4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

(True 4G) LTE 100-150Mbps 2013-2014 Malaysia V1, LTE is going to replace 3G in future

alf233
post Jan 9 2013, 04:43 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(Pegasus88 @ Jan 9 2013, 04:34 PM)
Hmm it make sense....so are they in the market yet ?

I wonder those telco will implement quota with LTE package or not, If the quota is low like 1gb to 5gb...really no point to get LTE  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  doh.gif
It's like having Ferrari (or other super cars) but can only drive 10km per month without any speed limit smile.gif

alf233
post Jan 14 2013, 10:42 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(wkkm007 @ Jan 14 2013, 04:06 PM)
any LTE phone user here?
Plan to buy Asus Padfone 2
The current Maxis LTE network doesn't support phones yet.. It is now only for Modem and Router... Hope Maxis will have lte for phone soon and Celcom will have this as well when they launch..

So those who have the padfone2 and the new lumia are already considered lte-capable phone users, but not lte users.. A bit confusing smile.gif
alf233
post Jan 22 2013, 01:47 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(chbea @ Jan 21 2013, 04:37 PM)
malaysia bolehland
3g= 42mb(42000kb) fail only 2-3 mb(200-300kb)

3g=100 mb( 10000kb) give u 5-6 mb(500-600kb) you already untung 

if give 100 mb also useless
100mb  download speed 
500 second finish all cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

cap 128kb slow like hell,, shakehead.gif

+ 3g price already expensive. vmad.gif 

but bolehland people 3g= 42mb get only 2-3mb never mind lah because
a) don`t know real 3g speed just sign plan to buy phone
b) already know but dun care
c) already know and complain but useless .
if this is the case in our country, do you know or have example of other countries?
alf233
post Jan 22 2013, 04:45 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(chbea @ Jan 22 2013, 02:43 PM)
haiz bolehland people golden words for who complain malaysia thing

our country better than other SEA and many country around the world. SO stop complain.... go other country  if feel malaysia no goods.
so, i think no need example, we know the answer that other country provide good service but bolehland always compare with some country no have this kind of service
i didn't say anything.. smile.gif thats not my point actually..

i can see that u hate malaysia.. respect your view.. i'm not patriotic, so i dont find anything wrong with that..

i can see your frustration of getting poor service for the money that you paid.. totally understand this.. i'm getting ~1Mbps most of the time despite using 42Mbps device on 42Mbps network.. i've made countless of complaints to my provider and skmm

what i dont understand is how are those 2 points related? dont get me wrong here.. am not against u at all, just wondered..

This post has been edited by alf233: Jan 22 2013, 10:19 PM
alf233
post Jan 30 2013, 03:28 PM

132 posts

As I was searching something on the internet today, I came through this. So thought this might be useful for those asking which LTE phones will be supported

http://www.liewcf.com/maxis-4g-lte-1800-12217/
alf233
post Feb 22 2013, 08:25 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(ahhoe80 @ Feb 17 2013, 01:14 PM)
Then isn't it sort of wasted not able to use 4G T_T
its a big waste indeed
alf233
post Feb 22 2013, 08:27 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(Jason TKY @ Feb 15 2013, 11:53 AM)
Maxis Frequency:GSM:900/1800(EDGE enable)
WCDMA:900/1800(DC-HSPA+ enable)
LTE:2600(FDD-LTE cat 3 enable)
wcdma 900/2100

all of these true for celcom too

digi i think dont have wcdma900

u mobile dont have gsm900
alf233
post Feb 22 2013, 08:43 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Feb 22 2013, 08:36 PM)
Umobile roam on Maxis GSM900 and WCDMA2100 , rite?

Umobile also have WCDMA2100 and also LTE2600 , True ?
yes they are sharing with maxis.. so they have whatever maxis have for 2g & 3g.. but not in all places..

u mobile have wcdma2100 in service currently and lte2600 not currently in service

alf233
post Mar 4 2013, 12:24 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(KaiHD @ Mar 3 2013, 11:32 AM)
Yeah just asked Maxis KLCC and they said LTE for mobile Internet only available with new devices for now
yes.. the mobile internet is recently available.. but not sure if you can get sim only or must get the device package only... better check with their cs
alf233
post Apr 1 2013, 10:23 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Mar 29 2013, 06:14 PM)
no need LTE simcard la bro, just a Maxis Broadband or Surrmore ac/package  will be fine..........maxis Cs will "upgrade" your simcard status to LTE Enabled , simcards is just a piece of copper plated plastic card which housed some  memory stuff for the system to read  icon_idea.gif

but Unlimited simcards wont be able to enjoy LTE because they will hog the Network for no reasons. LTE will NOT be Unmetered for sure.  cool2.gif
Yes agree with the sim card.. but keep in mind that old sim card with low memory may not support LTE.. to be safe better check with their CS

Also wondered how do you find out about max QoS?

Hope you will get LTE coverage in your area soon!!
alf233
post Apr 8 2013, 11:34 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Apr 7 2013, 11:49 PM)
20 up /down is nothing for 10GB,.. u need minimum 100GB for sure,..  biggrin.gif
mmm.. it depends actually... if your usage trend remains unchanged, (your internet activities are still the same when your on 3G and after you use LTE), then 10GB is still enough, and what you will get is better and faster experience.

But if you plan to fully utilise the faster speeds, e.g. download/upload more things, stream more videos, etc, then 10GB is definitely not enough

alf233
post Apr 17 2013, 09:53 AM

132 posts

Just sharing, technically, LTE gives you ~2x faster compared to DC-HSPA+.
10-30Mbps is the average speed that you'll be able to get in LTE, and the peak is 75Mbps.
While with DC HSPA, 42Mbps is the peak, the average you can get is 5-15Mbps.
It's not fair to compare peak of DC HSPA+ with LTE average.

