calculation of making 100k per annum.. that guy must be a joke if by the age of 28 he did not know how to invest the money he made on a per annum basis.. 2k monthly to spend on unnecessary things? that's really a joke.

Btw that diamond ring is also an investment. you can get the diamond ring to either find a rich dying wife, a wife whom will generate household income as well, or a wiFE who will bloody cook your daily meals and you do not need to splurge yourself in blardy expensive food.

No wonder you fail... such small investment also tak lak paham. doh.gif

This post has been edited by kidmad: Apr 8 2014, 12:13 PM
kidmad
post Apr 8 2014, 12:15 PM

4,363 posts

QUOTE(westcoastbay @ Jun 15 2013, 05:17 PM)
What choices do I have for a proposal diamond ring for RM5-7K?

0.3c?
0.5c in wah chan i think would cost from rm6xxx to rm8xxx depending on quality.. i got mine there as well... But wedding band bought from TSL a brand name from hk.. have to wait for 3 months summore. blink.gif
kenji1903
post Apr 8 2014, 03:17 PM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Apr 8 2014, 12:15 PM)
0.5c in wah chan i think would cost from rm6xxx to rm8xxx depending on quality.. i got mine there as well... But wedding band bought from TSL a brand name from hk.. have to wait for 3 months summore.  blink.gif
i bought a pendant for my wife at TSL, workmanship not bad... another HK company is ChowTaiFook at Pavilion...

funny i didn't noticed that many TSLs in HK... darn a lot of LukFook and ChowTaiFook though...
moshpit21
post Apr 8 2014, 06:11 PM

LYN Permanent Resident
1,205 posts

Platinum ring with 0.5c Estrella diamond is RM16-18k at Diamond and Platinum, the white gold ring is significantly cheaper though.
yuen1985
post Jul 13 2014, 12:54 AM

I'm A Freelancer
702 posts

Anyone know the average price for Tiffany and Co 1 carat ring?
lexiqa
post Jul 13 2014, 01:51 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(yuen1985 @ Jul 13 2014, 12:54 AM)
Anyone know the average price for Tiffany and Co 1 carat ring?
in Malaysia at least RM60k.

If you can, buy in USA or SG.
yuen1985
post Jul 13 2014, 02:46 AM

I'm A Freelancer
702 posts

QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jul 13 2014, 01:51 AM)
in Malaysia at least RM60k.

If you can, buy in USA or SG.
Wow..i thought around RM45k sweat.gif
lexiqa
post Jul 13 2014, 03:02 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(yuen1985 @ Jul 13 2014, 02:46 AM)
Wow..i thought around RM45k  sweat.gif
Haha.. Tunggu lama2 lah. RM like shit. sweat.gif
thahirah
post Jul 13 2014, 07:49 AM

276 posts

That reminds me, I lost my wedding ring in the 3rd month of marriage O_O lol
acidstar
post Jul 14 2014, 08:05 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jul 31 2012, 02:39 PM)

minimum must have GIA... AGS (Lazare, Hearts on Fire) and IGI (Love Diamond) a bit rare... T&Co have their own certs
just bought a certified diamond with casing at habib. but, when i back home, i tot the cert is GIA, turn out is The Royal Diamonds which i google it up i can't find any info about the royal diamonds. and the website that they provide in the cert also not available. should i just return the ring?

kenji1903
post Jul 14 2014, 09:46 AM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(acidstar @ Jul 14 2014, 08:05 AM)
just bought a certified diamond with casing at habib. but, when i back home, i tot the cert is GIA, turn out is The Royal Diamonds which i google it up i can't find any info about the royal diamonds. and the website that they provide in the cert also not available. should i just return the ring?
royal diamonds sounds like a brand? though i've never heard about it before, by right it should still be certified by a gemologist like GIA, AGS, etc

mind posting the cert here? you may censor the serial and other irrelevant info
SUScrewl227
post Jul 14 2014, 01:47 PM

85 posts

<5k can get diamond ring for sure one. Just tell them your budget or else they will bring you to the most expensive section of their shop and start showing you >25K worth of diamond ring.

try Tomei.
acidstar
post Jul 14 2014, 02:22 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jul 14 2014, 09:46 AM)
royal diamonds sounds like a brand? though i've never heard about it before, by right it should still be certified by a gemologist like GIA, AGS, etc

mind posting the cert here? you may censor the serial and other irrelevant info
Here bro.

TIA

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
kenji1903
post Jul 14 2014, 02:28 PM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(acidstar @ Jul 14 2014, 02:22 PM)
Here bro.

TIA
wow... this is something new... and you're right... there's nothing about this company at all sweat.gif

maybe you can try bringing it back to Habib and ask them to prove the authenticity of the diamond
try adding that you suspect that its a fake cert... not sure if it will work bro, give it a try, good luck...
ahgoh46
post Aug 14 2014, 09:22 PM

23 posts

I just got mine and Tiffany & co. they r provide me their own cert,the SA said their standard is higher than GIA. is it true?
miaopurr
post Aug 15 2014, 12:34 PM

570 posts

habib. go when their loose diamonds on sale.
diamond looks nice on white gold.

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Aug 15 2014, 12:37 PM
idoblu
post Aug 15 2014, 03:44 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ahgoh46 @ Aug 14 2014, 09:22 PM)
I just got mine and Tiffany & co. they r provide me their own cert,the SA said their standard is higher than GIA. is it true?
It's their own cert. they can say anything they want.
But it doesn't matter. T&Co is highly reputable so their cert should be good

This post has been edited by idoblu: Aug 15 2014, 03:50 PM
idoblu
post Aug 15 2014, 03:47 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(acidstar @ Jul 14 2014, 02:22 PM)
Here bro.

TIA
How many carats and how much did you pay for this?
sonerin
post Aug 15 2014, 07:39 PM

8,689 posts

http://www.lelumiere.com
The Analyst
post Aug 16 2014, 09:05 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(yuen1985 @ Jul 13 2014, 05:46 AM)
Wow..i thought around RM45k  sweat.gif
Around that price in Australia.
g88
post Sep 22 2014, 09:54 AM

1,631 posts

just wanna ask which brand carry platinum (no white gold pls) wedding band the most ?
zhou86
post Sep 22 2014, 11:03 AM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

Hi guys, my first time posting here.

Just a question that I find it hard to do, how to estimate the ring/finger size?

I plan to buy before I propose but I worry I might get the wrong size. Any methods?

What about proposing first, then buy ring? Can let her choose design and try on as well. Or is this suggestion a big no-no?

Any comments appreciated. rclxms.gif
zhou86
post Sep 22 2014, 11:04 AM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Sep 22 2014, 09:54 AM)
just wanna ask which brand carry platinum (no white gold pls) wedding band the most ?
Diamond/Platinum? (That is the brand name)
g88
post Sep 22 2014, 11:27 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Sep 22 2014, 11:04 AM)
Diamond/Platinum? (That is the brand name)
Diamond Platinum design not that nice.

Wondering Tiffany, Suen...how's their price point like ? where else got sell simple nice design platinum ring

This post has been edited by g88: Sep 22 2014, 11:28 AM
chongyang
post Sep 23 2014, 06:55 PM

Did a round of walking recently searching for a ring too, here are the quotes I got

Tiffany - 0.4 H VS2 RM 12k+
Tiffany - 0.38 H VS1 RM 12k+

DeGem Lazare - 0.42 F VS1 RM 10k+

LoveCo - 0.43 E VS2 RM9k+

LeLumiere - 0.4 E VS1 RM8k+
LeLumiere - 0.51 F VS2 RM13k+

Tomei - 0.41 F V VS2 RM12k+
Tomei - 0.50 F G VS2 - RM 12k+

Actually prefer Lazare & Tiffany, both looks stunning, since their price diff isn't much. Should I just go for Tiff as it's every girl's dream I assume. Tiff's diamond is H though =/

zhou86
post Sep 23 2014, 10:21 PM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

QUOTE(chongyang @ Sep 23 2014, 06:55 PM)
Did a round of walking recently searching for a ring too, here are the quotes I got

Actually prefer Lazare & Tiffany, both looks stunning, since their price diff isn't much. Should I just go for Tiff as it's every girl's dream I assume. Tiff's diamond is H though =/
Where did you go to check them out?
Soony
post Sep 24 2014, 07:48 AM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

QUOTE(chongyang @ Sep 23 2014, 06:55 PM)

Are those the price before or after discount? Can you get discount with Tiffany?

chongyang
post Sep 24 2014, 05:12 PM

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Sep 23 2014, 10:21 PM)
Where did you go to check them out?
Their Pavillion branch.

QUOTE(Soony @ Sep 24 2014, 07:48 AM)
Are those the price before or after discount? Can you get discount with Tiffany?
I tried to look online for story about ppl getting discount from Tiffany too, but none. Based on some US shoppers, they say only purchase > some really huge amount get to discuss.

zhou86
post Sep 24 2014, 05:34 PM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

QUOTE(chongyang @ Sep 24 2014, 05:12 PM)
Their Pavillion branch.
Thanks. smile.gif
jackdripper
post Sep 25 2014, 12:32 PM

Bought mine from Lumiere at The Gardens few months ago. All in all was good. My woman was very happy bout it, though it cost only 2.5k. Staff working there are very professional also.
lowyatter
post Sep 25 2014, 03:04 PM

70 posts

Please look at more than just Colour and Clarity for diamonds.