And as far that I know (correct me if I'm wrong), in Maxis network, users never get QoS'ed, which means they can go as fast as they can as long as network resource is available.

QUOTE(digilife @ Apr 13 2013, 08:23 PM)
I believe not cause Maxis now know how to QoS users  laugh.gif

It was stated in its Web Site that LTE will be able to surf at speed of 10~30Mbps which is worst than your DC HSPA speed of 40Mbps  doh.gif

I will go for Celcom LTE and hive off my Legacy Plan some day, you interested ?  brows.gif
alf233
post Jul 18 2013, 11:35 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(kaneshi @ Jul 5 2013, 01:30 PM)
No worries, 1.8Ghz sure in the plan.
I think 1.8GHz LTE for Digi will be very difficult and will only happen in few years time. Would be great if we could see it soon.. They dont have as much spectrum as Celcom & Maxis.

The 1.8GHz hype will be over soon.. Currently only Apple devices (or maybe other non-famous devices) do not have 2.6GHz (LTE Band 7) capabilities. Most likely the next Apple devices will support Band 7 as well..

Or use Android or any non-Apple device, and 1.8GHz wont be an issue anymore
alf233
post Jul 18 2013, 11:43 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(KaiHD @ Jul 3 2013, 11:08 AM)
LTE-A needs 20MHz right? Or have to use carrier aggregation without 20MHz? AFAIK, only South Korea has it. (top speed 150Mbps)
LTE itself can do 20MHz and gives peak speed up to 150Mbps. Recent partnership between Celcom and Puncak Semangat allows them to do 20MHz and offers speed up to 150Mbps

Unfortunately in most countries including Malaysia, operators get only 10MHz or less.

Hence, LTE-A allows operators to aggregate carriers (in different band) to have 10MHz + 10MHz

South Korea people are "internet speed" crazy. And they have the power to influence devices as well

alf233
post Jul 19 2013, 05:48 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jul 19 2013, 04:40 PM)
it was from yellow man staff..u want sauce , go buy at pasar mlm! shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif

everything want source...google around and get a yellow man staff as ur friend....

not everything got sauce... its lowyat forum trend to ask for chili sauce , tomato sauce.... sensitive thing like this is only known among the company staff and u wont get BLACK AND WHITE or even internet sauce !

ask urself , why maxis celcom and even umobile able to offer better coverage , but not digi ? think about it .... and why digi coverage is so sucks to max ? do u think digi not able to build more towers with their money ?
I think I know about the restriction u mentioned. But that restrictions apply to all LTE operators, not just Digi. Which is why Celcom launched their LTE much later than planned, and Maxis coverage areas are much smaller than expected.

alf233
post Jul 21 2013, 12:59 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jul 19 2013, 06:56 PM)
deleted
Mcmc didnt issue licence to build infrastructure? U mean mcmc declined them from building new sites? Or decline their AA application?

But upgrading 3g from hspa to hspa+ then to dc-hspa+ doesnt require mcmc approval.. whats digi's excuse on doing this very late then?

And to correct ur statement, only celcom is bumi owned company. Better to say digi is not malaysian own company
alf233
post Jul 22 2013, 09:59 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(KaiHD @ Jul 22 2013, 07:31 AM)
I will switch IMMEDIATELY if they offer:

1. True unlimited LTE (Meaning no data quotas, no speed caps)
2. Hotspot or Internet tethering with the above (I don't mind paying a small additional fee)
3. Contract-free plans compatible with iPhones (1-year contracts at the most)

In hindsight, I can see it doesn't take much to make me happy. Telcos should take note. icon_idea.gif
It is reported that Puncak & Celcom will use shared infra.. Hope its true so their coverage would be as good as Celcom's

Agree with you.. It doesnt make sense for the telcos to use existing (3G) data quota when LTE was introduced. A speedtest would already take ~100MB.
US is already moving towards flexibility in contract period . Hope Malaysia will follow soon.

T-Mobile CEO spoke on phone contracts.
http://www.mobileworldlive.com/t-mobile-us...f16ca5ab0b40b59
AT&T is jumping on the bandwagon too..
http://news.cnet.com/8301-1035_3-57593838-...rade-plans-too/
alf233
post Jul 26 2013, 10:29 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jul 25 2013, 10:14 PM)
Looks like the big green giant will be affected, I don't think blue LTE equipment provider is Huawei laugh.gif
One of blue LTE equipment provider is actually Huawei.. The divide by areas, as commonly done by other telcos as well

alf233
post Jul 26 2013, 10:33 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(Ahn3hn3h @ Jul 25 2013, 11:13 PM)
The states that they offer special goody packs demonstrates how so much inconsistencies and favouritism laugh.gif

Will we be seeing special packs for different religions, background and society membership in coming months? hmm.gif
Yeah.. they have too many packages and they are super confusing.. Wondered what are their marketing people thinking....

alf233
post Jul 26 2013, 05:07 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jul 26 2013, 01:20 PM)
One thing for sure ~ ie to capture all users while maximising Profits within the Rules of the Game of SKMM.

They actually dun care if the Network is facing System Overload, they would entice new sign ups for some discerning users like us. To other users that are not as 'pro" as us, they will sell 5GB for rm68 , for some of the regulars here even rm68 for 30GB is still too little  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
hahaha.. that sounds familiar.. keep selling without knowing network capabilities, until reach congestion / overload, and blame the network..

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0491sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:45 PM