Cut/Polish/Symmetry is equally or even more important when it comes to the overall "wow" factor of a diamond.

EX/EX/EX should be #1 priority, then only colour and clarity. GIA cert is also a must.

This post has been edited by lowyatter: Sep 25 2014, 03:05 PM
mesalia
post Sep 25 2014, 05:47 PM

QUOTE(Soony @ Sep 24 2014, 07:48 AM)
I think with rm12000 budget (after bargaining for discount), u can get better size than 0.4 carat. Forevermark or Estrella, i think u can get 0.6ct for the same specs as Tiffany (H, vs2). Or if u go to Wah Chan, maybe u can get away with 0.7-0.75ct with the same specs, since they too hav GIA cert anyway. But make sure its triple excellent (excellebnt in proportions, Polish and symmetry) because i think its the most important criteria for a diamond as its related to the light performance that will affect the sparkles and the shininest of a diamond.

This is just my 2 cents advise!
zigen520
post Sep 26 2014, 03:10 PM

52 posts

shocking.gif after read through the post in here, i really need to work hard and save money liao
Eumayco Jewellery
post Sep 26 2014, 07:59 PM

We will update monthly promotion on selected GIA diamond, visit our store www.eumaycojewellery.com for more products and ring designs. Whats app +6012-7139366 for product availability and appointment to visit our private showroom at PJ.

OCTOBER PROMOTION!!
1. Product code: DS-0202
0.30ct / F / VS2/ 3Ex / None / price @ RM2,550
2. Product code: DS-0580
0.40ct / F / VS 2/ 3Ex / None / price @ RM3,580
3. Product code: DS-0988
0.50ct / F / VS2/ 3Ex / None / price @ RM6,800

GOOD DEAL!!
*0.30ct / H / SI1/ 3Ex / None / price @ RM2,220
*0.50ct / H / VS2 / 2Ex / None / price @ RM5,900
*1.01ct / G / SI1 /3Ex / None / price @ RM26,000

You can custom designed your wedding bands, matches the engagement ring or any ideas. EUMAYCO JEWELLERY can make your wedding rings in variety of design. Don't ever think that custom made pay premium!!

This post has been edited by Eumayco Jewellery: Sep 26 2014, 08:01 PM
zhou86
post Sep 29 2014, 01:13 PM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

Another question, usually proposal is done with the diamond ring, then only shop for wedding band together?

What if I get the size slightly wrong, can modify after proposal?
lowyatter
post Sep 30 2014, 03:29 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Sep 29 2014, 01:13 PM)
Another question, usually proposal is done with the diamond ring, then only shop for wedding band together?

What if I get the size slightly wrong, can modify after proposal?
Yes, propose with engagement (diamond) ring, then get wedding bands (his and hers) for the registration.

If you buy your ring from a shop that custom makes them, you can bring it back to modify. Big stores like Wah Chan should be able to resize without too much cost.

Strongly suggest not to buy from Tiffany. You're paying only for the brand name. In the end, white gold is still white gold, and diamonds are still diamonds. No point in paying premium for a Tiffany brand.

This post has been edited by lowyatter: Sep 30 2014, 03:31 PM
zhou86
post Sep 30 2014, 03:31 PM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

QUOTE(lowyatter @ Sep 30 2014, 03:29 PM)
Yes, propose with engagement (diamond) ring, then get wedding bands (his and hers) for the registration.

If you buy your ring from a shop that custom makes them, you can bring it back to modify. Big stores like Wah Chan should be able to resize without too much cost.

Strongly suggest not to buy from Tiffany. You're paying only for the brand name. In the end, white gold is still white gold, no point in paying premium for a Tiffany brand.
Thanks for the advice bro. But my girl has strongly hinted on the Tiffany's, so I think better not "take the risk" lol. What about Diamond ring from Tiffany's then wedding band from other brand?
lowyatter
post Sep 30 2014, 03:34 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Sep 30 2014, 03:31 PM)
Thanks for the advice bro. But my girl has strongly hinted on the Tiffany's, so I think better not "take the risk" lol. What about Diamond ring from Tiffany's then wedding band from other brand?
Do you really think your gf can tell the difference between a F VS1 EX/EX/EX from Wah Chan and a F VS 1 EX/EX/EX from Tiffany?

Also take note that Tiffany might charge you 100% more for the same size. I'm just comparing from the posts above:

Eunayco's (never heard of them, but if they have GIA cert should be fine)
.50ct / F / VS2/ 3Ex / None / price @ RM6,800

VS

Tiffany
0.4 H VS2 RM 12k+

Would your gf really prefer a smaller 0.40 carat from Tiffany that is 2x more expensive than a 0.50 from Eunayco?

*edit*

Set a budget for yourself, then buy the best diamond you can for that budget. Don't look at brands, look at the gem itself.

This post has been edited by lowyatter: Sep 30 2014, 03:37 PM
zhou86
post Sep 30 2014, 03:38 PM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

QUOTE(lowyatter @ Sep 30 2014, 03:34 PM)
Do you really think your gf can tell the difference between a F VS1 EX/EX/EX from Wah Chan and a F VS 1 EX/EX/EX from Tiffany?

Also take note that Tiffany might charge you 100% more for the same size. I'm just comparing from the posts above:

VS

Tiffany
0.4 H VS2 RM 12k+

Would your gf really prefer a smaller 0.40 carat from Tiffany that is 2x more expensive than a 0.50 from Eunayco?
Hmm, you make a great point there. I really need to do more research on this issue.

You mind if I PM you if I have any questions regarding this topic? smile.gif
lowyatter
post Sep 30 2014, 03:39 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Sep 30 2014, 03:38 PM)
Hmm, you make a great point there. I really need to do more research on this issue.

You mind if I PM you if I have any questions regarding this topic? smile.gif
No problems, but I'm not an expert or in the jewellry industry, I just did a lot of research before buying my wife's ring.
zhou86
post Sep 30 2014, 04:37 PM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

QUOTE(lowyatter @ Sep 30 2014, 03:39 PM)
No problems, but I'm not an expert or in the jewellry industry, I just did a lot of research before buying my wife's ring.
Any good websites to recommend for all the things to consider before getting a proposal ring? That's my higher priority now.
g88
post Sep 30 2014, 05:22 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Sep 30 2014, 04:37 PM)
Any good websites to recommend for all the things to consider before getting a proposal ring? That's my higher priority now.
shopping is the best.
GucciFendiPrada
post Oct 1 2014, 05:45 PM

14 posts

Cartier and Bvlgari , its a once in a lifetime thing.
kenji1903
post Oct 2 2014, 11:39 AM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(lowyatter @ Sep 30 2014, 03:34 PM)

VS

Tiffany
0.4 H VS2 RM 12k+

*edit*

Set a budget for yourself, then buy the best diamond you can for that budget. Don't look at brands, look at the gem itself.
general public can't even tell a zircon vs a real diamond let alone 2 diamonds from different brands...

girls just dig the blue box and if they know T&Co... they definitely can tell a normal ring vs T&Co's signature 6 claws tongue.gif
l_berd
post Oct 28 2014, 11:23 AM

Fake Moderator
1,042 posts

Hi all,

recently found a shop in qbay, they said they're same as lorenzo company. quote me a diamond with 0.32/D/VS1/3EX for around 3.6k (diamond only). top up another 900 for 18k white gold ring. worth? if its VSS1 i definitely go for it
muffycmf
post Oct 28 2014, 11:26 AM

72 posts

TOMEI KLCC LOOK FOR ANDY TAN, RECOMMENDED BY MURPHY
GOT SPECIAL DISCOUNT.

HONEST SALESMAN + WELL GROOMING PLEASENT AND GOOD SERVICE
l_berd
post Oct 28 2014, 11:27 AM

Fake Moderator
1,042 posts

in penang bro
ate
post Oct 29 2014, 09:27 AM

628 posts

male ring got any recommendations? preferably silver.

went to poh kong, habib, tomei etc all doesnt appeal me.

where can i do engraving
j3rmz
post Nov 5 2014, 11:44 PM

21 posts

Hi all,

Don't mind tumpang discussion; 0.35 ct / E / VS1 -> RM3.7k (without setting) .

Do you all think it's worth it?

Btw, any feedback on Caratique?

deodorant
post Nov 6 2014, 08:57 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ate @ Oct 29 2014, 09:27 AM)
where can i do engraving

whichever shop you buy the ring from can do engraving for you lo.
EarendurFefalas
post Nov 6 2014, 11:51 AM

155 posts

hand made ring

https://www.etsy.com/listing/181175442/gold...ref=hp_trending
sheiberlee
post Nov 7 2014, 12:33 AM

155 posts

u need to learn diamond 1st.
kenji1903
post Nov 10 2014, 01:54 PM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(Curiouzz @ Nov 9 2014, 04:53 PM)
Agreed with you. The design is ugly and outdated.
My bf bought me a diamond pendant some time ago and the hole is so tiny. small  until like threading a needle....
Their design is old and outdated. I like tiffany&co, habib and wan chan but not d&p and degem diamond. Service suck as well...
degem's lazare diamonds are very highly rated
zhou86
post Nov 24 2014, 05:16 PM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

Hi guys, usually when you get the ring, can just go there, look see, and purchase the ring, all within 2-3 hours? Of course I have all the relevant information at hand like finger size, budget, design etc.

I am not from KL area, but I intend to travel to KL to purchase the ring. My issue is that I cannot be away too long or my gf will suspect something. laugh.gif

And usually they offer installment right? Is it 0%-Interest?

Thanks in advance for your comments and answers. smile.gif
mousqy
post Nov 25 2014, 03:56 PM

758 posts

ni hujung tahun ni sure ade sale HABIB JEWELS kat ampang
FidelisGVR
post Nov 26 2014, 02:45 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Nov 24 2014, 05:16 PM)
Hi guys, usually when you get the ring, can just go there, look see, and purchase the ring, all within 2-3 hours? Of course I have all the relevant information at hand like finger size, budget, design etc.

I am not from KL area, but I intend to travel to KL to purchase the ring. My issue is that I cannot be away too long or my gf will suspect something. laugh.gif

you can conclude the sales in 2-3 minutes even , if you're lucky to find a ring that you really like (though highly unlikely haha). looking for engagement ring, i presume? should be quick, since you have what you want in your mind already.

i spent almost 30 mins considering all options for my fiancee's engagement ring before deciding to buy.

if by credit card, yes they do offer easy payment of 0% interest. but if not mistaken it's only for purchases exceeding 3k. this one you should check with your jeweler.

and like the above post mentioned, good bargains from renowned jewelry shops start at December till early January next year. Good hunting! thumbup.gif
zhou86
post Nov 26 2014, 03:33 PM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

QUOTE(FidelisGVR @ Nov 26 2014, 02:45 PM)
you can conclude the sales in 2-3 minutes even , if you're lucky to find a ring that you really like (though highly unlikely haha). looking for engagement ring, i presume? should be quick, since you have what you want in your mind already.

i spent almost 30 mins considering all options for my fiancee's engagement ring before deciding to buy.

if by credit card, yes they do offer easy payment of 0% interest. but if not mistaken it's only for purchases exceeding 3k. this one you should check with your jeweler.

and like the above post mentioned, good bargains from renowned jewelry shops start at December till early January next year. Good hunting!  thumbup.gif
Thanks bro! Those are great input and advice. smile.gif Hope I can get a good deal at the end of the year. smile.gif
sysp
post Dec 4 2014, 04:56 PM

contact me

0102439357 alfred

i am working for direct importer, selling diamonds which has GIA cert.

Please go to jewelry shop first to learn about diamond and get their spec and price.
My company will give you cheaper 30-50% as we do not have show room and we are distributor to those shops.

Our office is in bangsar, accept credit card.

unfortunately we open only at weekdays, saturday is based on appoinment.

cheers.
fuzzy
post Dec 4 2014, 05:53 PM

*pew pew pew*
6,641 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Nov 24 2014, 05:16 PM)

IF you are lucky, yes.. Sometimes they might not have the design ready (i.e. they have the diamond size you want but not in the ring design you want) or they don't have the ring size.

If that happens, you might need to wait a week or two smile.gif

Like a Bause
post Dec 19 2014, 11:05 AM

400 posts

any diamond dealer to recommend in KL guys ? thanks
nigelhanzo
post Dec 19 2014, 05:57 PM

138 posts

WAH CHAN is good.. you can squeeze the price down very low xD
MrOne
post Mar 3 2015, 12:26 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(nigelhanzo @ Dec 19 2014, 05:57 PM)
WAH CHAN is good.. you can squeeze the price down very low xD
normally can squeeze how low?? drool.gif
jojoyyc
post May 3 2015, 10:24 PM

40 posts

Oh shit! Only saw this thread. I just bought you engagement ring on last Wednesday at SK. Are their diamond ring good ?
cempedaklife
post May 4 2015, 08:32 PM

Master Decoy
4,012 posts

Word of advice. Dun go to love and co. Lol.

Personally like platinum more rather than gold
Chisinlouz
post May 5 2015, 10:23 AM

820 posts

Wana ask 10k what can get? Diamond of good grade of course. smile.gif
JerryTeh
post May 5 2015, 06:14 PM

227 posts

Kindly advice. Thanks.
If looking for platinum ring... go hong Kong... almost 50% cheaper for pt990 ring...

Just bought mine last month...

Mashable.IDL
post May 18 2015, 02:26 PM

I realise the quality in all the retail shops are giving us at commercial quality with bombastic terms at sky rocket high price. Then i came across this jewellery designer who does custom made at very good quality. I am impress with the amount of testimonials her client wrote. Her price is reasonable and quality meets my requirements. She is very friendly lady.

I bought my engagement and wedding ring from her. I personally give her 2 thumbs up for her service. thumbup.gif
This is her website

www.idojewellery.com

rajveensgill
post Jun 14 2015, 03:08 PM

I have read all threads above and I am actually planning to buy a wedding anniversary for my lovely wife. I plan to get a couple ring set. Any good place to recommend?

I see many recommended Habib Jewels and Wah Chan? Any good branch which has more choices. I will definitely go for GIA certification.

Seek your kind assistance ladies and gentleman.

rajveensgill
post Jun 14 2015, 09:26 PM

I have read all threads above and I am actually planning to buy a wedding anniversary for my lovely wife. I plan to get a couple ring set. Any good place to recommend?

I see many recommended Habib Jewels and Wah Chan? Any good branch which has more choices. I will definitely go for GIA certification.

Seek your kind assistance ladies and gentleman.
Alexdino
post Jun 15 2015, 02:44 PM

2,000 posts

QUOTE(Mashable.IDL @ May 18 2015, 02:26 PM)
I realise the quality in all the retail shops are giving us at commercial quality with bombastic terms at sky rocket high price. Then i came across this jewellery designer who does custom made at very good quality. I am impress with the amount of testimonials her client wrote. Her price is reasonable and quality meets my requirements. She is very friendly lady.

I bought my engagement and wedding ring from her. I personally give her 2 thumbs up for her service.  thumbup.gif
This is her website

www.idojewellery.com
good design, how much btw? laugh.gif
silveralive91
post Dec 3 2015, 05:37 PM

Hi guys helping a friend out

Visit http://www.zcova.com if you guys are interested in buying loose diamond at a really good price, better than the retail shops.

They operate by request only, and they will pick the best diamonds based on your request. I find it really good, because it eliminates the trouble for us to pick which is better than which. They do the job for us give us only the best. No headache !!

Mrmr
post Dec 22 2015, 07:26 AM

886 posts

Hi everyone and experts here please help me  icon_question.gif 

May I know the cheapest price  for 0.8 to 1carat diamond is around how much?

Anyone can introduce a nice wholesale seller ? Can pm me also

I have a budget if only below 10k what's the best criteria diamond can buy ? ( I don't need any cert ,bec not plan to resell ) 

Thanks so much notworthy.gif
seather
post Dec 23 2015, 04:31 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,289 posts

QUOTE(Mrmr @ Dec 22 2015, 07:26 AM)
Hi everyone and experts here please help me  icon_question.gif 

May I know the cheapest price  for 0.8 to 1carat diamond is around how much?

Anyone can introduce a nice wholesale seller ? Can pm me also

I have a budget if only below 10k what's the best criteria diamond can buy ? ( I don't need any cert ,bec not plan to resell ) 

Thanks so much notworthy.gif
10k for 0.8 carat? will be very very low grade... hmm.gif

i got a 0.4 from Love&CO for 10k.. the CCC is either 1st or 2nd grade...

saw a diamond bracelet in SK with about 1.5 carat worth of small diamonds already 20K...

taobaomojito
post Mar 14 2016, 04:55 PM

81 posts

http://www.idojewellery.com/
http://www.zcova.com/

this 2 is good? any review so far?
SUSArmata
post Mar 15 2016, 05:02 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(silveralive91 @ Dec 3 2015, 05:37 PM)
Hi guys helping a friend out

Visit http://www.zcova.com if you guys are interested in buying loose diamond at a really good price, better than the retail shops.

They operate by request only, and they will pick the best diamonds based on your request. I find it really good, because it eliminates the trouble for us to pick which is better than which. They do the job for us give us only the best. No headache !!
do their diamond come with certification?

it''s not easy for even pros to differentiate real diamond with zirconia or something
acestar86
post Mar 27 2016, 08:05 PM

hi guys...not much study on diamond but planning to buy diamond ring for proposal...passed by Forevermark today and went for research. How about Forevermark? seems like not much people mentioned them. Have a tight budget so the shopkeeper actually suggest to go for a 0.2c around RM3k+.
bb100
post Jun 17 2016, 10:41 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(acestar86 @ Mar 27 2016, 08:05 PM)
hi guys...not much study on diamond but planning to buy diamond ring for proposal...passed by Forevermark today and went for research. How about Forevermark? seems like not much people mentioned them. Have a tight budget so the shopkeeper actually suggest to go for a 0.2c around RM3k+.
Still looking?
Avangelice
post Jun 18 2016, 07:25 PM

In Absolute Control
4,845 posts

I just saw this thread and I wanna rant out a little. We all know diamonds are practically useless and I am planning to ask for a hand in marriage next year. had that "talk" with her to gauge what she wants and she keeps on saying a diamond ring.

fml. it's not the price or money I have the trouble it's the damn worthlessness of it. why would anyone spend 15k on something that cannot be sold.

rant over.
voncrane
post Jun 21 2016, 06:35 PM

Noir et fier!
7,082 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 18 2016, 07:25 PM)
I just saw this thread and I wanna rant out a little. We all know diamonds are practically useless and I am planning to ask for a hand in marriage next year. had that "talk"  with her to gauge what she wants and she keeps on saying a diamond ring.

fml. it's not the price or money I have the trouble it's the damn worthlessness of it. why would anyone spend 15k on something that cannot be sold.

rant over.
Word of advice: If you have to rant publicly and both of you can't agree on a simple ring decision?? I forsee much bigger problems.. Get thy house in order.. Marriage is no joke.. smile.gif
zhou86
post Jun 22 2016, 05:34 PM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jun 21 2016, 06:35 PM)
Word of advice: If you have to rant publicly and both of you can't agree on a simple ring decision?? I forsee much bigger problems.. Get thy house in order.. Marriage is no joke..  smile.gif
+1

v1n0d
post Jun 23 2016, 05:18 AM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

I just saw this thread and I wanna rant out a little. We all know diamonds are practically useless and I am planning to ask for a hand in marriage next year. had that "talk"  with her to gauge what she wants and she keeps on saying a diamond ring.

rant over.
RIP, materialistic wife-to-be.

My partner agreed to skipping diamonds when we found out that there's no resale value for them. Better sit down and discuss whether or not you really need that diamond. If wanna show off to friends and family there are better ways to do it.
Avangelice
post Jun 23 2016, 09:05 AM

In Absolute Control
4,845 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Jun 23 2016, 05:18 AM)
RIP, materialistic wife-to-be.

My partner agreed to skipping diamonds when we found out that there's no resale value for them. Better sit down and discuss whether or not you really need that diamond. If wanna show off to friends and family there are better ways to do it.
exact. I did say you want an expensive diamond ring that you will wear it for the rest of your life and can't sell or you want a simple ring and I'll get you a car.

until now no reply to that. lol
kenji1903
post Jun 23 2016, 12:10 PM

3,784 posts

rant over.
to be frank... most of the time spending money is just to keep your other half happy... if the request is not to overboard, just do it...

you don't want it to come back and haunt you and be a topic of argument after marriage, its not worth it

and not everything has investment value... especially accessories...

but you can try asking her if she wants a watch if you are splurging 15k, it makes more sense tongue.gif
v1n0d
post Jun 23 2016, 12:22 PM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 23 2016, 09:05 AM)
exact. I did say you want an expensive diamond ring that you will wear it for the rest of your life and can't sell or you want a simple ring and I'll get you a car.

until now no reply to that. lol
Lol. Then better you get the ring. I know one thing - money can earn, but if she is not happy about it she'll bring it up for the rest of your life.
Avangelice
post Jun 23 2016, 12:34 PM

In Absolute Control
4,845 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 23 2016, 12:10 PM)
to be frank... most of the time spending money is just to keep your other half happy... if the request is not to overboard, just do it...

you don't want it to come back and haunt you and be a topic of argument after marriage, its not worth it

but you can try asking her if she wants a watch if you are splurging 15k, it makes more sense tongue.gif
QUOTE(v1n0d @ Jun 23 2016, 12:22 PM)
Lol. Then better you get the ring. I know one thing - money can earn, but if she is not happy about it she'll bring it up for the rest of your life.
you guys make it sound like your wives are land mines. damn this is scary.
zhou86
post Jun 23 2016, 12:55 PM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 23 2016, 12:10 PM)

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Jun 23 2016, 12:22 PM)
These are wise words. Heed them.

To avoid having a stumbling block in future conversations itself is an investment, and most of the time, it worth much more than material investment. Seeing your wife happy when reminiscing past memories (and looking at the ring with contentment/no regrets) is something money can never buy.
kenji1903
post Jun 23 2016, 02:14 PM

3,784 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 23 2016, 12:34 PM)
not only wives... during an argument, a person will bring up all valid/invalid strong points in order to win regardless the outcome, its human nature laugh.gif

p.s. the last thing you want to do is to add another point for them to bring up laugh.gif

This post has been edited by kenji1903: Jun 23 2016, 02:17 PM
zhou86
post Jun 23 2016, 02:14 PM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 23 2016, 02:14 PM)
not only wives... during an argument, a person will bring up all valid/invalid strong points in order to win regardless the outcome, its human nature laugh.gif
Well said. +1
danielmckey
post Jun 23 2016, 02:16 PM

954 posts

Lazada
v1n0d
post Jun 23 2016, 05:05 PM

3,197 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jun 23 2016, 12:34 PM)
I'm not trying to scare you, just pointing out that for a marriage to be successful, there needs to be give and take. As far as possible, we try to accommodate our spouses, not just their needs, but their wants as well. Important thing is to stick within your means. If you're unable to afford a diamond ring now, explain it to her and work things out. Sometimes the reason an idea gets rejected outright is because it was presented poorly.

Also, read up a little on human psychology. My relationship has improved leaps and bounds by understanding why arguments break out and how to resolve them amicably. Different people are wired differently, and understanding how to deal with your spouse's personality type can be quite useful.
DarkEmotion88
post Jun 24 2016, 11:19 AM

Godlike Razer Collector
609 posts

Poh Kong Hemera. Even with the diamond same karat size, same facets with better clarity also is still slightly cheaper than Lumiere.
doraemonkiller
post Jun 25 2016, 02:28 AM

1,085 posts

Get Hemera diamond ring from Poh Kong. It is world's most brilliance diamond currently with 101 faces (result of GEMAX). No other brands can beat Hemera. Some lesser facets diamonds also expensive compare with Hemera.
SUSneoFluidic
post Jun 25 2016, 12:30 PM

47 posts

When ppl see the ring from wah chan/poh kong/lazo/etc gal will think twice before marry u

Get tiffany & co....abit pricey but confirm no dissapointment
zhou86
post Jun 27 2016, 10:39 AM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

QUOTE(neoFluidic @ Jun 25 2016, 12:30 PM)
When ppl see the ring from wah chan/poh kong/lazo/etc gal will think twice before marry u

Hahahaha....this is very true. rclxm9.gif
milky85
post Jun 27 2016, 02:26 PM

44 posts

you may try eumayco jewellery in empire

This post has been edited by milky85: Jun 27 2016, 02:34 PM
bb100
post Jun 28 2016, 05:46 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(neoFluidic @ Jun 25 2016, 12:30 PM)

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Jun 27 2016, 10:39 AM)
Hahahaha....this is very true.  rclxm9.gif
Let's say my budget is RM x for the ring.

With RM x, I can get:

- 1.0 carat, F colour, VVS1 clarity at Wah Chan/Poh Kong/Lazo/etc.
- 0.5 carat, H colour, VS1 clarity at Tiffany & Co.

Who wins?
zhou86
post Jun 28 2016, 05:49 PM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Jun 28 2016, 05:46 PM)
Let's say my budget is RM x for the ring.

With RM x, I can get:

- 1.0 carat, F colour, VVS1 clarity at Wah Chan/Poh Kong/Lazo/etc.
- 0.5 carat, H colour, VS1 clarity at Tiffany & Co.

Who wins?
Well it depends on the person whom you're proposing to. For my wife, its definitely T&Co.
bb100
post Jun 28 2016, 05:52 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Jun 28 2016, 05:49 PM)
Well it depends on the person whom you're proposing to. For my wife, its definitely T&Co.
Even with a notably smaller diamond?

hmm.gif

hmm.gif
zhou86
post Jun 28 2016, 05:54 PM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Jun 28 2016, 05:52 PM)
Even with a notably smaller diamond?

hmm.gif

hmm.gif
Haha, well for some, yes. T & Co has a very unique setting, which makes the diamond very elegant looking.

But seriously at the end of day, it is what makes her happy. And that is all that matters.
drbone
post Mar 29 2017, 09:55 PM

1,727 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Jun 28 2016, 05:54 PM)
Haha, well for some, yes. T & Co has a very unique setting, which makes the diamond very elegant looking.

But seriously at the end of day, it is what makes her happy. And that is all that matters.
Any pic of the one you bought for your wife?

0.0677sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th March 2024 - 06:07 PM